Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 796 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

796 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

796 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
493
4 stars
203
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 stars
35
1-20 of 709 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 709 total reviews
1-20 of 709 reviews
Excellent vacuum!
2/19/2009

Customer review by Duckball

5.0 stars 2/19/2009 by Duckball
by Duckball

This machine is great. My old Dirt Devil (a three-year-old machine) was clogging up after just a couple minutes of use, so I went online to check what was reasonably-priced and worth every penny and more. This was the one that caught my eye: under $100, super-cheap shipping, and everyone said it was somewhat comparable to the Dyson vacuums (but for less than a third of the price). It IS that good! I know our carpet isn't THAT clean as it's three years old and it hasn't been steam-cleaned in a few months, but I couldn't believe the amount of sand, hair (human and cat), feathers, and dust that got sucked up. And the suction stays strong, even when the cup is getting full! I'm also impressed with how quiet it is... I can hear my five-year-old while I'm vacuuming. This is a great vacuum! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (171) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duckball
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OMG!! Unbelievably EXCELLENT!
12/9/2009

Customer review by chicagoster

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by chicagoster
by chicagoster

DO NOT HESITATE TO BUY THIS. I bought it after reading all the good reviews and even though my friends told me to buy a Kirby/Dyson ...those were too expensive. So, for $100 (I had a coupon, so it was slightly cheaper. All the reviews says Dyson clone. I don't know how good a Dyson is - I have never owned one of those. Here goes...I got this...put it together in five minutes (not even). Read directions on how to clean out canister and change filter. Both VERY EASY tasks! Anyways...wanted to really test this sucker out. So, took my Hoover U5140-900 Tempo (the upright blue one that gets rave reviews!!) bagged vacuum and really really really worked over our family room carpet. I must have gone over each area at least three times. It looked faboulously clean. Then...turned this Whisper on...and yes it is much quieter. My kids (who were both deathly afraid of the old vacuum) ran into the room to ask to try out the new TOY!!! Seriously! They each (5 and 3 years old) pushed the vacuum for about two minutes! They thought it was fun...are you kidding me??? They go from deathly afraid of the old vacuum to now wanting to use the new whisper quiet vacuum!!! That's a testament to how much more quiet it is as well as a different noise (more of a high pitch than loud roar). Anyways, ran over the family room carpet one time...and...OMG, you would not believe how much more DIRT, DIRT it picked up. It didn't suck up carpet fibers to make you think it's sucking up more....no, this was DIRT, DIRT! My wife was floored...she couldn't believe the crud that was being emptied out of the canister. She immediately grabbed the vacuum and headed for other areas of the house. Cons, it is a little on the heavy side...so, for vacuuming stairs...you need some muscle or use the extension only. I even took a photo to show you all the extra dirt it picked up. Remember, this is dirt it picked up after I already vacuumed with a very popular Hoover U5140-900 Tempo that had a new bag in it. To wrap up...Excellent, gets family more involved in cleaning, cleans at unreal levels of your carpet! Deep Deep cleans!!!

Was this review helpful? (135) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chicagoster
plainfield, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent vacuum reviewed by an expert!
2/7/2009

Customer review by VacuumExpert

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by VacuumExpert
by VacuumExpert

This is the best bagless vacuum you can get at any store HANDS DOWN! I am a vacuum collector with 17+ vacuums old and new. I love this vacuum for many reasons. First of all, it is SOOO quiet. I turned it on and really was surprised! At first I didn't believe the label, but this really is a QUIET vacuum for a change, even though it is a dual-motor 12 amp upright. It also doesn't lose suction and get all that dust stuck in the top of the bin, unlike my dirty Fusion, which is a lot easier when dumping. It has a low center of gravity so it won't tip over when using the hose. The hose and wand are very durable and long, and are easy to unclog. The suction is FANTASTIC! It picked up so much dirt and FINE particles and actually kept them INSIDE the vacuum. I suffer from allergies and my Hoover Fusion would release dust back into the air, but the Whisper doesn't. It is hepa and does not make me wheeze. You can turn off the brushroll for hard floors or for the attachments. It has rubberized wheels so it won't scratch floors. I've been taking apart vacuums for years, and this vacuum seems much more durable than other plastic vacuums. There are some minor drawbacks, though. The attachments aren't too fancy, but they get the job done. Also, the vacuum maybe slightly heavy for some people, but I really don't feel it. In all, I am very surprised that this vacuum isn't in the Dyson price range, and is an excellent and good quality vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (62) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VacuumExpert
N/A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far . . . Great vacuum
9/15/2008

Customer review by ImaDoglover2

5.0 stars 9/15/2008 by ImaDoglover2
by ImaDoglover2

This vacuum is supposed to be very similar to the low-end Dysons. I've had mine about 3 weeks. Pros: 1) Very ease to put together. Mostly pre-assembled and everything else clicks into place. 2) Does a great job on fine dirt and long pet hair. 3) Noise level is ok. Quieter than other vacs I've had in this price range. 4) Wonderful on hard floors because the brush roll turns off and beautifully on carpets. Instructions recommend using the lowest height level unless it's too hard to push. 5) Filter really works and seals are tight. This is a deal maker for me. I don't have breathing problems when vacuuming that I do with less tightly sealed HEPA vacuums (like the Hoover Elite). 6) Washable filters 7) Heavy and sturdy (if its too hard for you to push try adjusting the height) 8) Very easy to use wand 9) The soft-start feature is very nice. Doesn't scare the animals as much. Cons: 1) fairly small dust cup (like many bagless vacs), mine fills up quickly with pet hair. 2) Dust cup has a easy-to-use system so that the dirt falls out of the bottom, BUT I have to pull the debris/pet hair out of the dust cup. I think if the bottom were slightly wider this wouldn't happen. My Hoover Elite had a similar dust cup but it emptied more easily. I wipe the outside of the dust cup with a dryer sheet to prevent static dust. I then put the dust cup in a large plastic bag and help it empty by using the excess bag as a glove. If you don't have allergies, this won't take you as long as it does me. 3) My Hoover Elite tools don't fit this Hoover. The hose is a tad smaller in circumference. 4) No retractable cord. Hoover does well with these. I love it on the Elite. The cord is easy to wind around the hooks, though. Overall: I like this better than my Hoover Elite, which was terrible on hard floors and sprayed dust in the air through small crevices in the vacuum (I put duct tape over places I could feel air blowing where it shouldn't and it helped a lot). I would buy this again. I'll try to update this review if my opinion changes.

Was this review helpful? (63) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImaDoglover2
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1 Year Old and Still Going Strong!
2/5/2010

Customer review by shecandoit

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by shecandoit
by shecandoit

I bought this vacuum over a year ago on December 20, 2008. We have a daughter with asthma and are the owners of 2 cats - one longhair and one shorthair. We have hardwood throughout the kitchen, dining and hallways of our home with carpet in all the bedrooms, living room and family room. This vacuum is EXCELLENT! My last vacuum was a $400 vacuum that would tip over and lose parts whenever I used the attachments. This Hoover does an excellent job with pet hair and everyday dust and dirt. I love how you just pull the wand out to use the attachments, no bending! There is a nifty little button on the top which allows you to turn off the brush roller - I love this feature for my hardwoods, I can roll along and vacuum the hard floors, and then push a button to turn the brush roller on when I come up to my area rugs. I hadn't replaced the hepa filter as of the 1 yr anniversary date because it looked clean, but I replaced anyway to be on the safe side with my daughter's asthma. The foam filter on the inside is easy to wash out, and I do that quite frequently. All in all, this has been a cheap vacuum to purchase and to maintain. The only "issues" I have with the Hoover Whisper is: It's slightly on the heavy side - but given the fact that my last vacuum tipped over, I'll make do with it. And as another reviewer mentioned, it's slightly messy to empty the dirt cup. To empty the dirt cup I hold a plastic grocery bag over it and give it a whack with my hand. This way I'm not releasing any dust into the air. I usually have cat hair stuck up in the filter (remember, I have a long haired cat!)and a good whack doesn't seem to loosen it. I've found that using a Swiffer duster (the kind with the handle) to swab it clean really works well and cuts back on the static. I hope my review helps you make a decision. I am extremely happy with this vacuum! Happy cleaning!

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shecandoit
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great Value
2/8/2009

Customer review by FluffyOneTwenty

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by FluffyOneTwenty
by FluffyOneTwenty

My husband and I bought this for our new home. I was leery about buying anything without reading the reviews first and I thought I would have rather fixed our old vacuum than purchase another. My husband tested the vacuum in our high traffic areas (we have two dogs that shed immensely) and boy what a surprise. On the first run in only one room (15x18) we emptied massive amounts of dog fur. I grabbed the vacuum for my turn, took it upstairs (it's very light) and vacuumed our bedroom. Once again lots of dog hair amongst other foreign items that we could barely even see. This product is highly recommended. I'm extremely frugal and detest things that do not work well. Buy this and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FluffyOneTwenty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wow! This thing is incredible!
5/5/2009

Customer review by CouponClipperReviews

5.0 stars 5/5/2009 by CouponClipperReviews
by CouponClipperReviews

Just used this vacuum for the first time. I have two indoor cats. My old vacuum stopped working about three weeks ago. Out of about three small rooms I got two cups full of cat hair and dirt. This thing is amazing! You won't be dissappointed. It did trip my circuit breaker once during use but once I swapped outlets I didn't have the problem again.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CouponClipperReviews
Callahan, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent on Hardwood floors
4/16/2009

Customer review by our4sons

4.0 stars 4/16/2009 by our4sons
by our4sons

This vacuum is a great value for the money. It is easy to use and goes from carpet to hardwood very easily. It is easy to switch from vacuuming to using the wand. The only drawbacks are that the vacuum itself is heavy, the wand is short and one of the attachments will not stay where it is meant to stay, it keeps falling off. It is very quiet and you can still hear the tv when it is on in the room. It picks up very very well and is easy to empty.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
our4sons
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heavy Duty Family Use
5/8/2010

Customer review by Colo316

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by Colo316
by Colo316

We have owned our whisper cyclone for about a year and a half. After heavy use (every day); no loss in suction, still just as quiet and effective as when we bought it. 4 kids a dog and cat, No prob! Durability, this thing is a tank, no probs, a bit heavy but its durable.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colo316
New Hartford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just OK
6/4/2010

Customer review by Wantsadeal

3.0 stars 6/4/2010 by Wantsadeal
by Wantsadeal

I got this vacuum after reading the reviews. It works great at first and does make my carpets feel new. I would say that it's just ok. The canister is small and hard to dump dirt out. I have to reach in and pull all the dirt and hair out. I have 2 dogs that constantly shed all year round and need to vacuum everyday. Dirt gets stuck inside around the filter and you have to take it apart to clean it and there are a lot of parts. I have to do this about once a week or the hair comes out the bottom back onto my carpets. It does not work so great on the hard floors. It does not pick everything up you have to go over 2 or 3 times on something that should be easy to pick up. I wasn't impressed with this and expected more with all of the good reviews.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wantsadeal
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cleans great but not so convenient to use
1/11/2011

Customer review by Singlemom75

3.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Singlemom75
by Singlemom75

This vaccuum is really great for the price, it cleans really well and the brush roll on/off switch is unheard of in a machine of this price range. I will also say, it truly is very quiet and you can have a conversation with someone while you vaccuum. Having said that, mine went back to the store for 3 reasons: 1. It really is quite heavy. This seems like no big deal until you try to sweep the whole house and realize that it is about 5 times heavier than your normal vac. I am only 35 and in good shape but I don't need a workout while I vaccuum. This would be a very poor choice for an elderly person. 2. The attachments are done in a very unique way. The handle of the vaccuum pulls right off the base and then you attach your brush or crevice tool (both tiny) to it. This would have been pretty cool except that if the pole is too long, it doesn't bend so you have trouble using it. Plus, it doesn't extend very far, which makes it difficult to use it to dust your drapes, ceiling fan etc. 3. The carpet height adjust dial was seriously hard to change. I mean, I had to put a dishrag over it and use pliers to adjust the hieght. Again... not ideal for a vaccuum for me to need tools to operate the carpet hieght dial. All in all, it does a phenomenal job cleaning & the concept of it was good... just a few too many not so user friendly issues for me.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Singlemom75
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Proud Owner of a Hoover Whisper!
11/12/2009

Customer review by FrugalMommaof2

5.0 stars 11/12/2009 by FrugalMommaof2
by FrugalMommaof2

I bought this product a little bit more then a year ago. I absolutely love it! The first thing that drew me towards this particular vacuum was the color. I love the blue, it's very pretty. The second thing was the claim that it was quiet... I didn't quite believe it but once I got it home it was MUCH quieter. We live in a 2 family apartment and with my old vacuum... I felt bad running it at any given time and with this one I feel comfortable running it at 8 in the morning or 8 at night. It picks up well and I have a 3 yr old and 1 year old... so I vacuum daily. I LOVE the pull out wand! It's by far the best feature of this vacuum. Snack time is in the living room so I end up with cheerios and other misc. food items and I can just reach out with the wand and suck them up. It's also very easy to suck up cobwebs or spiders from my 9 ft. ceilings. The downfall to this vacuum would be the canister to empty it. You have to reach your hand in and pull all the hair and dust out because most of it gets stuck.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalMommaof2
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as good as reviewed
12/26/2011

Customer review by KansasCityNorth

2.0 stars 12/26/2011 by KansasCityNorth
by KansasCityNorth

I have had this vacuum for approx 2 years. It seemed great at first, like most reviews said.. but it clogs with dog hair around the belt routinely, the plastic lid on the canister broke within the first couple of months because it is a flimsy hinge and it is difficult to clean the inside of the canister of all the dirt. You have to bang it on the floor to get the dirt to come out, and you will not believe the amount of stuff that comes out. It is also extremely heavy to push and lug around. It used to pick up really well, but not so much anymore. Now it doesn't pick up at all, so I am replacing it. It's fun at first to see the dirt swirling around in the canister, but if you have allergies or asthma, I don't recommend it, as emptying it will release all the dirt into the air. I prefer a bagged vacuum to keep it all contained and not having to bang the canister to try and get all the dirt out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansasCityNorth
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
super product
10/28/2009

Customer review by 1126

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by 1126
by 1126

I bought this as a gift for my daughter. I have a dyson and we both agree this product is very similiar except much cheaper than the dyson.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1126
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Whisper bad investment
6/18/2009

Customer review by danny5

1.0 stars 6/18/2009 by danny5
by danny5

I have had this product 3.5 months. I loved it at first picked up wonderful was quiet. Now the inside of the dirt cup broke and the rollbar melted and it is not covered by the warranty. How can it not be covered when all I did was vacuum once daily. I thought this was a great product but it turned out to be junk

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danny5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Hoover I've had.....
6/2/2011

Customer review by AjL79

1.0 stars 6/2/2011 by AjL79
by AjL79

This vaccum is heavy and not very easy to manuver. Wasn't thrilled with it when I got it, but decided to keep it... for what reason I'm not too sure... I've had this vaccum for over a year now and since then the bottom of the canister where you empty it broke off and is no longer attached but I can still fit it back on. And the biggest issue is the other day I was vaccuming and the handle just snapped off..!?!?.. I have always been a fan of Hoover vaccums but this is the worst vaccum ever.. So the pros of this vaccum - looks kinda cool and its a Hoover... Cons- Cheap plasticy, heavy, not very good suction, hard to clean & empty canister.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AjL79
Toledo Area, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/31/2011

Customer review by Amiecher

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Amiecher
by Amiecher

Great vacuum. My husband raves about it. We vacuumed with our regular vacuum, then this one, we got up so much more dirt and pet hair it was disgusting! This vacuum is great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amiecher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Vacuum I have EVER Purchased!!
4/27/2012

Customer review by sugarbear632

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by sugarbear632
by sugarbear632

This vacuum has a super sleek look. The blue and silver accents are very nice. It is super quiet! First day I used it after having vacuumed with another vacuum, it picked up tons of dirt. I like that you can switch the brush roller on and off and I love that the hose is so long. I read it prior reviews that it is quite heavy, but it's not as heavy as I thought it would be. The canister is easy to dump in the trash with a one click detachment. I have used both attachments and they work wonders. My neighbor is ready to purchase the same vacuum after trying it out. So I have already recommended it to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sugarbear632
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Read how to empty!
12/17/2010

Customer review by boniblue

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by boniblue
by boniblue

Yes it is heavy and no it does not have a light but I was amazed how much dirt this thing picked up! After vacuuming, I needed to empty the container and didn't see my manual anywhere, but sheesh I am a grown woman and can surely figure out how to empty it right? I found the dirt conatiner release button and the whole conatiner came off-great! But it was huge -twice the size of my old container so I was sure it must break down one more time somewhere. I searched for a way to break it apart and didn't see a place to unscrew it. After a few minutes of frustration I saw a small gray button on top of it and mumbled, "hmm. I wonder what this does" and I pressed it. It was a throw up button! Please see the photo and remember this when you empty yours for the first time. I LOVE it now that I know how to empty it! Oh and I found the manual too~hang on to yours.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boniblue
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Part1:Easy to assemble, Good suction, Quite silent
4/27/2012

Customer review by AptRenter

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by AptRenter
by AptRenter

I just got the vaccum delivered today. Assembling it was a breeze. I tested it by vaccuming my living area of my apartment. It did a fantastic job. Picked up all the hair, small debris and carpet dust. I was quite impressed with how much less noise it made compared to my previous one. Emptying the dust pan is also simple. The release button to open up the bottom lid for emptying the contents was a little hard. But once you get it, its quite easy. Putting the dust container back into the vaccum needs a little attention to aligning the bottom hinge on the base of the vaccum. But its not a major minus at all. I will post Part II of the review after ~3months and Part III after 1 year of use. Thus giving a full review to potential buyers. So far this get a two thumbs up from me !!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AptRenter
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 709 total reviews
1-20 of 709 reviews