Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 33 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Tetra Whisper Air Pump
2/1/2013

Customer review by sandollars

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by sandollars
by sandollars
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pump works great. I have a Hawkeye 2 gallon aquarium (which Goldie and I love!) and it puts out more than enough air. A couple of things I didn't know until after I purchased it. I should have maybe read up on it a little better. You will need a regulator to control the air flow, other wise it just pumps a one speed which is a pretty good flow. (I have to turn it off when I feed my goldfish, otherwise the food goes all over the place). If you are going to put the pump on a counter or something like that you also need something for the backflow, or put the pump higher than the tank to prevent the water going back into the pump when you turn it off. Other than that, I am very happy with my purchase. Goldie, my fish, loves it. Would recommend:)

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandollars
Pinon Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Part missing
3/21/2016

Customer review by LittleWen

1.0 stars 3/21/2016 by LittleWen
by LittleWen

The package coming without the air-pipe so I can't use it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/28/2016

Thank you for posting a review. If by air-pipe you mean the airline tubing, this does not come with air pumps at all. It is always a separate purchase and can be bought by the foot wherever air pumps and air pump accessories are sold.

LittleWen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Silence is the name.
5/10/2011

Customer review by Fishhobby

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Fishhobby
by Fishhobby

This pump is a strong vibration which is good for pumping air and it is also a truly silent operation. Hope it will last long. Somehow at Walmart, it is a little bit cheaper than at Petco/ Petsmart which is good. Walmart should expand more at the fish department

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishhobby
Westminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great air pump
7/6/2009

Customer review by Timm157

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by Timm157
by Timm157

had it for my 30 gallon tank works great

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timm157
Platteville, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Silent operation
10/18/2008

Customer review by CrazyForFish

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by CrazyForFish
by CrazyForFish

This unit works well and its silent operation is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyForFish
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/10/2010

Customer review by Texan1965

4.0 stars 10/10/2010 by Texan1965
by Texan1965

Pump is very quiet. Had it for about a year along with the bigger 30-60 model and all I can hear are the bubbles breaking the surface. If you replace airstones/tubes in a timely manner this product will last and run quietly.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texan1965
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great pump...works good....
4/13/2016

Customer review by applicious3000

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by applicious3000
by applicious3000

Great pump...works good....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
applicious3000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not too bad
10/1/2014

Customer review by Harleahquinn

4.0 stars 10/1/2014 by Harleahquinn
by Harleahquinn

I got this pump because the one that I had received with an older smaller tank did not have enough power to push air through one tube so I needed a new one. I now have a ten gallon tank and this pump definitely work for this, or even with T-connectors for multiple tubes or a larger tank size. When I hooked it up originally, I did not realized that it came with an air flow valve so it was almost too powerful for what I needed it for. However, once I got the valve hooked up and slowed the air down a bit it works perfect. It is a little louder than I was imagining, especially with so many reviews saying how quiet it is. I don't have much to compare it off of though so overall I am satisfied. I would have loved maybe a smaller, more quiet version but overall it works for what I need it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harleahquinn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Air Pump
3/30/2012

Customer review by dieseldog09

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by dieseldog09
by dieseldog09

I bought this air pump for my 14 gallon fish tank! Works great! I have never seen my air stone produce that many bubbles! It's very quiet even when sitting right beside it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dieseldog09
Goshen, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's everything that was showed and inexpensive.
11/4/2011

Customer review by LoverOfAllCritters

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by LoverOfAllCritters
by LoverOfAllCritters

I just got this air pump today for my 10g tank and I love it, check valve is handy too!! It's so quiet that I can't hear it at all and I'm setting less then 6ft away from my fish tank :) PS. Check at Wal-Mart before you buy this online.. It was $3.50 cheaper in store then online.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoverOfAllCritters
Knox county, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
loud
4/24/2016

Customer review by afishkeeper

1.0 stars 4/24/2016 by afishkeeper
by afishkeeper

when I got it out of the box it basically shook the house so not all of them are silence.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/28/2016

Thank you afishkeeper, for taking the time to post your comments. If you plugged the unit into an outlet without attaching it to a stone or ornament in the tank, it will definitely be loud and vibrate a lot. Once it is properly attached to an item in the tank, the noise will disappear. For further information on how to use this product, please call the Tetra Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-526-0650.

afishkeeper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Died In One Month
6/12/2013

Customer review by MtnCamping

1.0 stars 6/12/2013 by MtnCamping
by MtnCamping

I purchased the Tetra Whisper Air Pump for 10-30 Gallon Aquariums in my local Walmart store on May 9, 2013. I started using it on May 10, 2013. This pump was still working on Jun 10, 2013 but had stopped working by the morning of Jun 11, 2013 (today). It worked for one month. When it was working it worked fine and I was pleased even though it was a little louder than I would expect from the name "Whisper". However, one month of use before dying is totally unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtnCamping
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Most Quiet Pumps I Own
6/4/2012

Customer review by TMT9

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by TMT9
by TMT9

I have 7 aquariuums ranging in size from 75 gal down to 3 gal. All the tanks have aeration. I have 1 Whisper 100 on my 75 gl. fancy goldfish tank. I run 2 big sponge filters and a 36" bubbler line off it. It has been in use for 2 years now and it is still as quiet as the day I bought it. Prior to buying the Whisper I was having to replace or repair air pumps about every six months because of the noise. I use a Whisper 60 for my two 20 gal. Both 20 gl. have sponge filters, plus HOB. Again these are very quiet. Both the 75 and the 2 -20gl tanks are in the family room. It is nice to be able to hear the TV without having to increase the volume to cover the sound of the air pumps. Having used a variety of other pumps over the years I am now going to stick with Tetra Whisper. They are quiet and I have yet to replace any parts.

TMT9
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/27/2012

Customer review by abhayaher

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by abhayaher
by abhayaher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Air pump for my 40 gallon fish tank is very silent. No Noise and I can sleep near fish tank ! Satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abhayaher
Parsippany, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
These are super little pumps!
11/7/2015

Customer review by Charlene1

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Charlene1
by Charlene1

I have two of these pumps purchased recently, one for a 20-gallon with two undergravel filters and an airstone, the other for a 5-gallon hex with an undergravel filter and possibly more aeration at a later time when I add fish. They pump all the air that I need with air to spare. I hear of people having problems with noise or early failure, but I believe the important thing is to make sure to have a relief valve to bleed off excess air and make sure your pump is ample size for your needs.

Charlene1
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Quiet
10/27/2015

Customer review by Jeremy6

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Jeremy6
by Jeremy6

I have one of these with my 10 gallon tank and I can't here it, but it produces good amount of bubbles too.

Jeremy6
South Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plesantly suprised.
5/20/2015

Customer review by Samir

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Samir
by Samir

I got this pump from Walmart but had them price match for Amazon ($8.90 w/ free shipping via prime). I reviewed this item and watched some videos on it and was split on if I should get it or not because I only have a 6.5 gallon tank but for less than ten bucks, it was worth a shot. It is great! I bought this and the air stone ($1.78) and the tubing ($3.99). At first I thought the current was strong, but then I realized I didn't add the flow control (thingy...) to the tubing. So I cut off a part of the tube, placed the control between and turned on the pump. I was able to adjust the flow to right where it needed to be for my fish. Its also great because when I upgrade my tank I will be able to use it for up to the 30 gallons.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samir
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great and quiet!
1/22/2013

Customer review by BlueEyedD

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by BlueEyedD
by BlueEyedD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This pump is in our room and is very quiet. Works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueEyedD
Reedley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Whisper air pump that is extremely loud!
2/19/2014

Customer review by fishgirl47

1.0 stars 2/19/2014 by fishgirl47
by fishgirl47

I picked this up at my local walmart when the air pump I was using was getting a little too loud. I figured it would be quiet enough to keep in my room...I was wrong! this pump is very noisy and can actually be heard in the next room. It also caused my tank to vibrate when kept behind the tank...Over time it got even louder. I returned it today and picked up another cheaper brand also carried at walmart stores for a tank rated 20-60 gallons and its much quieter and stronger. Plus about $5.00 cheaper! do not buy this pump if you are expecting quiet operation as advertised on the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishgirl47
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Way too loud. Whisper 100.
1/31/2012

Customer review by TulsaOK

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by TulsaOK
by TulsaOK

Bought this to replace a 1987 Whisper 1000 that was starting to go out, knob getting a little cranky. The new 100 is way too loud, not sure how some of the reviews elsewhere raved about it being quiet. Wonder if it's just a defect. Unfortunately used it 2 weeks, went back to my old one, and forgot about it. Now it's out of warranty. Wonder if Tetra can work on the old one ?

TulsaOK
Tulsa OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews