Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
19
1-20 of 125 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
outstanding value
10/6/2009

Customer review by Lucyindisguise

5.0 stars 10/6/2009 by Lucyindisguise
by Lucyindisguise

Purchased this espresso machine with the hopes of coming close to the cappucinos I had daily in Tuscany for the month of June. It totally exceeded my expectations for the price of the unit. I thought I would have to end up spending $1000 to get a good cup of cappucino. Mr. Coffee has stepped up to the plate! I will let you know about it's durability in months to come.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucyindisguise
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works every bit as well as the expensive ones
12/14/2015

Customer review by UncleDavid

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by UncleDavid
by UncleDavid

The operating procedure is a bit different from other machines, so you need to pay attention to the instructions, but it makes good espresso the first time with no problems. It seems solidly built, not very heavy and seems to only have the essential parts required to work. How much should it cost me to make decent expresso for myself--two doubles every morning 5-6 days a week for a couple of years? It is supposed to be cheaper than the coffee shop to make espresso at home. I've had other machines, much more expensive than this one, that didn't hold up, and couldn't be repaired, either. So when making espresso, the cost of owning and operating the machine is an important consideration. With this one, I think I think I've made a good investment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleDavid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tepid Mr. Coffee
1/28/2016

Customer review by ManinIdaho

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by ManinIdaho
by ManinIdaho

This machine is nice looking and simple but did not produce hot espresso. Surprised to see it on the store shelf, it was worth a shot. Their less expensive espresso maker produced hotter expresso but is short lived. I've had three of those. After following instruction to the letter and preheating a cup, it would not produce hot espresso. Online guides and specialty coffee outlets agree on the temp of expresso. The best temperature achieved was 149 degrees F. This is way short of the 195 to 205 F regarded by aficionados. The 149 degree temp might be fine for some. I find it sad. Heating espresso in the micro wave? No way. Further, in time that temp may only lower. If this machine produced espresso in the 180 to 185 degree range I would not have returned it. The search continues.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/2/2016

We appreciate your feedback, and we definitely understand where you're coming from. The brewing temperature for this espresso maker is 195 degrees Fahrenheit. We would look like to look deeper into this for you, and encourage you to give us a call at (800) 672-6333. We will gladly turn your experience around with this espresso maker, and we are here to help Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern. We look forward to speaking with you.

ManinIdaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked great...for 1 month
2/2/2016

Customer review by Tucky

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Tucky
by Tucky

Have been using this for a month with no problems. Tried to make a cup today, lights wouldn't stop blinking so no coffee today. Nothing in manual about this issue. Saw this was a problem on Amazon reviews- should have listened.

Tucky
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best deal under $100
1/13/2010

Customer review by Coffeedude

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Coffeedude
by Coffeedude

I was going to drop $200-$400 on an espresso machine as my parents have always had a good machine and I had gotten used to the quality. Looking at all the glowing reviews I thought I would give it a try. I was not disappointed! For the price, you cannot find a better machine and the quality of the espresso it makes is very good. Pro's - - Makes espresso with crema, which I believe is a sign of good water pressure - Reliable so far (using it daily for past 3 months) - Heats up and is ready to go very quickly - Espresso is hot (have tried many where the first cup is only luke warm) - Steamer is strong enough to make foam from milk for cappuccinos (I don't use the foaming accessory) - Water storage is large so you don't have to refill all the time - Easy to clean - Price!!! Con's - - Noisy (but I don't know an espresso machine that isn't) - Milk frothing does take awhile to get the milk hot, larger machines may be faster - No warnings when you are out of water or if the collection tray for waste water is full All in all I would highly recommend this machine and other than the cons listed above, I don't think you are making too many sacrifices on quality for the money.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coffeedude
SF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Starter Espresso Machine For The Price!
1/23/2016

Customer review by ZipDriveX

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by ZipDriveX
by ZipDriveX

I love this little machine! I've been using it one to three times daily now for over a month to get my morning latte fix, and I haven't been disappointed. I know that it doesn't quite make "real espresso" compared to the more expensive machines with non pressurized filters and 3 way valves, but for a coffee newb such as myself (I only opened myself up to coffee a couple years ago) it does just the job I need. A good strong espresso shot, and a hot cup of steamed milk! I've also recently purchased the Mr Coffee Automatic Burr Mill Grinder to improve freshness and taste. The second to last fine setting is about the perfect grind for this machine (with my local roasters beans at least), and the "5 cup" setting is the perfect amount of grounds to perfectly pack the double shot filter basket. Also the black and stainless steel exterior makes a perfect match for the espresso machine and looks great on my counter. Along with the grinder a few other accessories I bought were Terry's 50mm Tamper (PERFECT fit!), Grindenstein knock box, and a 14oz frothing pitcher with thermometer. The only real con to the machine I have found is sometimes it runs out of steam before the milk has reached the 150-160 degrees I like it to be at. I've noticed that the type of pitcher used and frothing method seems to make a difference in this too though. But it really only takes a few seconds for it to prepare a new batch of steam to finish up the job. I may one day upgrade to a $300+ machine and grinder but I honestly see this machine replacing my morning coffee kiosk visits permanently, and it's already paid for itself in that respect. 5 stars for quality, especially for the price!!

ZipDriveX
Billings, MT, United States
Gender:Male
EXCELLENT VALUE, AMAZING MACHINE!!!
12/1/2015

Customer review by KimT

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by KimT
by KimT

i have always wanted an espresso machine, but could never justify paying the high price for a good quality machine. While on Walmart.com I ran across an add for this Mr. Coffee machine with hundreds of really good reviews. I decided that it would be a great starter machine to see if I used it as much as I thought I would. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this espresso machine. I hate to admit, I have used it almost every day for almost 60 days. It produces excellent espresso and the frother/steamer is so easy. I use a coffee mug to fill my espresso (low and fat mug). That gets my mug hot. Then I pour my espresso into a large thermal cup and use the hot mug to froth my cream/milk. After the cream/milk mixture is ready, I mix it into my larger thermal cup and it is always AWESOME. I thought the power light/ready light was going to be a little confusing, but it wasn't. Be careful, this can create a espresso addiction or fuel an already hefty coffee addiction. Run out and get one, you won't regret it! When this one fails, I can guarantee you my next one will be this exact same model. THANK YOU MR. COFFEE !!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME product
5/21/2009

Customer review by DavHouse

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by DavHouse
by DavHouse

I bought this machine for my husband for his birthday. We love it! It is very easy to use, just make sure you read the instructions carefully. This unit is also very easy to clean, but you must do it after each use for optimal results and longevity. I made a mocha the other day and it tasted just as good as a coffee house mocha would. This machine is small enough to keep out on the countertops and is eye appealing. Can't say enough good about this product.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavHouse
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Mr Coffee Espresso and latte machine
1/30/2016

Customer review by TerryAz

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by TerryAz
by TerryAz

Produces a great cup of espresso/ and steamed milk for latte. Steaming wand drips and steams a little during brewing process and after steaming milk. I simply put another cup under it to catch the excess moisture. I activate the steaming process again at the end anyway and use a wet towel to clear away any baked-on milk that might accumulate and clog the wand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerryAz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I just couldn't get it to make good coffee ...
1/26/2016

Customer review by MarkM

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by MarkM
by MarkM

I really wanted to like the Mr. Coffee ECMP50 machine, but I was completely unable to make decent coffee with it. I've used other pump-driven machines in the past; most recently a Lello 1375, which currently sells for about twice what the ECMP50 costs. After using the ECMP50 for a few days, I am sorry I didn't pay the additional money to buy another Lello 1375. Here's why. The Lello is much sturdier. It doesn't move around on the counter when you take the brew basket out. The build quality is noticeably higher throughout. Everything from the brew basket to the base unit itself is much heavier. The parts fit together more tightly, especially the brew basket and filter; it's really annoying the way the filter flops around in the brew basket for the ECMP50. You feel like it's just about to fall out every time you empty the grounds. The Lello unit lasted for years of daily use, and only required cleaning/descaling every few months. Based on the much lighter materials used in the ECMP50, I have my doubts about whether it would last more than a year or two. I will say the ECMP50 is quieter than the Lello, at least after the initial BRRRRR! you get when you first turn it on. It also holds onto the brew basket more reliably, so you don't feel like you have to have a hand on it during the entire brew cycle, just in case the handle disengages while the coffee is being made (the Lello tended to do that, but perhaps it was a function of not replacing the basket sealing ring more than every couple of years). One other good thing about the ECMP50 is that I expect you can get parts for it. The Lello has parts, but they are pretty expensive, and you must buy them through a New York distributor. The Lello holds more water so you don't have to refill as often, and it has a more powerful pump, so you get your coffee faster, and what's more important, it tastes MUCH better. The ECMP50 seems to be very finicky about the grind, whereas the Lello was not. Too coarse, and you get watery coffee (poor extraction). Too fine, and you clog the filter. I've mixed and tamped using standard commercially ground coffee and still haven't got anything I really like. The readily available Starbucks grind doesn't seem quite fine enough. I've experimented with re-grinding to make it finer, but that takes a lot of work. It does, however, result in better tasting coffee. Finally, I like to make a cup of Americano coffee using a regular mug. The Lello had enough space for most mugs to fit under the brew basket, the ECMP50 is about 1/2" shorter, and so very few mugs will fit underneath. I can live with that. (Two Weeks Later) After trying all possible combinations of grinding, tamping, water, etc. I managed to get a barely passable cup of coffee out of the ECMP50. Not quite as good as a good drip machine, but almost. Basically, even when I filled the filter basket full of finely ground, fresh coffee, it still tasted weak and watery. I thought I'd be able to do better, after all, I've been using pump espresso machines for over 20 years now. But I finally gave up! It was too much trouble to return the ECMP50 for a refund - especially given that I'd have to pay the shipping to return it, according to Jarden Industries, who sells these, so I gave it away. I hope the new owner has more success than I did. As a simple alternative, I got a used Keurig machine, bought a reusable filter basket for it, and brewed a cup using regular ground coffee. MUCH BETTER RESULT! So I'll stick with the Keurig, and if I get ambitious, I'll buy another Lello 1375, which is what I should have done in the first place.

MarkM
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Thrilled with my espresso maker
1/13/2016

Customer review by Alessia

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Alessia
by Alessia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this espresso maker 1 months ago and I am very happy. The espresso quality is excellent, it's fast, easy to clean and use.

Alessia
Miami, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok
1/31/2016

Customer review by Flakis

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Flakis
by Flakis

It works great and coffee came out good a little bit noisy but it's something you can live with

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flakis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, so good!
12/28/2015

Customer review by Paynes

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Paynes
by Paynes

Quite a few negative reviews on here, but we are happy so far with the unit. I did read through 30 pages of reviews beforehand to find all the items you need to buy to go with this (frothing pitcher, digital thermometer, espresso cups, conical burr grinder, etc.), so we were ready to go. There is a learning curve trying different ratios of espresso to milk (for lattes), but no issues with leaking water (very popular in the negative reviews - I suspect they just didn't 'seat' the tank properly). We have also removed the tip from the frothing arm - not needed and just something else to clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paynes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaky Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine
1/22/2016

Customer review by Dissatisfied1

1.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Dissatisfied1
by Dissatisfied1

I purchased this Mr. Coffee expresso approx. two months ago. I made the mistake of not keeping the receipt, as I was expecting long service from this trusted brand. The Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine, ECMP50 worked great for about two months, but it began leaking water from the base. Now I have an Espresso Machine that I can't use. Based on my experience, I cannot recommend Mr. Coffee Espresso Machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/11/2016

We're sorry that this has happened, and we want to make things right. Please reach out to our Customer Care Team at (800) 672-6333 between the hours of 9am and 6pm Eastern, Monday-Saturday, and we will be more than happy to get you back to brewing without the mess as soon as we can.

Dissatisfied1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Starter Espresso Machine For The Price!
1/23/2016

Customer review by ZipDriveX

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by ZipDriveX
by ZipDriveX

I love this little machine! I've been using it one to three times daily now for over a month to get my morning latte fix, and I haven't been disappointed. I know that it doesn't quite make "real espresso" compared to the more expensive machines with non pressurized filters and 3 way valves, but for a coffee newb such as myself (I only opened myself up to coffee a couple years ago) it does just the job I need. A good strong espresso shot, and a hot cup of steamed milk! I've also recently purchased the Mr Coffee Automatic Burr Mill Grinder to improve freshness and taste. The second to last fine setting is about the perfect grind for this machine (with my local roasters beans at least), and the "5 cup" setting is the perfect amount of grounds to perfectly pack the double shot filter basket. Also the black and stainless steel exterior makes a perfect match for the espresso machine and looks great on my counter. Along with the grinder a few other accessories I bought were Terry's 50mm Tamper (PERFECT fit!), Grindenstein knock box, and a 14oz frothing pitcher with thermometer. The only real con to the machine I have found is sometimes it runs out of steam before the milk has reached the 150-160 degrees I like it to be at. I've noticed that the type of pitcher used and frothing method seems to make a difference in this too though. But it really only takes a few seconds for it to prepare a new batch of steam to finish up the job. I may one day upgrade to a $300+ machine and grinder but I honestly see this machine replacing my morning coffee kiosk visits permanently, and it's already paid for itself in that respect. 5 stars for quality, especially for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZipDriveX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eh
12/28/2015

Customer review by CoffeeMaven

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by CoffeeMaven
by CoffeeMaven

I guess it is as-advertised, and technically works. But it is just cheapy plastic. Doesn't even stay in place when you put in the thing that holds the grounds. I am not a pod guy, I need coffee with grounds. Thought I would be OK with this, but it was just not good enough. Also, would love to see Mr. Coffee and others start making BPA-free plastics, especially when 90% of the machine is plastic. For the few expresso shots I did make they tasted fine, but that's about all I can say.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/30/2015

Thank you for bringing this to attention. We take your feedback seriously and would like for you to give us a call at 1-800-672-6333 if you have any questions or concerns. We will be more than happy to assist you Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

CoffeeMaven
Would recommend to a friend? No
ECMP50
1/16/2016

Customer review by JET1

3.0 stars 1/16/2016 by JET1
by JET1

Based on using it four times, I can say it makes very good expresso and if that is all someone wants, it is fine. The frothing tool seems to be another matter. Lukewarm is an exaggeration after 30 seconds, and be prepared for a mess. For the price, one can always put the latte, etc in a microwave to warm it. The machine probably is good value; I just wish the frothing tool worked better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/20/2016

Let us help you get back up and frothing with your espresso maker! Please give us a call at 1-800-672-6333 between the hours of 9am and 6pm Eastern, Monday-Saturday, and we will be more than happy to turn this around for you.

JET1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the money
12/20/2015

Customer review by Rocky

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Rocky
by Rocky

I looked at many machines before making this purchase. They range from stove top for about 20 bucks to upwards of two thousand so you kind of get what you pay for. This machine is great for the money and its truly a pressure machine right around 15 bars. You do have to scoop the grinds. Its not one of those packet types. That being said, I really don't think you can go wrong right around 50 bucks delivered. I grind my own beans which is truly the best way. I do this even for regular drip coffee. Spurge and treat yourself with this one. I can't speak to the longevity as its only been a week. If I decide that this will be the new norm in my household, I'll visit the idea of a more expensive machine in the future. For now, its a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rocky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent machine
12/29/2015

Customer review by DDM45

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by DDM45
by DDM45

I like the machine, but is is a bit quirky the way it works. The function lights are confusing and when you switch from brewing espresso to making foam is where the confusion comes in. The machine tries to start pumping coffee through the coffee brewer when you shut off the foam action. Very strange the way it works. I usually have to switch off the machine after making foam. i do not understand why it cycles through the brew function when you stop the foam process. All in all it was worth the money because it makes a pretty good latte. I have had espresso machines in the past which were not so confusing to operate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDM45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love our new Espresso Maker
12/27/2015

Customer review by Caly

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Caly
by Caly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love our new machine. Heats up,in less than 30 seconds and ready to go. Only complaint is how loud it is, but that is over in 30-45 seconds when coffee is done.

Caly
The Villages, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews