Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Yum. Real potatoes and tasty meat
8/21/2013

Customer review by monsterandrosie

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by monsterandrosie
by monsterandrosie

with no hint of fat or gristle. Too much sodium and weird stuff but I try to stay away from that stuff in general when I eat in so I can afford to be bad sometimes. And it doesn't taste salty. To me this is a way to avoid going out and spending a WHOLE lot more for food that might have those same ingredients and I don't have to tip 25% (I'm a waitress). I'm gonna stock up and try the pot roast too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monsterandrosie
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shelf Stable, Delicious, High in Sodium
9/14/2013

Customer review by Renee700

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Renee700
by Renee700

This shelf-stable meal is delicious when microwaved. The beef is tender, the gravy very good, and the whipped potatoes are creamy. This is a high-sodium product, as most shelf-stable products are. When I have this as part of my meal, I try not to have any other salty products.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Renee700
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For on the go and no need to refrigerate
3/29/2014

Customer review by Szack

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Szack
by Szack

I expected it to taste like the canned potatoes usually taste. This meal looks like it is the fast food dish of a baked potato at Wendys fast food place, missing the clear dome lid. That is the size of this bowl so don't let the picture fool you. Inside you find all the mashed potatoes off to one side and a gravy on the other side. Under the gravy you find the meat. The meat wasn't half bad. I am giving it a 4 star because if I had to go any period of time without refrigeration, this meal is perfect for on the go. All you need is a place to heat it. I ate mine with some buttered herb encrusted foccacia bread and it made this a full meal. I would order these again actually. Worth having a few around when you do not want to cook and need a quick meal. There is about half a cup of gravy and meat and half a cup of mashed potatoes for a couple buck so the value is pretty good. I paid $2.18 at the time of this review.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Szack
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great for long drives no refrigerator needed
6/4/2014

Customer review by SelfOkie

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by SelfOkie
by SelfOkie

This is great in the car for long trips, I put it in the window and with summer heat it bakes in about 5 minutes! Depending on how hungry you are sometimes it may take 2 for a complete meal. Great for dorms when used with there small microwaves.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SelfOkie
Edmond, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent product
11/16/2013

Customer review by BlackBearSix

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by BlackBearSix
by BlackBearSix

Consume them on a regular basis - simply excellent

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackBearSix
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Best
8/5/2014

Customer review by bkwalmart

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by bkwalmart
by bkwalmart

These are great tasting. The beef is tender and flavorful. The gravy is very good. The potatoes are good, a little solid but ok. Overall it is a great value for a meal I love.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bkwalmart
Wenham Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
7/3/2014

Customer review by M551

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by M551
by M551

Just had one today... plenty of gravy... I like pepper so I added a bunch of that and a pat of butter or two... mixed it all together... YUM

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
M551
Yakima WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great meal to have
12/25/2014

Customer review by dakkuri

4.0 stars 12/25/2014 by dakkuri
by dakkuri

it's great to have while at work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dakkuri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
decent
1/23/2015

Customer review by Robin123456789

4.0 stars 1/23/2015 by Robin123456789
by Robin123456789

There were a good number of meat pieces in this meal, decent sized chunks, and this did fill me up. it was on the bland side for my personal preference - would have liked to see veggies/corn included, but this was a surprisingly decent meal for the cost. worth buying for an easy dinner

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robin123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
meat and potatos meal
5/28/2014

Customer review by LowBudgetGuy

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by LowBudgetGuy
by LowBudgetGuy

Ready to eat after 90 seconds in the microwave.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LowBudgetGuy
Rochester, MN area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tasty, filling and fast meal
9/1/2014

Customer review by effeeegee

5.0 stars 9/1/2014 by effeeegee
by effeeegee

Large amount of tender beef with a lot of creamy potatoes that don't have an instant potato flake taste or mouth feel and a pretty good gravy. It's a bargain at a little more than 2 bucks and it makes a quick and satisfying meal. Filling, too, for someone like me who can be a big eater. Lends itself well to adding a side veg and/or salad and fruit. Time saving, much cheaper and better than fast food meals. I plan to keep an assortment in my pantry for "one of those days", whatever that may be, when I can't or don't want to cook from scratch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
effeeegee
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Tried for the first time
3/15/2015

Customer review by watts4664

5.0 stars 3/15/2015 by watts4664
by watts4664

I buy a lot of these little Compleats dinner. I like them because the sodium content is less than 1/2 can of soup that I was eating. I usually don't like beef dinners because they tend to be tough and hard to eat. This little dinner filled me up and I am a big eater. The chunks of beef (and there were many) were tender and in a nice brown gravy, to eat with the mashed potatoes. I especially like the fact they do not require being frozen. I will purchase this one again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
watts4664
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
tasty
1/28/2015

Customer review by Stan3404

4.0 stars 1/28/2015 by Stan3404
by Stan3404

much better than I expected...and very easy to prepare

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stan3404
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for apocalypse rations, but not much else
6/19/2014

Customer review by PaulaLiz

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by PaulaLiz
by PaulaLiz

I can't believe this stuff has almost 5 stars. That's not possible unless Hormel is paying people to review it. It's like they made some gummy, flavorless mashed potatoes and dumped a can of fancy feast on top. If the world ends (or the power goes out), I would eat this to survive. It could also be helpful in a weight loss plan. Stock your cupboards with this stuff, and you'll hardly want to eat ever again. If you're looking for a quick, cheap, tasty meal on the go, take the next exit and hit the McD's dollar menu.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulaLiz
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Fast, tasty, long lasting, inexpensive...
4/12/2015

Customer review by Shenan

4.0 stars 4/12/2015 by Shenan
by Shenan

Not needing refrigeration is a plus. Lasting a long time is also good - although they seldom need to last that long in my office. You can fit several of these in a desk drawer or shelf. I use these to save time and money at the office. I supplement the meal with a package of Lance Crackers and a drink and it makes a good, filling, fast and easy lunch that is much cheaper than eating out. The Hormel packaging (at least the compleats) doesn't seem to add any plastic taste to the food inside them. It is what it is - a microwave MRE type concoction. Based off that, the beef steak tips one has a good taste, tender meat. The potatoes are not 'fluffy', but they fit well with the gravy (they seem to match these up well in all cases.) This is, in my opinion, one of the better of the 'mashed potatoes' meals that come in this form.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shenan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really good
3/13/2012

Customer review by dump1

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by dump1
by dump1

The taste is excellent, but, the younger ones found the chicken hard to cut up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dump1
Gulfport, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 250 contributor
Tasty!
6/20/2015

Customer review by DelightedinTallytown

5.0 stars 6/20/2015 by DelightedinTallytown
by DelightedinTallytown

What a delicious surprise this little hot luncheon has turned out to be! I will definitely be purchasing more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelightedinTallytown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes