Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 111 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 94 reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
This does charge 8 AA at a time.
2/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this product after having bought 2 leappads for our girls. The leappad is a great product ,but eats batteries like crazy. After having spent over $50 dollars on batteries in 1 month we decided to go for rechargeable ones. We needed something that charged 8 AA batteries at a time. we read the reviews and were pretty pleased with this product. We did however find one review that was pretty off putting because it said that this product did not charge 8 AA at a time. It would cost a little over $40 to get 2 stations. So we decided to take a leap of faith and try it out. After all if it was not what we wanted we could take it back no problem. We received it in only a few days and it is what it says it is. It has already saved us lots of money. We are very pleased! My only assumption is that the other person may have been sent the wrong one by accident or maybe just wrote a review on the wrong product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought that I was buying the Energizer CHFC NiMH Family Charger (FC) but the model number that I received was a newer (I think) model CHFC2. It seems slightly smaller and lighter than the CHFC that I have seen in stores. No matter; it works fine. Pros: 1. Charges everything from AAAs to Ds and 9V, and holds up to 8 AAs for example. 2. Batteries do NOT have to be charged in pairs, as with many other chargers. 3. Nice blinking blue LED "progress bar" display for each battery. 4. Auto shutoff. Cons: 1. Cheesy plastic lid hinges and tabs look easy to break off. However, the lid on this model does NOT have to be closed for it to work (unlike the CHFC). So if the lid breaks, I can just use it without a lid. 2. It's a little tricky at first to load AAs and AAAs. This is because the 4 slots can hold 1 or 2 batteries each. Note: Charging more than 4 at once takes twice as long. Overall though, it's fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/14/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A) the image does not correspond to the product. B) I was under the impression that you could see the voltage, charge, etc . : NO! It's a great charger for a family, it can charge up to 8 batt AA , and almost all models of AAA, AA, D, 9V, etc , but it is limited to a max charge of 2450mAh for AA, and I use 2650 mAh AA batteries I was looking for something more "techie" I wanted something to be able to charge, discharge, test , etc .. so , I returned it ....and got a Lacrosse Tech $10 more but comes with 8 batt and is much more complete on the techie side. If you are looking for an easy charger and don't want to read a manual, this one is for you. If you are looking for a "pro" one , Lacrosse tech other than that: WAL MART : CHANGE THE PICTURE !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very nice
10/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It works very well, it is universal, and it displays how charged the batteries are
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brilliant Technology and Many Features
4/5/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After having always had a battery charger, my last one finally died after long service and I got this Energizer model. It outperforms any that I have had and charges much more rapidly! Will charge standard alkaline too if you set the trickle rate down - so read the manual. Best feature is the little 3-inch LCD screen on the back that lets you know the volts, amp-hrs, milliamp rate, % charge, and time remaining - however the readouts and graphic bars could be a little larger since they are hard to read. Also comes with extender brackets so that you can charge 2 batteries per bay (takes longer to charge though) but effectively doubles the capacity to 8 batteries if you have power-hungry devices and toys that eat many batteries at a time. Also, you can discharge batteries in two of the bays and transfer charge to the other two bays e.g. take along 1 or 2 9V fully charged and use them to charge multiple AA or AAA's - GREAT if you're Survivor Man and there's no power source around. The fuse in the cigarette lighter adapter in the one that I bought was faulty (blown) when I checked it with an ohm-meter but was easy to replace with a standard 5A glass fuse from any hardware. All in all, an impressive little charger with loads of features !! Only thing lacking is that there's no way to switch input voltage if you take it overseas, so you'd need a converter as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (130)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/19/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this recharger for my baby's swing, which eats "D" batteries. It recharges four D batteries at one time. It has a digital readout that lets you know how much of a charge each battery has.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (115)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wrong part number
1/1/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i just bought this after looking at the Energizer web site and i wanted one that charges 8 (AA,AAA) at a time. walmart specifies this item as being a CHFC, It is NOT! It is a CHFCV which only charges 4 at a time. So...if anyone reads their specs on this charger it's wrong.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love it!
9/15/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this thing. I sent one to my husband in Iraq since him and his buddies go through batteries like crazy for their stereo at work. And I have one at home for all of the baby's toys. I'm always charging batteries for this kid. I would hate to think of how much money I would be pay for batteries if I didn't have the rechargeable ones...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent charger
10/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Work well, it reads the exiting charge and only charges what's needed to finish the battery to a full charge. Can't beat a lifetime warranty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not good thing to use at all
11/22/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've tried the Energizer rechargeable batteries and they are not worth it because everytime you charge them they go dea with in the hour. I think Duracell is better and I am going to get me one too. I do not recommend Enegerizer rechargeable or regular kind to any one. I have friends that tells me the same thing and they are going for Duracell quicker than Energizer. I think Energizer needs to shut down for good because their batteries are not working like they should. Even in hearing aides too they are dead with in 3 days and duracell last up to 7 - 10 days and that's money well saved. I am sorry if you don't like my opinion but that is just the way some people and I see it. We don't like your product because it is a money waster need to make it learn to last longer and better. I know it doesn't keep going and going and going. I do know it keeps dying and dying and dying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I think there are better products out there
4/6/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've only used this once since I bought it, but I think the major flaw is in the design. If you can imagine a 35mm camera where you drop the AAA battries in the slot. Well, imagine that slot, curved as it is to match the shape of the battery but instead of being vertical its horizontal. Those same size slots for the AAA battery is also designated for the AA, C, D battries. My AA battries didn't even fit snugly within the slot. It kinda sat on top of the edges. This design is flawed, because it took along time to recharge the battries because the battery was not in direct contact with cradel itself. And you can't place individual battries immediately next to each other. You have to add allowing for alternating spaces between each slot. So depending on the size battery you want to recharge, you may only be able to recharge 4 battries at a time, although the product boast 8. I wouldn't recommend it. Look for something else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Environmentally Great
1/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love the versatility of putting different size batteries for recharging. I always have charged batteries. This is a GREAT product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NImH battery charger
1/1/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I screwed up I thought this would charge NiCd batteries as well, this charger is good if you want to charge NIMH batteries only.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
About the Energizer Family Battery Charger
8/2/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was excited when I got the charger however within in a few weeks two of the four inside components stopped working. I thought it would have held up better than that. I was charging mainly D batteries. Also, the charge doesn't hold very long. Was definately not what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great charger
3/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unit arrived in good condition. It charges 1 to 8 AAA/AA batteries at a time. Batteries size C or D can be charged 1 to 4 at a time. The LED icons show charging status and correspond to each battery in the bay. Pretty good unit. I did purchase the additional 2 year warranty but hope it will last many years beyond that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Energizer CHFC2 Universal
4/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The picture and the model number are incorrect in this item posting. The charger that is sent is the Energizer CHFC2 Universal and is the latest and best of the energizer universal chargers. It works great for me with different types of batteries and my tenergy D Cells for my Maglite. There are 4 bays and each one holds 2 AA or AAA batteries or 1 C or D battery. The whole bay has to be used to charge so AA and AAA have to be charged in pairs. C and D Cell batteries can be charged one alone. The charger continues to charge with the lid open or closed. Excellent Charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome product!
1/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This device saves me lots of money on batteries! When we bought the Cat's Meow for our 4 cats we started using too many batteries for it so we decided to get this along with the rechargeable batteries and it works very well! I would definitely recommend this if you have a need for it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this charger
3/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought another charger before this and had issues. There was no way of knowing if you were attempting to charge a bad battery or if the charger was at fault. It just flashed an error code. This charger tells you when the batteries are at full charge, and which batteries are faulty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works as promised
3/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Lives up to what the description says and charges batteries to their fullest capacity.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use
9/25/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Charger was easy to use, and the auto shutoff feature after the batteries are fully charged is really handy. Also, the charge meters for each individual battery is nice feature. It was a little pricey, but overall, I would buy another one if I needed it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-