Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
26
1-20 of 128 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Not worth the cheap price
2/1/2013

Customer review by breezywillow

2.0 stars 2/1/2013 by breezywillow
by breezywillow

I bought this heater because it was the cheapest and said it was for 2-15 gallons. I figured since I only had a 2 gallon it would work really well keeping the temp around 78, like the box said. Well the first few days it was ok, then I noticed it was only keeping the temp at around 76. My house temperature is always set for 74, so it was only raising the water temp 2 degrees. Today I came home and the temp was at 72!! And the freaking heater wasnt even on. I had to stir the water around to get it to come on and it only stayed on for thirty seconds and the temp only went up two degrees!! Granted it is colder outside and a few degrees colder inside but come on, you advertise a product to do a certain thing and the customer expects that, especially when you are dealing with a living creature. I'll be taking this heater back and getting a Hydro, I heard they work alot better and are adjustable to boot.

breezywillow
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty good, but not perfect
5/15/2015

Customer review by FishObsessed

4.0 stars 5/15/2015 by FishObsessed
by FishObsessed

I got one of these heaters for my first tank, a 10 gallon. It worked well, but didn't keep the water at 78 like it said it would, although it stayed at 76 which is fine for my fish. I would recommend using this heater for anyone with fish that are fine with water temps 72-80*. When I bought my second tank, I got another one. It kept the water at about the same as the other one. it is a fairly good product. I have 2 ten gallons, a 2.5, a 55, and a 3 gallon. The two tens and the little tanks have this heater and all of the tanks with this heater stay at 76*.

FishObsessed
North West
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works but i wouldn't buy another one
1/19/2016

Customer review by VirtualBalboa

3.0 stars 1/19/2016 by VirtualBalboa
by VirtualBalboa

What does this heater have going for it?....you can place it horizontally in the water. The one suction cup always makes it hang at a weird angle. You can't adjust the temp on it. It's plug and play and suitable for goldfish. I bought it in an emergency situation for a hospital tank for a sick clown fish. I now use it to heat saltwater when I mix up 5 gallons and it takes forever!

VirtualBalboa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reliable
12/21/2011

Customer review by Joshua

4.0 stars 12/21/2011 by Joshua
by Joshua

Meets my expectations for a good heater. It is nice that it is better than an average heater; it has a red light, on if the heater is heating. The red light is small and does not disturb me when I sleep (my aquarium is in my bedroom). I have a thermometre in my aquarium. It has the ideal temperature zone highlighted in green, and the red bar is usually at the warmer end. I find that helpful because it gives my fish a higher chance of survival during power outages. I do, however, wonder if the red light bothers my fish...

Joshua
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Heaters Ever!
3/30/2012

Customer review by FishGuy

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by FishGuy
by FishGuy

These are excellent heaters. I have had both the 2-15 and the 10-30 models. My oldest is about 5 years old and still working great. A weird thing with these heaters is that once they are 1-2 years old, if you unplug them for an extended period of time,(about a week or more), they either won't turn on again or never shut off. But if you don't unplug them for more than a day or two they will never fail you. I have never had one suddenly stop working. Best heaters ever!

FishGuy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product does not last
9/21/2015

Customer review by AQ58

1.0 stars 9/21/2015 by AQ58
by AQ58

I have purchased 4 of these for 5 gallon tanks over the last 2 years and 3 out of 4 quite working in less than 6 -10 months. You might ask why keep purchasing, I just figured I got a faulty product since one did work. Tetra should be giving refunds.

AQ58
St Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Heater raised temp in my hospital tank and saved my fish
11/8/2015

Customer review by kronosmen

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by kronosmen
by kronosmen

Had a heater fail in my new hospital tank and Tetra sent a replacement quickly. Excellent customer service!! Their fast response helped save my fish. We thank you.

kronosmen
Conshohocken, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
3/11/2012

Customer review by tromrd

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by tromrd
by tromrd

I love this heater, when I was a kid we always used the over the side heaters and they were very hard to adjust. With this heater, I just put it in the tank and the next day it was a constant 78 degrees. I loved it so much that I bought another one for my other tank.

tromrd
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
10/27/2015

Customer review by Jeremy6

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Jeremy6
by Jeremy6

My tank is alway consistently the right temperature

Jeremy6
South Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Malfunction
8/30/2015

Customer review by Earl

1.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Earl
by Earl

I bought this for my 30g tank after a couple of months my kids fish floating already. The water is too hot thermostat didnt function right.

Earl
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cooked my fish
5/15/2015

Customer review by Mypoorfish

2.0 stars 5/15/2015 by Mypoorfish
by Mypoorfish

Came with a full 10 gallon tank set-up and worked fine for a while. Noticed algal bloom last week and went to clean it and the water was in the mid-90's. Lost all but 3 fish and a bunch of plants.

Mypoorfish
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Malfunctioned
7/11/2015

Customer review by Happydishwasher1

1.0 stars 7/11/2015 by Happydishwasher1
by Happydishwasher1

Replacement for earlier same model that worked great for 8 years, new unit malfunctioned one night and the next morning the tank was dead and 89 degrees

Happydishwasher1
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too hot
2/3/2015

Customer review by Didoo

2.0 stars 2/3/2015 by Didoo
by Didoo

It worked a couple months and now I have the opposite problem of the other 2 reviewers. I use thé 50 W in my small tank (under 10 g) and it doesn't stop and thé water is around 85 F.

Didoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wont Heat up the Water
1/22/2015

Customer review by GuppyPuppyMolly

1.0 stars 1/22/2015 by GuppyPuppyMolly
by GuppyPuppyMolly

I bought a New Heater Model 30.60 for my 46 Gal. Tank and the Red Light indicator just on & off intermittent and the Water Not getting Warm/Hot ???

GuppyPuppyMolly
San Jose, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
it wont heat up the water
1/14/2015

Customer review by china

2.0 stars 1/14/2015 by china
by china

I have this heater but it wont heat up my 10 gal tank so idk why it wont heat up but i just didnt like it since it doesnt heat up

china
Austin, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
The heater did not work
7/27/2011

Customer review by Brian

1.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Brian
by Brian

I believe that I got a defective heater at the store. I will be returning it later today and hopefully the next one will work properly

Brian
Would recommend to a friend? No
good stuff
9/27/2011

Customer review by 100tetra

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by 100tetra
by 100tetra

works like a charm....... very inexpensive and low maintnance............

100tetra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it says
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

It keeps the tank at 78 degrees plus or minus 2 degrees, doesn't take up much space, little red light says its heating, suction cup works nicely, unplugged now it's summer though

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent heater for small aquariums
6/5/2016

Customer review by Tito31

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Tito31
by Tito31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

during the short time I've been with this heater it works fine

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tito31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I have used 2 of these heaters for the past 3 years and they have both been great. The heater does a good job of keeping up the temperature. I know this for a fact because my fish have been healthy and have lived long lives. I also own a crayfish and it has molted which is a good sign that the water is at the right temperature. Many people are reporting that it does not raise the water temperature to what they want, but that is probably because they are checking the temperature of the glass on the outside. You should dip your finger in to see if it's warm to decide because the glass will always be cooler than the water. This heater also has a small red light that glows when it's heating the water and it turns off when the water has maintained the right temperature, so don't take it as being broken. If you want to check to see if it's still working, place it in a cold bowl of water and plug it in. If it works, the red light should glow.

Was this review helpful? (80) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews