Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 56 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 53 reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
For on the go and no need to refrigerate
3/29/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I expected it to taste like the canned potatoes usually taste. This meal looks like it is the fast food dish of a baked potato at Wendys fast food place, missing the clear dome lid. That is the size of this bowl so don't let the picture fool you. Inside you find all the mashed potatoes off to one side and a gravy on the other side. Under the gravy you find the meat. The meat wasn't half bad. I am giving it a 4 star because if I had to go any period of time without refrigeration, this meal is perfect for on the go. All you need is a place to heat it. I ate mine with some buttered herb encrusted foccacia bread and it made this a full meal. I would order these again actually. Worth having a few around when you do not want to cook and need a quick meal. There is about half a cup of gravy and meat and half a cup of mashed potatoes for a couple buck so the value is pretty good. I paid $2.18 at the time of this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No, no, no.
1/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't get me wrong - the taste of Hormel's Beef tips and mashed potatoes is not bad, but they are just WAY TOO hit and miss in the portions department with this particular selection. I ordered about 12 last time, and out of 12, I would say THREE were as expected and the other were (seriously, no exaggeration) mostly gravy and potatoes with the TEENIEST, tiniest little pieces of beef. I want to say the size of a fingernail but I fear I would be generous, and very little of these pieces. Anyway, one not to learn easily, and liking their convenience, but mostly because they were $2, I ordered another 12. SAME thing. I'm not sure how such a huge company has such problems portioning out their products (note that a couple were okay), but all in all, not worth it when you don't know what you'll be getting and every little plastic container is a gamble.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shelf Stable, Delicious, High in Sodium
9/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This shelf-stable meal is delicious when microwaved. The beef is tender, the gravy very good, and the whipped potatoes are creamy. This is a high-sodium product, as most shelf-stable products are. When I have this as part of my meal, I try not to have any other salty products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Yum. Real potatoes and tasty meat
8/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
with no hint of fat or gristle. Too much sodium and weird stuff but I try to stay away from that stuff in general when I eat in so I can afford to be bad sometimes. And it doesn't taste salty. To me this is a way to avoid going out and spending a WHOLE lot more for food that might have those same ingredients and I don't have to tip 25% (I'm a waitress). I'm gonna stock up and try the pot roast too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tried for the first time
3/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I buy a lot of these little Compleats dinner. I like them because the sodium content is less than 1/2 can of soup that I was eating. I usually don't like beef dinners because they tend to be tough and hard to eat. This little dinner filled me up and I am a big eater. The chunks of beef (and there were many) were tender and in a nice brown gravy, to eat with the mashed potatoes. I especially like the fact they do not require being frozen. I will purchase this one again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
portion control
8/27/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 20 of these little meals and am mostly pleased with all of them. This Beef Beef Tips with Mashed Potatoes and Gravy was mostly good, the meat and gravy was good, but the mashed potatoes reminded me of cutting into a wet sponge. Potatoes were dense and very thick with very little flavor. I put butter on the potatoes and mashed them really good and heated them really hot and they were okay. I am on a diet where I am learning portion control and this little meal just fit right in. I had peas and a green salad with the beef tips and had a glass of milk. It was just fine overall. When I go to re-order my little meals, however, this might not be one of my favorites, but I probably will order it again because it met my needs and wasn't too expensive for my budget.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fast, tasty, long lasting, inexpensive...
4/12/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not needing refrigeration is a plus. Lasting a long time is also good - although they seldom need to last that long in my office. You can fit several of these in a desk drawer or shelf. I use these to save time and money at the office. I supplement the meal with a package of Lance Crackers and a drink and it makes a good, filling, fast and easy lunch that is much cheaper than eating out. The Hormel packaging (at least the compleats) doesn't seem to add any plastic taste to the food inside them. It is what it is - a microwave MRE type concoction. Based off that, the beef steak tips one has a good taste, tender meat. The potatoes are not 'fluffy', but they fit well with the gravy (they seem to match these up well in all cases.) This is, in my opinion, one of the better of the 'mashed potatoes' meals that come in this form.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good
7/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Just had one today... plenty of gravy... I like pepper so I added a bunch of that and a pat of butter or two... mixed it all together... YUM
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for long drives no refrigerator needed
6/4/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is great in the car for long trips, I put it in the window and with summer heat it bakes in about 5 minutes! Depending on how hungry you are sometimes it may take 2 for a complete meal. Great for dorms when used with there small microwaves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
decent
1/23/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
There were a good number of meat pieces in this meal, decent sized chunks, and this did fill me up. it was on the bland side for my personal preference - would have liked to see veggies/corn included, but this was a surprisingly decent meal for the cost. worth buying for an easy dinner
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy this sometimes
7/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good for quick meal [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best
8/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These are great tasting. The beef is tender and flavorful. The gravy is very good. The potatoes are good, a little solid but ok. Overall it is a great value for a meal I love.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product
11/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Consume them on a regular basis - simply excellent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great meal to have
12/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
it's great to have while at work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tasty, filling and fast meal
9/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Large amount of tender beef with a lot of creamy potatoes that don't have an instant potato flake taste or mouth feel and a pretty good gravy. It's a bargain at a little more than 2 bucks and it makes a quick and satisfying meal. Filling, too, for someone like me who can be a big eater. Lends itself well to adding a side veg and/or salad and fruit. Time saving, much cheaper and better than fast food meals. I plan to keep an assortment in my pantry for "one of those days", whatever that may be, when I can't or don't want to cook from scratch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big disappointment
6/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very little meat in such a watery "gravy" that you would never believe it was supposed to be gravy. Also, for having 990mg of sodium in it, the flavor was extremely bland! Where was this salt? Mashed potatoes were really a big dry chunk and didn't heat to hot like the rest of the dish. Would not give it any stars if I could.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
tasty
1/28/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
much better than I expected...and very easy to prepare
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
meat and potatos meal
5/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ready to eat after 90 seconds in the microwave.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for apocalypse rations, but not much else
6/19/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I can't believe this stuff has almost 5 stars. That's not possible unless Hormel is paying people to review it. It's like they made some gummy, flavorless mashed potatoes and dumped a can of fancy feast on top. If the world ends (or the power goes out), I would eat this to survive. It could also be helpful in a weight loss plan. Stock your cupboards with this stuff, and you'll hardly want to eat ever again. If you're looking for a quick, cheap, tasty meal on the go, take the next exit and hit the McD's dollar menu.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quick and easy
1/24/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Cooking a minute, letting it sit, then another 30 heats through. Taste is good, add a salad and a good meal for a single.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-