Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 832 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

832 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

832 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
425
4 stars
222
3 stars
80
2 stars
51
1 stars
54
1-20 of 803 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 803 total reviews
1-20 of 803 reviews
11/15/2011

Customer review by razorlip

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by razorlip
by razorlip

Owned and used this product for about a month, works great. The motor doesn't seem to be as loud as one that I previously owned; which by the sound was a little deceiving because, it didn't seem as powerful and moving fast enough to cut the beard. But it works great. Just kept shaving with it every day like the catalog recommends to get my beard accustomed to this new instrument. Sure beats a razor and cream. What I don't understand is, if they can make a product that grows hair by applying it to the scalp why can't they make a liquid hair removal gentle enough to be used on the face and neck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
razorlip
Cincinnati Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic
12/4/2010

Customer review by Glen77070

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Glen77070
by Glen77070

I am 75 years old. I have never used a Razor other than the electric Norelco. Thru the years I have owned a few differant models. This is the best and fastest shaving one that I have ever owned. It gives the smothest and most complete shave ever. Obviously, I highly recommended it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glen77070
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great shave, but pricey
2/23/2010

Customer review by kmburdette

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by kmburdette
by kmburdette

This is my 3rd Norelco rotary razor over the past 15 years or so. In the past I've stayed in the under $50 range because I couldn't really afford more. But, I shave EVERY day so I thought it was worth it to try a more expensive and hopefully better razor. This is a great shave. Closer than my old 6xxx series, even when new. When I started searching, I wanted to get the Norelco 7340 for $39 (around Christmas-time), but I missed that special price, and kept waiting for it to come around again, but it hasn't. If you're willing to spend the $100, I highly recommend this razor. Amazon was a little cheaper, but I spent the extra money at WalMart so I could easily return it if I wanted to. But I already know I'm keeping it. If you want to go about half the price, based on my research (but I've not used it), get the Norelco 7340 for around $52. Or, if you're lucky, maybe it'll be $39 again.

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmburdette
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8240
4/22/2009

Customer review by smzx2

1.0 stars 4/22/2009 by smzx2
by smzx2

I am surprised by all of the rave reviews about the 8240. I have used Norelco razors for over 20 years and this by far has been the worst model yet. First of all there is no way to tell how much time there is remaining the on the battery. Secondly, for being a new razor out of the box it is extremely loud compared to all of the other Norelco razors I have used. Lastly, and worst of all, the blades pull on the hair particularly under the chin and on the neck causing a sharp pain. Talk about getiing a wake up call early in the morning! I went ahead and replaced the razor with the Norelco 8270 that was only $5.00 more. The 8270 has a battery indicator, is much quiter, includes a nice charging stand, and provides a much smoother and closer shave. And the 8270 does not tug and pull at facial hair like the junky 8240 does. My suggestion; go out and buy the 8270 for a few dollars more and you will get a much higher quality razor and a much more comfortable shave.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smzx2
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My husband says he loves me more each day!
9/16/2010

Customer review by dlpate

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by dlpate
by dlpate

I read countless reviews from others before deciding to purchase this model. I'm a woman who knows nothing about mens' razors--electric or manual--so I had to depend on the input of other buyers and their accouns of their experiences (for which I am very grateful, by the way, that people take the time to input that kind of information--it was tremendously helpful!) I admit, I was slightly concerned about some of the negative reviews I read, but I bought it anyway and kept the receipt in case my husband needed to return it. NO NEED! He tells me after shaving that he loves me just a little more, and will love me a little more tomorrow, because his face feels SO wonderful not only afterwards but during the experience as well (and it's a quick process--zip! zip! and he's done!). He's completely satisfied with it in all respects and very happy that he can just clean it by rinsing under hot water--no more dealing with a little "doll" brush with his thick fingers. Believe the positive, respect and dismiss the negative, and get this 8240 [Speed XL] electric razor!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlpate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best Shaver I've Ever Owned
2/18/2009

Customer review by Dazeoff

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by Dazeoff
by Dazeoff

I've been using an electric razor for over 40 years now. I've used the foil razors and also the multiple head savers. For most part I have been a Norelco fan for many years. My older Norelco has been faithful and provided a good shave with replacing the shaver heads and cleaning the shaver head housing on a regular basis. I felt it was time for a new electric razor and again selected a Norelco 8240 XL. This shaver by far is the best one that I've ever owned. The instructions said that I could clean the shaver under running water, which was a major selling point for me. After my first shave, I will admit that I was a bit skeptical on placing an instrument that runs on electric power under running water. But it was still under warrantee and I gave it a quick rinse under the sink faucet. Not wanting water to stay inside the head assembly, I gave it a good shake to release the water droplets and stored the razor on an incline. Not to say that this procedure is necessary, but I just felt more comfortable to reduce any problems from water damage. Now to the shave. This razor is so much more quite than my older Norelco. At first I wasn't sure if the RPM's were getting up to operating speed. However the proof was in the shave. I was extremely impressed with the end result. In the past I have found that most electric razors don't cut the beard hairs that grown on the neck. This Norelco will cut the neck hairs but for me I have to stretch my neck skin a bit to get a smoother shaving surface. This razor is lightweight, cordless and charges quickly for someone that's on the go and doesn't want to stand in front of a mirror. I am extremely pleased with the Norelco 8240 XL would would highly recommend it's purchase to anyone that's in the market for a new electric razor.

Was this review helpful? (201) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dazeoff
Port Charlotte, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great shave!
12/28/2008

Customer review by KindnessIsBest

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by KindnessIsBest
by KindnessIsBest

Excellent, close shave and fast too! Only slight negative, don't like the cord. It's a bit shorter than past models and I don't care for how it sticks out from the wall once plugged in, would be better if it were flush to the wall. I will just have to get used to this type of cord. The razor itself is excellent, highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KindnessIsBest
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
6/17/2012

Customer review by Xntric

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Xntric
by Xntric

I have been using electric razors for about 60 years, so know whereof I speak. I must agree with other reviews that I have read. I would have rated this excellent, except that there is no battery meter. I don't think this would have cost any significant amount to include, and would be great for paranoid geeks like me. Otherwise, battery is long-lasting, shaves are reasonably close and painless, and it is amazingly easy to clean. I haven't had to disassemble the heads once, nor even use the brushes. The bits of beard are so small that they are easily blown out. I do recommend, from experience with other razors, the occasional use of a light oil ... keeps water off the blades, thereby reducing dullness due to oxidation. Of course, then whiskers will stick to blades, necessitating cleaning. Take your choice. Because of long battery life and quick recharge, great for traveling. Plug in in for an hour or two, and you're good for a trip of 2 or 3 weeks at least. Definitely recommend at this price.

Xntric
Olympia, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not good for tough whiskers
9/2/2010

Customer review by LikeToFlyFish

1.0 stars 9/2/2010 by LikeToFlyFish
by LikeToFlyFish

Despite using a manual razor all my life (to get a close shave), I switched to a Norelco 8240XL electric razor in May, 2010. Such was driven by the escalating cost of razor blades & it was calculated that the payback period by going electric was only 5 months. However, I had concerns because my beard is tough & such fears were realized. Manual recommends an exclusive 21 day period for face to adjust. It has been 100 days since purchase & face has not adjusted yet. A "good" shave requires heavy pressure against the skin & face contortions. Still, a stubble is left plus a 5 o'clock shadow. And beard grow-back is faster than w/manual shave. Norelco also has more difficulty shaving a beard that is more than 1 day old. There is also the inconvenience of the charge abruptly stopping w/out warning. (A 3 minute charge can give 3 minutes more of shaving). If I wasn't retired & needed a clean face for the professional job that I had before retirement, I would have returned the Norelco before the 45 day money-back guarantee. Even so, this electric razor may be fine for men w/a light beard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LikeToFlyFish
Philadelphia suburb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fairly Good but not Great
10/1/2009

Customer review by ShopperWithNoName

3.0 stars 10/1/2009 by ShopperWithNoName
by ShopperWithNoName

I can only compare this to electric razors I've used - in the past 25 years there have been three: a corded Norelco, a rechargeable Norelco, and this Norelco 8240 Speed XL. So, this review is more of "what might I expect relative to my prior Norelcos" than "how does this compare to other razors currently on the market". . Each generation of Norelco has gotten lighter and quieter but also less "aggressive". This might be good for sensitive skin, but it slows down the shaving process. . This unit is extremely light compared to what I'm used to with the older Norelcos. When I'm actually shaving with it, I find that it lacks "heft", but when carrying it in luggage, the light weight is much appreciated. Without cord or case (but with head guard) it weighs about 6.5 oz compared with about 8.5 oz for the Norelco it replaced. . If I skip shaving for three+ days ("it's not a day off if you shave, it's not a vacation if you take the kids!"), this razor pulls the whiskers worse than any of the previous Norelcos. A solution is to use the sideburn trimmer for an initial "mowing" pass -- but until one gets used to this and figures out the angles, the sideburn trimmer can be a bit hard on the skin. (I think that Norelco recommends using the sideburn trimmer ONLY to trim sideburns - so I'm not following the rules so I probably shouldn't complain about this). . The lack of a "charge remaining" status is a problem. Consider moving up to a model that has that. This is especially important if you're leaving on a trip and don't want to take the charger -- about your only option is to charge it fully just before you go (unless you keep good track of when you last charged it). . The charger cord is bit stiff and seems short so it's annoying to use this as a "corded" razor when the battery suddenly runs out (more likely due to the lack of a "charge remaining" indicator). Actually, I _think_ the user's manual may recommend against using it as a corded razor, although it seems to work fine that way. Mitigating this problem slightly is that the charge lasts quite a long time and it recharges quickly (supposedly, a three minute charge gives you three minutes of untethered shaving - I've not timed this, but it seems about right). . The "pivoting independent" heads work very well around edges - esp. the chin. My older Norelcos didn't have this feature and I'd miss it now. . The ability to rinse the head/cutters under running water to clean them is GREAT. Of course, this is now a fairly common feature so it's not a reason to pick this particular model. . Unlike the Norelco this replaced, this one has very little "grippy, rubbery" material on the exterior of the case - just a little patch which doubles as a power switch. This makes this razor a bit harder to grip and more likely to slide on a slick surface or slide out of your hand.

Was this review helpful? (58) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperWithNoName
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Very Great Product
6/22/2010

Customer review by Hateschanges

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Hateschanges
by Hateschanges

I just purchased the shaver, and charged it overnite as required, and used it today for the first time. The results where great, I have used philips norelco razers for all of my shaving years, And this one rates at the top of the list i have used. I had a Cool Skin most recently untill it started to fail i started to shop for it's replacement. I have read several reviews and decided on the 8240XL and am very glad i did. I am very satisified with it and would recommened it to the fullest extent for anyone shopping for a great electric shaver

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hateschanges
Marietta, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great purchase
1/15/2011

Customer review by Linkslawn

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Linkslawn
by Linkslawn

Shaving becomes a chore after many years, and I didn't realize it could be so comfortable, quiet and quick. A pleasure to use!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linkslawn
Llano, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So many choices....
1/19/2012

Customer review by WMTgohigher

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by WMTgohigher
by WMTgohigher
Top 250 contributor

I have had several electric razors over the past 20 years and can safely say this one is the best of all of them. I am one of those guys that waits too long to replace the heads on mine because they are so over priced. My old razor was due for new heads (going on 2 years) and I just wanted to try something newer. Norelco makes the best electric razor in my opinion so I looked over the newer models available on-line. I didn't want anytning that shot out lotion or anything funky, just a shave. This one shaves closer and faster than my last Norelco which I had since 04. The 3 heads on this one have 3 cutters instead of the standard 1 on some of the other models which allow this one to cut closer and faster. The battery holds a long charge as well. The head on this one also pivots vertically which makes shaving under your neck a bit easier. After purchasing this one, I have been wondering why I waited so long to buy a new razor as I have cut my shaving time down considerably and am not getting the 5 o'clock shadow at noon. (I am tight with money). You will not be disappointed with this one. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMTgohigher
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Norelco Shaver
12/13/2010

Customer review by Timpop

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Timpop
by Timpop

Shaver works well, delivery was as promised. All in all was a good buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timpop
Bellaire Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy ! Highly recommended
9/4/2011

Customer review by WesObie

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by WesObie
by WesObie

I either had a drastic change in my beard or there has been a drastic lack of quality change in electric razors. My previous razors all worked well in the past, but no more. I researched what were rated the best razors. The Philips Norelco 8240XL/18 Speed XL Electric Razor was rated #2. The razor rated #1 was 6X more expensive. I ordered from Walmart because they had a good price and I knew they would make it good if I did not like the razor. The razor is fantastic, so quiet its hard to believe that it is actually cutting, but its the best shave I have had in the last 4 razors. Plus Walmart was very prompt in shipping. I only rated it down one notch because of the charging station. It sits on a plug in charging station - no cords. But my outlet does not hold the docking station tight enough so I either had to plug it into an outlet in the hall or use an extension cord so the whole thing could lay on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WesObie
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Goodbye Foam Face Forever!
7/17/2011

Customer review by RailTrail

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by RailTrail
by RailTrail

I bought one of the earlier, very slightly different models 5 years ago. I purchased this one this past Christmas (2010) when it was on sale online ($75) because these are rarely on sale and I was sure that I wanted to keep using this razor indefinitely. My 5-year-old razor is still working just fine, but I know that the rechargeable battery will someday fail. Sure, the replacement blades are exorbitantly expensive, but this razor is excellent and it is worth the price not to have to slather goo all over your face each day! I originally purchased a more expensive Braun brand razor, but that one didn't shave as well as this Phillips-Norelco.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RailTrail
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8240XL is about the best shaver for the price
12/27/2011

Customer review by ScubaSpear

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by ScubaSpear
by ScubaSpear

First, I researched shavers. This one is on several top 10 lists and even 1 top 5. I wanted a performance shaver for under $100 but also I realize that you get what you pay for. This shaver is the best option. It shaves as good as the $200+ plus models, just doesn't have all of the fancy features and that keeps the price down. The shave - as close as any electric razor I have ever tried, including foils. First, each rotary head has 3 successive rings of cutters instead of just one outer ring of cutting head. MAJOR POINT. This is the difference between this model and a $50 or less model that looks the same. This is what you are paying the difference for and when you use it, you will know where your money went. The pivoting, rotary heads shave the hard to get throat area better than any foil shaver can. Also, the rotary heads will shave a longer beard than the foils will, like if you skip a day. It can be cleaned by running water so that makes cleaning easier. I can clean it myself rather than pay an additional $100 to get a self cleaner, of which I am skeptical of anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScubaSpear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good product
12/23/2008

Customer review by LoveToWatchSorts

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by LoveToWatchSorts
by LoveToWatchSorts

Bought as a gift for my husband and he really likes it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToWatchSorts
Raton, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
an excellent razor
9/19/2010

Customer review by setinstone

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by setinstone
by setinstone

I have an identical model (my first electric razor), which I like very much. The ease of shaving amazed me. I decided to buy a spare because the price was reduced. However, I do not like to clean the razor with water as I have no convenient place to let it dry. I use canned air, and this works great. A criticism is it is difficult to clean the heads. I decided to replace the head after more than a year, and I dropped one of the sharp cutters and lost it. I found it on my patio. It had caught on my pant leg and dropped off when I went outside, but I had already installed an old one. It shaves OK. All in all, it is a super razor, and the price is good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
setinstone
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent shaver-easy to clean
12/4/2011

Customer review by junglewarrior

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by junglewarrior
by junglewarrior

I have been shaving with electric shavers for over 40 years. Initially I used a foil shaver, which was very hard to clean and could result in razor burn and cuts when the foil wore out and failed. For the past 15 years I have used a Remington triple head (corded) shaver. The only drawback was the cleaning the head, which was better than a foil shaver but had to be cleaned weekly with a total dissembly of the cutting head every six months and total head replacement every year. Then there was the cord. I typically replaced the entire Remington (835) shaver every four or five years. I just purchased a Philips Norelco 8240XL/18 Speed XLElectric Razor, which I have used for the past month. The entire head pivots and the triple head also pivits inward and each cutting head floats. This makes it much easier to meet the contours of my face and neck. The head flips to open clean (the Remington 835’s cutting head was friction fit), the cutting head is easily removable to clean with water. Overall this razor is quieter and more easily cleaned. I am not sure about the razor head life yet. The Philips Norelco shaver is also much quieter. I highly recommend this shaver even though the shave time is slightly longer than with a corded triple head shaver.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
junglewarrior
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 803 total reviews
1-20 of 803 reviews