Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 89 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Works fine!
4/30/2010

Customer review by BettaMommy

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by BettaMommy
by BettaMommy

I have 3 of these pumps in our 3gal. Betta tanks. In the kids rooms and on my desk. They do the job, but needed some 'adjusting'. The current was too disturbing for our Bettas. I cut the air tube in two spots and added a back flow valve and a regulating valve (a splitter so you can hook up an air stone or something like that.) I opened the second outlet a bit to let some air from the pump just blow out, and it made the current a lot more suitable for our Bettas! The filters have been running for about 3 years now, and only one broke. The rubber membrane inside the air pump ripped. The vibration can be a bit noisy, so I attached the air pump to a stuffed animal with rubber bands :o) Works fine, looks cute! The water stays clean for a long time and replacing the filter pads takes only seconds. I will switch to an external nano filter but not because of the filters performance! Our tanks are six sided and they look just too bulky in there! Oh, the lid keeps falling off, but is not really needed anyways!

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaMommy
Palmer, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like it
9/7/2010

Customer review by Tyler361549

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by Tyler361549
by Tyler361549

I got this for my fiddler crab tank and its in about one and a half gallons of water that is less than 3 inches deep. Its really quiet and its just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tyler361549
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for my turtle tank
10/15/2011

Customer review by Ritz6

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Ritz6
by Ritz6

We have a baby mud turtle in a ten gallon tank, full to a depth of approximately 2 inches. I set-up the tank about a month ago using this filter, and so far it is working really well. I have not had to change the water yet - this filter has kept the water nice and clear (and stink-free). That is pretty impressive for a turtle tank since turtles produce a lot of waste. Our turtle is still very little, so I am sure as he grows this filter will be put to the test, but so far, so good. A couple of times the filter stopped pumping water -I thought it was broken- but as soon as I added more water to the tank, the filter started right back up again. Now I just make sure that there is enough water in the tank to cover the intake slots near the bottom of the filter. In my set-up, this filter makes quite a bit of noise because of how far the water has to fall; it sounds like a babbling brook in my living room. I don't really mind the noise though, it can be kind of soothing.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ritz6
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
The Whisper 5-15 Filter
12/27/2015

Customer review by SooperFreak

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by SooperFreak
by SooperFreak

This filter came in a 5 gallon aquarium kit i bought at walmart. it was a "glow light" kit, so it has blue lights and white. anyway, back to the filter...it's very quiet. i can't even hear it running when i'm right next to it. one negative is that there is no way to adjust the power, and IF you have a male betta, this filter may be too strong in a 5 gallon tank. it doesn't create a lot of surface agitation, but the "waterfall" it makes IS a strong enough current to really knock around my betta when he swam under it. it's better in a 10 gallon tank, OR with fish that like some current, like neon's or something similar. aside from there being no way to adjust the flow, the only other issue is with the recommendation that you replace the cartridge once a month.....that cartridge is where all your beneficial bacteria live. throwing it out means having to cycle your tank again. INSTEAD...just take it out and swish it around in old tank water (when u do water changes just take that moment to take out cartridge and swish it around in that old fish water, then put it back in the filter. don't change it until it's literally falling apart. and as long as there is good flow coming out of the filter u know it's working and filtering properly

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SooperFreak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing, Affordable, Affective!
1/5/2012

Customer review by Equestriad

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Equestriad
by Equestriad

My goldfish lives in a 5gal aquarium, 5 gallons too small for him. I used to do water changes twice a day, but even then the water started turning green. So I got this filter and installed it. It was SO easy! I just took out the filter case, put the filter media in, put it in my tank, plugged it in and BAM! I thought it wasn't working, it was so quiet! The water cleared up in about 10 seconds. My goldfish is much more active, too! I have my aquarium in my room, and my filter is so quiet I sleep easily. I don't hear anything but a soft hum, quieter than my laptop fan (which is really quiet) If you were thinking about buying this filter, DO IT! It's so worth it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Equestriad
Oregon, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for what I needed it for.
12/12/2009

Customer review by mhazelet

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by mhazelet
by mhazelet

I put this in my tank, within 10 minutes my tank cleaned up, and it hardly makes any noise. It doesn't pull to hard on my betta, as long as he stays a few inches away from it, I have a 5g tank. Great Product.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mhazelet
East Liverpool, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
90 gph
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

I think that 1st review was for the air powered unit, this pump is extremely quiet. Great for a 10g aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (54) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ultra quiet.
11/14/2015

Customer review by SouthernLaGuy

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by SouthernLaGuy
by SouthernLaGuy

This filter is perfect for my 3 gallon tank. It is on the nightstand next to bed and I can't even hear it. It filtered my tank clear in two days and the filter is very easy to change. For the price you can't ask for better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernLaGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful filter
2/24/2016

Customer review by seaviewkat

4.0 stars 2/24/2016 by seaviewkat
by seaviewkat

I bought this filter thinking it was the small filter similar to the filter that came with my 6 gal Koller Craft 360 view aquarium. To my surprise this filter is much bigger. I was a bit disappointed as I still have a bunch of the small replacement filter cartridges and they will not fit this unit. However I decided to set it up and give it a try. I found it necessary to keep the water level much lower in the tank because the one flaw I found with this unit is that while it has a lot of suction and filters a great deal of water which is great the water tends to run over the back of the filter, spilling onto the hook that fits on the side of the tank and thus I found I had water all over the shelves it sits on and on the floor. I did figure out if I pull the cartridge and the washable filter up out of the cartridge to where I feel the suction drop off a bit then the water doesn't wind up running over the back of the unit. If I continue to keep this one running I'll have to go buy the refills for it. Hopefully they aren't too expensive. This is one of those bio filters which I didn't have good luck with the filtration with before but this unit seems to have very good filtration. While I am using it in a 6 gal round aquarium I expect this unit would work very well in a 10 gal aquarium and maybe even possibly a 20 gal aquarium. It works great and the cost seems to be low which is nice so the minor water problem aside I would recommend this filter unit if you are looking to replace an old one or setting up an aquarium for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seaviewkat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works but be careful!!
10/17/2015

Customer review by 1Rae

2.0 stars 10/17/2015 by 1Rae
by 1Rae

This is a pretty good filter. I have it in a 7 gallon planted tank. It clears the water very quickly after cleaning the tank. It's quiet. But if it gets blocked by debri it will continue to pump and force water up the handle to hold it in the tank. So it can be pumping water out of your tank and all over your floor for days before you notice. As long as it isn't blocked you are fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Rae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great
4/9/2016

Customer review by Becky

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Becky
by Becky

Love the brand.they last long

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Becky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Filter
4/6/2016

Customer review by Elitiqui

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Elitiqui
by Elitiqui

Very good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elitiqui
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/25/2012

Customer review by MeganLiz

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by MeganLiz
by MeganLiz

Had this filter for 5 years and I ran it all day every day. It just died and I'm buying another one today.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeganLiz
Port Huron, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Okay...
4/19/2009

Customer review by GGB89

3.0 stars 4/19/2009 by GGB89
by GGB89

It's not as quiet as I thought it would be but it's small and it does the job well. But, it makes currents a little too powerful for my betta fish.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGB89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
12/3/2010

Customer review by cheergirl91

5.0 stars 12/3/2010 by cheergirl91
by cheergirl91

Within 10 minutes my tank was almost crystal clear! I have 2 male bettas with a divider and it cleaned up both sides and the current isn't too strong for them. I would definitely recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheergirl91
Stevens Point, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Whisper Quiet
1/26/2011

Customer review by Casey212

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Casey212
by Casey212

I am so happy with this filter. The gurgling and water sounds from the old bubble filter were driving me crazy. Plus the tank is much cleaner. The fish look happier too!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Casey212
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it !
10/11/2015

Customer review by Matthew

4.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Matthew
by Matthew

The whole Whisper line of filters are amazing. This filter works great. I own a 1 - 3 gallon Whisper Fusion and I havent had a problem. This Filter though is very large and does not fit in many 2 .5 tanks that are on a base standing up Would defenitly recommend though for any tanks 3 - 10 gallon tanks

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matthew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/23/2011

Customer review by enick

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by enick
by enick

So far quiet and reliable product for reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT
11/28/2010

Customer review by SimplyNyia

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by SimplyNyia
by SimplyNyia

This product is great ! , nice & quiet . you dont hear a thing !! great for common plecos algae fish !!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SimplyNyia
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Good filter for the money
7/13/2011

Customer review by MandyJumper88

4.0 stars 7/13/2011 by MandyJumper88
by MandyJumper88

I bought this filter for a five gallon tank with one large frog in it. Its easy to set up, runs super quiet, and keeps the tank clean. For a small beginner tank, and for the price, its great. But it is pretty bulky and hard to hide. So for a smaller simple beginner tank with not too many fish, its great. But if you are looking for something sleek, for a bigger tank with nicer fish, spend more money and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandyJumper88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews