Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 97 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
My Tetra Internal Power Filter 40i is awesome, especially during the nitro-cycle...
12/5/2012

Customer review by clownpleco

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by clownpleco
by clownpleco

I have 4 Rummynose Tetras, 2 Cory Catfish and a Clown Pleco all in a 29gal tank after 3 days running fishless and with the impending algae bloom as per the nitrogen cycle/startup cycle, yes got foggy, but filter seems to be taking care of business. All my tests show that ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels are not in the danger zone thus allowing me to keep existing water without having to slow the process with water changes. Its been a week and a half and all my tests are almost down to zeros, thus producing the fastest cycle I have seen since starting my first 10 gallon almost 30 years ago. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical at first trying this internal filter, but its special design is actually perfect for oxygenating and filtering the water and building the beneficial bacterial culture needed to equalize your tank! I recommend this to all hobbyists!

clownpleco
La Puente, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like this product. It's easy to change filters and really easy to take apart and clean. I also like that it is pretty quiet.
6/10/2013

Customer review by Brit

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Brit
by Brit

This product is great. My filter came with the 3 gallon glofish tank. I own the Tetra Whisper 10i Internal filter (By the way, it takes the medium cartridge, I spent about 20 minutes one day trying to figure out which one fitted in it). It's usually pretty quiet, unless my tank lid shifts and touches the filter, causing the lid to rattle a little. It is incredibly easy to take apart and clean (I do this about once every 4 months). The filter cartridges are honestly the best part about this thing, you can buy them pre-assembled, in a pack of 1, 3, 8, or 12 packs in a box. You can also buy 12 unassembled in a box (they're really easy to assemble- just wash the green "spine" or center of the filter, and add the carbon-the black stuff- to a fresh white filter bag, rinse well and you're set). I prefer the 12 pack unassembled, because they're cheaper and you don't have to buy them for a whole year (depending on how often you change your filter). The filters come in several different sizes so make sure you get the right size filter for your tank and ask the sales person what size replacement cartridges it takes, like I said above, mines a 10i, so I can use it on any tank up to 10 gallons, and it's a medium sized bag.

Brit
Southern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not quiet at all!!
3/12/2012

Customer review by fishgurl

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by fishgurl
by fishgurl

So I bought this from my local pet store. I do a complete water change, even took my rocks out and clean them. Filled the tank back up and installed my new 40 gal model. It work amazing for the first week, then all the sudden it becomes very noisy, I go to investigate and now the water is not only being pushed through the spillway area but on both sides of the filter itself. I take it out, rinse the filters, check for clogs (which there were none) and plug it back in. Works perfectly, for 10 minutes then back to the same as before, water being pushed out of the top and down the sides. I called customer service and they told my it needed cleaned. So I clean the dang thing all over again with the same results. I send them an email, which I have never had a reply to. I do a little research online and find that I am not the only one with this complaint, most people say it just needs cleaned or filters replaced. I would find this acceptable but my water was fresh to start with and it only was in for a week before it started acting up. If the filters only have a life of one week, well they should print that on the box. This thing is so noisy that I have to unplug it just to watch TV. The only good thing I can say is that for that first week my water was crystal clear.

fishgurl
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
good but like to see some improvements
1/11/2013

Customer review by fishnut

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by fishnut
by fishnut

I bought the tetra internal filter 40i and was easy to setup and works very good. One thing I noticed though, right out of the box the water coming in is very strong and tends to spill over the sides of the unit. Luckily it stays in the tank. Looked for an adjustment to reduce the intake but couldn't find one and no mention of it in the instructions. An observation: There is no lid. I think it should have a lid and maybe one that is hinged on the front of the unit so you could open the unit easily to maintain. Just a suggestion.

fishnut
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Whisper EX45 NOT SO QUIET!!!
7/6/2011

Customer review by Chudder213

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Chudder213
by Chudder213

I bought a Whisper EX45 about two weeks ago, and it already sounds like its falling appart! Its so noisy i have to unplug it when I watch TV. I have cleaned it and found no debris coming out, so im not sure what the problem is. It still moves whater, it just sounds like a little blender in my livingroom. I did not keep my receipt, so i guess im out of luck, but when i buy a new filter next week, it wont be a Tetra unless they give me a new one to replace this junker!!!!!!

Chudder213
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works, but not a whisper.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Saxio

2.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Saxio
by Saxio

Had the filter for 3 weeks. Started as a drone far from a whisper. Had to return it as it worked its noise level to that of a small rock tumbler. The new one is starting out with the same drone the first makes and it needs to be turned off when I'm in my computer room where the aquarium is. It does however keep the water clear and water enters back into the tank gently.

Saxio
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is absolutely terrible.
5/30/2013

Customer review by AngryTurtle717

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by AngryTurtle717
by AngryTurtle717

In a matter of 3 days, the water was running over top of the internal filter and straight back into the tank. It's getting dirtier by the hour. The clip that holds it to the tank is flimsy and bends easily. I will not be buying this product again and I honestly believe it shouldn't be sold to the public. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.

AngryTurtle717
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tetra 40i used for turtle/works great
9/22/2011

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by mike
by mike

I have a 40i filter for a 20 g tank with a turtle and Two gold fish. It does a fantastic job easy to clean and easy to change the filter the quietest filter I have ever used. The gold fish are now about 4 inches long and the turtle is about 5 inches long and both are very messy. I change the filter about every two weeks

mike
Orlando Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
peacefully quite
8/2/2012

Customer review by pike

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by pike
by pike

I own the 10i whisper filter and it doesn't make a sound in my 10 gallon aquarium. Some people say in tank filters don't compare to external filters but I have tride external filters and there loud, ineffective, and the cartreges are hard to find. The 10i whisper filter is effective and soundless.

pike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Quiet
3/26/2012

Customer review by GoldfishLover

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by GoldfishLover
by GoldfishLover

I'm just starting an aquarium so I have nothing fancy just a couple of goldfish in one of those all in one aquariums but I needed a new filter and this one is great. It's the smallest one and says up to 10 gallons. I've only had it 2 days but so far so good.

GoldfishLover
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This filter is amazing!
6/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased this filter because my Betta tank was getting very cloudy. Since I have had it installed I have noticed that the water is far more clean, plus my fish seems to enjoy having the filter around!

An anonymous customer
British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not pick up dirt in tank
5/7/2013

Customer review by love4bettas

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by love4bettas
by love4bettas

The outtake waterfall of water falls in front of the intake and no dirt is picked up. Poor setup of this filter. Only good for airation.

love4bettas
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best internal filters
3/30/2012

Customer review by FishGuy

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by FishGuy
by FishGuy

I love these filters. They alway work great and for a long time. These are the best internal filters I have ever used.

FishGuy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is the best filter you can buy
10/19/2013

Customer review by hayliehenman

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by hayliehenman
by hayliehenman

i love my filter i use this one the only flaw is that you have to keep buying cartages

hayliehenman
Idaho, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this filer is to bulky and its better for a turtle tank then for fish. you can't fill up the aquarium all the way if you want water movement
2/3/2014

Customer review by tetrasr2cool

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by tetrasr2cool
by tetrasr2cool

doesn't fit well under the rim the water flow is bad

tetrasr2cool
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works fine!
4/30/2010

Customer review by BettaMommy

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by BettaMommy
by BettaMommy

I have 3 of these pumps in our 3gal. Betta tanks. In the kids rooms and on my desk. They do the job, but needed some 'adjusting'. The current was too disturbing for our Bettas. I cut the air tube in two spots and added a back flow valve and a regulating valve (a splitter so you can hook up an air stone or something like that.) I opened the second outlet a bit to let some air from the pump just blow out, and it made the current a lot more suitable for our Bettas! The filters have been running for about 3 years now, and only one broke. The rubber membrane inside the air pump ripped. The vibration can be a bit noisy, so I attached the air pump to a stuffed animal with rubber bands :o) Works fine, looks cute! The water stays clean for a long time and replacing the filter pads takes only seconds. I will switch to an external nano filter but not because of the filters performance! Our tanks are six sided and they look just too bulky in there! Oh, the lid keeps falling off, but is not really needed anyways!

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaMommy
Palmer, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like it
9/7/2010

Customer review by Tyler361549

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by Tyler361549
by Tyler361549

I got this for my fiddler crab tank and its in about one and a half gallons of water that is less than 3 inches deep. Its really quiet and its just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tyler361549
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for my turtle tank
10/15/2011

Customer review by Ritz6

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Ritz6
by Ritz6

We have a baby mud turtle in a ten gallon tank, full to a depth of approximately 2 inches. I set-up the tank about a month ago using this filter, and so far it is working really well. I have not had to change the water yet - this filter has kept the water nice and clear (and stink-free). That is pretty impressive for a turtle tank since turtles produce a lot of waste. Our turtle is still very little, so I am sure as he grows this filter will be put to the test, but so far, so good. A couple of times the filter stopped pumping water -I thought it was broken- but as soon as I added more water to the tank, the filter started right back up again. Now I just make sure that there is enough water in the tank to cover the intake slots near the bottom of the filter. In my set-up, this filter makes quite a bit of noise because of how far the water has to fall; it sounds like a babbling brook in my living room. I don't really mind the noise though, it can be kind of soothing.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ritz6
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
The Whisper 5-15 Filter
12/27/2015

Customer review by SooperFreak

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by SooperFreak
by SooperFreak

This filter came in a 5 gallon aquarium kit i bought at walmart. it was a "glow light" kit, so it has blue lights and white. anyway, back to the filter...it's very quiet. i can't even hear it running when i'm right next to it. one negative is that there is no way to adjust the power, and IF you have a male betta, this filter may be too strong in a 5 gallon tank. it doesn't create a lot of surface agitation, but the "waterfall" it makes IS a strong enough current to really knock around my betta when he swam under it. it's better in a 10 gallon tank, OR with fish that like some current, like neon's or something similar. aside from there being no way to adjust the flow, the only other issue is with the recommendation that you replace the cartridge once a month.....that cartridge is where all your beneficial bacteria live. throwing it out means having to cycle your tank again. INSTEAD...just take it out and swish it around in old tank water (when u do water changes just take that moment to take out cartridge and swish it around in that old fish water, then put it back in the filter. don't change it until it's literally falling apart. and as long as there is good flow coming out of the filter u know it's working and filtering properly

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SooperFreak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A GREAT FIND
2/19/2017

Customer review by Bessie

5.0 stars 2/19/2017 by Bessie
by Bessie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS IS A QUITE PUMP ,I SAT AND WATCH THE FISH SWIM UNDER THE WATERFALL,IT'S AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bessie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews