Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 49 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Low profile
8/28/2014

Customer review by hardtoplease39

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by hardtoplease39
by hardtoplease39
Top 500 contributor

Very low profile, very quiet and self priming and easy to replace cartridges. Works great in my 55 gallon aquarium that I purchased from Wal-mart. My tropical fish doesn't seem to be bothered by it. Puts out perfect water flow without disturbing my Tropical fish community. The cartridges are available can be assembled or dissembled for those who wants to add more Carbon or anything else to it. I make my own filter and it works great. These internal pumps are very easy to set up and very versatile. It has suction cups or a hang on for the inside of your tank. Doesn't take up much space either. The filter that comes with it, the white jacket can be removed very easily so you can add more Carbon or whatever you want to put in it. It's not permanently fixated it can slide off and filled with media of your choice. I hope this review was helpful. I also included a picture of what it looks like inside the aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hardtoplease39
orleans,vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Top 500 contributor
Crystal clear water! Works in 2" of water, silent!
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

Ok first off this filter is totally silent I cannot even hear it run whatsoever, except if your water is low you will hear the waterfall sound, solved simply by filling it up to the lip of the filter, at first I was skeptical its huge, it goes inside the tank, didnt seem right, we used to have the aqua tech 30 gallon model on it and the day after we checked the filter catridge it was full of junk the other filter never cleaned out!!! The fish don't mind it at all even sometimes play in the current, and the suction is perfect for smaller fish although watch out for the bettas the sometimes get stuck on this and this filter might not be for your betta, or get a smaller model...we currently have 4 of these in different sizes on tanks and they are all crystal clear silent and even cheap!!! $.97 on amazon for unassembled cartridges look no further!!!! Oh and they will also work in only 2" of water has to above the filter slots a little bit you just slide the clip off and put the included suction cup on the back, kinda a pain and put it as high or low as you want in the tank, another thing to note is this may grind quite a bit but if you adjust it properly, clean it out, it will work like a charm, also it's a breeze to clean just pop the bottom off with a screwdriver and wipe it off unlike the u tubes which are impossible to fully clean

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very pleased
6/19/2009

Customer review by cbeans

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by cbeans
by cbeans

These are cool filters, the water outlet design makes for truly quiet operation. Most filters make a splashing sound when the water comes out. With this filter the water slips into the tank without disturbing the suface tension. This is a big plus for planted tanks! The pump is completely submeged too so no noise there either. Operates in as little as 2" of water, like a turtle tank would have. The filter pad is genius, it's built so you can open it and replace carbon. Rinse it off and it's like new, you hardly ever have to buy new filter pads. Very affordable in the long run and a decent price to begin with. Oh and the pump itself can be removed and used independently as a fountian pump. I like these :)

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbeans
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely Works!
4/18/2010

Customer review by BonsaiDi1

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by BonsaiDi1
by BonsaiDi1

I was having a major algae problem in my tank, I didn't want to use the drops cause they can kill the shrimp & a few other bottom feeders! I bought this thing, it works like a charm! No need for any pump! And, the best part, it is super quiet & doesn't suck up your smaller breeds of fish! Even works well, if your female Guppy is having babies! Only thing the little babies need to worry about now, is the parent fish!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonsaiDi1
Benicia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for turtle tanks.
3/4/2010

Customer review by Zalaha

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Zalaha
by Zalaha

I currently use this filter on a 30 gallon tank with two turtles in it. It's nice because it does not need to hang off the side of the tank, you can use the suction cups to place it in almost any water level as long as the vents are under water. The water was getting cloudy at the time i put it in and within a few days it was back to being crystal clear. The replacement filters are easy to change, i also found out that they are the same filters as petsmart brand topfin filters. This makes shopping easier and if you cannot get to a walmart the topfin is cheaper than tetra filters at a specialty store.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zalaha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product - Not for Small Fish
12/31/2008

Customer review by J8547

1.0 stars 12/31/2008 by J8547
by J8547

This product is excellent at keeping the water in the aquarium clean but even at it's lowest setting is way too powerful for smaller fish as they will get sucked under the filter and get caught.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
J8547
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I can turn on the aquarium light again!!
1/16/2013

Customer review by Mandela

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Mandela
by Mandela

I have a 10 gallon tank with just three lonely, smallish fish and the tank was constantly filthy. To keep it clean, I'd have to empty it each week (which I never had time nor the energy to do!) The last filter simply didn't work so I figured I would give this one a try given the favorable reviews. I set it up in less than 5 minutes and it is amazingly quiet. I couldn't tell it was on when I sat on our couch which is located directly in front of the tank. I thought I would have to clean the tank because of all the old food that settled in the gravel. No! I stirred the gravel a few hundred times throughout the evening and watched it all get sucked into the filter. This morning, the tank was completely clean and I was able to turn on the light without grimacing and feeling sick. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mandela
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good price, effective, quiet, and big
5/16/2011

Customer review by ChadRad

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by ChadRad
by ChadRad

This is one of the cheapest filters walmart sells so A+ on price. It is very powerful, filters a lot of water and keeps our 29 gallon tank very clean so A+ on filtering. The water cascade makes NO sound although there is a very faint electric hum from the motor so A on silence. I only see two possible issues, neither of which has been a bother to me. First, the filter is MUCH bigger than it appears in the photo. So if you want something that will be out of sight I cant recommend it. Secondly, the stream coming back into the tank is very powerful. It might be too much for very small fish in a small (5 gallon), like putting them on a treadmill 24/7.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChadRad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Frog tank filter
11/4/2015

Customer review by kt1405

4.0 stars 11/4/2015 by kt1405
by kt1405

Had one of these power filters for my African Clawed Frog's tank which finally quit. Pros: I like the way the filter functions and it is pretty quiet, easy to clean and doesn't disturb the frogs (they love hiding under it). Cons: Usually last about 3-4 maybe 5 years. It is hard to find replacement filters and they are pricey for what they are. Used to find it in store at Walmart but hard to find now and have to buy online.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kt1405
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Tetra Internal Power Filter 40i is awesome, especially during the nitro-cycle...
12/5/2012

Customer review by clownpleco

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by clownpleco
by clownpleco

I have 4 Rummynose Tetras, 2 Cory Catfish and a Clown Pleco all in a 29gal tank after 3 days running fishless and with the impending algae bloom as per the nitrogen cycle/startup cycle, yes got foggy, but filter seems to be taking care of business. All my tests show that ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels are not in the danger zone thus allowing me to keep existing water without having to slow the process with water changes. Its been a week and a half and all my tests are almost down to zeros, thus producing the fastest cycle I have seen since starting my first 10 gallon almost 30 years ago. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical at first trying this internal filter, but its special design is actually perfect for oxygenating and filtering the water and building the beneficial bacterial culture needed to equalize your tank! I recommend this to all hobbyists!

clownpleco
La Puente, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful Yet Silent Filter!
5/16/2012

Customer review by Jedgell233

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Jedgell233
by Jedgell233

The Tetra Whisper 10-30i came with my 20 gallon kit that I purchased. It's the first internal filtration system I've used so at first it took some getting used to. The power filter is a good size so as others have reviewed, it may not actually be best for 10 gallon tanks (though it will work). It looks okay in a 20 gallon but would look great in a 30 gallon. Also as one other pointed out, the cord does indeed go into the water. Well part of it anyways. That did have me a bit nervous at first but you have to think this was part of the design so the cord must be made for water submersion. I personally wouldn't have designed it that way but regardless it works. With that said though I would still recommend unplugging the power filter first before actually removing it. This filtration system is extremely quiet. I have the tank set up in the living room and I can watch a movie with ease as the water doesn't cascade into the tank but rather flows gently into the water by running over a horizontal lip. Also since the motor is submerged in the water the hum is even hardly audible. My only kick about this filter is it does seem to be a tad too powerful for smaller fish. The current will push them back and I haven't seen any way to adjust the flow on the filter itself. As another has mentioned though you can obstruct the flow to slow it down while still allowing the filter to work. I had to rig a piece of plastic up on an older power filter that was too powerful in my previous 10 gallon tank and looks like I may have to do the same with this one. The water stays crystal clear and you have two options for filters, assembled and non assembled. Each filter should last about a month too which increases the value too. So over all I really like this filtration system and would gladly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jedgell233
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not that great
5/17/2010

Customer review by 78hellhound

3.0 stars 5/17/2010 by 78hellhound
by 78hellhound
Walmart associate

Useful for turtles but not great for amateur koi tanks. My filter system gave out and I bought this product. It is very quiet (which is great) but I am a paranoid person and having the cord in the tank made me not happy with it off the back. It gives no aeration to the tank so my koi are at the top for air. It has a nice design despite being so clunky. I could buy an air pump but those things are noisy so having a filteration system that could provide some aeration is more useful than a silent submergable one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
78hellhound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Really wonderful filter!
4/4/2012

Customer review by BeeYourself

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by BeeYourself
by BeeYourself

I have had many different filters throughout the more then 10 years I have of fish care. This filter pumps out 150 gallons an hour which is great for any 10 gallon tank and average for a 30 gallon tank. It keeps the water clear and the cartrages are very easy to clean and cheap. The motor is submerged in water which makes for more silence then other power filters. Some people may complain about how much room it takes up being that it is an eternal filter not an external filter. I have no problem with this. Another nice feature is that the water put out does not disturb the surface much at all and does not make any water fountain noise what so ever! The only down side is it does vibrate a little in the tank so that makes a humming noise. This doesn't bother me being that other filters humb, rattle and make water fountain noises at the same time. I really wouldn't let this prevent your from buying this filter! If you are looking for a great filter at a reasonable price this is the filter for you! I will not be using any other type of filter other then this one for any of my tanks!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeeYourself
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like this product. It's easy to change filters and really easy to take apart and clean. I also like that it is pretty quiet.
6/10/2013

Customer review by Brit

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Brit
by Brit

This product is great. My filter came with the 3 gallon glofish tank. I own the Tetra Whisper 10i Internal filter (By the way, it takes the medium cartridge, I spent about 20 minutes one day trying to figure out which one fitted in it). It's usually pretty quiet, unless my tank lid shifts and touches the filter, causing the lid to rattle a little. It is incredibly easy to take apart and clean (I do this about once every 4 months). The filter cartridges are honestly the best part about this thing, you can buy them pre-assembled, in a pack of 1, 3, 8, or 12 packs in a box. You can also buy 12 unassembled in a box (they're really easy to assemble- just wash the green "spine" or center of the filter, and add the carbon-the black stuff- to a fresh white filter bag, rinse well and you're set). I prefer the 12 pack unassembled, because they're cheaper and you don't have to buy them for a whole year (depending on how often you change your filter). The filters come in several different sizes so make sure you get the right size filter for your tank and ask the sales person what size replacement cartridges it takes, like I said above, mines a 10i, so I can use it on any tank up to 10 gallons, and it's a medium sized bag.

Brit
Southern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not quiet at all!!
3/12/2012

Customer review by fishgurl

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by fishgurl
by fishgurl

So I bought this from my local pet store. I do a complete water change, even took my rocks out and clean them. Filled the tank back up and installed my new 40 gal model. It work amazing for the first week, then all the sudden it becomes very noisy, I go to investigate and now the water is not only being pushed through the spillway area but on both sides of the filter itself. I take it out, rinse the filters, check for clogs (which there were none) and plug it back in. Works perfectly, for 10 minutes then back to the same as before, water being pushed out of the top and down the sides. I called customer service and they told my it needed cleaned. So I clean the dang thing all over again with the same results. I send them an email, which I have never had a reply to. I do a little research online and find that I am not the only one with this complaint, most people say it just needs cleaned or filters replaced. I would find this acceptable but my water was fresh to start with and it only was in for a week before it started acting up. If the filters only have a life of one week, well they should print that on the box. This thing is so noisy that I have to unplug it just to watch TV. The only good thing I can say is that for that first week my water was crystal clear.

fishgurl
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
LARGE but Effective
10/29/2010

Customer review by TheBuffDaddy

4.0 stars 10/29/2010 by TheBuffDaddy
by TheBuffDaddy

This is a very good internal filter! It definitely is effective at keeping a 20H tank clear and all of my tank mates healthy. The only drawback is its size! I would not recommend this filter for a low tank style. If you look at a 150 gph backpack style filter and imagine the whole thing vertical in your tank, you get an idea of its size. Changing filters has been a breeze, but the suction cups come off of the filter easily, which necessitates removing the entire filter. So far, though, it is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBuffDaddy
Cartertsville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
quiet
8/17/2015

Customer review by bam7

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by bam7
by bam7

this is quiet and works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bam7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK
2/25/2009

Customer review by colleen22

4.0 stars 2/25/2009 by colleen22
by colleen22

For me this product works wonderfully. I have a 10 gallon tank and 2 fancy goldfish. It is very quiet and i love the option of the second suction cup. i am kind of shocked by how large the product is. My roommate has the same filter which came in a tetra kit. Her tank is only 3 gallons. She also has a fancy goldfish, however her's is smaller. the filter created such a powerful current that it was sucking up her fish. i would not recommend this filter for anything less than 10 gallons.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
colleen22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Amazing!!!
11/11/2008

Customer review by NovemberStargirl

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by NovemberStargirl
by NovemberStargirl

I was so impressed with this product!!!! it works EXTREMELY well, and is totally silent!!! This product is not only affordable, but easy to maintain and does not require much space... I recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NovemberStargirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value, Great Customer Service by Tetra
6/14/2013

Customer review by AlohaEveryone

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by AlohaEveryone
by AlohaEveryone

I have purchased this filter twice and each time I had problems with them Tetra was there to correct it. The replaced my defective filter really fast. In a matter of days I was back up and running. I cannot say enough about the service. Now, going to the filter, I find that the Tetra filter is the quietest and the refill cartridges have the most cost effective price. I buy the refills in bulk because I change them every month. With my first filter, it just simply stopped working and no amount of cleaning of the motor would get it to start. One tip I would suggest to Tetra regarding this filter is that they should build in some kind of safety to the motor should the electricity go out otherwise the motor can continue to run while the impeller is stuck. That's what I suspect happened to mine. When you live in Hawaii where there are lots of power outages, you are going to run into that problem a lot. I think the motor became overheated and parts within the motor became worn as a result. It's like revving your engine but the wheels on breaks for a long period of time. Otherwise, I love the fact that the filter goes into the tank rather than outside because it does not get in the way of the walls or the sides where they can get bumped into. I notice that they are selling the filters that are not ready to use like they used to. I prefer those as there is no need to fumble with the charcoals which can get messy. I hope that they go back to those as they were actually better in terms of convenience and do not tend to fray like the new ones. I've had the new ones fray so much that I just had to simply replace them well ahead of the scheduled change. I hope that Tetra has not discontinued the ready to use filter replacement. Otherwise, I would be a completely happy camper. Thanks Tetra!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlohaEveryone
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews