Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
25
1-20 of 75 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
sanyo nvm 4370 gps review
2/15/2009

Customer review by glnlckprt

2.0 stars 2/15/2009 by glnlckprt
by glnlckprt

check a video comparison on youtube that i posted titled gps comparison garmin vs. sanyo the good: paid $108.88 has mp3, mp4 video, picture viewer, tmc input and back up camera input. has fm transmitter to send music and gps text to speech audio to your radio. the bad: gps speaker is weak(thankfully it has fm transmitter). gps has slow processor as proven by video i posted on youtube. slow to pick up satellites even though it is supposed to have sirf chipset. map is outdated. it has 2007 maps even though it came out around august 2008. proven by a missing major highway link I355 from I55 to I80 which opened in november 2007. spend the extra $30-$50 and buy a garmin or tomtom with similar features or even without as long as you get a gps with better navigation quality. a gps is there to help you navigate after all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glnlckprt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Poor GPS
5/3/2009

Customer review by Jellokel

2.0 stars 5/3/2009 by Jellokel
by Jellokel
Top 1000 contributor

I had the Sanyo NVM-4050 and thought it was great except for the weak POIs. I thought this would be a major upgrade and it was in very few areas. The screen was bigger, the unit looked better, and it had more useless features like a back up camera hookup. The speaker was weak, the unit came with only one voice, and searching for POIs on the main menu was a pain. The POIs were much better but I found with the unit that if you took 3 or 4 wrong turns it would stop reconfiguring your route and send you in circles or just stop working. It also could not reconfigure after going thru a section it did not have on the map like new construction. The unit also didn't display the speed on map screen, which I liked on the older unit. I think they took a good unit and bogged it down with more features than it can run. I felt bad selling it to a friend for half of what I got it for and got a Tom Tom (much better and one you can update). I would skip this unit unless you don't care about upgrading later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jellokel
Arcanum, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Best value & Great Performance
12/1/2008

Customer review by ShopForTrueProduct

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by ShopForTrueProduct
by ShopForTrueProduct

I was researching all models and brands and found this one to be the best value for features and price. I had to buy it to try it and it is excellent. Sales people told me other brands are more reliable. I went with my decision to buy it and I loved the features and it beats any other product I have reviewed. it is so easy to use, it actually informs you .5 mile before your expected turn. You really have to try it to believe it, I don't know why people are talking negative about this one. I have not experienced anything negative except great reliability and lovely features. You have nothing to lose, if you don't like it then return it. I love it and I am keeping it. Blue tooth feature for your phone is a great plus & the nice look and design is even better on your dashboard :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopForTrueProduct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Died in 5 days
3/12/2009

Customer review by pilatus

1.0 stars 3/12/2009 by pilatus
by pilatus

Plus: Screen size is nice and easy to use the touch feature to enter and select. POI is comprehensive and quite current. Maps work well and lane change feature is nice. Street names were clear unlike some other cheap units. Finding directions, addresses etc is very simple. Movies, Pictures and Music play well and easily. Maps are on the GPS memory not the SD card, this is a big plus if you like multi media. CONS: Returned after a 5 days because it crashed permanently. I was simply selecting a new destination and the GPS unit froze and never rebooted past the "Sanyo" screen. No support from Sanyo, they don't answer their phones or emails. POI cannot be accessed from the map. No software to reinstall operating system. If you see the POI most GPS units will let you touch it to see what it is. The POI search feature is also not available in the "Local" area. So if you are looking for Wal-Mart, good luck because you have to go page by page down from Acme through all the letters to W. Bluetooth feature worked for calling only my Iphone. Contacts and SMS did not work. The FM Transmitter which you probably already read about in other reviews is worthless, totally. If you get a signal, you will strain your ears between all the noise. 3D maps have a poor perspective, making them hard to read. Information on the screen is limited and cannot be changed. It does not have the ability to display MPH on the main screen. No speed warning options. No list of directions. My suggestion is do not buy this for the price (or any other reason), because price has to be relative to value. If it crashes as other reviews have stated on a regular basis, and worthless after a few days, then it is not worth a buck and has no value. Who wants to be on a critical trip and find out in the middle of it that your GPS decided it is time to croak. Remember, no support from SANYO, you are on your own. Thank you Wal-Mart for you generous return policy. Had I bought it on EBay, I would be out $120. Got to love Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pilatus
Clarksville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I gave it a chance
12/13/2008

Customer review by trueopinion1

2.0 stars 12/13/2008 by trueopinion1
by trueopinion1

I recently bought this product as my first GPS, It's features and price are what really made me choose this model over any other. I really did enjoy it at first, but as i used it I found that the 7 million poi it bragged about was truly not that at all. The points of interest where out of date and incomplete. I found that it did not have the local post office in my home town or the police station, and anything new for that matter. I emailed the customer support and they never replied, I called and never got through to a real person to see if I would be able to update the map and poi. I decided to return it and get a gps that I can trust to have the poi I may need, yes i don't need to have my local post office and other places in my hometown, but if i can't rely on the gps when i'm in a place that's fimilar how can i trust it will get me where i need to be when i don't know where I am

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trueopinion1
Superior, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good for everyone
12/4/2008

Customer review by Wojia

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by Wojia
by Wojia

This one is I'm looking for a long time, it's a travel company including everything:gps, map, bluetooth, text speech, mp3, video player, photo, fm transmit, etc, it has 7 million points of interest, the most POI in current market, if you still can't find address, that's Navteg's map problem, it's routing very fast, not only tell you street name, but tell you destination on your left or right side. I more like video function, can watch mp4 movie anywhere (use AVI converter software) you can store more than 20 DVD movies on a 4G SD card, if you only buy mp3 and video player on the market, cost you more than $100, which doesn't have such a big screen, also this one can be used as a monitor input from other DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wojia
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not reliable
11/23/2008

Customer review by GadgetHero

1.0 stars 11/23/2008 by GadgetHero
by GadgetHero

I had reasonable expectations for this product. As a gps unit it failed miserably. The maps that came with the product did not show half of the local roads that had been in my area for years. The POI database was extremely weak and also you cannot search by name. Very frustrating. The actual display was a bit dim and seemed a little slow to render. On top off all that, the thing froze up on the third day using it and would not come back up. Not even a hard reset would help. Stay away from this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadgetHero
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I will never be lost again!!!
3/26/2009

Customer review by BestBargains101

4.0 stars 3/26/2009 by BestBargains101
by BestBargains101

GPS does everything you could want except one thing. In the local points of interest it does not have in its memory a lot of local places, even the local post office. It will find an address if entered, but you cannot find places in an alphabetic fashion, so you must have an address. The bluetooth accessory not always included with a GPS, was the best feature about the product for me. When you are driving and your cell phone rings but it's shoved in your purse in the back seat...the GPS allows you to answer the phone, hands free. It is set up similar to the earpiece they sell with your cell phone. Buy and enjoy never being lost again. Just do your homework and have the addresses you need.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BestBargains101
Redmond, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
An Outstanding Product
2/7/2009

Customer review by ChicagoWhiteSoxFan

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by ChicagoWhiteSoxFan
by ChicagoWhiteSoxFan

In spite of some negative reviews on this site, I took a chance and bought the product. It was tough to pass up all the features...especially at the $109 price. For another $20, I also purchased an 8 GB SDHC memory card. I am completely pleased with the multi-function unit. In addition to the GPS function, I uploaded about 30 music CD's to the memory card and imported all my cell phone contacts into this unit without any problems. The product is extremely easy to use and program. I live in the suburbs of a major city and the GPS unit so far has found every street, both large and small. I'm using the AC charger that came with my Motorola V3 Razor phone to charge the Sanyo unit at home. Since they both need 5V DC imputs, this seems to work very well so far, as an AC charger was not included with the 4370 unit. However, I'm uncertain if this is recommended by Sanyo. It is hard to believe that for about $129, I now have a wide screen GPS unit, hands-free cell phone with contact list and a music player with all my stored CD's. Additionally, there are also the video and back up camera functions, yet available to me. I highly recommend this product and great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChicagoWhiteSoxFan
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cool specs, Great Price, BAD COMPANY
3/2/2009

Customer review by BobinStLouis

1.0 stars 3/2/2009 by BobinStLouis
by BobinStLouis

I have had a Garmin 660 for about 1.5 years and decided to get a gps for our other car too. This product has great features for a great price, but it just doesn't make it. The NAVTEQ maps are copyright 2007. The volume for spoken directions is almost ok, but the volume for bluetooth calls is just plain unacceptable. Re-routing is limited to giving you directions to get back on the calculated route, not re-calculating the best route from where you now are. Even with all of this I almost kept it (The price really is good.). I went to the Sanyo service site and sent an email with questions. They "guarantee" an answer in 24 hours. They immediately responded with an email saying they would respond in 24 hours. After 2 days and no response, I tried calling. They have a special support line if you purchased from Walmart. They answer and welcome you (recorded). They ask you to press 2 for gps products. They then answer again and you continue in that loop (I'm stupid. I went through it 4 times before I hung up.) They did answer my email questions over a week later (poorly answered). Luckily, I already returned the unit to Walmart. I would NEVER buy a Sanyo product based upon this experience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobinStLouis
St. Louis, MO area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
where is the traffic antenna? webpage support?
11/20/2008

Customer review by nmbaker

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by nmbaker
by nmbaker

Well lets see ive owned four gps systems now starting with a tomtom one, delphi, nuvi and the sanyo 4070. I would have to say I bought this new one as an upgrade I thought. Come to find out this one does not include the traffic antenna. It was very disapointing as I grew attached to getting around traffic. However some of the new features are improved with better graphics and lane changing expressway feature. I also noticed my fm transmitter was slighly improved from the 4070 model. I think for now I will stick with the new model unless after seaching everywhere for the traffic thing i cannot find it. Two questions if it says it is made for the product how come it isnt out for it? And if the website given for it on its box why does the website not show any support for the product?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nmbaker
mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NVM4370
2/7/2009

Customer review by Decadenum

4.0 stars 2/7/2009 by Decadenum
by Decadenum

When I received my 4370 the navigation did not work, there were corrupted files on the memory. The instructions did not show how to load the backup disk until the end of the disk. It took me hours to figure out how to fix it. Fortunately if you are handy with computers it can be done. I was very disappointed about the situation. The 4370 does everything it says, I loved the GPS after I fixed it, especially the bluetooth which allows you to call your contacts and POI directly from the unit. I have not tried all the features yet but they seem to work. All in all I think that for the price it is a great tool but the price may be low because the unit is problematic. If you are not handy with windows and Dos you may ending up retutning it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Decadenum
KC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
A Misleading GPS
11/25/2008

Customer review by Agathos

1.0 stars 11/25/2008 by Agathos
by Agathos

I bought sony NVM-4370. The map is incomplete. It does not include all the streets that have been there for years. Once you missed the direction, it will keep on telling you to go back to the route it has planned until you reach your destination. This is very much misleading. Even to reach a destination which is about 10 miles from home, it will calculate in the opposite direction and ask you to travel about 100 miles to reach a destination of 10 miles. Moreover, the GPS reception is very poor even in city areas where one would have no problem in getting the GPS signal. You can not even understand the pronounciation of voice guidance. Thanks to Walmart. I was able to return it for full credit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agathos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exellant Product
5/11/2009

Customer review by Balti

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by Balti
by Balti

My wife and have been looking for a great GPS for about 2 months and researched alot of diffrent products and price. After looking for a GPS that has everything we wanted for a great price we bought this product. Bluetooth is great feature of this GPS and I love it. Very reliable with pin point dirrection to your destination. Speaker is loud enough to hear and if not set your FM tranmition on and hear it from your car speakers. Battery life is great ( about 6 hrs) and the walking option is wonderful. Take it on a hike or just a long walk and it will get you there. I would recoment this to anyone who is looking to get one. Remember if you do not like it you can always return it. I WON'T!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Balti
Greenfield, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Must like to push buttons
3/21/2009

Customer review by LEGadgetManAndComputerGuy

4.0 stars 3/21/2009 by LEGadgetManAndComputerGuy
by LEGadgetManAndComputerGuy

I've not played a lot with GPSs, so I'm not sure of the standard. The main thing I don't like about this GPS is the sound is waay to low. Even at full volume, you'll ahve to have the radio down to where you can't hear it if you wanna hear the GPS voice command. This also renders the bluetooth function basically dis-functional. Simple things like brightness take too many button pushes/menu changes. However, tap in a destination, and it'll get ya there. Which is what I bought it for. So, it does what it was meant to do, just don't expect a lot from the bells-and-whistles. And the price was such that I consider it a no-brainer if you're wanting a GPS, but are as budget-dysfunctional as I am.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEGadgetManAndComputerGuy
Little Elm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lacks useable features, but excellent value
3/17/2009

Customer review by Alwaysresearched

4.0 stars 3/17/2009 by Alwaysresearched
by Alwaysresearched

overall very happy with this gps unit. purchased a garmin two years ago and new larger display on this unit is definately an upgrade. unfortunately unit does not have some basic nice features that many units include, such as - current traveling speed, tripometer, max speed, in-nav options. provided map is probably 2007, but for most area's will be sufficient. fm transmitter is weak and therefore sound is not of good quality. compatibility for file transfer, music, and video files are limited. research compatibility prior to purchasing if interested in using bluetooth or music/video features. i use the htc tilt (kaiser) with windows mobile 6.1, and it does not work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alwaysresearched
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Poor Performance
2/28/2009

Customer review by MarioV73

1.0 stars 2/28/2009 by MarioV73
by MarioV73

PROS: Has many options like video input, text-to-speech, internal battery and memory, 4.3" screen, bluetooth, FM, plays MP3s while navigating, etc. CONS: While using the GPS, the labeling of the streets is confusing and ineffective. First, many of the cross streets are not labeled. Second, the street labeling is always oriented horizontally, which is confusing on vertical and angled streets. Finally, both my original and the replacement units died after crashing, each with less than 3 hours of operation. It appears both had defective internal memory. Sanyo has a couple of major issues to work out before being able to compete with even the unknown GPS makers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarioV73
Cypress, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good
2/27/2009

Customer review by Mississippiman

4.0 stars 2/27/2009 by Mississippiman
by Mississippiman

I have been delightfully suprised by this units performance, due to all the negative feedback it had received. The price is great and so far no problems. Fit and finish are good, and GPS portion is on point. I live in a new neighborhood and all the streets are up to date. Sound from FM transmitter is better than anticipated and re-bound sound through the internal speaker to cell phone is good. I have not hooked up a rearview camera yet, however the Bluetooth works great. Only problem so far is my son's new phone's contacts will not download into the unit. Not that big of a problem for a $100, unit with these feaures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mississippiman
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo nvm-4370
3/20/2009

Customer review by ozoner

3.0 stars 3/20/2009 by ozoner
by ozoner

While this gps was attractive and easy to operate, it had two serious shortcomings. First, the audio volume from it's internal speaker was so low that under noisy environments (window or sunroof open) you could not understand it. With the FM transmitter, you could make it loud enough but it would preclude listening to music etc. from your car radio. Second, it would choose illogical routes from time to time. For example, instead of routing you left to go south, it would make you turn right and then do a 180 to go left. The presentation and controls were good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ozoner
Poughkeepsie, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dissapointing
11/18/2008

Customer review by stekat

1.0 stars 11/18/2008 by stekat
by stekat

When driving with this gps your vehicle is about 5 seconds ahead of the gps making it confusing because you have already passed a intersection or road when it shows you doing it on the gps. The poi database showed things on the map that do not and never have existed in certian locations. The bluetooth is basically useless because the you cannot hear the other person on the speaker and they can barely hear you. The fm transmitter sounds distant and is weak. you also cannot hear the navigator unless you have the radio turned way down or off. Very dissapointing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stekat
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews