Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 stars
18
1-20 of 89 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Small Heater for Small Tanks
11/2/2008

Customer review by leilanimr

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by leilanimr
by leilanimr

Locating an aquarium heater for a tank less than 10 gallons is no easy task; the majority of heaters aren’t designed for smaller aquariums despite their continued popularity. I chose the Tetra Whisper Heater 2-15 gallon model for a few reasons; 1) I’ve used Tetra products over 25 years, 2) Its compact size of 4.75”. There is no thermostat; the heater is designed to maintain the water temperature between 76-80 degrees. I have monitored the temperature in my 5 gallon Mini Bow over several days, the temperature has evened out to 79 degrees. It is safe for acrylic tanks (I checked before purchasing), is completely submersible with the option of vertical or horizontal positions and contains a indicator light to let you know its working. I am quite pleased with this little heater and I’m sure my Betta (Indiana Jones) is thankful he won’t be subjected to temperature fluctuates that could lead to illness.

Was this review helpful? (105) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leilanimr
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I have used 2 of these heaters for the past 3 years and they have both been great. The heater does a good job of keeping up the temperature. I know this for a fact because my fish have been healthy and have lived long lives. I also own a crayfish and it has molted which is a good sign that the water is at the right temperature. Many people are reporting that it does not raise the water temperature to what they want, but that is probably because they are checking the temperature of the glass on the outside. You should dip your finger in to see if it's warm to decide because the glass will always be cooler than the water. This heater also has a small red light that glows when it's heating the water and it turns off when the water has maintained the right temperature, so don't take it as being broken. If you want to check to see if it's still working, place it in a cold bowl of water and plug it in. If it works, the red light should glow.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
good little heater
4/29/2009

Customer review by Rainedrop

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Rainedrop
by Rainedrop

I got this to put in a 6 gallon tank. It keeps the tank at a steady temperature of 76. Overall, I am pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rainedrop
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product!
3/30/2009

Customer review by lilohappyfamily

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by lilohappyfamily
by lilohappyfamily

love this water heater! it works great! we have a large tank and it's filled half way with water. about 50 gallon. it works well with our tank. we first got this water heater in 2007 (fall) so really it does last . it's automatic and even our new cichlids loves the water. they just breed and the fry are so adorable!! we placed our water heater near the flitter. Our cichild spwan their eggs near the heater..so now that's their territory. you can't beat the price for such a good h20 heater! ***As you can see in the picture, our two cichlids are near the waterheater protecting their fry***

Was this review helpful? (37) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilohappyfamily
Fresno,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't Heat Water Properly
4/22/2013

Customer review by Alicia4810

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by Alicia4810
by Alicia4810

I breed fish and some of the tropical species need the warmer waters in the high 70's to low 80's. I purchased this one because it seemed like a good value. The heater says it heats up to a 15 gallon tank to a constant temperature of 78 degrees. Unfortunately that is not the case. I had it in a 10 gallon tank for an entire week and it never heated the water more than 74 degrees. The last straw was when it let the temperature fall to 72 degrees. 4-6 degrees doesn't sound like a big deal but for fish it's a deal breaker. For the same price I found one at pet store that you can manually change the temperature on. For the beginning owner that just wants to keep a couple hardier species of fish this product MIGHT be okay. But for anyone that really wants their fish to thrive I'd pass on this one. If I pay for a product that says it heats to 78 degrees then that's what I expect. Very disappointing product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alicia4810
Spanaway, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Proper prep not in instructions!
1/28/2014

Customer review by eMurGenC

3.0 stars 1/28/2014 by eMurGenC
by eMurGenC

Like a few reviewers, I've had issues with this heater. I came back to read the reviews and I realized that in the directions nowhere does it say you should let the heater acclimate to the water before turning it on. I unplugged it for 30 minutes (while submerged in water of course) then plugged it back in, and within an hour the water in my 10 gallon tank was reading 76*. So if you have this problem try unplugging it and letting it sit for a bit before turning it back on.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eMurGenC
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GET IT!
12/20/2010

Customer review by KMJ86

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by KMJ86
by KMJ86

This heater is great for my 2.5 gallon Betta tank. it keeps my tank between 78-81* its wonderful, and my female loves to sleep on it :)~ its tough and dependable - love it!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMJ86
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what it says
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

It keeps the tank at 78 degrees plus or minus 2 degrees, doesn't take up much space, little red light says its heating, suction cup works nicely, unplugged now it's summer though

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Warmth Is Good
11/9/2010

Customer review by ColoCanyon

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by ColoCanyon
by ColoCanyon

Living in the mountains, with varying heat/cold, our Betta needed a constant temperature. This heater is keeping the new 5 gal. plastic tank between 75-79 degrees. Its nice to have the light going on and off to know that its working. Azul is more active and happy!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoCanyon
Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best Betta heater ever!
3/21/2014

Customer review by SpeechlessinSeattle

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by SpeechlessinSeattle
by SpeechlessinSeattle

My Betta has never been happier since getting this heater! Someone said that the directions were not proper and that the heater needs to be acclimated to the water? That's not true. Think about it: It's not in the instructions because it's not necessary!! Just put the heater in the tank wherever you want it, plug it in, and it works. It keeps the water perfectly warm for my Betta.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpeechlessinSeattle
Soap Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome
3/18/2009

Customer review by Godin

4.0 stars 3/18/2009 by Godin
by Godin

This product does his job quite well. It maintains well it's temperature watever is your room temperature. It is great in that way. The only negative of it is that you can't control the temperature and you need to put it at at least 30 degree celcius to cure some illness (for fishes). So i had to buy an other heater to cure my fishes. But that heater maintains way more the temperature than the one i can contorl it though, which is why i still keep it and use it =]

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Godin
Canada\Quebec
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Frustrated!
1/26/2011

Customer review by amorelle

1.0 stars 1/26/2011 by amorelle
by amorelle

I purchased this heater through Walmart 2xs. The first one lasted two days. The second one lasted one day. The directions say "submerge in water, then plug in." That's what I did. The box and directions both say that the heater will maintain the tank temperture at 78 degrees. The first heater I had brought the water temp to 74 and the second made it to 70. Now my fish are cold once again. On the plus side, I really like the overall appearance of this heater. It is small and blends into the background (that would be why I purchased it the second time). If you buy this item, I hope you have better luck! (Oh, my tank is 10 gallons. So, if you have a smaller tank, maybe it will work better.)

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amorelle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tetra Heater for Aquarium 5-15 gallon
7/14/2012

Customer review by btovensmom

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by btovensmom
by btovensmom

I got the heater and installed it. I love it. It is perfect for the aquarium and for the price, it can't be beat. You can install it either upright or horizontally in the tank. it is small enough that you can't see it. It is not in the way at all and keeps a perfect 78 degrees Temp for my beta fish. Bubbles is very happy!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
btovensmom
Madison Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just Doesn't Work
2/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I figured since this product said it would heat aquariums up to 15 gallons that it would easily maintain a decent temperature for my 5 gallon tank. Before buying this heater I knew that at night the water temperature of my tank dropped to 69/70 degrees F. During the day with the small hood light on it would raise to 74 degrees. Right now I only have live plants and no fish. After submerging the heater for 30 minutes I plugged it in and it showed a red light indicating the heater was on. I noticed 10 minutes later that the light was off. So I unplugged it and let it sit for a few minutes then plugged it back in. The light would come on for only a few minutes before turning off. Several days later the temperature of the water was the exact same as before I even bought the heater. I thought it was broken, but after having it for almost 2 weeks now I found that the heater only comes on at night when the temperature drops to less than 70 degrees. Once the temp. gets to 70/71 degrees it turns off. Which really does no good at all. I even tried moving the heater next to the filter so there would be water flow in hopes it would keep the heater on but it didn't help. Buying this heater was a waste of money and time. Unfortunately assuming this product would work the way it was described I threw away the receipt and lost out on 15$ I could use on a reliable heater.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Purchased this for a 10 gallon tank
3/29/2013

Customer review by Missgemini87

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Missgemini87
by Missgemini87

I purchased this heater for my 10 gallon fish tank i just purchased yesterday. I noticed the lighting in the hood above the tank kept the water somewhat warm, but i decided to purchase a heater to make sure the water maintained the adequate level of heat throughout the entire tank for the fish i intend to purchase. When i first installed it, i waited 20 mins then plugged it in. The little red light never came on and the warmth of the water stayed the same over the next couple of hours. I instinctively thought i bought a defective item. Since the water in the tank was already warm, i tried getting a glass of ice water, submerging the heater and waiting 20 minutes. When i plugged it in the little red light came on and within a couple minutes the ice began to melt and the water started heating up. I turned off the light to my fish tank and re-installed the heater. After another 20 minutes i plugged the heater back in and the red light came on for a few minutes and then went off. The water has since maintained its warmth and i have turned the light back on under the hood of the fish tank. I have not seen the red light on the thermometer pop back on yet, but the water is warm. I will be purchasing thermometers in the morning and observing the consistency of the temperatures for a few more days before i purchase any fish.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Missgemini87
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps a steady 76...
11/21/2008

Customer review by KathSteph

4.0 stars 11/21/2008 by KathSteph
by KathSteph

on my out-of-the-tank sticker-thermometer. There's not much more I need to add that would differ from the previous reviewers thoughts. It's a great little heater for my 5 gallon tank that only has one tropical fish in it. And the fish is happy. I don't think you can go wrong with this heater. It has a suction cup that sticks quite well to the acrylic tank and hasn't moved since I installed it approximately 3 months ago. I do think it should've been less than ten dollars, but it was just under 15 in the store.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KathSteph
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not that great...
1/28/2010

Customer review by justagiraffe

1.0 stars 1/28/2010 by justagiraffe
by justagiraffe

I have a ten gallon tank, and the heater keeps it at about 72 degrees, when it should be 78. I am very disappointed. The little red light that indicates it is heating turns off all the time when it hasn't even reached it's specified temperature. I am planning on investing in a better heater.

Was this review helpful? (13) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justagiraffe
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
great water heater in winter for out door pets
2/14/2012

Customer review by odiedotes

4.0 stars 2/14/2012 by odiedotes
by odiedotes

I have cats living in our garage year round and this heater will keep the drinking water from freezing. I have had it for three years now and need to replace it. This heater is well worth the price and the cats are greatful for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
odiedotes
Zanesville Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't seem to be keeping the temperature at 78
12/31/2013

Customer review by CadenceMonster

3.0 stars 12/31/2013 by CadenceMonster
by CadenceMonster

I bought this heater for my 2 gallon tank. It's supposed to keep the tank at 78 degrees but the tank has stayed at a pretty constant 76. This heater is recommended for tanks 2 through, I believe, 15 gallons so I'm surprised it isn't keeping the right temperature on such a small tank. The onlly thing I can think of is the thermometer I'm using is one that is placed on the outside of the tank so perhaps it just isn't giving an accurate reading.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CadenceMonster
Mt Pleasant, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not heat well
9/23/2013

Customer review by crazydaisy01

1.0 stars 9/23/2013 by crazydaisy01
by crazydaisy01

I purchased this heater for my little Betta fish to heat her 3 gallon tank. I had high hopes for this heater as it stated on the package it would heat up to 78 degrees however it does not get above 72. I now have a cold lethargic Betta on my hands and am returning this one as soon as the other heater arrives from ebay. Please don't waste your money here folks. You will be disappointed :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazydaisy01
Murphy N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews