Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
15
1-20 of 34 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Inexpensive, great for non-production use
10/11/2010

Customer review by Sethra

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by Sethra
by Sethra

As a fairly experienced hand knitter, I've been eyeing this machine for a year or two. Finally went for it based on the reviews here. I find it works very well for what it is - an inexpensive, beginners knitting machine. It takes patience, but has worked like a charm with care. You must be detail oriented and follow all directions, but after one day making swatches and playing with the intarsia keyplate, I was able to knit the entire back (with ribbing!) of a sweater for my husband in one afternoon, and the entire front (with an intarsia pattern) and one shoulder joined the second day. Ripping back is so easy; especially when you can re-knit 3 rows on 100 needles in less than a minute. No more boring blankets that take me 2 years to finish. You can find better methods of increasing and decreasing on YouTube than are given in the included video - even though the brands are different, the principle is the same. I'm really enjoying this machine and have trouble getting to sleep at night thinking of all the projects I want to make. It's also handy for working the boring parts of a project that you can finish by hand knitting.

Was this review helpful? (92) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sethra
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for
12/13/2009

Customer review by Barucha

4.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Barucha
by Barucha

I once was a long time knitter and thrived on expressing my creativity through yarn. Life, time, carpal tunnnel and a little arthritis had prevented that until I spotted this simple and basic machine that can handle the sport and heavier weight yarns I love to work with. I've used different and more complicated machines in the past and so am familiar with the 'machine' concept. If you follow the directions the Caron is very easy to assemble and use. I am now back to enjoying my creative side. I recommend this machine to all those knit lovers who think the pain in their hands isn't worth satisfying their creativity.

Was this review helpful? (76) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barucha
Dover-Foxcroft, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Knitting made easier
12/28/2008

Customer review by charlottesweb61

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by charlottesweb61
by charlottesweb61

This product is not for folks without patience. It takes a bit to master, but once mastered, a blast to have. I wish the hems were not such flimsy plastic as the smaller hem broke in several places when it slipped out of my hand. Had to order backups but taping is a great cheater too! You must view the DVD and you must read the directions as they are the most helpful. It is easy to use again once you take the time, don't get flustered and master the machine. It will take you no time to master either.

Was this review helpful? (102) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charlottesweb61
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very helpful
1/5/2009

Customer review by Upromiseshopper

4.0 stars 1/5/2009 by Upromiseshopper
by Upromiseshopper

I got this machine for my mom. and she sais that at first it took her a while to learn how it works, but once she got it, It was fun and fast, she made a sweater for my 3 month old baby in just one afternoon! I totally recomended It' well worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Upromiseshopper
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome if you take the time to learn
12/16/2012

Customer review by UtahMomOfFour

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by UtahMomOfFour
by UtahMomOfFour

I have been knitting by hand for years, and after reading the reviews of seasoned knitters, I had some real doubts about this machine. I think it does a great job if you ditch all of your prior knowledge, and approach this as something you don't know anything about. Watch the DVD, read the book, knit the projects in the book, so you can learn the functions each project illustrates, and one of the most important things -- at first start with Caron brand yarn recommended by the machine, so you eliminate problems that may be caused by a poor choice of yarn. If you follow the instructions, your machine would work great. The machine would drop stiches if you don't pull on the thread as you start a new row and then RELEASE the thread after the first few stitches, or if you selected the wrong yarn/knitting plate combination. The Walmart set included an additional knitting plate, an extension, and stitch counter, and it was a great value compared to Joann's even after using a Joann's coupon.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UtahMomOfFour
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fun for speedy stockinette stitch knitting
8/8/2012

Customer review by DenimFan

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by DenimFan
by DenimFan

I have had a lot of enjoyment out of the Ultimate Knitting Machine Deluxe. It might not be the fanciest, but what do we expect for the price? It is well made even though it is largely plastic. I had to call customer service when it skipped a stitch on every row. They responded after the weekend and were very friendly and helpful. (It was my error, too.) There are three things I think could be improved. The first is the "hem," a weight that holds the knitting taut as you knit. I'm sure they could make one that is easier to attach and use. I also believe the hem will be the first think to "go" and need replacement. The second is the instruction book. It is well-written and clear, but it is hard to find what you want to review once you have read it. The third is the row counter. I found it easier to count a few rows in my head and move the stitch counter manually than it was to hook it to the knitting machine. It was cumbersome to have it attached to the machine. Hope I've thought of everything I needed to say!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DenimFan
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quick And Easy
4/27/2013

Customer review by PhilB53

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by PhilB53
by PhilB53

I have been using the machine for 6 months, I watched you-tube videos to get started; they were more informative than the CD that came with the machine. Once you begin using it, you ill find you want to use it more. Adding a few acesories will broaden your ability with the machine. I added extensions so as to make Afghans, will be combining two machines to make bed blankets soon! Remember You-Tube will give you many ideas. The machine is great as well as habit forming

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhilB53
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Patience is Key
10/24/2013

Customer review by Kirie1234

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Kirie1234
by Kirie1234

Honestly, when I first got the machine, I was ready to send it back. Instead, I went online and watched videos of how the machine worked. First step for me, throw away the table clams, they caused more problems than they were worth, and buy a couple non-slip mats to go underneath. Second step, move slowly across the row, it should feel like a hot knife going through butter. If you have to force the carriage, you're doing something wrong-see trouble shooting. Third step, create/buy a cast on comb or claw weights. The machine needs weight to work properly, and the hem they give you just isn't enough, also those S hooks are useless. After these three steps, I was cranking out 3 scarfs a day. Now, the techniques for working the machine are completely different from hand knitting, so it will take some practice, and lots of patience. Fair Isle for instance was particularly difficult to learn. In summary, the machine can be frustrating in the beginning, and requires additional objects to work properly, but once it does it is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kirie1234
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/3/2013

Customer review by leenip

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by leenip
by leenip

I got this machine as a Christmas present. I consider myself an experienced and creative knitter. Initially I had problems with the yarn that comes with the machine but then tried another brand yarn and it worked great after that. Now I have used also the Carron yarns and think that there might have been some problem with the skein I received with the machine. Also the hem broke from one place almost right away but a phone call to a helpline got me a new hem within few days, also it is possible to repair the broken areas with an electric tape. The representative on help line was very helpful. This machine does more than I expected based on the price. I love how fast I am able to knint with it. Do not give up, in the beginning there might be some frustration, but after you get it working it is a breeze to complete products. Change the yarn if the one coming in the box does not seem to work.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leenip
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Christmas present
12/12/2009

Customer review by Pksgirl123

5.0 stars 12/12/2009 by Pksgirl123
by Pksgirl123

This is a great product for someone who has Arthritis in their hands as I do. I like the craftmanship of this board. The more I learn I think I will love it. The only disapointment to me was,the extension plate was small, I was expecting a regular size plate. However you can buy the regular size. Overall I would recomend this board to anyone who enjoys knitting projects.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pksgirl123
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lovely knitting
12/5/2009

Customer review by cwilli

4.0 stars 12/5/2009 by cwilli
by cwilli

This knitting machine does work, but you do have to be patient, and practice. Picking up dropped stitches isn't easy, especially if using specialty yarns. I suggest that if you are using balls of yarn, to place them in a clean coffee can. The stitches are nice and uniform, making a more professional looking item.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cwilli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so-so...
12/28/2009

Customer review by azxjer

3.0 stars 12/28/2009 by azxjer
by azxjer

VERY difficult to learn to use!! Machine had many rough edges that needed to be removed for the knitting to work properly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azxjer
Flagstaff, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do Not Purchase!
1/12/2012

Customer review by KnitMeg

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by KnitMeg
by KnitMeg

I spent almost $200.00 on this product and could not be more unsatisfied! I am so upset with how it jams and drops stitches constantly .I am a knitter and have been for several years and I cannot tell you how much of a complete waste of time this product is! I have spent hours trying to fix it and make it work, with no improvements. This could have been a great product for me and make my hobby of knitting more fun and easier but instead its made it twice as hard. So I give up with it..I am going to throw it away because its no help to me!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnitMeg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Better then I expected.
4/17/2014

Customer review by Falulla

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by Falulla
by Falulla

I'm a experienced knitter and crocheter and was eyeing this Deluxe USM for a couple of years (I want to make mostly blankets for CareNet and homeless shelters and do it fast) but the reviews kept me from purchasing. A couple of months ago I caved and I am so happy I did! I watched the DVD and read the book following each step. I did have a problem at first with not getting the carriage to slide over and I thought maybe I didn't wax the keyplate good enough. So I waxed it some more and it still didn't slide. I found out I was pressing down on the carriage too much. Once I fixed that, it slid like butter over every needle. Bond America has excellent customer service. There were a couple of things damaged when I opened the extension kit so I called the number provided. They are replacing what was damaged. Walmart has the best price for a store and they shipped it out within the next business day. So if you have reservations about this machine because of reading the reviews, remember that I did too and wish I would have bought this sooner.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Falulla
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not very user friendly.
7/24/2012

Customer review by celeste1226

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by celeste1226
by celeste1226

I am new to machine knitting so I purchased the USM. It was very hard to get the carriage to move across the bed. So I exchanged it 3 times. I kept thinking it was me. I searched the internet over and over for hints on how to use it. I finally just returned the machine all together. I purchased the older version which is the ISM on ebay. I purchased 4 machines for the price of 1. I put 2 machines together to make a long one. And it works like a charm. I tried the new USM carriage on the older bed and it didnt work well. I used the older version and it worked perfectly. So I would not recommend the new machine. If at all possible buy the older 80's version it is a much better carriage.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celeste1226
san antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the newbe!
1/25/2013

Customer review by itvmomma

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by itvmomma
by itvmomma

I bought this product because i didn't have the patience for hand knitting. I finally got the hang of how to use the machine, but i'm still not clear on how to rip out a row or fix multiple stitches. But other than that I am very very happy with it. Was able to make a very nice scarf with stripes within a couple of hours. Try doing that by crochet or knit by hand!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itvmomma
Selah Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't bother...
6/18/2010

Customer review by hippytreehugger4ever

1.0 stars 6/18/2010 by hippytreehugger4ever
by hippytreehugger4ever

This God-aweful contraption was cheaply made and didn't work. I'm an expert knitter and the only thing I could do with this machine was split the yarn and turn it into a tangled mess because it wouldn't knit correctly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippytreehugger4ever
Would recommend to a friend? No
as long as you read instructions first
1/15/2014

Customer review by unicornbaby56

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by unicornbaby56
by unicornbaby56

this is really a great machine. I was so excited when I first got it that I just glanced at the instructions and then tried to make something. Well you guess it, dropped stitches, got hung up, and made a huge mess. I decided that I better reread instructions and watch the DVD too. Wow! what a difference when I next tried it out. I made a scarf and only dropped one stitch, but since I had watched DVD, I knew how to fix it. With practice anyone can knit with this machine!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unicornbaby56
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Fairisles

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Fairisles
by Fairisles

Walmart Service was excellent regarding shipment, etc. I would highly recommend this. Unfortunately, the product, to no fault of Walmart, did not live up to expectations. Set-up was easy and the instructions were easy. However, the machine dropped stitches more often than not and did not operate very smooth. Having been a knitting junkie for many years I finally gave up and returned the product. As usual Walmart associates were great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fairisles
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Easy to learn and use
7/1/2013

Customer review by KnittellaDeSkills

4.0 stars 7/1/2013 by KnittellaDeSkills
by KnittellaDeSkills

I knew I wasn't buying a "real" knitting machine, this one is mainly made out of plastic. I was surprised to see what I can do with it. It is really easy to learn and the instructions are clear and easy to follow, you even get a few patterns and a skein of yarn to practice your skills. I had read other reviews before I bought it and knew what to expect, you just have to be careful if you get stuck. You can't force your way through, you have to stop and manually finish the row or you will break something. I recommend reading the instructions, watching the DVD and do the practice pieces before doing some real work. That way you get to know the machine pretty well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnittellaDeSkills
Iceland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews