Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

91 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

91 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 81 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Mr Coffee ECMP50 Espresso & Cappuccino Maker
2/25/2009

Customer review by Ricardo2

5.0 stars 2/25/2009 by Ricardo2
by Ricardo2

If you want espresso with crema and frothed milk that can be used in latte art for low bucks buy this product. I preheat both my coffee mug and the containers used for coffee extraction. I use a grounds basket from an old espresso machine to tamp down the grounds using my thumbs in the basket and table underneath for pressure. I keep the frothing wand (without frothing adapter) positioned in the pour spout of the frothing container and clean it when I'm done. I clean where the grounds holder gets attached after extracting the coffee. The results are great. Now for the quirks so you don't think I steered you wrong. You turn on the ECMP50. The red light will be solid and the other light flashing as is proper. Then for little or no reason the red light starts to flash too. You must turn the machine off until both lights go out, turn the machine back on and this time the red light should remain solid so you can proceed. Push the coffee extraction button. Put your collection container (I prefer translucent with ounces on the side so I can see 1-1/2 and 3 oz shot measurements for a double) under the coffee holder and turn the knob down. You will hear a noisy vibration as the pump is working to send the hot water through the coffee grounds. When the correct amount of coffee has been extracted turn the knob back to the off position. Now push the milk frothing (steam) button and wait until the flashing temperature light goes off. Get ready for another quirk. The sound the machine makes when frothing is quite different from the sound when extracting coffee. Position the tip of the frothing wand just under the milk (wand in the spout if you have one) and turn the knob up. Keep the wand very near the surface and raise it slowly as the milk froths. Do it slowly enough and you get the microfoam. When the foam has caused the milk volume to double lower the wand a bit deeper until the container is getting HOT to the touch and turn the knob off. Be ready for the sound of water being forced into the tray holder (under the metal tray). The water is fairly substantial, but the machine is designed for it. You will want to dump and rinse the tray and metal top between each batch of coffee. Summary: I'm really pleased with the quality of coffee and froth made by the machine. Considering the low price I'm actually amazed at the results. I "hope" the machine lasts in spite of the quirks one must endure. It would be a shame if it were to spring a leak or fail in a relatively short time ... but so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ricardo2
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am happy with my purchase.
11/16/2008

Customer review by LoveJack

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by LoveJack
by LoveJack

Espresso machines are so different from prices. I saw one that cost over 20K dollars. This one, for $69, and the cheapest price around for this brand and model. It works great! I love latte, the espresso made from it, made great taste latte. I am happy with it, and I don't want to go for more expensive anymore.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveJack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME product
5/21/2009

Customer review by DavHouse

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by DavHouse
by DavHouse

I bought this machine for my husband for his birthday. We love it! It is very easy to use, just make sure you read the instructions carefully. This unit is also very easy to clean, but you must do it after each use for optimal results and longevity. I made a mocha the other day and it tasted just as good as a coffee house mocha would. This machine is small enough to keep out on the countertops and is eye appealing. Can't say enough good about this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavHouse
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best deal under $100
1/13/2010

Customer review by Coffeedude

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Coffeedude
by Coffeedude

I was going to drop $200-$400 on an espresso machine as my parents have always had a good machine and I had gotten used to the quality. Looking at all the glowing reviews I thought I would give it a try. I was not disappointed! For the price, you cannot find a better machine and the quality of the espresso it makes is very good. Pro's - - Makes espresso with crema, which I believe is a sign of good water pressure - Reliable so far (using it daily for past 3 months) - Heats up and is ready to go very quickly - Espresso is hot (have tried many where the first cup is only luke warm) - Steamer is strong enough to make foam from milk for cappuccinos (I don't use the foaming accessory) - Water storage is large so you don't have to refill all the time - Easy to clean - Price!!! Con's - - Noisy (but I don't know an espresso machine that isn't) - Milk frothing does take awhile to get the milk hot, larger machines may be faster - No warnings when you are out of water or if the collection tray for waste water is full All in all I would highly recommend this machine and other than the cons listed above, I don't think you are making too many sacrifices on quality for the money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coffeedude
SF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Buy
7/29/2009

Customer review by SouthCackalacky

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by SouthCackalacky
by SouthCackalacky

This was my first cappuccino machine. I have not had it long, but the first thing I learned was......it's gonna take a few times before I get it right. This was the best quality one I could find for the price (and believe me I searched everywhere). It has a nearly everything you should look for when looking for an affordable cappuccino maker; a 15 bar pump, a big resevoir, very well made and easy to operate. Forgot to mention the great appearance! I probably could have done without the big resevoir (which is removable by the way....nice!). The grounds are pretty much depleted by the time you get done making two servings, so what's the other three cups of water left in the resevoir for? I'm not doing that much frothing. The frothing wand is easy to clean and works good. I just wish it was a little longer and could rotate out of the way more. At first I bought this $20 frothing pitcher that was way too big. I think it was a 2 cup pitcher. The wand could not get anywhere close to the bottom to do a proper job of frothing (which is really important if you don't want to dump a bunch of hot milk in whatever you are making). I purchased the smaller 10 oz. Mr. Coffee frothing pitcher. The size of it was important, but I think the shape of the pitcher was of equal importance. It made frothing and serving a snap. I wouldn't recommend using any other bold coffee other than espresso because this baby will squeeze every last ounce of mud out of the grinds and you don't want be using weak coffee cause you'll end up with a tea looking substance near the end of the pour.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthCackalacky
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works for me.
5/2/2009

Customer review by 1derfulLife

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by 1derfulLife
by 1derfulLife

I get a fresh, hot, strong Americano every time. It's quick, easy, inexpensive, and, so far, reliable. The thermo-block heater provides hot water in seconds, the arm/basket sets high enough so you can get a cup under it, the gizwizes provide froth, and the slip out spill tray is a snap. Set a cup under it and let it run until the cup is full. Under two minutes from filling the basket with fresh grind to taking that first sip. It's all I ever wanted. Even the noise it makes works for me - keeps me focused on turning it off before I wander away. We've run a couple of hundred cups for ourselves and our neighbors through it in the month we've had it. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1derfulLife
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine
5/1/2009

Customer review by TheCoffeefamily

4.0 stars 5/1/2009 by TheCoffeefamily
by TheCoffeefamily

I got this Mr. Coffee Pump Machine for my husband and we really like it. It is loud, but the coffee is VERY good so I can take the noise for a good cup of coffee. We just love it and I would tell anybody to purchase it because it is worth the money that you are paying for it. This was a gift for my husband that was coming back from Iraq on R & R.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheCoffeefamily
Europe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
11/23/2009

Customer review by Runelady

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Runelady
by Runelady

I bought this for my husband. His Starbuck's latte habit was getting out of control, and he was beginning to sniff disdainfully at his (espresso-less) morning coffee. I know it's hard to believe that a product that's priced so low could be this good, but it is. The crema is abundant; the foam is fluffy and hot; and the espresso is smooth. Just goes to show you that expensive does not necessarily mean quality and vice versa. I admit that the machine is a bit noisy at 6am, and I am sure my neighbors now hate me; but anything for my sweety. :D

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Runelady
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No parts available
5/23/2012

Customer review by Wheelsa

3.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Wheelsa
by Wheelsa

This is a great machine and value for money. Makes a great frothy cap. But, there is always a but. I lost the double cup filter so now have to operate the machine twice with a single cup filter. I cleaned the nozzle on the froth maker a few times including removing the nozzle and soaking in vinegar, cleaning the solidified milk and reattaching. Then one day removing the nozzle with the plastic wrench provided the nozzle came off with a twist and snapped the tube. Why is this tube made out of aluminum? Surely a sturdy stainless steel tube would have been better. So the bottom line is where can I get replacement parts? Doing my best to be green, rather than throw it in the trash and get another! It has definitely paid itself over again and again comparing it to the prices at Starbuck's.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wheelsa
Kelowna, BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so mad!
4/17/2010

Customer review by HotLatte

1.0 stars 4/17/2010 by HotLatte
by HotLatte

This is the second one I've bought that leaks. My daughter's first one of this same model leaked too. She loves the machine so I'm going to try buying another one and hopefully this one is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotLatte
Yakima,WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very Happy!
3/21/2010

Customer review by FitnessFiend

5.0 stars 3/21/2010 by FitnessFiend
by FitnessFiend

I borrowed my Dad's Mr. Coffee Espresso maker (EM20) for two months and finally decided to buy one of my own and return his. I read a lot of reviews on-line and didn't want to spend over $100. I think I would have just ordered one like his if they still made the same model and sold it at Walmart, but I could only find it on-line where I would have had to deal with shipping returns so I decided to find another one. This pump-driven Mr. Coffee was perfect for me. I grind my own beans at home so I get plenty of crema. It's very quick to heat up. The only complaints (more like annoyances) I have are that I have to change filter baskets to brew enough for both me and my husband, and the milk steamer is kind of low to the counter. I have seen that other people elevate the machine and that helps. As for changing filter baskets, it's not a big deal, I just fill them both at once and tamp, use a graduated measuring cup to make the right amount for each shot size, and brew them one after another. Also, it's hard to get off the black rubber cover to clean the steamer, but that seems to me to be a universal problem. Anyway, I usually just heat the milk in the microwave because I don't have time to steam the milk every time. But when I do, the steamer works well. I drink 2-3 espresso mochas a day, and with this machine, I'm not even tempted to go to Starbucks anymore, unless I'm traveling for work. I do stop by occasionally to buy mocha powder and they ask me if I want them to get anything started for a drink but it's not even tempting. Pay them $4.50 for a mocha? No way! Two shots of espresso, 1 TB mocha powder, and 1/2 c skim milk, and that's the perfect recipe for me. And it's not 350 calories either. :) With this machine, I finally understand the "tail of a mouse, stripes of a tiger" thing. You really do see that!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FitnessFiend
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
10/16/2009

Customer review by DMSmith

5.0 stars 10/16/2009 by DMSmith
by DMSmith

I'm impressed with this machine for the money! Been buying them for years and hoping this one last awhile. Makes a great cup in little to no time and love the large water container, one less thing to mess with daily!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMSmith
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
loved it...
10/26/2009

Customer review by blackrose01

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by blackrose01
by blackrose01

I work at a coffee shop, and i can honestly say that this little machine works wonders, I jus loved it... I would definitely recommend this to anyone..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackrose01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mr Coffee Is Still The Best
4/7/2010

Customer review by KADIN619

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by KADIN619
by KADIN619

My husband and myself bought another brand espresso machine for a gift to each other and to save money on all the coffee shop trips. The machine came with a dvd on how to use it. After all that It took for ever to brew and espresso wasnt even lukewarm. I returned and chose the Mr Coffe dont know why I didnt purchase it in the first place there was only a $5 price difference. we have had the Mr Coffee now for 6 months. I have no problems alittle vibrating and a little noise is so worth the quality and the ease of making and drinking my espresso. and it was so easy to learn how to use it. I have family members that stop if there in the area just for a cappacino or espresso. I am VERY HAPPY with this prooduct. Thumbs up again to Mr. Coffee

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KADIN619
Allentown, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this espresso machine!
4/21/2010

Customer review by WildFireMamma

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by WildFireMamma
by WildFireMamma

Perfect espresso, fantastic foam, durable, and nice looking. I have been using this machine every day since December (3 months) and I am enjoying it more and more. If it ever dies I will promptly buy another one. To minimise the foam, if you don't really like it (I don't like foamed milk), take the cover off the steam wand and voila, perfectly stamed yet not frothed milk. Delicous and a great way to save money on expensive espresso drinks. Do what I did and buy a thermometer to help make sure you don't over steam (burn) the milk. That will also make for a more consistant coffee. Buy this machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WildFireMamma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great coffee maker for great price
10/30/2009

Customer review by Manitobius

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by Manitobius
by Manitobius

I am much pleased with this coffee (espresso, americano, latte) maker. I would highly recommend it to a person who likes the taste of good coffee.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manitobius
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
outstanding value
10/6/2009

Customer review by Lucyindisguise

5.0 stars 10/6/2009 by Lucyindisguise
by Lucyindisguise

Purchased this espresso machine with the hopes of coming close to the cappucinos I had daily in Tuscany for the month of June. It totally exceeded my expectations for the price of the unit. I thought I would have to end up spending $1000 to get a good cup of cappucino. Mr. Coffee has stepped up to the plate! I will let you know about it's durability in months to come.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lucyindisguise
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/6/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/6/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this machine because of good reviews from other people and the price was more than reasonable for my 1st espresso machine. After several weeks of using this machine almost every day, I say that it has met my expectations for making a good cup of espresso. The flavor is good and the cleanup is not bad at all. The only downside to this machine is the ability to froth milk. I have tried several times and get good steamed milk but, alas, my ability to froth the milk has not been very good. Is it me? I don't know. Would I recommend this product to others. Absolutely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
5/7/2009

Customer review by tonycee

4.0 stars 5/7/2009 by tonycee
by tonycee

i have used a number of different espresso makers. This machine performs as well as those costing much, much more. It is fast, a snap to operate ----"cleansup" easily. Can't comment on it's durability; too new.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonycee
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product for the money & Easy to Use
11/7/2009

Customer review by ifferjenn

4.0 stars 11/7/2009 by ifferjenn
by ifferjenn

It has been years since I have had an Espresso Machine and the one I had was small and more of a pain then anything else. This Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Machine is AWESOME! It is very quick and simple to use, looks great, and was reasonably priced. I have had it for two weeks now and I am pretty sure I have already used it enough to justify the expense. A couple of small issues I have experienced, the froth wand seems pretty short, I wish it was just a little bit longer. Also, be careful in the cups that you use to collect the espresso. I bought two stainless steal shot sized cups and I have to hold them during the brewing process because of the vibrations the machine makes them wobble out of the coffee stream. A heavier cup would probably solve the problem. Other than that I LOVE it!! I am just your average person who likes to drink iced mocha's and this machine is PERFECT for the clueless!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ifferjenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews