Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 70 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Before & After Pictures
8/29/2011

Customer review by Mommyrock79

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Mommyrock79
by Mommyrock79

I purchased Medium and Dark Browns and mixed colors to match my color treated hair. I gave this 5 stars because I think this product does an excellent job of hiding the scalp. Any better would require actual hair. I'm not convinced it would stay as dark if I went swimming. The color bled once I got it wet in the shower, though it did not come off completely. Disclaimer for the pictures: I have only used this once. I imagine with more practice, I will master the coverage. But overall, this was very easy to apply and it lasted all day without any problems. I read all the negative reviews and don't agree with any of them.

Was this review helpful? (53) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyrock79
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great idea but lots of work
12/7/2012

Customer review by Edbh

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Edbh
by Edbh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice idea, works good but I use caboki (powder) after for touch up. Takes long time to do it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edbh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great use for occasional
6/29/2012

Customer review by eternity42

4.0 stars 6/29/2012 by eternity42
by eternity42

The Dermmatch thin hair concealer does what its supposed to do, make your thinning hair areas seem fuller of hair. It's wonderful if you have a special night of pictures, or events like your high school reunion or wedding day. However, the product does stretch out the truth in some forms. Don't be going into a pool or Jacuzzi thinking it will stay on. You will look like a clown that has paint coming down his face. Its best to use this product if you don't plan on sweating or being around water. If your on a date and expect your partner to run her/his fingers through your hair, then i would advice to go natural. Might just be the deal breaker. I even tried hair drying the concealer after putting it on. This helped a bit but not to the point of it not coming off when in contact with water. So to recap, i love this product. It does well with giving you the impression of a full hair and booster your confidence and happiness. Just use it wisely and keep your head away from water. Hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eternity42
The great United States of America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Now ordering for my hair stylist to evaluate
12/17/2010

Customer review by medtechgirl

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by medtechgirl
by medtechgirl

I ordered this product 5 months ago when I decided to change my hair style for a very special occasion. I wanted to have bangs again but I was very nervous because I knew that whenever I had bangs, the hair on the top of my head looked thinner and my scalp showed. I color my hair med brown but the color doesn't last long on my scalp. I took a chance on this product and have been using it ever since. I wash my hair, blow it dry, apply dermmatch where my white scalp really shows and then lightly blow my scalp dry with the hair dryer. Then I apply a little extra each day when I am getting ready to go out (only if needed) before my next hair wash. I LOVE this product! After 5 months of use I don't think I have even used 1/4 of it. It might even last me over 2 years. Wow was it worth the money! PS. After demonstrating the product to my hair stylist, she asked me if I could order the dark brown for her own personal use. She has tried other products and now wants to try this one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
medtechgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely Worth Trying!!!
5/12/2011

Customer review by bingmom

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by bingmom
by bingmom

I LOVE this product and am so glad that I found it! I have always had fine, thinner hair, but over the last few years the hair at the top of my head has thinned out even more and is very embarrassing (especially since I'm only 31!) This product is so easy to use, and covers my scalp very well. The instructions say to coat the roots of your hair as well for extra fullness, but I found that doing so did cause my hair to look a little dull in color, so now I use a rat tail comb to go section by section and only apply the product to my scalp with the sponge applicator. I've messed around with several of the color options, and was excited to color my hair reddish again and still be able to cover my scalp. However, the red was a bit bright and didn't blend in with the hair color I had used, so I had to blend it with the medium brown. But all in all, GREAT PRODUCT!! I have used it for well over a year and will continue to use it for years to come!

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bingmom
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Concealer for Hair Loss!
11/4/2011

Customer review by Firehawkhorse

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Firehawkhorse
by Firehawkhorse

I like this product much better than the 'shake on' type of hair loss coverage products. Don't get me wrong, the shake-on goes on faster, but is so costly! It takes a little longer to apply Dermatch, but it doesn't move or flake off. It's so much cheaper, too, lasting about 6 months or more, whereas the shake-on is very expensive and disappears fast. You're terrified of spilling the precious small amount you get with Fusion or Toppix. AND the applicator I bought for the Fusion constantly got clogged up. It was a major pain...Thus Dermatch became my new solution. It's great with mild to moderate thinning before having to move on to a wiglet or wig--- or a toupee. Just plan on an extra 5 or 10 minutes to apply. I put it on dry with dry hair because I don't like the 'feel' of the wet application. But Try both applications and then you decide.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firehawkhorse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great product if you apply it differently
3/21/2011

Customer review by HappyMommy76

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by HappyMommy76
by HappyMommy76

This product has changed my life. I am a woman who has had thinning hair since my mid-20's, and I really just thought I was going to have to live with the stares and comments from strangers for the rest of my life. I discovered DermMatch, and it has honestly given me so, so, so much confidence back. However, I do not apply it the way the instructions suggest. I didn't not like the look, feel, messiness, or dullness of my hair caused by the suggested 'wet application'. If you get a good powder puff from Walmart (the kind you get in a make-up compact with the tight weave - not the big, fluffy kind. I think it was only about $1.50 for a pack of 4), you can actually do a dry application on your hair that looks and feels GREAT with no dullness, no color transfer onto your pillows or clothes, and no heavy feel on your hair. Wash and towel-dry your hair, and pat the dry powder along your scalp through parted sections of your hair. Then brush it through, dry and style as normal. I love it!!!! This is the way it works for me - so much more natural looking, cleaner, and faster to apply. It also makes your DermMatch last longer - I have been using the same container for almost 9 months and still have a good 2 months' worth left. I will say, though, that the color of the medium-brown looks a bit more auburn - it does run a little red. I will be purchasing the dark brown next time.

Was this review helpful? (123) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyMommy76
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Incredibly Grateful
3/5/2009

Customer review by GratefulforDermmatch

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by GratefulforDermmatch
by GratefulforDermmatch

WOW!! I love this product! This has been literally heaven sent. I'm a 44yr. old woman with thinning hair and this product has literally changed my life. My self-confidence has increased. I'm no longer trying to hide my head from the sun and will now sit in front of the windows with the light shining through. I don't see people staring at my head anymore. It makes my hair feel and look thicker, and hides my scalp. This product does not flake off onto my clothes nor does it sweat off when I'm at the gym. It's on until I shampoo it off! DermMatch, you are literally an answer to my prayers. I also recommended your product to my friend. She loves it, too! Thank you so much. Your product has changed my life!

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GratefulforDermmatch
Cobleskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Life changing
7/11/2015

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 7/11/2015 by Rick
by Rick

For everyone who suffers from hair loss, we all know how difficult it is to deal with it mentally. This product is a godsend. I have black hair so any thinning is very easily visible. I've used products like Toppik, Courvre, Great Hair Day and similar concealers. This one is the best in terms of laying a foundation before applying other concealers. To apply, I take a non latex based make up wedge and moisten it and apply it on all areas of my scalp. I then blow dry my hair, style it and then use products like Great Hair Day and Toppik like concealers to do the finishing touch. Hopefully it'll buy me another 3-5 years before my hair loss becomes too prominent to hide.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dark brown - no red and no mess
10/11/2015

Customer review by Hoppity

5.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Hoppity
by Hoppity

This is the 2nd time I've bought this scalp concealer, it's easy to apply with one of the 3 sponge applicators provided. The product doesn't come off when I blow-dry my hair and lasts until I shampoo it off. Much better than the loose powders that form little globs after a few hours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hoppity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this product!
8/2/2011

Customer review by 3tToad

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by 3tToad
by 3tToad

I just spent the last week going to the beach, swimming in the ocean and my shiny scalp didn't blind anyone! I ended up buying the light, medium and dark brown color ... The dark brown is what ended up working for me. I highlight my hair a lot so I sure didn't think that would be the color for me, I would have considered my natural color to be more of a medium brown. Regardless, I would recommend this to any woman with female pattern baldness.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3tToad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Color Not Identified Correctly
2/2/2011

Customer review by Honeycombe

2.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Honeycombe
by Honeycombe

I bought this "medium brown" to use. I've never used this type of product, so didn't know what to expect. To my surprise it was easy to apply, and it stayed pretty well. I had let my roots go a little too long, and since I dye my hair medium brown, I thought this might help stretch my coloring. It seemed to do the trick, unless you looked closely. Because this color is not really medium brown. It's a reddish light-medium brown. Definitely reddish. You might even call it auburn. And it was a tad too light, although my hair is definitely medium, not dark, brown. So I didn't recommend this product, but that was because I don't think you should get it, if you need medium brown. Because this is NOT medium brown. This seems to be a good product, though, in other respects. I'm going to try the dark brown, and see how that goes. I also think it's a little pricey, for what it is (all these sorts of things seem to be pricey) (I mean, it's basically thick eye shadow that sticks, right?). But for the price, at least you DO get a lot, that I would think would last for a long while. I'll try the darker color & rate that. Other than the color, I think this would work for what I wanted it for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honeycombe
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
So disappointed!
1/31/2011

Customer review by beachadwriter

1.0 stars 1/31/2011 by beachadwriter
by beachadwriter

Having just suffered thru some major hairloss due to radiation from cancer and subsequant damage to my thyroid, I was eager to find a hair filler product that would cover my loss until my hair came back. I had tried another product, a fiber-type power, and loved the results. However, I read some positive reviews about this product and thought I'd give it a try as well. Couldn't have been more disappointed. It's a sponge on color for the scalp...it doesn't boost your existing hair, only covers the white of your scalp with its odd color. This product can not be applied properly without someone's help. I attempted to use it myself twice, only to find huge white spots I missed on the back of my head. I ultimately returned the product. Sorry, this did not work as promised.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachadwriter
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for covering gray hair between salon visits
9/7/2013

Customer review by debbiedarline

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by debbiedarline
by debbiedarline

I don't have thin hair, but at 55 years old I use hair color to cover grays. I color my hair at home with salon quality products, but I get discouraged at how quickly I can see the gray coming back near the hairline around my face and where I part my hair on top. This product is GREAT for a quick cover of both the hairline and my part! It works very much like an eyeshadow pallet, but it is packed into the container and compressed so much that it acts more like a pallet of brown paint. The applicator is very much like an oversized version of the sponge tipped ones that come with eyeshadow. In 5 minutes (tops) I can easily wet the applicator with a few drops of water and then swirl it across the top of the brown concealer. It is also great because you can apply it so exactly to the gray hair right next to your face - which you can't do with hair color sprays. It is also nicer for me to use than the mascara-like gray cover wands because it covers like paint and is not thick and gooey. Don't worry about the price - this looks like it will easily last at least a full year! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debbiedarline
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does exactly what it says!
3/22/2013

Customer review by Neverhurtstotry

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Neverhurtstotry
by Neverhurtstotry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found this product easy to use. The product covers my thinning scalp perfectly and makes the hair seem a little thicker. I haven't tried it swimming yet, but I have a feeling it will stay on very well. Washes out easily and does not stain my pillow. Next best thing to a hair transplant! I used the Medium Brown and my hair is a light brown but it is a perfect color for me. I would recommend this product to anyone. And although the price seemed a little high, it looks as if it will last me almost a year. You need very little to do the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neverhurtstotry
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great, but DOES come off without shampoo
8/18/2011

Customer review by Matilldanna

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Matilldanna
by Matilldanna

It works great to hide thin spots, but you need to sleep with a towel or something to protect your pillowcase from a noticeable dark stain in a couple of days. It also claims to only come off with shampoo--it comes off if it gets wet...at least in the shower--I haven't tried it in a pool yet. I'm not sure I ever will. Other than these downfalls, it is a great product for what it's worth. If you can put up with the above few things, "try it...you'll like it!".

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matilldanna
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
restored my self confidence!!
1/21/2010

Customer review by Margarita

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by Margarita
by Margarita

this product works wonders!! my thinning hair is no longer a source of embarrassment...my scalp is completely covered and it even makes my hair fuller and thicker without any additional styling products.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Margarita
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Huge confidence booster.
6/14/2015

Customer review by loni

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by loni
by loni

I wish I would have known this existed years ago. It works just as it says. I have not gone swimming with it, but it has held up in the rain. I can wear my hair in different styles now and I am not worried about anyone staring at my scalp. I wear my hair natural. I was unable to just wash and go because of the hair loss. With this product now I can. I use this product both damp and dry. I find using it dry works best for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dermmatch med brown
5/31/2010

Customer review by FNP4ever

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by FNP4ever
by FNP4ever

This is an excellent product. It uses water for application and my hair was so flat I wasn't sure I liked it. Then I began blow drying my hair after application and dried it thoroughly. IT LOOKS GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FNP4ever
Salisbury MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Recommended to me by a hair transplant doctor
8/20/2014

Customer review by Honestyworks

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Honestyworks
by Honestyworks

Several years ago, a local, highly respected and highly credentialed hair transplant physician recommended this powder -- rather than advising me to proceed with a hair transplant at that point. I've used it ever since and have never had a hair transplant. I apply it dry; perhaps that is partially why it does come off in the shower. I don't know. I do know that I wouldn't be without it, and I carry the product in my purse. It lasts a very long time, so the product is actually inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honestyworks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews