Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

144 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

5 stars
34
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
63
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 139 total reviews
Works fine - with an easy fix
3/20/2010

Customer review by Kaiteino

3.0 stars by Kaiteino

Yes, this does leak with replacement filters, However, here is how you fix that and save some money. Go to Walmart's house cleaning supply section. Find the ocel-o utility sponges (5.9x3.0x0.9 size). Use one as the filter. Works a lot better than replacement filters. Small gap at top, but filters left same gap. No more leaks and it works fine. Airflow even increased a little as did water usage.

Was this review helpful? (185) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kaiteino
Aliso Viejo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great Humidifier
12/1/2009

Customer review by LordJ

5.0 stars by LordJ

I bought this for my son when he was 2 months old.We have cold winters where we live and the dry heat in the house was making it hard for him to breathe at night.The doctor recommended a cool mist humidifier and I found this at Walmart for $25.It has worked wonders for him since day one.It has 2 settings,high and low.I usually set it on high at first to get the humidity up,then set it to low the rest of the night.I've had it for over a year with no problems.For best performance,replace the filter ($4) every 30 days.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LordJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Leaks
12/21/2009

Customer review by SPinTX

1.0 stars by SPinTX

This product began leaking after 1st filter replacement...thought maybe we just needed to readjust and start over, still did not correct the problem...had to return item.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SPinTX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Awful
12/8/2009

Customer review by Deesmom

1.0 stars by Deesmom

I too have had it with this humidifier, the water does leak from the back, I have had other humidifiers before and this has never happened to any of them. This product is poor, taking out the filter tray is another chore, it doesn't just come out easily you have to pull it up a little just to take it out and when you do all the water from the tray pours out, I would not recommend this produt to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Deesmom
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Breathe Again
3/20/2010

Customer review by txladybug

5.0 stars by txladybug

I bought this product for my daughter. Her Dr. said we had to have one to help her breath due to cold and allergies. It has been a life saver for her. She hasnt had any problems since I purchased it. I have read some of the reviews that it leaks. I have had NO leaks. I make sure not to fill it to the rim where it is possible to happen. I clean it every week and empty and refill it everynight. Making sure it has fresh water in it. Make sure the lid is on tight. The machine is a lil loud but after a few days you get use to it, and it doesnt bother us. I also turn the machine on high for 2 hours before my kid goes to bed this seems to help as well. Again its not a bad machine, just like everything else you have to make sure you take care of it and shouldnt have problems.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
txladybug
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It Works For Me
1/12/2010

Customer review by soleman

5.0 stars by soleman

Excellent and reliable product. I have two of them. I love them. They work great. The reason people have leaks is they don't make sure the rubber gasket on the fill cap is in the proper position. About every other week, I put a very minute amount of vaseline on the gasket to help it seal properly. It's just that simple but some people just don't and never will get it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
soleman
Pueblo West, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So So experience
12/4/2009

Customer review by dreambig

3.0 stars by dreambig

This was the second one I bought, the first one I thought was just "aged". But after having this for less than a month the same problem starting occuring. The water leaked out the back. I eventually had a pan under it for a just in case and then yesterday the pan was completly filled!! It was a great product when it worked for me but I had it with this one!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dreambig
Avon Lake, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
functional for the value
12/22/2010

Customer review by Jeffersonshopper

4.0 stars by Jeffersonshopper

This product CAN HAVE tendancy to leak however if after you fill the water tank ....check to make sure the small "o" ring on cover is in place - the humidifer leaks when that o ring is not where it belongs. I have had no issues of leaking when everything is together as it should be.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jeffersonshopper
Jefferson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does Not Work
12/30/2010

Customer review by Shorty50

1.0 stars by Shorty50

I bought the Reli On Humidifier Model RCM-832N about two months ago. This humidifier does not humidify at all. The problem is the plunger that is attached underneath the fillable tank (upper half). In order for water to gradually flow out, it needs something to push in the spring loaded rod inward in the bottom half of this unit. But guess what? There is nothing at all at the bottom half of this unit to activate this plunger. And since the bottom half of this unit was designed poorly, it cannot hold enough water to humidify any room. There is less than 1/4" clearance at the bottom of this unit. "How can you fill up the bottom half including wetting the filter when it all leaks out through the vent in the back?" When I first filled the tank with water I thought that it would somehow magically activate the plunger to fill the bottom half just enough to wet the filter and from there humidify the room. "Boy, what big fool I was for beleiving that!" After two months of using this unit, the water level in the water tank has stayed exactly the same! And beleive me; the air in my room is so dry, that it makes me get nose bleeds almost every day. Bottom line is; this is an incomplete humidifier. It needs to be redesigned.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shorty50
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Water everywhere!
11/16/2010

Customer review by soontwobemommyoftwo

1.0 stars by soontwobemommyoftwo

I filled it up and ran it for about an hour then we left it sitting on my table in my living room turned OFF and left for the night ...when i came back home the next day the vaporizer was bone dry and had leaked all the water all over my brand new carpet..boy was I mad! it took 2day for it to dry! grrr dont buy this product!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
soontwobemommyoftwo
mound city missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just what I wanted
1/27/2010

Customer review by ArianStar

5.0 stars by ArianStar

I researched the various humidifiers prior to going to purchase one. The cool mist one appealed because I'm already hot natured, and I love this feature. Having read the reviews, I took the advice of one man & have put a dab of vaseline around the gasket initially and then once a week when I clean unit, and I have had not one leaking problem. As far as water coming out the back it has not been a huge issue at all. yes, a bit sloshes out when carrying it if you're not careful, but it was so minimal it didn't effect my opinion a bit. It was a draw between a Vicks humidifier and this one - the thing that decided me on this one was the price of the filters. Vicks' filter was $12, and this one was $4. Compared to the old model humidifiers, this one is a breeze to clean. If anyone's having problems getting it done then I wish you could try some of the older ones. Removing the tray wasn't a huge problem here, and I simply set the unit down in my kitchen sink, and had absolutely no problems. And, it has greatly helped in adding humidity to my dry apartment, which means overall its doing the job I expected. Great product for the price, and for smaller areas.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ArianStar
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great humidifier for the price
11/5/2011

Customer review by Angelsara007

5.0 stars by Angelsara007

I have had this humidifier for more than 3 years. I use it everyday. I have never had any issues with it. Doesn't leak, is very quiet, easy to change the filter. I couldn't ask for a better humidifier. I have severe allergies and asthma, and this helps immensely.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Angelsara007
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awsome product
12/17/2010

Customer review by gonzo1994

5.0 stars by gonzo1994

i love this product it helps me breath at night and it is not loud and i love i would recomend this to any one

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gonzo1994
tallahassee fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best value
6/2/2011

Customer review by Jbadger

4.0 stars by Jbadger

I have had my purchase for over a year now and bought it to help cool my room in the summer time. Not that I need more moisture (Wisconsin humidity is high enough) but I bought it anyway. It definitely helps me sleep at night during the summers. I just learned I should have replaced the filter once a month-whoops :) But after reading all of these reviews about leaking I have never had that problem, however it does not last for 36 hrs...I can let mine about 10 hrs before it needs more water just because it pushes that much out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jbadger
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Relief
12/18/2009

Customer review by KoalaChele

4.0 stars by KoalaChele

This product has helped my husband (sinus issues), asthmatic cat and myself breathe. The air feels like coastal breeze. It has also reduced static, odors, pollen and mold. This product did leak but I was desperate to make it work! After noticing that bubbles would rise from the fill cap in the water tank, I realized that it was slowly leaking underneath the water tray and out the back. I called customer service and they sent me a new cap with gasket. While waiting for the new cap, I adjusted the gasket and have not had any bubbles or leaking since. I am using it now! My cat sits next to it. It does not make surroundings wet. So check the gasket if you see bubbles from the fill cap and keep the product! It works!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KoalaChele
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
If you like peace and quiet, do not buy!!!
12/18/2010

Customer review by swulski

1.0 stars by swulski

We got this humidifer, set it up in my child's room, got my child ready for bed and turned the humidifier on... It is SOOOO loud....we probably had this on for ten minutes while we read stories and had to turn it off before bedtime. It comes with two settings, low (really loud) and high (extremely loud!). So, have we used the contraption...no...I have no idea if it leaks or works...all I know is if you enjoy listening to a very loud fan, you will like this product. I will be returning it to Walmart ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
swulski
Would recommend to a friend? No
it is just what i needed
2/15/2012

Customer review by Whiskers15

5.0 stars by Whiskers15

i am so pleased with my humidifier,it does everything I expected it to do,and above all else it makes my home cooler so i can breathe better. Sorry,I cannot put a picture on here because I don't know how,but i am so satisfied with my purchase.thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Whiskers15
Saint Albans VT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Never had a problem.
12/17/2010

Customer review by tnt22

5.0 stars by tnt22

Since having our first child in '03 we've always had one of these humidifiers in their room. We've used it every night. I also use one in my bedroom during the winter due to my electric furnace. I recently purchased a filterless VICKS humidifier and regret it. See my review. I've not had a single problem with leaking from either of my units. I still use the original one we got in '03. We purchased the other just last winter '09.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tnt22
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OURS WORKS WELL, NO LEAKS
3/1/2010

Customer review by d4nielbritt

4.0 stars by d4nielbritt

Our unit it 3 years old and works quite well. We change filters once per year and use the water treatment and its worked flawlessly since day one...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
d4nielbritt
Lake Mary, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Humidifier
6/7/2011

Customer review by guerrmad

4.0 stars by guerrmad

This is a very good humidfier. We have had no problems with it leaking or malfunctioning. The only problem is the filter. If you leave the filter in it will mold with the water from the bottom of the tray. Then you have to replace it. This is my only problem with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
guerrmad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 139 total reviews