Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-12 of 12 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



This is a fantastic flash!

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

I've used the HVL-F42am for quiet some time now and I am starting to play with off-camera lighting with small flash unit. Decided to get this flash for it's capability of acting as a master control unit to utilize my F42 as a slave. I also do on-camera lighting for family events which I love bouncing light all over the place... All I have to say is WOW!! I think this is the most flexible flash out there. The quick bounce helps you direct light in almost any direction you want withough nuking your subject with direct flash. I have to tell you, I am like a kid with a new bike. I can't put this puppy down. Now I just need to order myself light stand and umbrella and of course extra batteries to start playing with off camera lighting for close potraits... Comparing it to the F42, I would have to say that I find this flash to be much smatter with compensating exposure. My F42 is at times off which I constantly have to chimp off the LCD to adjust for less/additional flash exposure... with this puppy, seems like it's more on-point than the F42. If you are debating between F58 vs F42, Trust me... You wanna go with F58. If you want to expand your off-camera, you can then even get the cheaper flashes for off-camera and do some cool stuff.... Happy shooting my friends!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Well worth the price

Customer review by BroRocket

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by BroRocket
by BroRocket

This flash is very flexible with the unique rotating head. Very dependable and consistant exposure. I started with the HVL42-AM which is a nice unit but the 58 is better in every way except bulk/weight. The two flashes team up nice for off camera work, creating a nice portable studio-like setup. I got this flash on sale at $400 and am thinking about getting a second one making my Sony portable flash investment over a grand. Worth every penny IMO.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Good even for novice

Customer review by Alamocoso

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by Alamocoso
by Alamocoso

I am very new to photography and by no means looking to be a professional. I played around for about 20 minutes and had it figured out. My wife was going to strangle me. That was until she saw what using this flash does for pictures. OUTSTANDING!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't think just buy!!!

Customer review by Happyhour

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by Happyhour
by Happyhour

The most amazing flash ever made in the History of the Minolta legacy! Almost impossible to over expose a picture with this flash! Yes it's that smart! I own every flash that Minolta /Sony has ever built and they cannot compare to this innovation! Don't think it's too much for a flash! just buy it and you will realize how much it was worth! 2 complaints: 1 the mount is way too cheap for this big heavy flash! The same dimensions as my 5200i which snapped the flash mount off the A700 and the flash fell to the floor shattering (after 10 years of use on a Minolta!) The mount is loose a wobbles not a safe feeling in portrait mount especially since I've seen one snap from less weight! 2- the bounce card is extremely effective and very useful (no need for a diffuser ever on this flash!) but it also seems to be a bit flimsy! I'm guessing it won't make it through the year before falling off. Other than those to minor complaints the most amazing flash ever made! If it will stay on the camera? Sony has yet to address this problem!

chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Get It

Customer review by mharrisnyc

5.0 stars 12/21/2008 by mharrisnyc
by mharrisnyc

The most flexible Flash ever. You won't regret it

Jamaica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Creo

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Creo
by Creo

A wonderful external flash. I shoot weddings and need a flash that can handle lots of rapid pops and this flash does the trick. The bounce card also adds a wonderful catchlight by portable shooting standards. The fact that it doesn't make that high pitch "bweeee" sound that some lesser flashes make is much appreciated by my older clients who wear hearing aids. Only complaints are the weight and the fact that the bounce card and diffuser are very flimsy- mine broke the day I bought it when I just pulled it out.

Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by Happyharris

5.0 stars 3/23/2010 by Happyharris
by Happyharris

I am in love with this flash, you just go out and get you one. You will fall in love also.

T- town, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME FLASH!! But Beware flimsy mount.

Customer review by 4130

4.0 stars 8/11/2009 by 4130
by 4130

I love this flash! Period. Don't hesitate about the price it is worth it. But, something needs to be done about the Alpha camera mounts. This flash weighs about a pound, it is heavy! So heavy in fact that it cracked the shoe mount on our a300 camera! Luckily we caught it during a shoot and the flash didn't come crashing off our camera. So if you buy it also buy a flashbar and use the wireless mode on the flash.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost the Best Flash Ever Built

Customer review by Bob77

4.0 stars 3/12/2010 by Bob77
by Bob77

I love this flash, the TTL metering is fantastic, it's almost impossible to take a bad picture with this flash. I do worry about the wobble. HEY SONY: What's your solution for the poor mounting/wobble?

Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Idea, Problematic for Some Uses

Customer review by Jlav

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by Jlav
by Jlav

I thought I'd dislike this flash, but in fact find it a great purchase. The cost is prohibitive and uncompetitive with other manufacturers, and there are excellent 3rd party flashes now that offer everything this does, but at a better price, with the exception of the swivelling... which is awesome, especially when shooting vertically, it ballances much better without a big clunky bracket. It's a great flash, with lots of power and versatility. The swivel really helps with using softboxes or umbrellas, bringing the light source closer to the middle of the light modifier. If this had a sync port and allowed HSS wireless triggering in the bounce position, it would make the 58 that much better.

Toronto, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected

Customer review by cstewart

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by cstewart
by cstewart

I picked up this flash based on reviews, then found out it is even better than everyone has said so far. If you read the instruction manual, you will find this flash is very, very versatile. Unit provides high power when you need it and is efficient when you don't need to nuke the whole scene. Fast recycle without any whining noise. Shift bounce is very versatile. You can bounce the flash off of side-walls, while in portrait mode, and even at some pretty odd angles if you have to. This flash and my camera use RF (wireless) to communicate to each other to instantly convey TTL (through the lens) information. I just wish there was a radio-based system available that could send TTL information. I can get a pocket wizard (with TTL) for Nikon or Canon, why not Sony?

Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony needs to be clear about what you're buying

Customer review by Powerup777

4.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Powerup777
by Powerup777

I bought this flash because the compatability page said it would work with the NEX-VG10 $2000.00 freaking dollar camera. The flash reports to have wireless capability but the camera is not wireless with this flash, After 3 grand on camera and accessories, I'm dissapointed to not have wireless (how much do you have to spend?). Mounted, it takes great photos and does what it advertises. I don't see the flimsy mount others reported. ONE Star Off for the lie.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes