Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 24 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Great Collectible!
11/17/2008

Customer review by AGDesq

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by AGDesq
by AGDesq

This doll was a hot item during Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority's 100th Anniversary Convention in Washington, DC in July 2008, with many sorors waiting in line for up to 3 hours in order to purchase it. Fortunately, Wal-Mart offered the doll at the same price after the convention without the annoying long lines and with free shipping and handling if purchased website to store. The doll was delivered in perfect condition and makes a beautiful addition to my collection.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGDesq
Upland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Thanks AKA Sisters
12/26/2008

Customer review by AABarbieGirl

5.0 stars 12/26/2008 by AABarbieGirl
by AABarbieGirl

As the designer of this doll, I appreciate all of you that are enjoying your AKA Centennial Barbie dolls. I tried to capture the essence and beauty of our sisters and the meaning of the AKA organization. There were limitations to work around, but overall I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AABarbieGirl
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice doll but could have been designed better
12/26/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/26/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was so excited to see that they had finally made a Barbie Doll modeled after my sorority. Being a Barbie collector myself, I couldn't wait to get it. I was a bit disappointed to see that no thought went into the design. The were no AKA symbols any where except for her pink and green dress (at least they got the colors right)....no ivy, no pearls...nothing. If I took her out of the box...she'd look like a regular Barbie. Even the little heart charm on her bracelet could have been the shape of an ivy. The only reason why I didn't rate this doll that bad is because if you are just looking for a doll....it's decent, but if you are looking for those things that would make this AKA doll extral special, you won't find it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northport, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
AKA Barbie is a long awaited treasure!
1/2/2009

Customer review by ShoppingInMaryland

5.0 stars 1/2/2009 by ShoppingInMaryland
by ShoppingInMaryland

The Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Barbie is absolutely gorgeous. I must say this has been a long time coming--not only is this the FIRST "Sorority Barbie" ever...but to be an "African American Sorority" is a Godsend. --Shall I go on to name the attributes of how not only is the doll the first of it's kind, but to represent Alpha Kappa Alpha is only more phenominal!?!! Although this should not surprise me that the AKAs were able to work this out!! I love my AKA Barbie dolls and have purchased many for my family and friends. Knowing all of the wonderful things this sorority does it is an honor to pass this Barbie on as gifts to my friends and family!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingInMaryland
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice collectors item
12/19/2008

Customer review by akatude99

4.0 stars 12/19/2008 by akatude99
by akatude99

As a lady of AKA and a doll collector I was thrilled when the AKa Barbie was unveiled at our 100 Anniversary in July. Unfortunately I was unable to secure one while in DC. I have been searching online for the dolls andn finally called Walmart customer service who heled me track down the doll. She is very pretty andn well dressed. My one area of improvement is in the packaging. The acetate box could have constructed better to enhance the dolls beauty. But other that she is gorgeous and I am glad I drove 90 miles to secure the one item I wanted for christmas

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akatude99
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
11/22/2008

Customer review by Msdivine08

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by Msdivine08
by Msdivine08

I really love my Barbie. She is very pretty and a true r tribute to AKA. I plan to pass it down to my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Msdivine08
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
AKA Centennial Barbie Doll
10/14/2008

Customer review by KappaMan

3.0 stars 10/14/2008 by KappaMan
by KappaMan

Product came pre-package. Discovered that Doll had an ear ring missing. Had to return to store after opening. Did not understand how this was overlooked in shipping. The store had several Dolls on their shelf. Discovered that out of the 6 they had 4 Dolls had items missing or mangled as well. They allowed me to exchange the item from thier shelf. Took about half an hour to find a Doll that was not defective. Will not preorder in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KappaMan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
2nd rate doll...AKA is not 2nd rate.
11/4/2008

Customer review by wwtraveler

3.0 stars 11/4/2008 by wwtraveler
by wwtraveler

Even though she is beautiful, Mattel did not do a good job. As a woman of Alpha Kappa Alpha she does not have her 20 pearls, there are no ivies or a pink tea roses (in her hand). I would have loved to see that without the box she had more substantial represenations or symbols that would identify her as an representative of a AKA woman other than the color of her dress.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wwtraveler
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Awsome Product!
10/25/2008

Customer review by 2mandy

5.0 stars 10/25/2008 by 2mandy
by 2mandy

As a member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc...,(Zeta Thetha Chapter ), I knew the value of this doll. I purchased it to surprise my sister (also an AKA-Zeta Theta Chapter) for this Christmas 2008. I know it will lighten her world when she opens the box and see this gift gift from her little Polar Bear neice (my daughter). It's a moment that no one can purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2mandy
Covington , GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Honored........
12/8/2008

Customer review by qdocs

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by qdocs
by qdocs

What a beautiful doll and at a Wal-Mart price. I am a woman of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc and I am proud to have this doll in my AKA room in my home. In fact, I loved this doll so much that I bought one for my home, one for my staff office, one for my lab, and one to keep in hopes that my 11 year old niece follows me into the AKA sisterhood someday. : )

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qdocs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AKA Doll
11/29/2008

Customer review by AKASoror

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by AKASoror
by AKASoror

I thought I was out of luck when I couldn't get one at Boule. I'm very glad I ordered the doll online. It came right away and the product was great. It's the same one that was sold at Boule (crest on the box and everything). I highly recommend this doll for any AKA in your family as a souvenir or family heirloom to pass down to other sorors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKASoror
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alpha Kappa Alpha Barbie
9/24/2008

Customer review by Pebbles7

5.0 stars 9/24/2008 by Pebbles7
by Pebbles7

This doll is so beautiful!!! I am so proud to know that the Makers of Barbie realize the beauty of African Americans.The they understand the need to represent educated women who have dedicated their lives to helping others. I have purchased three of these dolls for myself, my daughter and another Soror in celebration of Alpha Kappa Alpha.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pebbles7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Beautiful Doll
11/6/2008

Customer review by 1daughter

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by 1daughter
by 1daughter

I am a member of the AKA Sorority and could not wait to get this doll. I have been collecting the Holiday Barbies for years and was happy to see that this doll was just as beautiful as the Holiday Barbie. The dress is stunning and I love the little touches like the curl of her hair and the shoes she is wearing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1daughter
Kingsland, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AKA Centennial Barbie
12/19/2008

Customer review by ygant

5.0 stars 12/19/2008 by ygant
by ygant

This Barbie speaks for herself, and that is how the lovely ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha represent our sisterhood!! She is beautiful in every way, and some day I will pass this along to my daughter or niece (maybe both because I have 2 of them)!! LOL!! I LOVE THIS BARBIE and my Sorority!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ygant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Beautiful Collector Doll
10/8/2008

Customer review by Mo1160

5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by Mo1160
by Mo1160

This doll celebrates the Sorority Alpha Kappa Alpha on their Centennial celebration. She features a gown in the colors of the sorority and accessories to match. She is a beautiful keepsake for members of the sorority and a quality doll for any Barbie collector.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mo1160
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
One Of a Kind Gift
1/1/2009

Customer review by TheLegend

4.0 stars 1/1/2009 by TheLegend
by TheLegend

The AKA Barbie doll was the perfect gift for my god-daughter who is an AKA. The doll represents the 100 year anniversary of the sorority, and historically this is very significant for any soror. The doll is very pretty in her pink and green dress.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheLegend
Missouri City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
AKA Centennial Barbie
10/6/2008

Customer review by AKAGoldenSoror

5.0 stars 10/6/2008 by AKAGoldenSoror
by AKAGoldenSoror

I purchase this to save for my granddaughter. I am sure that she will be happy to add it to her Barbie Collections. Thank you Martel and Walmart for recognizing your African American customers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKAGoldenSoror
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A colletible item for all AKA's
12/4/2008

Customer review by AKA1973

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by AKA1973
by AKA1973

The AKA Doll is very well design with great features that are life like. A great item for any Alpha Kappa Alpha lady to have as a colletible and a tribute to all sorority sisters of AKA

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKA1973
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Beautiful in every way!
9/13/2008

Customer review by LovingToHelpOthers

5.0 stars 9/13/2008 by LovingToHelpOthers
by LovingToHelpOthers

I received this product and I love it! It is beautiful and a great price for a keepsake. I don't worship it, but I still haven't removed it from its box . . . absolutely gorgeous!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingToHelpOthers
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AKA Barbie
9/13/2008

Customer review by Quix08

5.0 stars 9/13/2008 by Quix08
by Quix08

This doll is absolutely stunning! It is a must have for anyone's barbie/doll collection. What a great tribute to the ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quix08
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews