Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
6
1-20 of 64 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Amazing if your innovative
6/18/2009

Customer review by heavylifting

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by heavylifting
by heavylifting

Ok I bought these things which feel very cheap probably a couple years ago or may have gotten them for Christmas. Anywho, I started lifting alot more recently with dumbbells and wanted to try and find a cheap way to build my own set. I already had the weights and all i needed was a dumbbell handle. Yes, dont rely on the collars or you will end up with a broken toe the first time you try to do curls. Here's the solution: Dumbbell sets cost upwards into the 1200 to 3000 dollar range. Walmart dumbbells 40.00 Long Bolts and Nuts: Free from garage or get it from lowes, Qty. 4 Drill or drill press Magic Marker Take your weights that you are going to use for your lifting and start by adding one start with your biggest and heaviest. For each weight that you add to the end of the dumbbell take a magic marker and mark just a very small ways away from the weight a circle dont go too far and dont go straight up against it. Keep doing this till you get to the end of the bar. Do it on both ends to each dumbbell handle. After this, if you know someone with a drill press or just your standard drill. Drill holes in the handles at each tick mark you made. Big enough for the bolt that you are going to stick through and put a nut on. Try to use a fairly long bolt so that you dont hurt your thighs later when resting them on your thighs. I used a small bolt on one of mine and I know have a good amount of scar tissue in my thigh that looks like a cyst from resting too much weight. After this these dumbbells are fully customizeable up to 200 pounds. I have tested them with 200 pounds and I did accidently drop one and it barely bent it. Which in my opinion for 40.00 is not bad at all. I use these 3 days a week and the stress load the I put on them is around 60-110 pounds right now. These are perfect for dumbbell presses, dumbbell rows, not so much dumbbell curls(they kinda hit you in the face with bigger weights, but i still use them), dumbbell military presses. I have been using them for almost two years now and I have really made these things take a beating. They have had stress loads of up to 200 pounds, which is pretty impressive. Even 200 pound dumbbells will bend if dropped incorrectly. So for me this product was amazing saved me hundreds of dollars if not thousands.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heavylifting
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good set for price, but...
12/2/2013

Customer review by HardShopper

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by HardShopper
by HardShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Length of dumbbell handles are too long for certain exercises. Ex: full contraction/range of motion limited when using dumbbells to complete flat chest press.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HardShopper
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
decent for the price
3/14/2012

Customer review by Grandpoobah

3.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Grandpoobah
by Grandpoobah

This is not an olympic curl bar. It's an olympic SIZE curl bar. It's hollow core, light weight alloy of some sort. I'm not sure how strong it's going to end up being. An actual olympic curl bar was over 100 bucks so for the money, this gets the job done. I'm not hanging much over 60 -70 pounds on it right now and probably never will. I don't use it for curls, I use solid dumbells for that. I only got this to do some shoulder work that was getting very difficult to do with a dumbell. If you are a young, healthy serious body builder - this is not for you. If you are older and past your heavy lifting or are female, then this is probably suitable for your needs. I would not recommend this to someone in their twenties who's serious about getting fit. This would've never done the job for me when I was in my prime spending 3 hours daily in the gym. Had I known this was hollow core, I probably wouldn't have bought it. However, it still meets my needs for now and you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpoobah
west virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
7/14/2009

Customer review by Manteca

4.0 stars 7/14/2009 by Manteca
by Manteca

Good quality curl bar, light weight dumb bells, and workable clamps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manteca
Manteca, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great
1/17/2011

Customer review by Gifn8r

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Gifn8r
by Gifn8r

I bought this because I needed a cheap curlbar but something that would last a while. It also came with the dumbells but I didn't need those but over all, I thought they were great for the value and it was all that I needed. I don't care how they look or whether they stay shiny or not. The are light but really sturdy and get the job done, I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gifn8r
Belton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for...
4/20/2009

Customer review by nolamike

3.0 stars 4/20/2009 by nolamike
by nolamike

Ok, so technically they will work. Depending on what you're using them for, a few caveats: 1. The bars are hollow, instead of typically being solid. Looks like a big hollow tube is welded on a little hollow tube. Not sure how this will affect durability, though mine haven't broken so far. 1a. The welds are not clean; because of the welds, the plates won't sit flat against the inside collars. 2. The spring clips are junk. If you're using heavy weights, you'll need a screw on or other type of heavy-duty collar. Overall, these will probably work for most aplpications. If you're using heavy weights (which is why i opted for olympic bars), especially with the dumbbells, which tend to take more abuse than the curl bar, you're probably better off getting a higher quality solid set.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nolamike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay but not great!!
6/21/2011

Customer review by lilmick

3.0 stars 6/21/2011 by lilmick
by lilmick

The bars are extremely light and the curl bars are too bulky, rather uncomfortable to perform curls with. The ends spin with the weight making it a little uncomfortable to get a good grip. Not the worst curl bars I have owned but by far not the best!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilmick
Would recommend to a friend? No
very disapointed
6/4/2009

Customer review by pfra

2.0 stars 6/4/2009 by pfra
by pfra

i would never have bought this if i could have handled it at the store very cheap the ends are hollow the collars aren't very strong and move if you have much weight on bar don't buy this product

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pfra
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good price... but you get what you pay for???
3/24/2009

Customer review by CUWhenICU55

3.0 stars 3/24/2009 by CUWhenICU55
by CUWhenICU55

For the price, this set was not bad at all. I use it just about everyday. At least the curl bar. I have not used the single bars. One problem I have is one of the single bars turns on one side. I have actually never put weights on these to use them so not sure if its a real problem. However the other sides do not do this so I am thinking this is not normal. Also, the curl bar seems a little...small maybe? I seem to have a tough time fitting on it or something. It just feels odd or different compared to other curl bars that I have used. Still works for me better than having the straight bar and I liked the price so I feel its a good buy overall. Side note, I have never really played around with these much at other locations so I have no other place to compare. However, again I do think its worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CUWhenICU55
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for average users
8/6/2009

Customer review by Rizwan

4.0 stars 8/6/2009 by Rizwan
by Rizwan

The combo is a great value - I use both dumbells and curlbar and am happy with the results. These are not heavy duty ones but great for average user. Clips work fine when you don't put too much weight. They can get loose with more weight like 20lbs or more so, be careful. The bars are hollow and light so, I don't have to worry about guessing weight of handles or curl bar when putting on weight plates. If you are hard core lifter, these may not satisfy you but for average user, the value is great. If you don't like it, you can return to any Walmart store and get your money back. That's piece of mind.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rizwan
Hawthorne, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
5/14/2016

Customer review by Vanilla12

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Vanilla12
by Vanilla12

This product is a high quality/value product, very durable. No complaints

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vanilla12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not what i expected
4/29/2009

Customer review by SkullCowboy

3.0 stars 4/29/2009 by SkullCowboy
by SkullCowboy

big clumbsy, not solid, collers slip... now stuk with it..ohwell live and lern

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkullCowboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Outstanding lightweight set!
8/2/2012

Customer review by rcryniak

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by rcryniak
by rcryniak

I carefully read the reviews prior to purchasing, and with a mild skepticism, decided to give this set a shot. I already have a SLEW of Olympic sized (2") plates, so all I needed were two dumbbell handles. The fact that it came with a curl bar is a minor bonus as I already have an excellent curl bar. In any case, I was looking for a lightweight set in order to give my kids something in their range that they could easily handle, and my SelectTech dumbbell set starts at 10lbs, which is too much for them for many exercises. As such, I wanted a lightweight solution, that combined with fractional plates, would give me ANY weight from 3.0 lbs to 10.0 lbs in 0.5 lbs increments (thanks to the fractional plates) until they graduate to the larger dumbbells. This product was PERFECT for that. It would also be perfect for anyone just starting out, or people that need lightweight rehab exercise equipment. Anywhere a lightweight dumbbell and curl bar might be useful, these will REALLY shine. For those that have been wondering, the weight is 3 lbs for each individual dumbbell handle (including collar clips, which seemed to have a very nice grip for light to moderate amounts of weight), and 5 lbs for the curl bar (also including collar clips). That said, I found them to be of exceptionally high quality for what they are. (I was not expecting them to be "heavyweight class" items as might be used by serious powerlifters, nor should you.) The collars do NOT spin, which in regular olympic sized equipment would be a problem (spinning collars prevent momentum from being an issue with heavier weights), but assuming the intended use is light weight, then having welded collars is NO problem at all. I can imagine this set lasting DECADES for every day use with lower amounts of weight. However, if you are only looking to buy them because they're "cheap" and you're expecting to load them up with HUNDREDS of pounds of weight, that I cannot recommend them to you for THAT purpose, as extreme amounts of weight probably WOULD damage the bars... to be fair, I haven't tried it so I don't know for sure... but it's a reasonably good hunch. One criticism: the length of the dumbbell handles is fairly long, making them useless for dumbbell bench press or similar exercises where the dumbbells would be used end-to-end. But for lateral raises, flyes, rear delt raises, dumbbell squats & lunges, or anywhere you would use dumbbells with a bit of distance, they're NO problem at all. It was the excessive length of the dumbbell handles that prevented this item from earning a full 5 star rating from me. Bottom line, if you need olympic sized handles for kids, the elderly, or those just starting out, you will not find a better value. Oh, and the shape of the curl bar is PERFECT... and the knurling (grip marks etched into the bar) are quite adequate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcryniak
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product/presentation/too light weight
4/20/2016

Customer review by MrsSoto

3.0 stars 4/20/2016 by MrsSoto
by MrsSoto

Perfect for women TOO light weight but at least you know how much weight you're actually pushing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsSoto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap, Cheap, Cheap
3/1/2015

Customer review by Dennis

2.0 stars 3/1/2015 by Dennis
by Dennis

I thought I'd save some money by using the Olympic weights I already have and just buying a curl bar and dumbbell bars. When I checked the shipping page, it said 14lbs. What? That's right. These things are light and not well made. The weld keeps the weights from setting flush with the handles. The cheap plastic caps keep coming off. The bars came scratched and had tiny dings in them already. Many more would come, I'm sure. The flimsy little collars barely hold themselves on. Would I hold these over my face while doing chest flies? Not a chance. I literally would rather use bricks from my garden than this cheap set of dumbbells. As for the Curl bar; light, cheap, but you don't have to turn it so many different angles so it may not cause too much harm, and that's truly the best I can say about this set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dennis
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/16/2013

Customer review by anonymous21232

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by anonymous21232
by anonymous21232
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was shocked at the lightweight of the material. seems to hold up quite well for expectations. i can put over 100lbs on it and have no bend so im satisfied there. the clips tho could be better. ill have to order some better quality ones bc the clips will slide if im doing heavy weight. i dont hold the curl bar responsible for that so im quite satisfied with this purchase

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anonymous21232
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good set at good price
10/8/2012

Customer review by SgtReedUSMC

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by SgtReedUSMC
by SgtReedUSMC

This bar is good quality at a good price. I am no heavyweight lifter but I put 20 pound weights on each side and do curls and tricep extensions and this bar is great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SgtReedUSMC
South Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definitely would recommend not
5/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Juan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job...
6/20/2009

Customer review by actionfatloss

4.0 stars 6/20/2009 by actionfatloss
by actionfatloss

I needed the most inexpensive solution I could find for dumbbells to go with my Olympic weight set, and this was it! After reading reviews, I understood the fact that this set is not top-of-the-line by any stretch, but it will get the job done. Just beware that the weld on the bars will not allow your weights to sit perfectly flush, and you may want to do what I'm planning and get some better spring collars as the ones included are pretty much junk. Bottom line, I would have spent more money at the sporting good store to get one high end dumbbell, so this set will definitely do the job for now. In the end, I think everyone would be better off with the hex dumbbells, but again, looking at cost, this is a very cheap and manageable solution!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
actionfatloss
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/16/2011

Customer review by Eric95

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by Eric95
by Eric95

I like the curl bar but not the dumbbells

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eric95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews