Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 67 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
A great product if you apply it differently
3/21/2011

Customer review by HappyMommy76

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by HappyMommy76
by HappyMommy76

This product has changed my life. I am a woman who has had thinning hair since my mid-20's, and I really just thought I was going to have to live with the stares and comments from strangers for the rest of my life. I discovered DermMatch, and it has honestly given me so, so, so much confidence back. However, I do not apply it the way the instructions suggest. I didn't not like the look, feel, messiness, or dullness of my hair caused by the suggested 'wet application'. If you get a good powder puff from Walmart (the kind you get in a make-up compact with the tight weave - not the big, fluffy kind. I think it was only about $1.50 for a pack of 4), you can actually do a dry application on your hair that looks and feels GREAT with no dullness, no color transfer onto your pillows or clothes, and no heavy feel on your hair. Wash and towel-dry your hair, and pat the dry powder along your scalp through parted sections of your hair. Then brush it through, dry and style as normal. I love it!!!! This is the way it works for me - so much more natural looking, cleaner, and faster to apply. It also makes your DermMatch last longer - I have been using the same container for almost 9 months and still have a good 2 months' worth left. I will say, though, that the color of the medium-brown looks a bit more auburn - it does run a little red. I will be purchasing the dark brown next time.

Was this review helpful? (100) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyMommy76
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great use for occasional
6/29/2012

Customer review by eternity42

4.0 stars 6/29/2012 by eternity42
by eternity42

The Dermmatch thin hair concealer does what its supposed to do, make your thinning hair areas seem fuller of hair. It's wonderful if you have a special night of pictures, or events like your high school reunion or wedding day. However, the product does stretch out the truth in some forms. Don't be going into a pool or Jacuzzi thinking it will stay on. You will look like a clown that has paint coming down his face. Its best to use this product if you don't plan on sweating or being around water. If your on a date and expect your partner to run her/his fingers through your hair, then i would advice to go natural. Might just be the deal breaker. I even tried hair drying the concealer after putting it on. This helped a bit but not to the point of it not coming off when in contact with water. So to recap, i love this product. It does well with giving you the impression of a full hair and booster your confidence and happiness. Just use it wisely and keep your head away from water. Hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eternity42
The great United States of America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Before & After Pictures
8/29/2011

Customer review by Mommyrock79

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Mommyrock79
by Mommyrock79

I purchased Medium and Dark Browns and mixed colors to match my color treated hair. I gave this 5 stars because I think this product does an excellent job of hiding the scalp. Any better would require actual hair. I'm not convinced it would stay as dark if I went swimming. The color bled once I got it wet in the shower, though it did not come off completely. Disclaimer for the pictures: I have only used this once. I imagine with more practice, I will master the coverage. But overall, this was very easy to apply and it lasted all day without any problems. I read all the negative reviews and don't agree with any of them.

Was this review helpful? (39) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyrock79
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Concealer for Hair Loss!
11/4/2011

Customer review by Firehawkhorse

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Firehawkhorse
by Firehawkhorse

I like this product much better than the 'shake on' type of hair loss coverage products. Don't get me wrong, the shake-on goes on faster, but is so costly! It takes a little longer to apply Dermatch, but it doesn't move or flake off. It's so much cheaper, too, lasting about 6 months or more, whereas the shake-on is very expensive and disappears fast. You're terrified of spilling the precious small amount you get with Fusion or Toppix. AND the applicator I bought for the Fusion constantly got clogged up. It was a major pain...Thus Dermatch became my new solution. It's great with mild to moderate thinning before having to move on to a wiglet or wig--- or a toupee. Just plan on an extra 5 or 10 minutes to apply. I put it on dry with dry hair because I don't like the 'feel' of the wet application. But Try both applications and then you decide.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firehawkhorse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Incredibly Grateful
3/5/2009

Customer review by GratefulforDermmatch

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by GratefulforDermmatch
by GratefulforDermmatch

WOW!! I love this product! This has been literally heaven sent. I'm a 44yr. old woman with thinning hair and this product has literally changed my life. My self-confidence has increased. I'm no longer trying to hide my head from the sun and will now sit in front of the windows with the light shining through. I don't see people staring at my head anymore. It makes my hair feel and look thicker, and hides my scalp. This product does not flake off onto my clothes nor does it sweat off when I'm at the gym. It's on until I shampoo it off! DermMatch, you are literally an answer to my prayers. I also recommended your product to my friend. She loves it, too! Thank you so much. Your product has changed my life!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GratefulforDermmatch
Cobleskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Now ordering for my hair stylist to evaluate
12/17/2010

Customer review by medtechgirl

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by medtechgirl
by medtechgirl

I ordered this product 5 months ago when I decided to change my hair style for a very special occasion. I wanted to have bangs again but I was very nervous because I knew that whenever I had bangs, the hair on the top of my head looked thinner and my scalp showed. I color my hair med brown but the color doesn't last long on my scalp. I took a chance on this product and have been using it ever since. I wash my hair, blow it dry, apply dermmatch where my white scalp really shows and then lightly blow my scalp dry with the hair dryer. Then I apply a little extra each day when I am getting ready to go out (only if needed) before my next hair wash. I LOVE this product! After 5 months of use I don't think I have even used 1/4 of it. It might even last me over 2 years. Wow was it worth the money! PS. After demonstrating the product to my hair stylist, she asked me if I could order the dark brown for her own personal use. She has tried other products and now wants to try this one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
medtechgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely Worth Trying!!!
5/12/2011

Customer review by bingmom

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by bingmom
by bingmom

I LOVE this product and am so glad that I found it! I have always had fine, thinner hair, but over the last few years the hair at the top of my head has thinned out even more and is very embarrassing (especially since I'm only 31!) This product is so easy to use, and covers my scalp very well. The instructions say to coat the roots of your hair as well for extra fullness, but I found that doing so did cause my hair to look a little dull in color, so now I use a rat tail comb to go section by section and only apply the product to my scalp with the sponge applicator. I've messed around with several of the color options, and was excited to color my hair reddish again and still be able to cover my scalp. However, the red was a bit bright and didn't blend in with the hair color I had used, so I had to blend it with the medium brown. But all in all, GREAT PRODUCT!! I have used it for well over a year and will continue to use it for years to come!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bingmom
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dermmatch med brown
5/31/2010

Customer review by FNP4ever

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by FNP4ever
by FNP4ever

This is an excellent product. It uses water for application and my hair was so flat I wasn't sure I liked it. Then I began blow drying my hair after application and dried it thoroughly. IT LOOKS GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FNP4ever
Salisbury MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
restored my self confidence!!
1/21/2010

Customer review by Margarita

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by Margarita
by Margarita

this product works wonders!! my thinning hair is no longer a source of embarrassment...my scalp is completely covered and it even makes my hair fuller and thicker without any additional styling products.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Margarita
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So disappointed!
1/31/2011

Customer review by beachadwriter

1.0 stars 1/31/2011 by beachadwriter
by beachadwriter

Having just suffered thru some major hairloss due to radiation from cancer and subsequant damage to my thyroid, I was eager to find a hair filler product that would cover my loss until my hair came back. I had tried another product, a fiber-type power, and loved the results. However, I read some positive reviews about this product and thought I'd give it a try as well. Couldn't have been more disappointed. It's a sponge on color for the scalp...it doesn't boost your existing hair, only covers the white of your scalp with its odd color. This product can not be applied properly without someone's help. I attempted to use it myself twice, only to find huge white spots I missed on the back of my head. I ultimately returned the product. Sorry, this did not work as promised.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachadwriter
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works great, but DOES come off without shampoo
8/18/2011

Customer review by Matilldanna

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Matilldanna
by Matilldanna

It works great to hide thin spots, but you need to sleep with a towel or something to protect your pillowcase from a noticeable dark stain in a couple of days. It also claims to only come off with shampoo--it comes off if it gets wet...at least in the shower--I haven't tried it in a pool yet. I'm not sure I ever will. Other than these downfalls, it is a great product for what it's worth. If you can put up with the above few things, "try it...you'll like it!".

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matilldanna
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great idea but lots of work
12/7/2012

Customer review by Edbh

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Edbh
by Edbh

Nice idea, works good but I use caboki (powder) after for touch up. Takes long time to do it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edbh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Color Not Identified Correctly
2/2/2011

Customer review by Honeycombe

2.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Honeycombe
by Honeycombe

I bought this "medium brown" to use. I've never used this type of product, so didn't know what to expect. To my surprise it was easy to apply, and it stayed pretty well. I had let my roots go a little too long, and since I dye my hair medium brown, I thought this might help stretch my coloring. It seemed to do the trick, unless you looked closely. Because this color is not really medium brown. It's a reddish light-medium brown. Definitely reddish. You might even call it auburn. And it was a tad too light, although my hair is definitely medium, not dark, brown. So I didn't recommend this product, but that was because I don't think you should get it, if you need medium brown. Because this is NOT medium brown. This seems to be a good product, though, in other respects. I'm going to try the dark brown, and see how that goes. I also think it's a little pricey, for what it is (all these sorts of things seem to be pricey) (I mean, it's basically thick eye shadow that sticks, right?). But for the price, at least you DO get a lot, that I would think would last for a long while. I'll try the darker color & rate that. Other than the color, I think this would work for what I wanted it for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honeycombe
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
2/20/2012

Customer review by noname765

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by noname765
by noname765

If you have thin or thinning hair, and are distressed because your scalp shows through, this is the product for you. It's better than any other remedy I have tried, and always gives good results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noname765
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does exactly what it says!
3/22/2013

Customer review by Neverhurtstotry

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Neverhurtstotry
by Neverhurtstotry

I found this product easy to use. The product covers my thinning scalp perfectly and makes the hair seem a little thicker. I haven't tried it swimming yet, but I have a feeling it will stay on very well. Washes out easily and does not stain my pillow. Next best thing to a hair transplant! I used the Medium Brown and my hair is a light brown but it is a perfect color for me. I would recommend this product to anyone. And although the price seemed a little high, it looks as if it will last me almost a year. You need very little to do the job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neverhurtstotry
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not What I Expected
6/22/2012

Customer review by kidkare1

3.0 stars 6/22/2012 by kidkare1
by kidkare1

This product is just OK! I expected it to dry to a point where it would not run or rub off after it dried. that has not been the case with me. i applied as directed, and the coverage is good, but it is not a good hold. it could be my body chemistry, because i have read other really good reviews about DermMatch. at least if you get it and it isn't what you expected, you can always return it. i ordered it through Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kidkare1
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not waterproof.....
8/27/2012

Customer review by belour

1.0 stars 8/27/2012 by belour
by belour

As soon as I started to perspire...it came off

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
belour
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this product!
8/2/2011

Customer review by 3tToad

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by 3tToad
by 3tToad

I just spent the last week going to the beach, swimming in the ocean and my shiny scalp didn't blind anyone! I ended up buying the light, medium and dark brown color ... The dark brown is what ended up working for me. I highlight my hair a lot so I sure didn't think that would be the color for me, I would have considered my natural color to be more of a medium brown. Regardless, I would recommend this to any woman with female pattern baldness.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3tToad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cheaper, less messy than the expensive spray!
10/19/2011

Customer review by orangecrow

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by orangecrow
by orangecrow

very good price for this product. but it certainly does the trick in covering thin areas. much cheaper, much less messier than the expensive spray brand. much less cleaning to do in bathroom. i'm thrilled i found this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orangecrow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this!
9/28/2014

Customer review by AZStardust

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by AZStardust
by AZStardust

I've been using this for about 4 years now and it's amazing, my self confidence is boosted and no longer have embarassing scalp showing through because of my thinning hair. My hair is light brown, however I order the dark brown because it works the best for me, the light brown is more of a copper/reddish tint. This takes a little practice, you may have to try a few ways to see what works best for you. I personally put it on after I towel dry my hair, I use the brush it comes with slightly dampen the brush, put a little bit of the concealer on and sort of dot it on where I want it. If it gets to dark or thick I simply rub it around with my fingers. It's gets messy doing it that way, but easily removed from hands with soap and water. Then I go put on my make up and by the time I am done doing that, the concealer is dry and so is my hair partially, I then use a blow dryer to dry the rest of my hair and fluff it up. After it is dry I can use the concealer brush to dab on any missing spots, I don't necessarily wet the brush again, it's usually still damp. I have swam with this on, I have never had any problems with it running, of course I suppose that depends on how much you have your head in the water. The only way mine comes out is if I use shampoo and wash it. I have even slept with it on, woke up, brushed my hair and the product is still on, occasionally I spot touch but not very often. Without this product I'm not sure what I would do, I have tried several and this is by far the best I have ever tried. At first glance it seems a little pricy, however, I have found that one of these compacts will last me a full year and then some if used correctly. I have to admit the first compact I had lasted 3 months and that's because I didn't know what I was doing. I have now perfected the application and it only takes me about 2 minutes to do it. I will continue to use this as long as they make it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZStardust
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews