Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
pretty good
12/29/2009

Customer review by thenat

4.0 stars by thenat

i bought 1 of these for a lidless 10gallon tank and it keeps it at a steady 78. i bought one for a 30 gallon tank and it also keeps it at a nice 78 as well (though the bigger tank sometimes dips to 76 before the heater comes on). was worth the 15$ i paid for both. best bet to get it to work well i found, is keep the heater near the bottom of the tank. setting it horizontal keeps the heat even for the big tanks too

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thenat
pleasant mount, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tank Heater
9/20/2010

Customer review by 1pepperlover

4.0 stars by 1pepperlover

I purchased this item about a week ago and I am very happy at this time. Price was very reasonable although online price was a little less than in store price. Item directions make very easy to install.Actually had enough money to buy extra fish food.My fish and I are very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1pepperlover
Rialto Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works
5/29/2009

Customer review by heresthetruth

4.0 stars by heresthetruth

I am currently using this in a 10 gallon fish tank. it keeps the water at 77 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
heresthetruth
Putnam New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
dosent hold heat
1/29/2011

Customer review by justin1795

3.0 stars by justin1795

i had this in my 20 gallon. it would only keep it about 74. i bought a adjustable one to keep it at 78

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
justin1795
bettendorf, ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
avoid non adjustable heaters
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

1.0 stars by cbeans

Used this in a 20 gallon and temps dropped to 72 degrees in the winter (in texas). Not good for tropical fish. The instructions specify your aquarium must have a lid for the unit to work effectively. Other heaters of the same wattage do not need a lid, which leads me to believe this heater is very inefficient.

Was this review helpful? (21) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Keep water at 78 Degrees Fahrenheit
3/3/2010

Customer review by Zalaha

5.0 stars by Zalaha

I bought it to use with two Mississippi Map Turtles. Since i have owned it, the water has not gone below 78 Degrees Fahrenheit and it's in a 30 gallon tank. It automatically shuts on and off as needed. It's safe enough to have the turtles climb on it and not hurt them. Great product for the price, I found the same thing at Petco and it was fifteen dollars more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Zalaha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/12/2011

Customer review by adarkwhisper

5.0 stars by adarkwhisper

I live in North Dakota and my furnace died. I have been relying on space heaters but my fish tank had become so cold, my Beta was going to die if not warmed up. This fit the bill, and both me and the fish are doing fine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
adarkwhisper
Southeast North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GREAT HEATER FOR EVERYONE!
2/2/2012

Customer review by rebelflagnut1957

5.0 stars by rebelflagnut1957

I HAVE HAD THIS PRODUCT FOR 2 YEARS NOW AND NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. JUST UNPLUG IT 20 MINUTES BEFORE TAKING IT OUT OF YOUR TANK TO LET IT COOL.I'M GOING TO BUY A SECOND ONE ON 02-03-2012 FOR MY OTHER 30 GALLON TANK.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO EVERYONE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rebelflagnut1957
BILOXI MISSISSIPPI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth it!
1/31/2012

Customer review by matttan8989

1.0 stars by matttan8989

This is by far the worst heater I have used in my tanks. Every one I have bought has failed or malfunctioned. And that's three this year! One wouldn't maintain proper temperature, and the other two just stopped working; they hadn't even been in use but for a few months. Don't waste your money on this heater and find a better one by Hagen or Marineland; anything is better than this!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
matttan8989
Milledgeville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great heater!
5/27/2012

Customer review by Kkat51

5.0 stars by Kkat51

I purchased this heater for a 29 gal fish tank. I use this one on one side of the tank and I have an older heater that I use on the other side. Between both heaters the tank is kept at the correct tempature. If I wanted to use just this size heater it would work better on a 20 gal or smaller. It runs all the time when used by itself in the 29 gal tank. Still a great heater.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kkat51
Jarratt, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good...
5/31/2012

Customer review by starmom98

5.0 stars by starmom98

So far so good.....thus far the heater is doing what it is supposed to do. Plain and simple.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
starmom98
the Lou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great.
4/26/2010

Customer review by FishNGameLover

5.0 stars by FishNGameLover

I Have Had One For A 10 Gallon Which Has 3 Guppys, Platy, Rainbow Shark , And Cory Catfish. This Has Worked Great For me I had it for about 2 months now. I would Recommend TRhis product To Everyone with the Gallon Requirement. [number of gallons. mine 5-12 gallon]

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FishNGameLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
1/20/2011

Customer review by BT86

5.0 stars by BT86

This heater seems great so far! Who can complain for the price, $20 is a steal for a little heater this nice. The built-in thermostat only allows the heater to stay kicked on for about a minute or so,which is great for the life of the heater and the fish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BT86
Vassar, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
only provides enough heat w/ Additional heat lamp
5/5/2014

Customer review by armywifeNmom2

2.0 stars by armywifeNmom2

I purchased this to use in our 20 gal tank that is only half full. as we have a young turtle. It keeps the tank around 76-78 during the day but once the light is turned off at night the temperature plummets down to 70-72 and thats even with warm temperatures outside, and the thermostat in the house set at 76. I suggest finding another heater.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
armywifeNmom2
Fort Leonard Wood,MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Tetra heater 10-30
1/23/2010

Customer review by TaintedTruffle

5.0 stars by TaintedTruffle

I bought this a month and a half ago to acommpony my full size one (that ones on the friz and only turns on 1/2 the time but its like ten years old) It works really well and keeps my tank nice and warm ^^ I like how easey it is to just look at it and see its working too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TaintedTruffle
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Boiled My Fish
7/24/2012

Customer review by YearsOfExperience

1.0 stars by YearsOfExperience

I notice my 29 gallon fresh water tropical fish tank was very hot and fish were dying. The thermometer was pegged at the top. My Tetra Heater 10-30 'on' light was on. I unplugged the heater and began cooling the tank with bags of ice. The next day I tested the Tetra Heater 10-30. It quickly brought the water to 130 degrees. I notified the manufacturer who responded with a canned reply stating that if I returned the Tetra Heater 10-30 to them a copy of my original receipt, they would send a replacement. Perhaps they have an upgraded model that will boil fish faster. No thanks!! That will be my last Tetra product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
YearsOfExperience
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
nahtan
4/1/2011

Customer review by nahtan

4.0 stars by nahtan

i have a 29 bio cube and it keeps it at 77.4 at all times not to bad for the $$$ but i got 2 of them and now it is 78.2 at all times so hay if 1 gos out im still safe i wood go get and say it is well weth the $$ if u have a bio cube 29

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nahtan
oxford oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wack! !
1/8/2011

Customer review by bAbYoRtEgA

1.0 stars by bAbYoRtEgA

Don't keep any amount of water a constant 78 degrees, let alone 10-30 gallons! ! Don't waste ur time or money! !

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bAbYoRtEgA
aLbUqUeRqUe, NeW mExIcO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works wonderfully!
12/19/2014

Customer review by Kimstaz777

5.0 stars by Kimstaz777

This heater does what it's supposed to. It heats my 20 gallon up to 78 degrees :) and it was a great price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kimstaz777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for beginners!
4/8/2013

Customer review by Vicioustoaster

5.0 stars by Vicioustoaster

I have purchased this product, a couple of these, and have last me for almost 4 years. It is time to buy new ones, but I'm very happy with the years it worked for me keeping my tank's water at the right temperature. A great heater for beginners who are looking to buy something cheap and reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Vicioustoaster
Yuma, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews