Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 stars
22
1-20 of 108 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Does what it says
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

It keeps the tank at 78 degrees plus or minus 2 degrees, doesn't take up much space, little red light says its heating, suction cup works nicely, unplugged now it's summer though

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I have used 2 of these heaters for the past 3 years and they have both been great. The heater does a good job of keeping up the temperature. I know this for a fact because my fish have been healthy and have lived long lives. I also own a crayfish and it has molted which is a good sign that the water is at the right temperature. Many people are reporting that it does not raise the water temperature to what they want, but that is probably because they are checking the temperature of the glass on the outside. You should dip your finger in to see if it's warm to decide because the glass will always be cooler than the water. This heater also has a small red light that glows when it's heating the water and it turns off when the water has maintained the right temperature, so don't take it as being broken. If you want to check to see if it's still working, place it in a cold bowl of water and plug it in. If it works, the red light should glow.

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Small Heater for Small Tanks
11/2/2008

Customer review by leilanimr

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by leilanimr
by leilanimr

Locating an aquarium heater for a tank less than 10 gallons is no easy task; the majority of heaters aren’t designed for smaller aquariums despite their continued popularity. I chose the Tetra Whisper Heater 2-15 gallon model for a few reasons; 1) I’ve used Tetra products over 25 years, 2) Its compact size of 4.75”. There is no thermostat; the heater is designed to maintain the water temperature between 76-80 degrees. I have monitored the temperature in my 5 gallon Mini Bow over several days, the temperature has evened out to 79 degrees. It is safe for acrylic tanks (I checked before purchasing), is completely submersible with the option of vertical or horizontal positions and contains a indicator light to let you know its working. I am quite pleased with this little heater and I’m sure my Betta (Indiana Jones) is thankful he won’t be subjected to temperature fluctuates that could lead to illness.

Was this review helpful? (120) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leilanimr
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works
1/19/2016

Customer review by coolaustin

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by coolaustin
by coolaustin

Red LED indicating it is working. Water temp seems to be about right. Never seen green LED light though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coolaustin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a small tank
1/20/2016

Customer review by Ashley

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley

I have this heater in a single-fish 5.5 gallon tank and it works great. Water was 63 degrees when I put it in and raised the temp to 79 over 12 hours. It has been working like a charm for the three weeks I have had it so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works but i wouldn't buy another one
1/19/2016

Customer review by VirtualBalboa

3.0 stars 1/19/2016 by VirtualBalboa
by VirtualBalboa

What does this heater have going for it?....you can place it horizontally in the water. The one suction cup always makes it hang at a weird angle. You can't adjust the temp on it. It's plug and play and suitable for goldfish. I bought it in an emergency situation for a hospital tank for a sick clown fish. I now use it to heat saltwater when I mix up 5 gallons and it takes forever!

VirtualBalboa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't Heat Water Properly
4/22/2013

Customer review by Alicia4810

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by Alicia4810
by Alicia4810

I breed fish and some of the tropical species need the warmer waters in the high 70's to low 80's. I purchased this one because it seemed like a good value. The heater says it heats up to a 15 gallon tank to a constant temperature of 78 degrees. Unfortunately that is not the case. I had it in a 10 gallon tank for an entire week and it never heated the water more than 74 degrees. The last straw was when it let the temperature fall to 72 degrees. 4-6 degrees doesn't sound like a big deal but for fish it's a deal breaker. For the same price I found one at pet store that you can manually change the temperature on. For the beginning owner that just wants to keep a couple hardier species of fish this product MIGHT be okay. But for anyone that really wants their fish to thrive I'd pass on this one. If I pay for a product that says it heats to 78 degrees then that's what I expect. Very disappointing product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alicia4810
Spanaway, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Proper prep not in instructions!
1/28/2014

Customer review by eMurGenC

3.0 stars 1/28/2014 by eMurGenC
by eMurGenC

Like a few reviewers, I've had issues with this heater. I came back to read the reviews and I realized that in the directions nowhere does it say you should let the heater acclimate to the water before turning it on. I unplugged it for 30 minutes (while submerged in water of course) then plugged it back in, and within an hour the water in my 10 gallon tank was reading 76*. So if you have this problem try unplugging it and letting it sit for a bit before turning it back on.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eMurGenC
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good aquarium heater
1/16/2016

Customer review by Nathalie

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Nathalie
by Nathalie

I'm using it in two different 5 gallon aquariums and it is working quite well. The water consistently stay between 75 and 80°. One thing to keep in mind, you cannot adjust the temperature. There is only one setting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nathalie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tetra heater
1/15/2016

Customer review by tab2tim

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by tab2tim
by tab2tim

Works very well, no hassle to set, comes preset, no adjustment needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tab2tim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GET IT!
12/20/2010

Customer review by KMJ86

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by KMJ86
by KMJ86

This heater is great for my 2.5 gallon Betta tank. it keeps my tank between 78-81* its wonderful, and my female loves to sleep on it :)~ its tough and dependable - love it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMJ86
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fair.... But you should upgrade, given the chance.
1/2/2016

Customer review by mlc894

2.0 stars 1/2/2016 by mlc894
by mlc894

Worked for about 2 years before it stopped heating. I didn't notice and my fish got sick, so make sure to pay attention! In my 5.5 gallon, the temperature hovered around 76 F, rather than the 78 mentioned on the box. I would suggest looking at another heater. You should be able to change the temperature to react to the health of your fish, but this one has no such option. tl;dr Works as described, but you can do better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mlc894
Would recommend to a friend? No
heater
1/9/2016

Customer review by noneandnone

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by noneandnone
by noneandnone

Works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noneandnone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good little heater
4/29/2009

Customer review by Rainedrop

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Rainedrop
by Rainedrop

I got this to put in a 6 gallon tank. It keeps the tank at a steady temperature of 76. Overall, I am pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rainedrop
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Heater
10/4/2012

Customer review by Laurencia7

4.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Laurencia7
by Laurencia7

I was leery of this because of some reviews but it works well. The only draw back is it is not adjustable, and the price is too high for a low watt heater. I got a heater twice the size for 4 dollars more, but online. Tetra makes great products for fish keepers on a budget, but this heater could be 10 dollars since it only heats tanks 5-15 g. But it does have an indicator light (unlike even expensive heaters) and keeps the water very even. The compact casing does wonders to keep it safe, but the packaging NEEDS to be adjusted. the case is open to break right in the store, and I have found some broken. I mean there is not even plastic between the box and the heater. So pick out one carefully. If it adjusted and was less expensive it's would be a killer heater. Very good for anyone looking for a betta, or smaller 10 g heater.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laurencia7
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tetra Heater for Aquarium 5-15 gallon
7/14/2012

Customer review by btovensmom

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by btovensmom
by btovensmom

I got the heater and installed it. I love it. It is perfect for the aquarium and for the price, it can't be beat. You can install it either upright or horizontally in the tank. it is small enough that you can't see it. It is not in the way at all and keeps a perfect 78 degrees Temp for my beta fish. Bubbles is very happy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
btovensmom
Madison Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of time and money
12/22/2015

Customer review by MaryinTucson

1.0 stars 12/22/2015 by MaryinTucson
by MaryinTucson

This unit does not work well. I have it in a 5 gallon aquarium. Sometimes the water is lukewarm like bath water. Other times the water is quite chilly yet the unit isn't running. Now I have to find another heater and stand in line to return this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaryinTucson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Purchased this for a 10 gallon tank
3/29/2013

Customer review by Missgemini87

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Missgemini87
by Missgemini87

I purchased this heater for my 10 gallon fish tank i just purchased yesterday. I noticed the lighting in the hood above the tank kept the water somewhat warm, but i decided to purchase a heater to make sure the water maintained the adequate level of heat throughout the entire tank for the fish i intend to purchase. When i first installed it, i waited 20 mins then plugged it in. The little red light never came on and the warmth of the water stayed the same over the next couple of hours. I instinctively thought i bought a defective item. Since the water in the tank was already warm, i tried getting a glass of ice water, submerging the heater and waiting 20 minutes. When i plugged it in the little red light came on and within a couple minutes the ice began to melt and the water started heating up. I turned off the light to my fish tank and re-installed the heater. After another 20 minutes i plugged the heater back in and the red light came on for a few minutes and then went off. The water has since maintained its warmth and i have turned the light back on under the hood of the fish tank. I have not seen the red light on the thermometer pop back on yet, but the water is warm. I will be purchasing thermometers in the morning and observing the consistency of the temperatures for a few more days before i purchase any fish.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missgemini87
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product!
3/30/2009

Customer review by lilohappyfamily

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by lilohappyfamily
by lilohappyfamily

love this water heater! it works great! we have a large tank and it's filled half way with water. about 50 gallon. it works well with our tank. we first got this water heater in 2007 (fall) so really it does last . it's automatic and even our new cichlids loves the water. they just breed and the fry are so adorable!! we placed our water heater near the flitter. Our cichild spwan their eggs near the heater..so now that's their territory. you can't beat the price for such a good h20 heater! ***As you can see in the picture, our two cichlids are near the waterheater protecting their fry***

Was this review helpful? (44) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilohappyfamily
Fresno,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustrated!
1/26/2011

Customer review by amorelle

1.0 stars 1/26/2011 by amorelle
by amorelle

I purchased this heater through Walmart 2xs. The first one lasted two days. The second one lasted one day. The directions say "submerge in water, then plug in." That's what I did. The box and directions both say that the heater will maintain the tank temperture at 78 degrees. The first heater I had brought the water temp to 74 and the second made it to 70. Now my fish are cold once again. On the plus side, I really like the overall appearance of this heater. It is small and blends into the background (that would be why I purchased it the second time). If you buy this item, I hope you have better luck! (Oh, my tank is 10 gallons. So, if you have a smaller tank, maybe it will work better.)

Was this review helpful? (22) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amorelle
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews