Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 62 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Great for kids
8/21/2009

Customer review by littlewolf

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by littlewolf
by littlewolf

I bought this product so I could hear if my kids tried to sneak outside in the middle of the night, or go out when they weren't supposed to. It has done more than that. You can either set it for chime which has a welcome to Loaf n Jug feel or set the alarm that all the neighbors can hear. The alarm is VERY loud, the chime is nice. You can use the window alarms for doors too. It is very easy to set up and this is the best value I have found that actually has a key pad so someone can't just turn it off without knowing the code. You set your own code and can change it if you think the kids have figured it out. The ease of use, cost and easy set up make this a great safety product. Windows or doors, it works!

Was this review helpful? (167) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlewolf
Peublo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must for parents!!
5/12/2009

Customer review by TNSHOP

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by TNSHOP
by TNSHOP

I bought this product because I have a two-year-old escape artist who is capable of unlocking deadbolts and heading for the street. Two days after I attached these to my doors (the window alarms work for doors too) I caught my daughter going out the front door. I was in the kitchen and would not have heard her leaving the house if the door had not chimed. I am so glad I found these!

Was this review helpful? (76) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNSHOP
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pretty good
8/10/2010

Customer review by 1JACKS

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by 1JACKS
by 1JACKS

nice set up and price, easy to use and works great except for one thing, it does not work at all when you attach it to a metal frame door. that should be clearly mark on the outside of package. test it away from metal it works perfect time and time again. i am trying to find a way around the problem now.

Was this review helpful? (61) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1JACKS
brockton ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE Door + 3 window alarm set
11/13/2010

Customer review by Jeremysart

2.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Jeremysart
by Jeremysart

I had to give it two stars, and for one reason alone. The door alarm was not well thought out, and can be a pain to test and set. Also, it seems to not work correctly on METAL doors you will need to add an extra layer between the alarm and the door if it is metal.. Figure they would have put that on the package. Make sure the arrows are perfectly aligned, and that the two peices are close together. Also, dont count on this as you one and only. Get a real alarm, this should only compliment a real alarm system. Great for kids.. The window alarms on the other hand are great. I use these ones with a slide mechanism, and motion/vibration sensing ones. Also, I would like to note, these alarms are DEAFENING. Not just painfully loud, but disorienting. Sounds like I am saying something bad, but no, this is EXACTLY what you want an alarm to do. Deter or disorient.. A burgalar/ your child will also NOT be able to disable or reset the alarm. In order to stop it, you have to enter the code. In order to reset it, you have to unscrew the back. Even if they figure it out, by then, yourself/neighbors will be well alerted, (the whole block will hear this thing) and the burgalar/kid will be deaf or in panic.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeremysart
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/9/2009

Customer review by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER
by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE! I LOVE THESE CONTACTS. I WANTED AN ALARM SYSTEM WITHOUT HAVING A MONTHLY BILL, AND THESE ARE PERFECT. I'M GOING TO GET SOME FOR MY MOMS HOME.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1STTIMECAMERABUYER
CINCINNATI,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK product
3/5/2010

Customer review by Truckstop

3.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Truckstop
by Truckstop

It's good for the money, however if I was more serious about the safety I would definitely purchase a product that I would be more confident with. The door alarm takes approximately 20 seconds before it's activated which allows someone to already enter the premises. The door alarm is somewhat loud, but not loud enough to prevent me from locating the alarm and dismantling it in a few seconds. As far as the window alarms go, I don't think they're loud enough to scare a burglar away or even a dog...it depends on the significants of the safety needed...I would feel more safe with something louder and more difficult to locate and deactivate.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Truckstop
Hudson Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/13/2011

Customer review by blitzkriegdf

2.0 stars 9/13/2011 by blitzkriegdf
by blitzkriegdf

The alarm isn't bad for the price, but the problem is that the window alarms aren't as loud as the door alarm. And the biggest problem is with the door alarm it has two settings in which one is the alarm sounds as soon as door is open which is the home setting which is great for when you're asleep at night. The other setting is the Away setting in which the alarm goes off after 30 seconds which is way too long. I know it needs to give you enough time to enter the code once you come home, but 5-10 seconds is more than enough. In 30 seconds the person would of already taken alarm off and muffled the sound with something.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blitzkriegdf
Would recommend to a friend? No
works on metal doors
6/6/2013

Customer review by cookiebear901

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by cookiebear901
by cookiebear901

i was weary of buying this product due to bad reviews about not working on metal doors i do have metal doors and this works just fine on mine dont know if they were installing incorrectly but this is a great product

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookiebear901
Memphis TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great door/window alarm kit!!!
7/18/2014

Customer review by stac2000

5.0 stars 7/18/2014 by stac2000
by stac2000

I experienced a recent break-in...and I installed new doors w/ deadbolt , surveillance cameras, motion lights. I didn't want to pay monthly monitoring fees with other alarm systems so I decided to get this product.... I read the reviews and I must say that this alarm systems is simple but very effective... the alarms are very loud and I think will scare off any intruder....I wish I had this installed when the thieves broke in my home , I think they would have left for fear of getting caught...this alarm has made me more confident in deterring crooks from breaking into my property.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stac2000
augusta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
A very helpful product!
11/1/2010

Customer review by nycn8tv

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by nycn8tv
by nycn8tv

This is one of the most simple alarm systems to use. Easy to install and does just what I need it to do. Rings a chime (or alarm) when door/window is opened. Allows about 45 second delay when entering to disarm the alarm before it goes off. Great for the price & allowed me a 5% discount on my renters insurance - not to mention the 100% peace-of-mind with the security it provides.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nycn8tv
Lincoln Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE Wireless Alarm Kit - Great Purchase
1/24/2014

Customer review by esprg

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by esprg
by esprg

Recently moving into a new home we did not want to pay for a monthly service fee. AFTER our house was broken into literally 1 week ago from today; we became proactive in getting the things we have been talking about. To have the kids feel a bit more secure I ordered this and picked it up that night. We also got the GE Wireless Alarm Window/Door Sensors as we needed more sensors. Put the alarm to the door that is not visible to the public and sensors on the windows. The sensors go off immediately if the sensor is separated from the sensor bar. The keypad is excellent, at night we set it for home w/alarm and put the code in very easy, in the AM disarm it, switch it to AWAY/Alarm arm it and leave. I believe the book said 30 seconds to close the door and it literally means it. IF anyone were to break into your home and anyone around said they DID NOT hear that alarm A. they are lying or ALL OF THE ABOVE THEY ARE LYING!...lol I do wish it could dial if the there is a disruption and we are getting one of those. BUT this alarm system is really wonderful. If an intruder wants to get in they will, but it does give you security and a peace of mind knowing, if you are home and/or away, surely anyone coming in a window or opening a door uninvited will be noticed. I will say this IF your door frame where you are trying to put the alarm is a bit slanted and not flush like ours you WILL HAVE to almost make the sensor box and/or key pad; and sensor bars touch. The do NOT have to touch but they will need to be VERY close together. We learned that by trial and error, opening the door w/a delay alert, we just moved the box (sensor/keypad closer to the bar and resolved. It cannot be disarmed if you use the mounts and mount it, the back of it also has a screw for the batteries. So if an intruder were to come in prayerfully by the time they un-mount it, and try to break it, SOMEONE would have alerted the police, and HOPEFULLY you will have been on standby to defend what you work for!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
esprg
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good for the price!
6/25/2010

Customer review by Samiam256

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Samiam256
by Samiam256

Bought just for a little extra security and it does just that. The only thing that bothers me is if someone does break in while I am away; and hopefully be scared off by the alarm; that the alarm will just continue to go sound. Someone nearby would need to know the code then. Don't want someone outside my family to have that number even though I could change it later. Maybe I will just invest in a system that will call me if there is a problem.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samiam256
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for an Apartment
7/16/2011

Customer review by IrishSmile

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by IrishSmile
by IrishSmile

I am very impressed with the GE Alarm System. I live in an older apartment complex that doesn't offer a security system, and for the price it does the trick. I haven't used the window alarms, but the one for the door has a LOUD alarm. It brings me some sense of security knowing that if someome comes through the door, I will know it. If you ever move you can take it with you. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrishSmile
Shawnee Mission, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You can't beat the deal.
11/23/2013

Customer review by ElectricBikeNut

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by ElectricBikeNut
by ElectricBikeNut

This is $19.95 on line and $29.95 in the store. One of my window units was not working so I returned it for an exchange. I'm going to tell my brother to order one since he has young kids and a brand new swimming pool, this is the least expensive way to monitor doors and windows.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectricBikeNut
Pueblo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent product for the money
3/11/2012

Customer review by ArkLawman

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by ArkLawman
by ArkLawman

OK, here we go - This alarm kit was very easy to install and does what it is supposed to do. The chime setting for the window alarms is not very loud and may be fine to keep check of small children opening and closing windows. The alarm setting is loud but I doubt any injury would be done to a person's hearing unless you put it close to your ear which is not a smart thing to do. The door alarm chime setting also is not very loud. The alarm setting however, is very loud and will cause attention to anyone in the area that the alarm has been tripped. This is an excellent alarm for an apartment or a small 3 BR house. I would not not recommend it for a large house. Of course if you have a very large house, you probably shouldn't be buying something this cheap anyway. I mean, who would buy a $29 dollar alarm system to protect a $200,000 house? The only problem I had was that one of the window alarms didn't work. A closer inspection showed that the battery was defective. I called customer service for GE to see if they would mail new batteries of provide a replacement alarm with batteries included. Customer Service stated that the batteries are not part of the warrranty and the batteries are only included as a courtesy. I wasn't buying that story so I returned the entire alarm kit to Walmart and got another one - Everything worked - problem solved! After installation, the window alarms as well as the door alarm looked good and did not give the appearance of an inexpensive alarm system. The double sided tape worked well and held everything in place.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArkLawman
West Memphis, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent entry level door alarm
7/28/2014

Customer review by Plattsburghshopper

4.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Plattsburghshopper
by Plattsburghshopper

Was skeptical at first. Followed the directions and installation was a snap. Be warned this thing is loud! Just be sure to read the guides and instructions thoroughly. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase. Feel safe!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plattsburghshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for Parents of Toddlers!
1/15/2012

Customer review by PracticalLady09

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by PracticalLady09
by PracticalLady09

I bought this because I wanted to have a warning system now that my toddler can unlock and open the door. The chime is loud enough I can hear it in the other rooms of my house and I can run to the bathroom or grab something out of another room and not be afraid my toddler is going to leave the house! The alarm is really loud and it gives me the extra bonus of having an alarm on the door for the nights I am feeling paranoid. Its exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PracticalLady09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Security
12/9/2010

Customer review by 99miner

4.0 stars 12/9/2010 by 99miner
by 99miner

pros: inexpensive easy installation most batteries are included door alarm is ear piercing(wish window one were too) cons: do have to purchase 3 AAA batteries window alarms should be louder Overall I'm happy with the product and would recommend IF you're looking for the alarms to get a thief thinking about whether the house is worth risking being caught!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
99miner
North Port, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Price-Good Product
1/25/2011

Customer review by gloriab611

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by gloriab611
by gloriab611

I purchased this for my basement windows and door. They were very easy to install and the alarm mode is loud. The price was great.(I did not want to pay a monthly fee for a security service) Very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gloriab611
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT ALARM FOR THE PRICE!
3/20/2012

Customer review by PAMom69

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by PAMom69
by PAMom69

I was quite pleased with how easy this alarm is to install. We bought it for my 4 year old daughters bedroom. We have placed them on the windows and bedroom door so that we can know if she tries to open her windows or tries to wonder around the house at night. We set the alarm on her door at night and turn it off in the morning but the window alarms are always kept on. Definitely loud enough to hear, we keep it on the alarm sound instead of the doorbell chime which is too low and only sounds once. Overall well worth the peace we have knowing that she is safe in her bedroom while we sleep. A definite must have for parents.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAMom69
Sugarloaf, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews