Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 50 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Great for what it is.
12/27/2016

Customer review by Ryodo

4.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Ryodo
by Ryodo

I have been trying out a few different microwavable meals randomly, and personally have found this one to be delicious and satisfying. The only downside would be the small amount of beef actually in the container, but price-wise it does the job. Keep up the good work Hormel (and add a little more meat please).

Ryodo
Tampa, FL, United States
Gender:Male
Meh
11/3/2016

Customer review by Ashley

2.0 stars 11/3/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley

It was edible, but it tasted like dog food. I won't buy this one again.

Ashley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good Meal Fast
7/9/2016

Customer review by vcrdoug

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by vcrdoug
by vcrdoug

Although not like my mom used to make, it is a good tasty meal in a minute. Beats fast food and is probably better nutrition. Great to take to work and have for lunch since you don't need to keep it refrigerated.

vcrdoug
Vacaville, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good beef tips
3/9/2016

Customer review by Bruce

5.0 stars 3/9/2016 by Bruce
by Bruce

I failed to completely read the preparation instructions. Therefore, the masked potatoes were a big lump. However, after mixing the potatoes with the gravy & beef tips, it turned out to be an excellent meal..

Bruce
Alachua, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HORRIBLE
1/18/2016

Customer review by KRAMER

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by KRAMER
by KRAMER

THIS IS THE THIRD COMPLEATS I HAVE TRIED-THEY ALL TASTE TERRIBLE!

KRAMER
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good
10/30/2015

Customer review by Pat235

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Pat235
by Pat235

I use compleats all the time..I just had the beef tips with gravy and mashed potatoes..it was good but there was no meat in it...just potatoes and gravy

Pat235
Jamestown, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
No, no, no.
1/14/2017

Customer review by Jaquie

1.0 stars 1/14/2017 by Jaquie
by Jaquie

Don't get me wrong - the taste of Hormel's Beef tips and mashed potatoes is not bad, but they are just WAY TOO hit and miss in the portions department with this particular selection. I ordered about 12 last time, and out of 12, I would say THREE were as expected and the other were (seriously, no exaggeration) mostly gravy and potatoes with the TEENIEST, tiniest little pieces of beef. I want to say the size of a fingernail but I fear I would be generous, and very little of these pieces. Anyway, one not to learn easily, and liking their convenience, but mostly because they were $2, I ordered another 12. SAME thing. I'm not sure how such a huge company has such problems portioning out their products (note that a couple were okay), but all in all, not worth it when you don't know what you'll be getting and every little plastic container is a gamble.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaquie
Would recommend to a friend? No
For on the go and no need to refrigerate
3/29/2014

Customer review by Szack

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Szack
by Szack

I expected it to taste like the canned potatoes usually taste. This meal looks like it is the fast food dish of a baked potato at Wendys fast food place, missing the clear dome lid. That is the size of this bowl so don't let the picture fool you. Inside you find all the mashed potatoes off to one side and a gravy on the other side. Under the gravy you find the meat. The meat wasn't half bad. I am giving it a 4 star because if I had to go any period of time without refrigeration, this meal is perfect for on the go. All you need is a place to heat it. I ate mine with some buttered herb encrusted foccacia bread and it made this a full meal. I would order these again actually. Worth having a few around when you do not want to cook and need a quick meal. There is about half a cup of gravy and meat and half a cup of mashed potatoes for a couple buck so the value is pretty good. I paid $2.18 at the time of this review.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Szack
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
hormel
2/17/2017

Customer review by Sammer303

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Sammer303
by Sammer303
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

can't get to the store due to a medical condition. Glad they delivered

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sammer303
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tastes horrible
2/7/2017

Customer review by Tracy

1.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Tracy
by Tracy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does not taste very good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yum. Real potatoes and tasty meat
8/21/2013

Customer review by monsterandrosie

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by monsterandrosie
by monsterandrosie

with no hint of fat or gristle. Too much sodium and weird stuff but I try to stay away from that stuff in general when I eat in so I can afford to be bad sometimes. And it doesn't taste salty. To me this is a way to avoid going out and spending a WHOLE lot more for food that might have those same ingredients and I don't have to tip 25% (I'm a waitress). I'm gonna stock up and try the pot roast too.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monsterandrosie
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shelf Stable, Delicious, High in Sodium
9/14/2013

Customer review by Renee700

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Renee700
by Renee700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shelf-stable meal is delicious when microwaved. The beef is tender, the gravy very good, and the whipped potatoes are creamy. This is a high-sodium product, as most shelf-stable products are. When I have this as part of my meal, I try not to have any other salty products.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renee700
Bethesda, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tried for the first time
3/15/2015

Customer review by watts4664

5.0 stars 3/15/2015 by watts4664
by watts4664
Top 1000 contributor

I buy a lot of these little Compleats dinner. I like them because the sodium content is less than 1/2 can of soup that I was eating. I usually don't like beef dinners because they tend to be tough and hard to eat. This little dinner filled me up and I am a big eater. The chunks of beef (and there were many) were tender and in a nice brown gravy, to eat with the mashed potatoes. I especially like the fact they do not require being frozen. I will purchase this one again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
watts4664
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
beef tips
12/31/2016

Customer review by trotter

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by trotter
by trotter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

gravy has good flavor,nice meal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trotter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
portion control
8/27/2015

Customer review by helennah

3.0 stars 8/27/2015 by helennah
by helennah

I bought 20 of these little meals and am mostly pleased with all of them. This Beef Beef Tips with Mashed Potatoes and Gravy was mostly good, the meat and gravy was good, but the mashed potatoes reminded me of cutting into a wet sponge. Potatoes were dense and very thick with very little flavor. I put butter on the potatoes and mashed them really good and heated them really hot and they were okay. I am on a diet where I am learning portion control and this little meal just fit right in. I had peas and a green salad with the beef tips and had a glass of milk. It was just fine overall. When I go to re-order my little meals, however, this might not be one of my favorites, but I probably will order it again because it met my needs and wasn't too expensive for my budget.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helennah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast, tasty, long lasting, inexpensive...
4/12/2015

Customer review by Shenan

4.0 stars 4/12/2015 by Shenan
by Shenan

Not needing refrigeration is a plus. Lasting a long time is also good - although they seldom need to last that long in my office. You can fit several of these in a desk drawer or shelf. I use these to save time and money at the office. I supplement the meal with a package of Lance Crackers and a drink and it makes a good, filling, fast and easy lunch that is much cheaper than eating out. The Hormel packaging (at least the compleats) doesn't seem to add any plastic taste to the food inside them. It is what it is - a microwave MRE type concoction. Based off that, the beef steak tips one has a good taste, tender meat. The potatoes are not 'fluffy', but they fit well with the gravy (they seem to match these up well in all cases.) This is, in my opinion, one of the better of the 'mashed potatoes' meals that come in this form.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shenan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
7/3/2014

Customer review by M551

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by M551
by M551
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just had one today... plenty of gravy... I like pepper so I added a bunch of that and a pat of butter or two... mixed it all together... YUM

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M551
Yakima WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for long drives no refrigerator needed
6/4/2014

Customer review by SelfOkie

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by SelfOkie
by SelfOkie

This is great in the car for long trips, I put it in the window and with summer heat it bakes in about 5 minutes! Depending on how hungry you are sometimes it may take 2 for a complete meal. Great for dorms when used with there small microwaves.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SelfOkie
Edmond, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
decent
1/23/2015

Customer review by Robin123456789

4.0 stars 1/23/2015 by Robin123456789
by Robin123456789

There were a good number of meat pieces in this meal, decent sized chunks, and this did fill me up. it was on the bland side for my personal preference - would have liked to see veggies/corn included, but this was a surprisingly decent meal for the cost. worth buying for an easy dinner

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robin123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
quick lunh
11/25/2016

Customer review by doublebara67

4.0 stars 11/25/2016 by doublebara67
by doublebara67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is good if you have a sort lunch break. Couple of minutes in the microwave and it is done. Only problem I have is it is over salty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doublebara67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews