Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 834 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

834 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

834 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
426
4 stars
222
3 stars
80
2 stars
51
1 stars
55
1-20 of 805 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 805 total reviews
1-20 of 805 reviews
Excellent Value
6/17/2012

Customer review by Xntric

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Xntric
by Xntric

I have been using electric razors for about 60 years, so know whereof I speak. I must agree with other reviews that I have read. I would have rated this excellent, except that there is no battery meter. I don't think this would have cost any significant amount to include, and would be great for paranoid geeks like me. Otherwise, battery is long-lasting, shaves are reasonably close and painless, and it is amazingly easy to clean. I haven't had to disassemble the heads once, nor even use the brushes. The bits of beard are so small that they are easily blown out. I do recommend, from experience with other razors, the occasional use of a light oil ... keeps water off the blades, thereby reducing dullness due to oxidation. Of course, then whiskers will stick to blades, necessitating cleaning. Take your choice. Because of long battery life and quick recharge, great for traveling. Plug in in for an hour or two, and you're good for a trip of 2 or 3 weeks at least. Definitely recommend at this price.

Xntric
Olympia, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
GREAT RAZOR
11/28/2016

Customer review by NBSEMAN

5.0 stars 11/28/2016 by NBSEMAN
by NBSEMAN

DOES NICE JOB,EASY TO USE,WON'T LET U DONE,GREAT SHAVE

NBSEMAN
Vienna Center, OH 44473, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Close shave. Nice ergonomics.
10/9/2011

Customer review by NorelcoBB

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by NorelcoBB
by NorelcoBB

Have used Norelco products for years now and have always counted on them for a close shave. This model continues the tradition and gives good results. Of course, nothing is perfect, and one of my biggest challenges has been performance in hard to get areas or where the beard/whiskers are not positioned optimally. So, there are still a few whiskers that will get missed, despite your best efforts to get them. Also, since the new blade design (HQ9), I notice that the blades tend to heat up more quickly (probably because of the added blades & metal-to-metal contact), and therefore becomes an irritant to the skin and degrades performance of the shaver. So, try to get as much done quickly when first turned on, or turn off and let it cool for awhile. Still, for the most part, it gives a great shave and is low maintenance.

NorelcoBB
San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
The best bang for your buck!!!
10/9/2011

Customer review by dbrdoc43

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by dbrdoc43
by dbrdoc43

When I decided to make the switch from a blade razor shave to an elecric, not an easy decision for something I had been doing for about 40 years, I began to compare brands, features and pricing. The electric razor market is like buying tires for your car and full of things to compare and contrast. With the help of the testing of Consumer Reports and my own leg work I found that my choice of the Norelco 8250 XL to be the best for me. The design of the shaver and close shaving capabilities give me a great shave every time I use it. It is easy to clean and holds a charge for a long time. I have charged the shaver only a couple of times since I bought it. Overall it is great shaver and is a great bargain for anyone who is looking for a good batery operated electric razor. It is a great "best bang for your buck" product!

dbrdoc43
Madison, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top Of the Norelco Lines - the 8270XLCC
11/21/2012

Customer review by FrostyMorning

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by FrostyMorning
by FrostyMorning

There isn't a lot to say about this great shaver that hasn't already been said. It's fast, quiet, smooth, has the features I like most. It is comfortable in the hand and easy to manipulate around the face. It gives a very clean shave in almost half the time as my old 7886 model. If you are just getting started with electric shaving Norelco is spot on about giving it a few weeks to condition your beard. I remember 50 years ago when I first began trying to use an electric razor. I couldn't get a close shave with it. I kept giving up on electrics and going back to the safety razors. This won't work well as I found out the more one shaves with a Norelco the closer the shave will get. For the past 20 years my shaves are as close as any razor could give. Now, this new 8270XL is the Rolls Royce of electric shaving.

FrostyMorning
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good product. Would buy again
6/18/2012

Customer review by ding

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by ding
by ding

This is my 3rd Philips Norelco shaver. Good shaver and the other two lasted several years with no problems. My ony complaint and it's minor, is that on this shaver the price seemed comparable to the others I bought with less features. One, the small clock is gone. This was a nice feature because who keeps a clock in the bathroom? It was small and inconspicuous and a nice feature to have if your running late and need to know the time. Should of left it the way it was. Ding One. The second is the missing feature showing how much running time is left. Again a nice feature if you're going out of town and want to know if you need to bring the charger with you. Ding Two. The third is not being able to leave the shaver in the stand while charging. Now you must lay it on the counter while charging. Ding Three.

ding
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good razor but short battery life
10/9/2011

Customer review by Monchito7

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Monchito7
by Monchito7

As an electric razor, the 8240XL was recommended by online rating services. It provides a close shave. Cleaning is easy. I like the fact that unlike some models, you don't need to use expensive cleaning solutiions and use a seperate cleaning device once a month. Instructions simply say that you take the razor compartment off the razor once a month and let each of the three razors soak in a bit of alcohol for about 15 minutes. Then, rinse under water and you're ready. Like all machines, just rinse daily under hot water when you're done using. Now the bad part. It comes witha 2-year warranty. It says under normal conditions, the battery should last that long. It doesn't... This is my third razor in about 30 months. The batteries only last about 10 days of normal use. I don't overcharge per instructions, just one hour and then I unplug. Oh and another thing. The charge is supposed to hold for about 10-15 days, it doesn't. Try about 7 days. Other than this, it gives a great close shave. Too bad Philips Norelco hasn't corrected and improved the battery. Maybe they should get a better battery design. If you're willing to put up with this one bad point, I recommend the razor.

Monchito7
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Product - needs a low battery warning
6/24/2012

Customer review by Dave99

4.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Dave99
by Dave99

I really like this shaver. I have had a number of razors from Phillips and have no real complaints on any. This one really holds a charge, is quiet and shaves close without irritation. The ability to rinse the head under water is also a big plus. The only issue that I have is with the design. Many of my previous shavers had a low battery warning. I thought this one did as well. Unfortunately, there is no low battery light at all. Apparently, this is a model/price differentiator. The only way to tell the battery is low is there is a slight change in pitch as the battery runs down then the shaver abruptly stops. This comes as a surprise as the shaver lasts at least 4 or 5 weeks for me (great battery life!). If I had it to do over again, I would probably buy the model with battery indicator.

Dave99
Washginton, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent razor and VERY easy to clean
6/20/2012

Customer review by Larry37

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Larry37
by Larry37

Having used Norelco razors prior to this one, I was familiar with their quality. This particular razor shaves cleanly, smoothly, and well. One of its stongest features is the ability to clean it by simply placing the head AND the clippings "well" or chamber under running water. It makes cleaning a breeze! I would readily have given this razor a 5-star rating, but for one thing. While the small zipper case that holds the razor is compact and fits the razor well, there is no place to put the re-charging unit and cleaning brush that come with the razor. Thus, one is forced to improvise some sort of a carrying case for these components when traveling. The razor would be a 5-star product, in my book, if it came with a case large enough to hold the razor + the charging, cleaning components.

Larry37
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Head falls apart into sink drains
10/9/2011

Customer review by PartsFisher

2.0 stars 10/9/2011 by PartsFisher
by PartsFisher

I have the 8140XL, and wish you'd asked my opinion of it shortly after I bought it...and my opinion hasn't changed: It does everything it's supposed to well. My only complaint is a killer: Frequently, when I open the head to clean the razor, the WHOLE assembly falls apart: blade wheels, screens, and retainer -all 7 small parts - fall out in seperate pieces, and I've had to painfully fish them one by one out of the sink drain. It takes a long time, especially when I'm in a hurry. I live in fear that when I'm on the road I'll lose one part and make the whole razor useless. I would NOT buy this razor design again. I have used Norelco electric razors exclusively for 40 years, but since I can't see the head design on the web or in a package, I'm hesitant to even consider another Norelco.

PartsFisher
Ironton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Quick, Durable, Very Long Lasting Battery
6/18/2012

Customer review by tinez559

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by tinez559
by tinez559

I have had this product for over a year now. I am in the Active duty U.S. Army, and serve as an Infantryman(11B). This type of work we hold ourselves above everyone else in professionalism. Which covers Discipline and Professionalism. We have to come to work not only looking our very best everyday but clean shaven 24/7! No matter if you are on duty or not we have a standard to uphold and which we are proud of, and with the help of my Philips Norelco 8200 series Electric razor 8240XL Rechargeable. I makes it very easy to do so and saves my face from a razor which I would of have to shave twice a day, 7 days a week. My face would ache with pain. But since I have had my Phillips electric shaver it meets and surpasses the standards of keeping my face clean shaven and my skin on my face more healthier than ever!! I Thank the workers that came up and made this product personally , it has changed the way I look feel and can depend on. And also i shouldn't forget my Wife who bought me this product and loves it no that im always clean shaven and my skin looks healthier and better then it was before. If there was a scale of 1-10 I give this product a 15!!! It does exactly what it says on the box and more!!

tinez559
Junction City, KS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A pleasure to use
10/9/2011

Customer review by rideswithscissors

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by rideswithscissors
by rideswithscissors

This razor holds a charge nicely, and I love being able to rinse it under the tap. The trimmer works very well, allowing me to trim with precision around my lips and nostrils, and I can shape my mustache and beard with ease. It is comfortable in my hand (I have large hands) and the pivoting head follows the contours of my face nicely. I also like the fitted zippered case it comes with, although it would be nice if the case had an internal pocket for the included cleaning brush, yet after many thousands of miles of travel I have yet to lose the brush. It does not shave as closely as triple-bladed wet razor, but is very adequate. I even used it to shave my beard and mustache completely off, first using the trimmer and then the head, no problem.

rideswithscissors
Rocky Mountains, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Razor is excellent, the charger is not.
6/17/2012

Customer review by TonyP

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by TonyP
by TonyP

Razor is excellent. Gives close shaves. I like the ability to clean the razor with water. This is a great improvement over previous shavers. I have been using Norelco razors for many years. This is first time that the charger is outside of the razor. The charger is very poorly and cheaply designed. The cord is very cheap and gets tangled easily. The back to the charger fell off. I had to tape it back on. There needs to be a redesign of the charger with a higher grade cord as in previous Norelco razors. If you have to have to charger outside the razor, then make it out of more durable material. One other thing, the case supplied with the razor is too small to accommodate both the razor and the charger. The case should be bigger.

TonyP
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Aftrer 56 yrs of use Philips Norelco Razors are the best.
6/17/2012

Customer review by MauiJack

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by MauiJack
by MauiJack

I have used variable Philips razors for over 56 years all over the world with no problems other than battery storage. On a trip to Maui, HI. I experienced a failure of the razor head so I purchased a lower cost Philips razor than my 8171XL which I have used for a number of years. I purchased a 8240 XL with fewer functions to use while ordering a Head replacement. I have been using the new razor for three plus months and find it excellent. The head has been replaced for my older unit so I am not using the 8240 XL for the last few days. If I had realized how good the 8240 XL was I probably would not have replaced the Head. As it is now I use the 8171 XL at home and the 8240 XL on trips taken since it is lighter and excellent,.

MauiJack
Alpine, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I'm OK with the Philips Razor, but I was expecting more!
6/17/2012

Customer review by sabatino

3.0 stars 6/17/2012 by sabatino
by sabatino

I had a Norelco shaver for years ,until it really was to old to do a good job! My wife bought me a Philips Shave! It did a wonderful job ,the 1st 6 months that I used it! After that period of time, i found that it was doing a so-so job, especially under my chin ,on either side of my neck! My hairs started growing in white, which made it difficult to see good results! I have been starting to use skin brace, as I get a better shave! I'm sorry , but the performance is not as I would like it to be! In this short period of time, I am disappointed! I brush the hairs out , each time I shave! I shake it out, and very few times, I've washed it under the faucet, as I was told to do! I am not a happy shave, I must say!

sabatino
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good shave; poor battery life
10/9/2011

Customer review by Ed88

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Ed88
by Ed88

This is my 2nd Speed XL. The first lasted 5 years until the plastic head supports loosened to the point that it would pinch/catch the skin. I replaced it with a new Speed XL. Shaving quality is similar to my original--good for an electric razor. Unfortunately, the battery life has never been as good as the original. The original would hold a charge for nearly 2 weeks' worth of shaving. The new one would only go about 10 days when new, 1 week at about the 1 year point, and now at 1.7 years it does not hold a charge and must be used with the cord. (In fact, my original XL still had a better charge > 18 months after its last use when the new XL, freshly charged, only gave me a minute or so before dying.

Ed88
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Life long user
6/21/2012

Customer review by RayJay

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by RayJay
by RayJay

I have used a Norelco tripleheader shaver since I was 18 years old. I am now 64. I first began using it while I was serving in the army in Vietnam Norelco has never let me down I am on my 5th or 6th shaver. They were all still working when I upgraded to a newer model The latest one I purchesed would not charge so I called Norelco customer service and received a brand new one within two days. It was actually an upgrade from the one I purchased and is working perfectly. Great product backed up with excellent customer service. I would never dream of buying any other brand of shaver. Norelco has my highest recommendation for a clean close shave and long lasting performance. Ray

RayJay
Johnstown, PA USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not knowing when the battery will run out is a bit discouraging. My previous Norelco razor had LEDs which gave you battery status.
8/28/2012

Customer review by trucktrainer

4.0 stars 8/28/2012 by trucktrainer
by trucktrainer

Norelco has very good products and this is a very nice razor. They have included an extra razor head which is very accomodating. I have used Norelco razors for the last 35 years. They have all performed well and given lots of years of service. The latest one is nice, but does not have anyway to tell how many shaves are left or indicate the battery condition until it just quits in the middle of shaving - quite disappointing from a company who has produced a quality product for many years. Taking this feature out of the product probably saved the manufacturer $.20 per unit, but left many customers disappointed. Overall, good product that is reliable.

trucktrainer
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent but two or three changes could make it perfect
6/17/2012

Customer review by Greg98027

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Greg98027
by Greg98027

Simple to use and does a great job. However, Norelco has never made it easy to replace dead batteries. NiCad and Lithium ion batteries do fail. Norelco solders their basically AA rechargable batteries inside so the owner can't just change them out using off the shelf rechargable AA batteries. The second change REALLY needed is that Norelco allows for washing the head (Good Idea) but failed to make the top of the body waterproof or even water resistant. Why wash only 1/2 of the cutting holding area and leave the other half to difficult brushing and inadequate cleaning. Last, why not offer a UV disinfection unit for the WHOLE head? Thanks.

Greg98027
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Take care of it - it takes care of your face
6/19/2012

Customer review by MossToe

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by MossToe
by MossToe

I bought this 8200 new in package from a contest winner. Reason: my 8140's charger was damaged by accident. So now I have a good charger, an 8140 and a new 82xx. In the past, I replaced blades about once a year. During those times, I wasn't frequently cleaning/lubing the head assembly. Better results have come over the last three years: Follow the product guide: 1. pre-wash your face, 2. use a good alcohol to keep whiskers soft, 3. rinse clean with boiling water on alternate days + lube with Razor Saver aerosol. Result: 3-year old 8140 with original blades still gives a great shave. Product [ including trimmer ] works fine for me

MossToe
seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 805 total reviews
1-20 of 805 reviews