Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 71 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
GE Door + 3 window alarm set
11/13/2010

Customer review by Jeremysart

2.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Jeremysart
by Jeremysart

I had to give it two stars, and for one reason alone. The door alarm was not well thought out, and can be a pain to test and set. Also, it seems to not work correctly on METAL doors you will need to add an extra layer between the alarm and the door if it is metal.. Figure they would have put that on the package. Make sure the arrows are perfectly aligned, and that the two peices are close together. Also, dont count on this as you one and only. Get a real alarm, this should only compliment a real alarm system. Great for kids.. The window alarms on the other hand are great. I use these ones with a slide mechanism, and motion/vibration sensing ones. Also, I would like to note, these alarms are DEAFENING. Not just painfully loud, but disorienting. Sounds like I am saying something bad, but no, this is EXACTLY what you want an alarm to do. Deter or disorient.. A burgalar/ your child will also NOT be able to disable or reset the alarm. In order to stop it, you have to enter the code. In order to reset it, you have to unscrew the back. Even if they figure it out, by then, yourself/neighbors will be well alerted, (the whole block will hear this thing) and the burgalar/kid will be deaf or in panic.

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeremysart
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for kids
8/21/2009

Customer review by littlewolf

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by littlewolf
by littlewolf

I bought this product so I could hear if my kids tried to sneak outside in the middle of the night, or go out when they weren't supposed to. It has done more than that. You can either set it for chime which has a welcome to Loaf n Jug feel or set the alarm that all the neighbors can hear. The alarm is VERY loud, the chime is nice. You can use the window alarms for doors too. It is very easy to set up and this is the best value I have found that actually has a key pad so someone can't just turn it off without knowing the code. You set your own code and can change it if you think the kids have figured it out. The ease of use, cost and easy set up make this a great safety product. Windows or doors, it works!

Was this review helpful? (241) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlewolf
Peublo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easily defeated, no protection at all!!
5/18/2016

Customer review by artmom

1.0 stars 5/18/2016 by artmom
by artmom

I became aware in my first trial that the entrant can open the door then within the 45 seconds allowed for entering the code, switch the keypad unit to "chime"! Since the door is still open there is NO result at all. not even the chime sound! NO security at all. I am amazed that this product can so easily be defeated!! It will not protect anything. I performed this procedure several times after setting "alarm" If then the door is closed and subsequently opened, the unit will chime-that's it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome security
7/22/2016

Customer review by Princess

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Princess
by Princess
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really good security for my daughters room without the price of a home security service.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Princess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The system is so easy to operate and really works.
7/21/2016

Customer review by LoveTSpend

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by LoveTSpend
by LoveTSpend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to install and operate. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveTSpend
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pretty good
8/10/2010

Customer review by 1JACKS

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by 1JACKS
by 1JACKS

nice set up and price, easy to use and works great except for one thing, it does not work at all when you attach it to a metal frame door. that should be clearly mark on the outside of package. test it away from metal it works perfect time and time again. i am trying to find a way around the problem now.

Was this review helpful? (92) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1JACKS
brockton ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must for parents!!
5/12/2009

Customer review by TNSHOP

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by TNSHOP
by TNSHOP

I bought this product because I have a two-year-old escape artist who is capable of unlocking deadbolts and heading for the street. Two days after I attached these to my doors (the window alarms work for doors too) I caught my daughter going out the front door. I was in the kitchen and would not have heard her leaving the house if the door had not chimed. I am so glad I found these!

Was this review helpful? (117) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNSHOP
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great door/window alarm kit!!!
7/18/2014

Customer review by stac2000

5.0 stars 7/18/2014 by stac2000
by stac2000

I experienced a recent break-in...and I installed new doors w/ deadbolt , surveillance cameras, motion lights. I didn't want to pay monthly monitoring fees with other alarm systems so I decided to get this product.... I read the reviews and I must say that this alarm systems is simple but very effective... the alarms are very loud and I think will scare off any intruder....I wish I had this installed when the thieves broke in my home , I think they would have left for fear of getting caught...this alarm has made me more confident in deterring crooks from breaking into my property.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stac2000
augusta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
works on metal doors
6/6/2013

Customer review by cookiebear901

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by cookiebear901
by cookiebear901

i was weary of buying this product due to bad reviews about not working on metal doors i do have metal doors and this works just fine on mine dont know if they were installing incorrectly but this is a great product

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookiebear901
Memphis TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/13/2011

Customer review by blitzkriegdf

2.0 stars 9/13/2011 by blitzkriegdf
by blitzkriegdf

The alarm isn't bad for the price, but the problem is that the window alarms aren't as loud as the door alarm. And the biggest problem is with the door alarm it has two settings in which one is the alarm sounds as soon as door is open which is the home setting which is great for when you're asleep at night. The other setting is the Away setting in which the alarm goes off after 30 seconds which is way too long. I know it needs to give you enough time to enter the code once you come home, but 5-10 seconds is more than enough. In 30 seconds the person would of already taken alarm off and muffled the sound with something.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blitzkriegdf
Would recommend to a friend? No
You can't beat the deal.
11/23/2013

Customer review by ElectricBikeNut

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by ElectricBikeNut
by ElectricBikeNut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is $19.95 on line and $29.95 in the store. One of my window units was not working so I returned it for an exchange. I'm going to tell my brother to order one since he has young kids and a brand new swimming pool, this is the least expensive way to monitor doors and windows.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectricBikeNut
Pueblo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very helpful product!
11/1/2010

Customer review by nycn8tv

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by nycn8tv
by nycn8tv

This is one of the most simple alarm systems to use. Easy to install and does just what I need it to do. Rings a chime (or alarm) when door/window is opened. Allows about 45 second delay when entering to disarm the alarm before it goes off. Great for the price & allowed me a 5% discount on my renters insurance - not to mention the 100% peace-of-mind with the security it provides.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nycn8tv
Lincoln Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/9/2009

Customer review by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER
by 1STTIMECAMERABUYER

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE! I LOVE THESE CONTACTS. I WANTED AN ALARM SYSTEM WITHOUT HAVING A MONTHLY BILL, AND THESE ARE PERFECT. I'M GOING TO GET SOME FOR MY MOMS HOME.

Was this review helpful? (69) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1STTIMECAMERABUYER
CINCINNATI,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awful
7/30/2014

Customer review by Unprotected

1.0 stars 7/30/2014 by Unprotected
by Unprotected
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product did not work on our metal doors, even after putting something between the door and alarm. I was upset to find out that the keypad only controlled one door and that it had no link to the other window/door alarms. It was suggested that this would be good for kids/teenagers, but how when they can just switch the alarms to the off position without any alarm or warning? After spending an hour trying to find out why the alarm with the keypad wouldn't work, reading comments & trying to put different things between the alarm and the door and it then only working 1/3 of the time on both modes.....we took everything off and returned to the store the following day. I would not suggest this product if it is intended to use for children getting out of the house or if you have metal doors or metal around your windows. The alarms are very loud, which is a good thing, but be careful when you are testing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unprotected
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK product
3/5/2010

Customer review by Truckstop

3.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Truckstop
by Truckstop

It's good for the money, however if I was more serious about the safety I would definitely purchase a product that I would be more confident with. The door alarm takes approximately 20 seconds before it's activated which allows someone to already enter the premises. The door alarm is somewhat loud, but not loud enough to prevent me from locating the alarm and dismantling it in a few seconds. As far as the window alarms go, I don't think they're loud enough to scare a burglar away or even a dog...it depends on the significants of the safety needed...I would feel more safe with something louder and more difficult to locate and deactivate.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truckstop
Hudson Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent product for the money
3/11/2012

Customer review by ArkLawman

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by ArkLawman
by ArkLawman

OK, here we go - This alarm kit was very easy to install and does what it is supposed to do. The chime setting for the window alarms is not very loud and may be fine to keep check of small children opening and closing windows. The alarm setting is loud but I doubt any injury would be done to a person's hearing unless you put it close to your ear which is not a smart thing to do. The door alarm chime setting also is not very loud. The alarm setting however, is very loud and will cause attention to anyone in the area that the alarm has been tripped. This is an excellent alarm for an apartment or a small 3 BR house. I would not not recommend it for a large house. Of course if you have a very large house, you probably shouldn't be buying something this cheap anyway. I mean, who would buy a $29 dollar alarm system to protect a $200,000 house? The only problem I had was that one of the window alarms didn't work. A closer inspection showed that the battery was defective. I called customer service for GE to see if they would mail new batteries of provide a replacement alarm with batteries included. Customer Service stated that the batteries are not part of the warrranty and the batteries are only included as a courtesy. I wasn't buying that story so I returned the entire alarm kit to Walmart and got another one - Everything worked - problem solved! After installation, the window alarms as well as the door alarm looked good and did not give the appearance of an inexpensive alarm system. The double sided tape worked well and held everything in place.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArkLawman
West Memphis, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT ALARM FOR THE PRICE!
3/20/2012

Customer review by PAMom69

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by PAMom69
by PAMom69

I was quite pleased with how easy this alarm is to install. We bought it for my 4 year old daughters bedroom. We have placed them on the windows and bedroom door so that we can know if she tries to open her windows or tries to wonder around the house at night. We set the alarm on her door at night and turn it off in the morning but the window alarms are always kept on. Definitely loud enough to hear, we keep it on the alarm sound instead of the doorbell chime which is too low and only sounds once. Overall well worth the peace we have knowing that she is safe in her bedroom while we sleep. A definite must have for parents.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAMom69
Sugarloaf, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Parents of Toddlers!
1/15/2012

Customer review by PracticalLady09

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by PracticalLady09
by PracticalLady09

I bought this because I wanted to have a warning system now that my toddler can unlock and open the door. The chime is loud enough I can hear it in the other rooms of my house and I can run to the bathroom or grab something out of another room and not be afraid my toddler is going to leave the house! The alarm is really loud and it gives me the extra bonus of having an alarm on the door for the nights I am feeling paranoid. Its exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PracticalLady09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent entry level door alarm
7/28/2014

Customer review by Plattsburghshopper

4.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Plattsburghshopper
by Plattsburghshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was skeptical at first. Followed the directions and installation was a snap. Be warned this thing is loud! Just be sure to read the guides and instructions thoroughly. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase. Feel safe!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Plattsburghshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great highly recommended
4/24/2016

Customer review by tim

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by tim
by tim

It worked great and worth every penny

tim
nairobi kenya
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews