Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 21 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Good equipment
4/13/2009

Customer review by hittman375

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by hittman375
by hittman375

I very much like using this smith machine. I think that it is a good piece of equipment and is pretty well built. I shopped around online and at several stores before ordering this one. I have used it a few times already and like the quality and ease of operation. The only complaint that I can think of is that it took about six hours to assemble. The bench is alot nicer than the one I had. It is very sturdy and you can incline or decline. I also like all of the accessories that came with it. There is the pull down bar, a rope, an ankle attachment, and another tricep handle and two handles like the ones shown in the picture. I also like the six pegs for weight storage. I think that for the money, it is hard to find a better quality unit and besides that, it was delivered to my door and I didn't have to figure out how to get it home from a store.

Was this review helpful? (105) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hittman375
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
All around nice piece of gear
3/3/2010

Customer review by BrotherMac

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by BrotherMac
by BrotherMac

Purchased online and shipped within one week! One of three boxes arrived damaged, but pieces weren't damaged due to open box. Some pieces were damaged (i.e. chipped paint/chrome) due to movement inside boxes. All pieces were accounted for. It took a day to assemble...read the other reviews - this does take some effort, especially if you don't have a 2nd set of hands. Once assembled, it does everything it claims. I exercise 5 times a week, and it handles most everything i do in the gym. The exceptions are various exercises with dumbbells. It is very sturdy; cannot be toppled or raised. The smith bar is perfect for exercises without a spotter - great safety features. My complaints are few: bar isn't marked for hand spacing, the olympic-sized sleeves are plastic which will eventually wear out as weights are dragged on and off, there aren't bearings on the overhead cable crossover swivel-joints, and doing exercizes with one overhead crossover pulley (like tricep extensions) are akward since they are positioned directly over the legs/feet of the cage. Pros: All the pulleys have bearings, the linear bearings on the smith bar rock, the cage will accept standard olympic bar with adjustable brackets, decent leg exercizes - though the pads could be more dense, it has all the accessories for standing and sitting exersizes, preacher curls are excellent, chest/pec flies are at the correct angle, squats and rows work great, and its very safe...safety catches and locks are a must. It does take floor space, so plan for an area of approx 9' x 9' to have clearance all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrotherMac
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stop eating pineapples and compare apple to apple
7/30/2013

Customer review by Gio77

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Gio77
by Gio77

Unlike the previous reviewer; I called the company IMPEX inc. that makes this product and there is a big difference between the model sold by Sears (MD-9010) and the model MD-9010G that is sold by Walmart. The Sears model is the older model that was introduced in 2005. The much cheaper model carried by Walmart is the most current model which comes with a sturdier frame. It is no wonder why Sears was willing to price match an older model to Walmart's current model to clear the shelves for the newer ones.

Was this review helpful? (31) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gio77
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
3/28/2010

Customer review by Panthercoach

4.0 stars 3/28/2010 by Panthercoach
by Panthercoach

I've had the Smith Machine for about a month and am very satisfied with it so far. I researched product before buying and found reviews to be pretty on. The assembly was a bear!! It took me 6 1/2 hours. I am mechanicaly inclined but, parts are not marked so you need set up well. The pulley system might confuse people as well. That would be only downside so far. I would recomend this product to any one on a budget or not enough time to make it to the gym all the time.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Panthercoach
Central Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product, but needs improvements
3/3/2010

Customer review by Lifter70068

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by Lifter70068
by Lifter70068

Good product for the cost, I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get a quality workout at home. However, there are a few down sides. 1) Leg developer does not adjust, so it maybe hard to get comfortable or lift as well as on other machines. 2) PecDec does not adjust, again difficult to use properly. 3) Not enough weight pegs for storage of plates. 4) If you are tall (over 6' as I am) you will not be able to do overhead press on the smithmachine due to clearance. However, you can do them on the front pegs with no problem. Other than that....great machine....buy it and use it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lifter70068
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product and service
12/30/2010

Customer review by SteveM12065

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by SteveM12065
by SteveM12065

I ordered this gym and 3 days later it was delivered in perfect condition. Couldnt be happier with this part of the transaction. The gym is a beast to put together, I recommend having someon to help. The gym is very solid and sturdy. The cable pully system seems to be really smooth. I used some light duty grease on the frame that the pulley system uses. One complaint I do have is the bench has an uncomfortable lumbar support. It really limits your positioning on the bench. It could use some more positions to rack the smith bar. With all that said I would by this machine again. It is really a nice setup.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveM12065
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ENJOY USING
11/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

ASSEMBLY IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT. INSTRUCTIONS NOT REAL PRECISE. IS WORTH ITS VALUE AND I AM GLAD I BOUGHT IT. ALTHOUGH I STILL DO SOME FREE WEIGHTS BECAUSE THE MACHINE DOESN'T DO THEM.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
WOOD HEIGHTS, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything we hoped for!
2/22/2011

Customer review by bobandchrys

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by bobandchrys
by bobandchrys

We were very pleased when we received the cage. It has everything it promised. It seemed a bit overwhelming to put together but once you get going it's not as bad at it looks. We really enjoy using it, and love how great it fits in to our hm gym. I don't miss driving to the gym at all anymore.

Was this review helpful? (14) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobandchrys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
4/23/2011

Customer review by Crusher13

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Crusher13
by Crusher13

This gym does everything I expected it too at a Great price compared to much more expensive machines. Some of the weight limits are a little lower then I hoped. I didn't see any list of limit in am description on-line. The manual states that there is a 300lb limit for the person using. This isn't a problem for me anymore but was an issue 8 months ago. Also the leg extension is said to be limited to 100lbs. I was doing 230lbs on my old bench. I deiced to keep the old bench while it lasts. I am not sure it was designed to handle so much either since the old bench is bending. Putting the gym/cage was not easy. I read that all over on-line and just figured people didn't know what they were doing. It took me somewhere around 6-7 hours to finish. Could have done it quicker if I just did it all at once. I keep putting it together an hour here and there. Like others said parts aren't marked. Most of the time it wasn't a big deal but I did have to take a couple of thing apart to put the right part. The instruction aren't real great either. They seemed to get worse at the end. The pictures helped a lot. Some are misleading though. It shows steps to do where previous step look like they where never done. Using the complete picture helped a lot here as a got confused a couple of times. Some of the nuts, bolts and other little things that were marked had creases so the number was hard to read. Match the part to the full size part in the book helped here. Overall once it's built it's great. I didn't find anything close to this for the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crusher13
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
one workout away
1/10/2011

Customer review by mxracer133

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by mxracer133
by mxracer133

Great product, very happy with purchase. Although assembly was difficult, once you start working out you forget all about it. worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mxracer133
cincy ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great home gym
9/29/2011

Customer review by Bohdisapha

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by Bohdisapha
by Bohdisapha

This is a great home gym and I would definetely recommend it to anyone interested in working out at home. Expect that two people will be needed to assemble it and it will take approximately 5 hours. Also, you will want to WD40 the vertical post, so that the weights move smoothly and you may also want to buy a couple of c clips from the hardware store ($2 each) to make it easier to add/remove the cable grips and bars. Once those minor changes are made, it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bohdisapha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A+++++++
2/28/2010

Customer review by MADDOGG03

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by MADDOGG03
by MADDOGG03

Awesome piece of equipment. I can do just about every lift I was doing at the gym. The only bad thing about this item is putting it together. The book was kind of confusing at times.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MADDOGG03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT MACHINE!!!!
11/7/2011

Customer review by DaddyAndDaBoyz

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by DaddyAndDaBoyz
by DaddyAndDaBoyz

After reading all the reviews I decided to go with this machine, and i'm glad I did. I thought it would be difficult to put together, but it wasn't too hard. Took me about 8hrs. Parts were easy to find and everything was easy to id. After you understand the format of the instruction evrything just flows toghther. Was missing one part. I callled the company and had it delivered to my house in two days. Was able to assemble everthing without the missing part. After using it for about a week very impress. Can go from on station to another effortlessly. Can bench press, arm curl and lat pull downs witout moving weight or adjusting the machine. Safty. Can left, and squat with or without a spotter. So my teenage son can workout by himself. Also can store weights and bar. VERY NICE MACHINE!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyAndDaBoyz
Columbia S>C>
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice home gym for the price!
6/20/2014

Customer review by SupersizeMoi

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by SupersizeMoi
by SupersizeMoi

I only recently got the gym but have been very happy so far. The only problem I had was there were two bolts sent that were the wrong size. It was easy enough to fix. I just borrowed two bolts from the plate pegs to finish the job. I had a plate tree so it wasn't like I needed the pegs anyway. The instructions are not that difficult to follow it's just very involved and there are parts mixed in with the accessories so you have to dig. All in all I like I am very happy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SupersizeMoi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All In ONE
2/25/2011

Customer review by Maxman360

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by Maxman360
by Maxman360

This is a great machine. I have been to the store myself and tried it several times. Its a complete full body machine and worth every dime. I cant wait for the shipment to come in. Whether you are a hardcore fitness person or just the typical, this machine will suit your needs. FYI, I am hardcore work out in 5, 1.5 hours plus per week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maxman360
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lovely!
1/5/2010

Customer review by LovelyLuna

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by LovelyLuna
by LovelyLuna

Lovely Luna here saying "Great Product!" I use this product everyday, sometimes twice a day! However, I don't think people who have high egos should use this product, it may cause your ego to go even higher! hehehehehe :) BYEZ!

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovelyLuna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good gym for the money
4/18/2011

Customer review by hallowito

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by hallowito
by hallowito

It is very complete; only bad thing is that does not came with weights. However, you will enjoy every minute that you will be working out. Difficult to put together but it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hallowito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WORST COMPANY!
4/3/2013

Customer review by Dissapointed77

1.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Dissapointed77
by Dissapointed77

I'm embarrassed for Wal-Mart to sell this companies product! Half the parts to put the machine together were missing and the wrong manual to put it together, this then turned into the biggest run around and inconvience!

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dissapointed77
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no ka oi
7/29/2013

Customer review by dakinemp

1.0 stars 7/29/2013 by dakinemp
by dakinemp

I saw this marcy machine with the best price from walmart.com, but they did not have it in stock ended up purchasing at sears.com and matching walmart price. After openning all the boxes and spreading out all the parts, read that other people took 2 to 7 plus days to put together and some people just gave up, my family helping with handing me parts and just taking it slow and easy and paying attention, had it done in less then 8 hours, yes the instructions were hard, no part numbers on the parts, but if you go by hawaii standards you will do fine. after putting on weights and using, not bad for a cable machine using free weight plates, very smooth. Mahalo, pineapple mike

Was this review helpful? (2) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dakinemp
pismo beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good luck putting it together
1/10/2011

Customer review by frogpond2

1.0 stars 1/10/2011 by frogpond2
by frogpond2

It took three weeks for the home gym to arrive. Once it arrived it was in three boxes with somewhere around 700 total parts (includes screws, bolts, etc...) As soon as I started putting it together I realized that it was missing several key parts such as brackets. In addition, the instructions are horrible and do not have the parts labeled correctly. I called the manufacturer and I'm still waiting on parts. I can already tell this will take me a whole weekend to put together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frogpond2
Fairhope, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews