Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 47 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
very pleased
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

These are cool filters, the water outlet design makes for truly quiet operation. Most filters make a splashing sound when the water comes out. With this filter the water slips into the tank without disturbing the suface tension. This is a big plus for planted tanks! The pump is completely submeged too so no noise there either. Operates in as little as 2" of water, like a turtle tank would have. The filter pad is genius, it's built so you can open it and replace carbon. Rinse it off and it's like new, you hardly ever have to buy new filter pads. Very affordable in the long run and a decent price to begin with. Oh and the pump itself can be removed and used independently as a fountian pump. I like these :)

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for turtle tanks.
3/4/2010

Customer review by Zalaha

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Zalaha
by Zalaha

I currently use this filter on a 30 gallon tank with two turtles in it. It's nice because it does not need to hang off the side of the tank, you can use the suction cups to place it in almost any water level as long as the vents are under water. The water was getting cloudy at the time i put it in and within a few days it was back to being crystal clear. The replacement filters are easy to change, i also found out that they are the same filters as petsmart brand topfin filters. This makes shopping easier and if you cannot get to a walmart the topfin is cheaper than tetra filters at a specialty store.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zalaha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product - Not for Small Fish
12/31/2008

Customer review by J8547

1.0 stars 12/31/2008 by J8547
by J8547

This product is excellent at keeping the water in the aquarium clean but even at it's lowest setting is way too powerful for smaller fish as they will get sucked under the filter and get caught.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
J8547
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Definitely Works!
4/18/2010

Customer review by BonsaiDi1

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by BonsaiDi1
by BonsaiDi1

I was having a major algae problem in my tank, I didn't want to use the drops cause they can kill the shrimp & a few other bottom feeders! I bought this thing, it works like a charm! No need for any pump! And, the best part, it is super quiet & doesn't suck up your smaller breeds of fish! Even works well, if your female Guppy is having babies! Only thing the little babies need to worry about now, is the parent fish!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BonsaiDi1
Benicia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Crystal clear water! Works in 2" of water, silent!
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

Ok first off this filter is totally silent I cannot even hear it run whatsoever, except if your water is low you will hear the waterfall sound, solved simply by filling it up to the lip of the filter, at first I was skeptical its huge, it goes inside the tank, didnt seem right, we used to have the aqua tech 30 gallon model on it and the day after we checked the filter catridge it was full of junk the other filter never cleaned out!!! The fish don't mind it at all even sometimes play in the current, and the suction is perfect for smaller fish although watch out for the bettas the sometimes get stuck on this and this filter might not be for your betta, or get a smaller model...we currently have 4 of these in different sizes on tanks and they are all crystal clear silent and even cheap!!! $.97 on amazon for unassembled cartridges look no further!!!! Oh and they will also work in only 2" of water has to above the filter slots a little bit you just slide the clip off and put the included suction cup on the back, kinda a pain and put it as high or low as you want in the tank, another thing to note is this may grind quite a bit but if you adjust it properly, clean it out, it will work like a charm, also it's a breeze to clean just pop the bottom off with a screwdriver and wipe it off unlike the u tubes which are impossible to fully clean

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price, effective, quiet, and big
5/16/2011

Customer review by ChadRad

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by ChadRad
by ChadRad

This is one of the cheapest filters walmart sells so A+ on price. It is very powerful, filters a lot of water and keeps our 29 gallon tank very clean so A+ on filtering. The water cascade makes NO sound although there is a very faint electric hum from the motor so A on silence. I only see two possible issues, neither of which has been a bother to me. First, the filter is MUCH bigger than it appears in the photo. So if you want something that will be out of sight I cant recommend it. Secondly, the stream coming back into the tank is very powerful. It might be too much for very small fish in a small (5 gallon), like putting them on a treadmill 24/7.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChadRad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Powerful Yet Silent Filter!
5/16/2012

Customer review by Jedgell233

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Jedgell233
by Jedgell233

The Tetra Whisper 10-30i came with my 20 gallon kit that I purchased. It's the first internal filtration system I've used so at first it took some getting used to. The power filter is a good size so as others have reviewed, it may not actually be best for 10 gallon tanks (though it will work). It looks okay in a 20 gallon but would look great in a 30 gallon. Also as one other pointed out, the cord does indeed go into the water. Well part of it anyways. That did have me a bit nervous at first but you have to think this was part of the design so the cord must be made for water submersion. I personally wouldn't have designed it that way but regardless it works. With that said though I would still recommend unplugging the power filter first before actually removing it. This filtration system is extremely quiet. I have the tank set up in the living room and I can watch a movie with ease as the water doesn't cascade into the tank but rather flows gently into the water by running over a horizontal lip. Also since the motor is submerged in the water the hum is even hardly audible. My only kick about this filter is it does seem to be a tad too powerful for smaller fish. The current will push them back and I haven't seen any way to adjust the flow on the filter itself. As another has mentioned though you can obstruct the flow to slow it down while still allowing the filter to work. I had to rig a piece of plastic up on an older power filter that was too powerful in my previous 10 gallon tank and looks like I may have to do the same with this one. The water stays crystal clear and you have two options for filters, assembled and non assembled. Each filter should last about a month too which increases the value too. So over all I really like this filtration system and would gladly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jedgell233
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing!!!
11/11/2008

Customer review by NovemberStargirl

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by NovemberStargirl
by NovemberStargirl

I was so impressed with this product!!!! it works EXTREMELY well, and is totally silent!!! This product is not only affordable, but easy to maintain and does not require much space... I recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NovemberStargirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK
2/25/2009

Customer review by colleen22

4.0 stars 2/25/2009 by colleen22
by colleen22

For me this product works wonderfully. I have a 10 gallon tank and 2 fancy goldfish. It is very quiet and i love the option of the second suction cup. i am kind of shocked by how large the product is. My roommate has the same filter which came in a tetra kit. Her tank is only 3 gallons. She also has a fancy goldfish, however her's is smaller. the filter created such a powerful current that it was sucking up her fish. i would not recommend this filter for anything less than 10 gallons.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colleen22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Value, Great Customer Service by Tetra
6/14/2013

Customer review by AlohaEveryone

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by AlohaEveryone
by AlohaEveryone

I have purchased this filter twice and each time I had problems with them Tetra was there to correct it. The replaced my defective filter really fast. In a matter of days I was back up and running. I cannot say enough about the service. Now, going to the filter, I find that the Tetra filter is the quietest and the refill cartridges have the most cost effective price. I buy the refills in bulk because I change them every month. With my first filter, it just simply stopped working and no amount of cleaning of the motor would get it to start. One tip I would suggest to Tetra regarding this filter is that they should build in some kind of safety to the motor should the electricity go out otherwise the motor can continue to run while the impeller is stuck. That's what I suspect happened to mine. When you live in Hawaii where there are lots of power outages, you are going to run into that problem a lot. I think the motor became overheated and parts within the motor became worn as a result. It's like revving your engine but the wheels on breaks for a long period of time. Otherwise, I love the fact that the filter goes into the tank rather than outside because it does not get in the way of the walls or the sides where they can get bumped into. I notice that they are selling the filters that are not ready to use like they used to. I prefer those as there is no need to fumble with the charcoals which can get messy. I hope that they go back to those as they were actually better in terms of convenience and do not tend to fray like the new ones. I've had the new ones fray so much that I just had to simply replace them well ahead of the scheduled change. I hope that Tetra has not discontinued the ready to use filter replacement. Otherwise, I would be a completely happy camper. Thanks Tetra!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlohaEveryone
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low profile
8/28/2014

Customer review by hardtoplease39

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by hardtoplease39
by hardtoplease39

Very low profile, very quiet and self priming and easy to replace cartridges. Works great in my 55 gallon aquarium that I purchased from Wal-mart. My tropical fish doesn't seem to be bothered by it. Puts out perfect water flow without disturbing my Tropical fish community. The cartridges are available can be assembled or dissembled for those who wants to add more Carbon or anything else to it. I make my own filter and it works great. These internal pumps are very easy to set up and very versatile. It has suction cups or a hang on for the inside of your tank. Doesn't take up much space either. The filter that comes with it, the white jacket can be removed very easily so you can add more Carbon or whatever you want to put in it. It's not permanently fixated it can slide off and filled with media of your choice. I hope this review was helpful. I also included a picture of what it looks like inside the aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hardtoplease39
orleans,vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Top 500 contributor
Works great easy to clean
5/4/2014

Customer review by Fabian721

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Fabian721
by Fabian721

Cleans great , love the fact it goes in tank versus on outside tank like many others, also very easy to clean as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fabian721
Henderson,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LARGE but Effective
10/29/2010

Customer review by TheBuffDaddy

4.0 stars 10/29/2010 by TheBuffDaddy
by TheBuffDaddy

This is a very good internal filter! It definitely is effective at keeping a 20H tank clear and all of my tank mates healthy. The only drawback is its size! I would not recommend this filter for a low tank style. If you look at a 150 gph backpack style filter and imagine the whole thing vertical in your tank, you get an idea of its size. Changing filters has been a breeze, but the suction cups come off of the filter easily, which necessitates removing the entire filter. So far, though, it is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBuffDaddy
Cartertsville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not that great
5/17/2010

Customer review by 78hellhound

3.0 stars 5/17/2010 by 78hellhound
by 78hellhound

Useful for turtles but not great for amateur koi tanks. My filter system gave out and I bought this product. It is very quiet (which is great) but I am a paranoid person and having the cord in the tank made me not happy with it off the back. It gives no aeration to the tank so my koi are at the top for air. It has a nice design despite being so clunky. I could buy an air pump but those things are noisy so having a filteration system that could provide some aeration is more useful than a silent submergable one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
78hellhound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
good value
12/23/2012

Customer review by 111144441111

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by 111144441111
by 111144441111

it does what it supposed to. the price was good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
111144441111
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Good.
12/5/2013

Customer review by JessePinnapple

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by JessePinnapple
by JessePinnapple

I bought this for my turtle tank. The first week it was pretty good after that the water became dirty. I replace the filters inside and reread the manual but nothing work. My tank is very dirty and in poor conditions due to it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessePinnapple
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked good for about a week.
8/13/2012

Customer review by nevadawolfpackken

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by nevadawolfpackken
by nevadawolfpackken

The filter was constructed very cheaply but seemed to work well for about a week. Then it started shooting water out the back, over the top of the tank, and onto the wall. My son caught it before there was major damage to the wall and floor, but I had to clean over a gallon of fish water out of the carpet in my boy’s room and missed the first quarter of the 49rs game.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nevadawolfpackken
Davis, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
11/30/2013

Customer review by SallySue123

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by SallySue123
by SallySue123

A great little filter

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SallySue123
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
8/4/2014

Customer review by coopergirl

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by coopergirl
by coopergirl

Love this filter, made my 10 gal. tank clear in only an afternoon. It's quite, and I just love it..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coopergirl
wichita, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWSOME
5/10/2009

Customer review by Prettyxgirl4ever

5.0 stars 5/10/2009 by Prettyxgirl4ever
by Prettyxgirl4ever

I bought this product for a month now and it works really great for my 10 gallon tank. I use it for my guppies and it works great. The water is crystal clean and my guppies aren't suck into it. So yea for its value and stuff I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prettyxgirl4ever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews