Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 860 reviews
5 stars
497
4 stars
217
3 stars
66
2 stars
37
1 stars
43
Sort by: 
1-20 of 777 reviews
1-20 of 777 reviews
Norelco shaver review
12/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought a Norelco 7310X. A tip broke off the white retaining ring that holds in the cutting head. I did not abuse or drop it, so beware of this problem. Good shave performance otherwise, so I bought another 7310X from WalMart for $30 and will see how long this one lasts.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It is average
7/11/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm one of those guys who can't see spending $100 for a razor with a fancy name and racing stripe that really does not do any better job of cutting off my face hair. If the blade is sharp and it turns the job will get done. The shave from this razor is adequate- really no closer or better than I got from my last similar style Remington razor which was about 4 yrs old- and I never replaced the razor heads on that one. Norelco says that you should replace the razor head every 12 months. At a whopping $34 to replace the heads alone or $41 to replace the entire shaver with new heads I will not be buying any replacement heads soon - just wear it out and by a whole new unit every few years. Also this unit has an LED light to show when it is charging - which is NOT needed as I know it is recharging as I plugged in to the wall. What it DOES need it a light to show low battery so you know when to recharge in advance of it stalling on you when you are late for work and don't have time to let it recharge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Strange electric shaver
8/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well, I bought this model two days ago. I charged it for the recommended amount of time. The green light was blinking. All systems were Go! Then I hit the power button to turn on the shaver. I heard something. Not real sure what it was. But, it was definitely coming from the shaver. It certainly didn't sound like the chainsaw noise my old Braun made. So, I'm thinking, I just bought a piece of junk. The thing wasn't hardly making any noise. To me no noise means no power. No power means no shave. Just for fun I put the shaver to my day old beard, and moved it up and down my face, in the same spot, just once. My whiskers were gone. How the heck did that just happen? Was it a fluke? I put this whisper quiet shaver on the other side of my face. I moved the shaver up and down, in the same spot, on this other side of my face. I looked in the mirror. Whiskers were gone. I shaved my entire day old growth in about 1/4 the time it used to take me with my old Braun. The shave was smooth. No irritation. And, I could swear the thing was acting like it was about to run out of juice. This has got to be the quietest shaver on the planet. And, it still got the job done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (322)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Execptional Value
8/26/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shaver totally surprised me with the great performance for the price I paid. I have been shaving for 45 years and always used a Norelco. The last time I purchased a competitors since it would save me money. After having three years of misery, I was looking for a Norelco again. Their prices are fairly high and I could not justify spending the dollars. I read about this less expensive Norelco model and finally thought it was worth a try. This was something I should of done two years ago versus putting up with the shaver I had. This model may not have all of the bells & whistles but all I wanted was a close shave without taking forever to to get the job done. I do not have enough great words to list. You will not be sorry!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding shaver!
12/30/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I hated using a blade and shaving cream just because it was such a hassle. Based on other reviews, I bought this shaver and I LOVE IT! A single overnight charge will last days if not weeks; a quick 3 minutes on my face and my skin is just as smooth as a razor shave. The best part (other than a good, close shave) is the ease of cleaning: just open it up and run it under hot water! It feels a but clunky in hand and it won't win any beauty contests or design awards... but if you want a close shave, pop-up trimmer and ease of use, this is $30 well spent. I can't imagine a $100-$200 shaver doing a better job than the 7310.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I came back!
11/27/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My first razor was a battery operated Norelco that was stolen. It was very inexpensive, so later I 'moved up' to other brands. Electric shavers were becoming a nuisance, I found that a blade was really a quicker and more comfortable shave than an electric. I have tried practically all brands, I did not like the Norelco because it was too difficult to clean, although it did give the better shave of all the electrics. I decided I would try the 7310 XL because it was a Norelco, was inexpensive, and it could be cleaned with hot tap water. The manual suggests using the shaver for 21 days to get your beard accustomed to it. I got a fast, comfortable, and close shave the very first day!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (94)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful
12/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've never really liked shaving very much, and only shave about once a week because that's about when the beard itch becomes worse than the hour long ordeal that shaving is for me. I received the Norelco 7310XL as a gift from my girlfriend and tried it out today. I now wish I could grow another beard just so I could shave again! I actually look forward to shaving again to the point that I have actually been toying about with the razor familiarizing myself with it. It's at least as close a shave as I have gotten with a disposable razor and world's simpler, It was like buffing the hair away! Five minutes later, I'm smooth as can be, I don't have to clean up any hair or shaving cream, and since the razor is water safe, I just rinse it out and I'm done! I've read some reviews that say they don't like the appearance of the razor, but I like it just fine. At 30 dollars it's an absolute steal, and I have never been more satisfied with a razor in my life. In fact the only possible thing I can find wrong with this razor at all is the fact that it will eventually break. I can only hope that It is either repairable or still in production when this happens, but it says it comes with a 2 year manufacturer warranty, so it should last at least that long. Overall I recommend this for anyone who needs hair removed from their person and does not enjoy their current hair removal scheme.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value in a cordless razor
6/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used Norelco razors for years. This new model fits beautifully in my hand. It is the quietest Norelco I've ever had. It shaves beautifully and the washable feature is a great innovation. I liked it so much I bought a second one for my vacation home and travel. Excellent value, great price! The only drawback of Norelco razors is that when the battery dies, you can't change it without soldering in a new one which generally costs about a s much as a replacement razor.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (91)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Glad I read reviews
8/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed a shaver, so I sorted by most recommended and chose a lower priced model. I read the reviews and was told that this shaver sounds like the batteries are dead and it is running at a slower speed than older shavers. It turns out that a slower speed may be better. It's quiet, not hot and cuts even my heavy beard. Glad I read the reviews. A good value for a medium price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
lasted several years and still running
9/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Decided to move up to 5800 series as it was about time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too slow - it's a rougher shave than old Norelco
9/10/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After about 3 months of using this Norelco, I still prefer my old Norelco that is still working, but declining in battery longevity. This newer, slower Norelco is rougher due to a slower running motor, pulling on my facial hair. My older, faster Norelco gives a much more comfortable shave. Both Norelcos give the same close shave, but my older Norelco is much smoother. The old Norelco is a 2005 vintage. I alternate shavers about every other day. I would suggest buying a faster Norelco, if you can find data on any of them. I would immediately return this Norelco to Walmart for a faster Norelco if it wasn't already 3 month's old (with no receipt or box) .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good so far
4/25/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this for about 2 weeks. It's much quieter than my last one, which was a remington that was about 10 years old. The battery in it was gone and wouldnt stay charged. This new Norelco, I charged for about 10 or 12 hours the first time before I ever used it, and that charge lasted 10 days. I've used electric razors for years and I had no facial skin soreness or rash break in time with this one. If this is your first electric razor you can expect a 2 week break in for your face to get used to it. The Norelco only takes 2 or 3 minutes to shave, if done daily, and a much closer shave with this new one than my old one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Time Electric Razor User's Opinion -
12/1/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Let me first start off by saying I have been razor blade shaving for ever, so this was a big move for myself and an adjustment if i might say the least - Bought this a couple weeks ago at the store for a very low price (less than $30) so it was a no brainer based on the reviews to jump on this - here is my short but sweet break down, Before i list the pros and cons let me advise those who have never used an electric shaver before than Yes you will need up to a 2 week adjustment period (and you may even have a period of skin irritation, like i did which although looked horrible (the neck area, and mustache is the worst) after the first use, it gradually declined and went away) Pros 1. Quick and easy 2. The pop up exterior trimmer! 3. The pop open fully washable blade system 4. Rechargeable and lasting charge! 5. The color (mine was a black and white) - Cons 1. The adjustment period 2. The fact that its not a close shave as a blade, you have to keep going over it, and even then you will always have that stubble look - 3. Longer hairs get pulled from the blade system like a tweezer which can be painful (trust me youll know when you pull one instead of shaving it, ouch) 4. Because of #3 leaves ingrown hairs which can be annoying because of the blade system which sometimes doesn't cut all hairs in a specific place With that being said if you want to switch over you isn't a bad unit but i wonder how much better or worse the more expensive ones are and for that matter if the foil head shavers are better for closer and more comfortable shaves - either way this is a great price on an introductory electric shaver -
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT Value
3/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this razor as a replacement for anther brand that kept breaking the foils. It was too expensive to keep using. When I received this razor, it felt like a light weight toy in my hand compared to my old razor BUT it out performed my old razor by a long shot! It is also MUCH quieter and works when corded which my old one did not. I used it 17 days straight before needing a recharge, which is 3 times longer than my old brand too. In case you are wondering, my old brand was a Remington. FIVE STARS for Philips/Norelco!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
7/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first electric shaver and I'm definitely glad I bought it. It's quite and effortlessly gives you a smooth shave. The pop up trimmer is a great added feature that works just fine. Cleaning this shaver is a cinch, just press a button to pop open the shaver head and run under water. For the price the shaver looks good and functions great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quiet shave
8/19/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This razor is quiet, comfortable, and gives a close shave. I would have given it a 5 rating if the shave was quicker.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rotary versus Block (not a Mazda Review)
12/10/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Norelco is very well made and affordable. But I was reluctant to try it because I had a distant memory (measured in decades, not years) of reviews of this rotary shaver that were not wholly complimentary. It seems that shaving systems (rotating, floating blades; oscillating cutting heads under a thin screen) appeal to different people for different reasons; accordingly, it's hard to work out which system is preferable. The Norelco requires acclimation not only by a former foil-system user, but by his facial hair as well (!) ... conversely, a Norelco user switching to a foil shaver also needs time to adapt. I have two new shavers: a Braun Series 1 (foil), and the Norelco. The latter gives me a closer shave, which is my criterion number 1. The Braun is easier to use (but then I am a Norelco novice). Both are well made and are cleanable under a tap. Both are cordless/rechargeable. From my as yet brief experience, I'd have to say I doubt that the fact that the Norelco blades float contributes all that much to the results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
finally a clean shaven son
2/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our redheaded son has extra-sensitive skin and also a blood clotting disorder. Hence he had a red beard. He really wanted to be clean shaven and we have tried various rotary and foil shavers. All pulled, burned, scraped him and he gave up, resorting to just trimming it close with scissors. I read a lot of online information and countless product reviews. This shaver popped up as Value of the Day and I read most of the reviews. Even negative reviews are very helpful because you learn something - it may even be a positive aspect for you! At first it was the same as all the other shavers - pulling and painful. The instructions say not to press down and let it float over your face. After failing with that, he tried the opposite, exerting pressure and for the first time in his life was clean shaven and there was no discomfort at all. It is easy to clean, too. He did have to stop and clear it out - the beard just shook out - in the middle because he was taking off so much hair the first time. Tremendously pleased with this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wow!
12/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never had an electric razor before. I just got this razor for Christmas and it is AMAZING. Took me about 4 minutes to shave my face and neck. Got nice and close and didn't cut or irritate my face. When I was done I popped open the top, rinsed it out with hot water, and went on my merry way. I would suggest this razor to my friends for sure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
the product is great
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My review is this...your product has been in my hands for decades. I will not go to another product. I am quite satisfied with your product, and I will never go to another product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643916, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-