Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 36 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
For on the go and no need to refrigerate
3/29/2014

Customer review by Szack

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Szack
by Szack

I expected it to taste like the canned potatoes usually taste. This meal looks like it is the fast food dish of a baked potato at Wendys fast food place, missing the clear dome lid. That is the size of this bowl so don't let the picture fool you. Inside you find all the mashed potatoes off to one side and a gravy on the other side. Under the gravy you find the meat. The meat wasn't half bad. I am giving it a 4 star because if I had to go any period of time without refrigeration, this meal is perfect for on the go. All you need is a place to heat it. I ate mine with some buttered herb encrusted foccacia bread and it made this a full meal. I would order these again actually. Worth having a few around when you do not want to cook and need a quick meal. There is about half a cup of gravy and meat and half a cup of mashed potatoes for a couple buck so the value is pretty good. I paid $2.18 at the time of this review.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Szack
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Good Meal Fast
7/9/2016

Customer review by vcrdoug

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by vcrdoug
by vcrdoug

Although not like my mom used to make, it is a good tasty meal in a minute. Beats fast food and is probably better nutrition. Great to take to work and have for lunch since you don't need to keep it refrigerated.

vcrdoug
Vacaville, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not as good as others Hormel Compleats
7/22/2016

Customer review by kskma

3.0 stars 7/22/2016 by kskma
by kskma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Meat tough, mashed potatoes taste funny

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kskma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Compleats
7/14/2016

Customer review by Debsdibs

4.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Debsdibs
by Debsdibs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quick, easy, & Delicious! I take them on trips. Perfect dinner, when you're tired from traveling & don't want to leave your hotel room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debsdibs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yum. Real potatoes and tasty meat
8/21/2013

Customer review by monsterandrosie

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by monsterandrosie
by monsterandrosie

with no hint of fat or gristle. Too much sodium and weird stuff but I try to stay away from that stuff in general when I eat in so I can afford to be bad sometimes. And it doesn't taste salty. To me this is a way to avoid going out and spending a WHOLE lot more for food that might have those same ingredients and I don't have to tip 25% (I'm a waitress). I'm gonna stock up and try the pot roast too.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monsterandrosie
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shelf Stable, Delicious, High in Sodium
9/14/2013

Customer review by Renee700

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Renee700
by Renee700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shelf-stable meal is delicious when microwaved. The beef is tender, the gravy very good, and the whipped potatoes are creamy. This is a high-sodium product, as most shelf-stable products are. When I have this as part of my meal, I try not to have any other salty products.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renee700
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast, tasty, long lasting, inexpensive...
4/12/2015

Customer review by Shenan

4.0 stars 4/12/2015 by Shenan
by Shenan

Not needing refrigeration is a plus. Lasting a long time is also good - although they seldom need to last that long in my office. You can fit several of these in a desk drawer or shelf. I use these to save time and money at the office. I supplement the meal with a package of Lance Crackers and a drink and it makes a good, filling, fast and easy lunch that is much cheaper than eating out. The Hormel packaging (at least the compleats) doesn't seem to add any plastic taste to the food inside them. It is what it is - a microwave MRE type concoction. Based off that, the beef steak tips one has a good taste, tender meat. The potatoes are not 'fluffy', but they fit well with the gravy (they seem to match these up well in all cases.) This is, in my opinion, one of the better of the 'mashed potatoes' meals that come in this form.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shenan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
portion control
8/27/2015

Customer review by helennah

3.0 stars 8/27/2015 by helennah
by helennah

I bought 20 of these little meals and am mostly pleased with all of them. This Beef Beef Tips with Mashed Potatoes and Gravy was mostly good, the meat and gravy was good, but the mashed potatoes reminded me of cutting into a wet sponge. Potatoes were dense and very thick with very little flavor. I put butter on the potatoes and mashed them really good and heated them really hot and they were okay. I am on a diet where I am learning portion control and this little meal just fit right in. I had peas and a green salad with the beef tips and had a glass of milk. It was just fine overall. When I go to re-order my little meals, however, this might not be one of my favorites, but I probably will order it again because it met my needs and wasn't too expensive for my budget.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helennah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tried for the first time
3/15/2015

Customer review by watts4664

5.0 stars 3/15/2015 by watts4664
by watts4664

I buy a lot of these little Compleats dinner. I like them because the sodium content is less than 1/2 can of soup that I was eating. I usually don't like beef dinners because they tend to be tough and hard to eat. This little dinner filled me up and I am a big eater. The chunks of beef (and there were many) were tender and in a nice brown gravy, to eat with the mashed potatoes. I especially like the fact they do not require being frozen. I will purchase this one again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
watts4664
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WHERE'S THE BEEF??
5/3/2016

Customer review by WHERESTHEBEEF

2.0 stars 5/3/2016 by WHERESTHEBEEF
by WHERESTHEBEEF

I bought 2 of these things at WalMart. Each one had one single piece of beef in them. Should rename them Beef Steak Tip... singular.. W/Mashed. The potatoes and gravy were good but "WHERE'S THE BEEF??" $2.36 for some mashed potatoes and gravy..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WHERESTHEBEEF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good
7/3/2014

Customer review by M551

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by M551
by M551
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just had one today... plenty of gravy... I like pepper so I added a bunch of that and a pat of butter or two... mixed it all together... YUM

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M551
Yakima WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good beef tips
3/9/2016

Customer review by Bruce

5.0 stars 3/9/2016 by Bruce
by Bruce

I failed to completely read the preparation instructions. Therefore, the masked potatoes were a big lump. However, after mixing the potatoes with the gravy & beef tips, it turned out to be an excellent meal..

Bruce
Alachua, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not bad
4/17/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/17/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Walmart associate

Actually a good little hot meal for the price. After a minute of microwaving I opened the package and there was a lump of hard mashed potatoes. After breaking up the potatoes I mixed it all up and microwaved for an additional 30 seconds and all was good. There was a little more meat than I expected and plenty of gravy. Relatively low in calories, high in sodium.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Great for long drives no refrigerator needed
6/4/2014

Customer review by SelfOkie

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by SelfOkie
by SelfOkie

This is great in the car for long trips, I put it in the window and with summer heat it bakes in about 5 minutes! Depending on how hungry you are sometimes it may take 2 for a complete meal. Great for dorms when used with there small microwaves.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SelfOkie
Edmond, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
decent
1/23/2015

Customer review by Robin123456789

4.0 stars 1/23/2015 by Robin123456789
by Robin123456789

There were a good number of meat pieces in this meal, decent sized chunks, and this did fill me up. it was on the bland side for my personal preference - would have liked to see veggies/corn included, but this was a surprisingly decent meal for the cost. worth buying for an easy dinner

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robin123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quick and easy
1/24/2016

Customer review by SueInMO

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by SueInMO
by SueInMO

Cooking a minute, letting it sit, then another 30 heats through. Taste is good, add a salad and a good meal for a single.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueInMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best
8/5/2014

Customer review by bkwalmart

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by bkwalmart
by bkwalmart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are great tasting. The beef is tender and flavorful. The gravy is very good. The potatoes are good, a little solid but ok. Overall it is a great value for a meal I love.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkwalmart
Wenham Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great meal to have
12/25/2014

Customer review by dakkuri

4.0 stars 12/25/2014 by dakkuri
by dakkuri

it's great to have while at work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dakkuri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
11/16/2013

Customer review by BlackBearSix

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by BlackBearSix
by BlackBearSix

Consume them on a regular basis - simply excellent

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackBearSix
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tasty, filling and fast meal
9/1/2014

Customer review by effeeegee

5.0 stars 9/1/2014 by effeeegee
by effeeegee

Large amount of tender beef with a lot of creamy potatoes that don't have an instant potato flake taste or mouth feel and a pretty good gravy. It's a bargain at a little more than 2 bucks and it makes a quick and satisfying meal. Filling, too, for someone like me who can be a big eater. Lends itself well to adding a side veg and/or salad and fruit. Time saving, much cheaper and better than fast food meals. I plan to keep an assortment in my pantry for "one of those days", whatever that may be, when I can't or don't want to cook from scratch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
effeeegee
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews