Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 53 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
My Tetra Internal Power Filter 40i is awesome, especially during the nitro-cycle...
12/5/2012

Customer review by clownpleco

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by clownpleco
by clownpleco

I have 4 Rummynose Tetras, 2 Cory Catfish and a Clown Pleco all in a 29gal tank after 3 days running fishless and with the impending algae bloom as per the nitrogen cycle/startup cycle, yes got foggy, but filter seems to be taking care of business. All my tests show that ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels are not in the danger zone thus allowing me to keep existing water without having to slow the process with water changes. Its been a week and a half and all my tests are almost down to zeros, thus producing the fastest cycle I have seen since starting my first 10 gallon almost 30 years ago. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical at first trying this internal filter, but its special design is actually perfect for oxygenating and filtering the water and building the beneficial bacterial culture needed to equalize your tank! I recommend this to all hobbyists!

clownpleco
La Puente, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like this product. It's easy to change filters and really easy to take apart and clean. I also like that it is pretty quiet.
6/10/2013

Customer review by Brit

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Brit
by Brit

This product is great. My filter came with the 3 gallon glofish tank. I own the Tetra Whisper 10i Internal filter (By the way, it takes the medium cartridge, I spent about 20 minutes one day trying to figure out which one fitted in it). It's usually pretty quiet, unless my tank lid shifts and touches the filter, causing the lid to rattle a little. It is incredibly easy to take apart and clean (I do this about once every 4 months). The filter cartridges are honestly the best part about this thing, you can buy them pre-assembled, in a pack of 1, 3, 8, or 12 packs in a box. You can also buy 12 unassembled in a box (they're really easy to assemble- just wash the green "spine" or center of the filter, and add the carbon-the black stuff- to a fresh white filter bag, rinse well and you're set). I prefer the 12 pack unassembled, because they're cheaper and you don't have to buy them for a whole year (depending on how often you change your filter). The filters come in several different sizes so make sure you get the right size filter for your tank and ask the sales person what size replacement cartridges it takes, like I said above, mines a 10i, so I can use it on any tank up to 10 gallons, and it's a medium sized bag.

Brit
Southern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not quiet at all!!
3/12/2012

Customer review by fishgurl

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by fishgurl
by fishgurl

So I bought this from my local pet store. I do a complete water change, even took my rocks out and clean them. Filled the tank back up and installed my new 40 gal model. It work amazing for the first week, then all the sudden it becomes very noisy, I go to investigate and now the water is not only being pushed through the spillway area but on both sides of the filter itself. I take it out, rinse the filters, check for clogs (which there were none) and plug it back in. Works perfectly, for 10 minutes then back to the same as before, water being pushed out of the top and down the sides. I called customer service and they told my it needed cleaned. So I clean the dang thing all over again with the same results. I send them an email, which I have never had a reply to. I do a little research online and find that I am not the only one with this complaint, most people say it just needs cleaned or filters replaced. I would find this acceptable but my water was fresh to start with and it only was in for a week before it started acting up. If the filters only have a life of one week, well they should print that on the box. This thing is so noisy that I have to unplug it just to watch TV. The only good thing I can say is that for that first week my water was crystal clear.

fishgurl
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
good but like to see some improvements
1/11/2013

Customer review by fishnut

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by fishnut
by fishnut

I bought the tetra internal filter 40i and was easy to setup and works very good. One thing I noticed though, right out of the box the water coming in is very strong and tends to spill over the sides of the unit. Luckily it stays in the tank. Looked for an adjustment to reduce the intake but couldn't find one and no mention of it in the instructions. An observation: There is no lid. I think it should have a lid and maybe one that is hinged on the front of the unit so you could open the unit easily to maintain. Just a suggestion.

fishnut
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Whisper EX45 NOT SO QUIET!!!
7/6/2011

Customer review by Chudder213

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Chudder213
by Chudder213

I bought a Whisper EX45 about two weeks ago, and it already sounds like its falling appart! Its so noisy i have to unplug it when I watch TV. I have cleaned it and found no debris coming out, so im not sure what the problem is. It still moves whater, it just sounds like a little blender in my livingroom. I did not keep my receipt, so i guess im out of luck, but when i buy a new filter next week, it wont be a Tetra unless they give me a new one to replace this junker!!!!!!

Chudder213
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works, but not a whisper.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Saxio

2.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Saxio
by Saxio

Had the filter for 3 weeks. Started as a drone far from a whisper. Had to return it as it worked its noise level to that of a small rock tumbler. The new one is starting out with the same drone the first makes and it needs to be turned off when I'm in my computer room where the aquarium is. It does however keep the water clear and water enters back into the tank gently.

Saxio
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is absolutely terrible.
5/30/2013

Customer review by AngryTurtle717

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by AngryTurtle717
by AngryTurtle717

In a matter of 3 days, the water was running over top of the internal filter and straight back into the tank. It's getting dirtier by the hour. The clip that holds it to the tank is flimsy and bends easily. I will not be buying this product again and I honestly believe it shouldn't be sold to the public. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.

AngryTurtle717
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tetra 40i used for turtle/works great
9/22/2011

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by mike
by mike

I have a 40i filter for a 20 g tank with a turtle and Two gold fish. It does a fantastic job easy to clean and easy to change the filter the quietest filter I have ever used. The gold fish are now about 4 inches long and the turtle is about 5 inches long and both are very messy. I change the filter about every two weeks

mike
Orlando Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
peacefully quite
8/2/2012

Customer review by pike

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by pike
by pike

I own the 10i whisper filter and it doesn't make a sound in my 10 gallon aquarium. Some people say in tank filters don't compare to external filters but I have tride external filters and there loud, ineffective, and the cartreges are hard to find. The 10i whisper filter is effective and soundless.

pike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Quiet
3/26/2012

Customer review by GoldfishLover

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by GoldfishLover
by GoldfishLover

I'm just starting an aquarium so I have nothing fancy just a couple of goldfish in one of those all in one aquariums but I needed a new filter and this one is great. It's the smallest one and says up to 10 gallons. I've only had it 2 days but so far so good.

GoldfishLover
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This filter is amazing!
6/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased this filter because my Betta tank was getting very cloudy. Since I have had it installed I have noticed that the water is far more clean, plus my fish seems to enjoy having the filter around!

An anonymous customer
British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not pick up dirt in tank
5/7/2013

Customer review by love4bettas

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by love4bettas
by love4bettas

The outtake waterfall of water falls in front of the intake and no dirt is picked up. Poor setup of this filter. Only good for airation.

love4bettas
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best internal filters
3/30/2012

Customer review by FishGuy

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by FishGuy
by FishGuy

I love these filters. They alway work great and for a long time. These are the best internal filters I have ever used.

FishGuy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is the best filter you can buy
10/19/2013

Customer review by hayliehenman

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by hayliehenman
by hayliehenman

i love my filter i use this one the only flaw is that you have to keep buying cartages

hayliehenman
Idaho, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this filer is to bulky and its better for a turtle tank then for fish. you can't fill up the aquarium all the way if you want water movement
2/3/2014

Customer review by tetrasr2cool

1.0 stars 2/3/2014 by tetrasr2cool
by tetrasr2cool

doesn't fit well under the rim the water flow is bad

tetrasr2cool
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Low profile
8/28/2014

Customer review by hardtoplease39

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by hardtoplease39
by hardtoplease39
Top 500 contributor

Very low profile, very quiet and self priming and easy to replace cartridges. Works great in my 55 gallon aquarium that I purchased from Wal-mart. My tropical fish doesn't seem to be bothered by it. Puts out perfect water flow without disturbing my Tropical fish community. The cartridges are available can be assembled or dissembled for those who wants to add more Carbon or anything else to it. I make my own filter and it works great. These internal pumps are very easy to set up and very versatile. It has suction cups or a hang on for the inside of your tank. Doesn't take up much space either. The filter that comes with it, the white jacket can be removed very easily so you can add more Carbon or whatever you want to put in it. It's not permanently fixated it can slide off and filled with media of your choice. I hope this review was helpful. I also included a picture of what it looks like inside the aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hardtoplease39
orleans,vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Top 500 contributor
Crystal clear water! Works in 2" of water, silent!
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

Ok first off this filter is totally silent I cannot even hear it run whatsoever, except if your water is low you will hear the waterfall sound, solved simply by filling it up to the lip of the filter, at first I was skeptical its huge, it goes inside the tank, didnt seem right, we used to have the aqua tech 30 gallon model on it and the day after we checked the filter catridge it was full of junk the other filter never cleaned out!!! The fish don't mind it at all even sometimes play in the current, and the suction is perfect for smaller fish although watch out for the bettas the sometimes get stuck on this and this filter might not be for your betta, or get a smaller model...we currently have 4 of these in different sizes on tanks and they are all crystal clear silent and even cheap!!! $.97 on amazon for unassembled cartridges look no further!!!! Oh and they will also work in only 2" of water has to above the filter slots a little bit you just slide the clip off and put the included suction cup on the back, kinda a pain and put it as high or low as you want in the tank, another thing to note is this may grind quite a bit but if you adjust it properly, clean it out, it will work like a charm, also it's a breeze to clean just pop the bottom off with a screwdriver and wipe it off unlike the u tubes which are impossible to fully clean

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very pleased
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

These are cool filters, the water outlet design makes for truly quiet operation. Most filters make a splashing sound when the water comes out. With this filter the water slips into the tank without disturbing the suface tension. This is a big plus for planted tanks! The pump is completely submeged too so no noise there either. Operates in as little as 2" of water, like a turtle tank would have. The filter pad is genius, it's built so you can open it and replace carbon. Rinse it off and it's like new, you hardly ever have to buy new filter pads. Very affordable in the long run and a decent price to begin with. Oh and the pump itself can be removed and used independently as a fountian pump. I like these :)

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for turtle tanks.
3/4/2010

Customer review by Zalaha

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Zalaha
by Zalaha

I currently use this filter on a 30 gallon tank with two turtles in it. It's nice because it does not need to hang off the side of the tank, you can use the suction cups to place it in almost any water level as long as the vents are under water. The water was getting cloudy at the time i put it in and within a few days it was back to being crystal clear. The replacement filters are easy to change, i also found out that they are the same filters as petsmart brand topfin filters. This makes shopping easier and if you cannot get to a walmart the topfin is cheaper than tetra filters at a specialty store.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zalaha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely Works!
4/18/2010

Customer review by BonsaiDi1

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by BonsaiDi1
by BonsaiDi1

I was having a major algae problem in my tank, I didn't want to use the drops cause they can kill the shrimp & a few other bottom feeders! I bought this thing, it works like a charm! No need for any pump! And, the best part, it is super quiet & doesn't suck up your smaller breeds of fish! Even works well, if your female Guppy is having babies! Only thing the little babies need to worry about now, is the parent fish!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonsaiDi1
Benicia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews