Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 51 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Affordable Starter Tank
7/18/2009

Customer review by LJsGirl

4.0 stars 7/18/2009 by LJsGirl
by LJsGirl

I recently purchased this tank for my daughter after she won a couple goldfish at a carnival and they seem to be doing well. It seemed a better option than buying a fish bowl (its a little bigger and includes a filter). The only extras we had to buy were some gravel & plants as it includes food & conditioner for the water. I also like the LED lighting as gives a nice glow, but doesn't heat the tank up like some other lights do. Eventually we will upgrade to something bigger, but it is a nice space-saving option & a good starter tank.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJsGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good for betta's
11/22/2009

Customer review by AnthemForAFallenStar

5.0 stars 11/22/2009 by AnthemForAFallenStar
by AnthemForAFallenStar

This is a great little tank for betta's, would really recomend 2 gallons or more for them. If you dont have the room for something bigger this is a great little tank. I don't recommend this for any fish other then betta's and or tetra's. You do need buy a heater seprate, for your betta. Has pleanty of room for small and medium size plants. The filter does hum when its on. Not best filter in the world. DOES NOT come with gravel,plants,heater,theremoniter,water condinoter or food. So if your looking for something more then a betta get a bigger tank.

Was this review helpful? (32) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnthemForAFallenStar
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad (Read instructions thoroughly)
4/28/2010

Customer review by offbrandperson

4.0 stars 4/28/2010 by offbrandperson
by offbrandperson

It is a pretty decent fish tank. The filter works fine, and is about as loud as any other I have had. I noticed there were several complaints about it not working soon after set-up. This can be avoided by carefully reading the instructions. The part that the tube connects to that plugs in the wall needs to be higher than the actual filter, if not, water won't flow the way its suppose to defeating the purpose and causing it not to work. Fine for a betta, except it is reflective. My betta spends his days chasing his reflection. Would be just fine for select guppies. As with all fish though, I reccommend reading up on them before purchase to get the most life and enjoyment out of them. Some fish, as I have learned require at least a 36 gallon tank.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
offbrandperson
Azle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice starter (or desktop) combo
1/11/2010

Customer review by ErnieNY

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by ErnieNY
by ErnieNY

I bought this tank about 6 months ago when my pond fish had a few babies and I wanted to keep some alive (they would get eaten had they stayed in the pond). I have 3 tiny goldfish in there and they are thriving! I spruced it up with a small bag of gravel, an artificial plant to start and a real plant (bulb). Sits on my desk and gives me something pleasant to watch all day long. I put one Aponogeton Bulb in there (sold here) (only 1 of 5 that sprouted, still a good deal). The tank may be getting some indirect sun but the main light is from the LEDs and the plant is thriving! The plant is enough to eat all the nitrates my fish make so the water tests perfect (zero nitrites or nitrates). The filter gets changed about once a month. The air pump is noisy if you let it touch anything, best to hang it by the cord.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErnieNY
Levittown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
7/22/2009

Customer review by walmarxist

2.0 stars 7/22/2009 by walmarxist
by walmarxist

I thought this was a good little tank for the first few days until the filter stopped doing it's job at all. I tried rinsing it out and changing the filter even though only a few days had passed and it still does not move water through it anymore. The pump is going but it seems like it's much to weak after a day or two of use to do anything. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarxist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good starter
1/22/2010

Customer review by zeeroeffort

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by zeeroeffort
by zeeroeffort

Good for a couple of guppies. The filer works and the tank is big enough for the guppies to swim. It's been a couple of weeks and the water is still clean/clear.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zeeroeffort
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
10/21/2009

Customer review by Kilea

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by Kilea
by Kilea

I was reading the reviews on this product and came across a few that said the filter stopped working within days. I purchased this tank 6 months ago and it works GREAT!!! I bought it because of the filter and boy does it help keep my water CLEAN & CLEAR! I only have to change the water monthly and my fish is totally still alive after 6months! lol no need to change the water weekly like it should be done with bettas. I like how it came with a few starters supplies and love the lil storage compartment. The only thing I don't like is the light, its not as bright, the only time you can see it is when all lights are off. Other than that its a good, cheap product!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kilea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
buy somthing else
10/15/2008

Customer review by fishrfriends

2.0 stars 10/15/2008 by fishrfriends
by fishrfriends

We bought this as a hospital tank for one of our female bettas. The filter is very loud and stopped working within three hours. It can be used without the filter for bettas buy it would be cheaper to just get a bowl. Also it shows goldfish on the box and it is much to small a tank for goldfish.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishrfriends
Weymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Bettas
10/4/2011

Customer review by fdkaslsdjfk

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by fdkaslsdjfk
by fdkaslsdjfk

My boyfriend bought this tank for me about a month ago and it works GREAT. I only have one betta fish in it right now, and he seems to be doing good. The only problem I can see with it is the filter...it is a little bit too strong for my betta, but it DOES work if you read the instructions...I do turn it off occasionally (like right after I feed my betta), because it does have a strong current...Overall, I would recommend it for anyone wanting a betta.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fdkaslsdjfk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great For Kids
1/22/2010

Customer review by opmac

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by opmac
by opmac

I purchsed this for my 5 year old boy for x-mas. I didn't know what to expect because I ordered it on line. It turned out to be fantastic. We spent an additional $20 on fish, food, stones and plants for the tank, filters etc. which I expected. The tank is in his room and he just loves feeding them in the morning and watching them swim and eat. Bonus: The light on the tank is now used as his night light.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
opmac
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Bad For Starters
5/20/2009

Customer review by guinness126

4.0 stars 5/20/2009 by guinness126
by guinness126

What a great starter product! Effortless in set-up - I think it took longer for us to pick out a fish than it did to set this tank up. Convenient, easy to use, great conversation piece. Super-quiet filter. The only downside is trying to find replacement filters - it seems as though the larger, more popular filters are easier to find than the smaller ones. Kids, parents, grandparents find this interesting.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guinness126
Middletown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tank!!
3/14/2009

Customer review by TheSimulator

5.0 stars 3/14/2009 by TheSimulator
by TheSimulator

We bought this tank for my 7 year old daughter, and put in 2 gold fish, also just added a small catfish. It is perfect for her! The filter is whisper quiet, the pump does hum if you don't cushion it, but overall it was a great investment for her. I have absolutely no complaints about this product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSimulator
W.Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Betta
10/18/2009

Customer review by SteelerFan24

4.0 stars 10/18/2009 by SteelerFan24
by SteelerFan24

If you are looking for a tank to hold a single fish such as a betta or goldfish, then this is the tank for you. After winning a carnival goldfish, we bought this tank for our son. He not only loves to watch his fish, but he enjoys using the tank light as a night light. The filter hums just a little bit which creates white noise for better sleeping. I have to admit that the box is deceiving by advertising a few fish in the tank. The size of this tank is too small for more than 1-2 fish.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteelerFan24
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing, good price, actually works
6/8/2010

Customer review by pandaness

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by pandaness
by pandaness

Went to Walmart and thought that this tank would be a good way to start. It was only around 19.99 at the store and I bought gravel and water conditioner. I was sort of sad that it didn't include everything that was on the package. Bought food at another store. So far, it's been around a week and the filter still works. My fish are happy but it's a really small tank so I can't really fit anymore in there. I have 2 zebra danios, 2 black mollys, and a corydoras catfish. I want to get another catfish so that it won't be lonely. . . so yeah.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pandaness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/3/2009

Customer review by abcb123

3.0 stars 12/3/2009 by abcb123
by abcb123

Overall this tank is nice for a starter tank for a childs room. After setting the tank up I noticed there was a hairline crack in the glass and of course the light did not work when plugged in so I am very dissapointed with that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abcb123
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/9/2011

Customer review by DSSJR

3.0 stars 9/9/2011 by DSSJR
by DSSJR

The only real problem I have is that the filter does not work that well. I only feed the two goldfish that I have a little food twice daily as required but I have to clean out the filter every other day! Someone should figure out how to make a compact filter that works. I expected more from Tetra and bought it because of the name.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSSJR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth purchasing.
7/12/2010

Customer review by howlingbeagly

1.0 stars 7/12/2010 by howlingbeagly
by howlingbeagly

I though this was a great tank at first, but a month after I set it up the already noisy pump got even louder and then quit working all together. A few weeks after replacing the pump the tank started leaking. I couldn't find another tank around the same size that seemed decent, so I upgraded to the 5 Gallon Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit. Walmart sells this tank and it has been great for me!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howlingbeagly
Magna, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My review of the tetra 1.5 gallon tank
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

First off I love the little stand the tank sits on but I'm kinda jealous of the other version that has the storage in it, and the tank is clearer then glass, and stronger, and not to mention, weighs less, but buyer beware!!! This product will scratch very easy do not use any rubbing pads or cleaning products unless its a brand new microfiber cloth, and a acrylic safe cleaner, now if it gets scratched it can be fixed, but I reccomend rocks without sharp edges or marbles or something fancy like that, and be extremely careful when cleaning and putting things in or you will scratch! Now onto the hood, it fits on nicely and has a nice little feeding hole, with a hole in the back for the filter, and holes on either side for a heater cord, air bubbler or whatever you want, and the light fits into this little slot on top of the hood and shines through it there is 8 LEDs and it does a nice job lighting the tank up and the switch is easy to access as well, and cleaning it is easy you just take it out, however be careful it just sits in the spot kit doesn't actually clip in and if your not careful you might drop it in the filter slot into the water the pump is somewhat loud as it uses bubbles to carry water through the filter and out the slot, and be careful when your putting the catridge in, I put it in the wrong way and it pushed out on the filter cause I tried to force it in and it actually goes in the other way it narrower on the bottom see, and it doesn't say that in the instructions, I cannot say how well the filter actually works as I've only had it a few hours and I'm only putting shrimp in it but this is a nice tank, just be careful with it, and maybe get a different filter as it is kinda loud

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fish tank
1/17/2010

Customer review by Jaredsreview

2.0 stars 1/17/2010 by Jaredsreview
by Jaredsreview

This is not a very good prodect i bought it and used it for a few days and one of the led light fell out what a ripoff.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaredsreview
NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fish Paradise
11/13/2014

Customer review by Glamb06

5.0 stars 11/13/2014 by Glamb06
by Glamb06

Bought this for my daughters goldfish, previously I had a 1 gallon tank with no filter and I was tired of having to change the water every other day. I read all the reviews for several tanks. I was nervous because some of the bad reviews, but I haven't had any issues. It looks beautiful, light works great, and the filter does its job. Perfect product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glamb06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews