Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 62 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
PRETTY GOOD
2/3/2009

Customer review by GARB

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by GARB
by GARB

MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED THIS HOME THEATER ONLINE TOGETHER FOR OUR 32" VIZIO LCD FLAT SCREEN. WE DIDN'T WANT TO SPEND A WHOLE LOT OF MONEY FOR THE SYSTEM BEING THAT WE ONLY PAID A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS FOR THE TV. WE WEREN'T HAPPY WITH THE SOUND OF OUR TV SO WE REALLY WANTED A HOME THEATER. WE SAW ALL THE POSITIVE PREVIEWS FOR THIS PARTICULAR ITEM AND THATS THE MAIN REASON WHY WE CHOSE THIS HOME THEATER SYSTEM. WE WERE LOOKING AT THE RCA MODEL BUT WE DECIDED TO STICK WITH THE SONY. HOOKING IT UP WAS PRETTY EASY WE JUST HAD TO FIGURE OUT WHERE WE WANTED THE SPEAKERS POSITIONED. WE USED THE ATLANTIC SPEAKER STANDS FOR THE SURROUND SPEAKERS. WE FOUND THAT MULTI ST IS THE BEST SELECTION FOR THE SPEAKERS CAUSE YOU GET TO USE ALL 5 OF THEM. ONCE YOU CRANK IT UP TO ABOUT 45 OR 50 YOU REALLY START TO FEEL THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE. IT WAS A GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY. ONCE WE GET THE BIGGER TV WE WILL UPGRADE AND USE THE SONY FOR THE BEDROOM. IF YOU HAVE HD DVR YOU WILL NEED TO CONECT THIS TO YOUR HD DVR AND NOT YOUR TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GARB
TAMPA,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good system for the Price
12/12/2008

Customer review by OldRaider

4.0 stars 12/12/2008 by OldRaider
by OldRaider

I bought this maily due to price. It is a good home theater system and great for the low price. The setup and connection instructions are not as detailed as needed. But I was able to get answers by using the Sony chat tech support. The one thing this unit does NOT have is Bravia Sync. Some descriptions I read said it did but it is not available on this model. If you have all Sony TV, BluRay, Etc and they all work together with the Bravia Sync, spend the extra money to get a more expensive model of Home Theater with Bravia Sync. I didn't think it would matter but after using it for a while I realized it would have been a lot handier to have that feature. That way the other members of my family could just turn on the TV and the Home Theater system would have turned on automatically. As this system is set up you have to turn it on with a separate remote and operate it as a separate component. On the up side, it sounds great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldRaider
Pampa, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good system
11/1/2008

Customer review by MosX

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by MosX
by MosX

This did everything I expected. Sound quality is great, setup wasn't bad (although I don't like those 'stick the wire in the hole' type connectors for the speakers), and I was able to connect my digital optical devices up the way I wanted. I have my Xbox 360 and Comcast HD box hooked up and they sound great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MosX
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get this system
12/17/2008

Customer review by SonicMarauder

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by SonicMarauder
by SonicMarauder

I can't say enough about the Sony DDWG700 HT system. This is my second one. The first was puchased for the BR, and based on it's outstanding performance there, I bought another to complete the makeover of the system in my LR. Coupled w/ a Sony Bravia LCD TV and a Sony Blu-Ray player, this HT system does a remarkable job. Connectivity is a snap,(even has an iPod dock) setup is straightforward and the sound is awesome. Sony also gives ample speaker cable (pre-wired to each cube) for most standard sized listening areas. I also purchased ($10) the optional digital optical cord for maximum sound quality patched from the HD cable box. It's well worth the modest price tag, and I wouldn't hesitate to purchase this system for any of my HT audio needs. My PC may get one now...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SonicMarauder
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not loud enough.
2/17/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/17/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The bass is great, but the other speakers just aren't loud enough. To be fair though, I'm not sure we have ajusted it correctly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Sytem
11/10/2008

Customer review by Jonathana23

4.0 stars 11/10/2008 by Jonathana23
by Jonathana23

This system is great for the price.. the sound is clear and very balanced.. easy to use for the most part, but im more techincial prob that most.... Enjoy some features on it.. Great to customize the options.. This is by far no the best system out there but if you looking for a good sounding unit for a small room or bedroom then this one will work perfectly with out the need of an exspenisve system.. you will not be disapponited with this unit.. So far so good. My only con is that I have to have the remote in the right spot it the remote wont find the sensore on the system.. GREAT UNIT MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jonathana23
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Bargain
12/27/2008

Customer review by DocGoodbyte

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by DocGoodbyte
by DocGoodbyte

Unit met expectations. Installed without a hitch but I thoroughly read the manual beforehand. Excellent fidelity but NOT a gamers unit. Gamers usually have more need for BASE which this unit does not have or in my opinion need. The Sub Woofer is NOT amplified and the unit only has two inputs for digital audio which might be a limitation as most have three inputs for digital audio. Great for watching DVD's and DirecTV which is all I have. Built in Tuner seems to pick up both AM and FM from distant sources. No HDMI pass through. VERY HAPPY with purchase, wish I had done this sooner. Doc

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocGoodbyte
Lake Monticello
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not outstanding performance
2/8/2009

Customer review by jlee4834

2.0 stars 2/8/2009 by jlee4834
by jlee4834

I received my system two weeks ago. I bought it on sale on the web page for $179.00. For the price it does alright. Volume and lack of function are the pitfalls of this system. If you enjoy listening to your movies loud then this is not for you. My wife and I could hold a conversation on the couch with the volume topped out. It also has only one input for a dvd player. I had to swap out the receiver for a more powerful unit. The speakers work really well with the new receiver. Bottom line, If you're looking for power and performance find something just a bit more powerful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlee4834
slc, ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for Small room
2/12/2009

Customer review by PEEPsinBham

4.0 stars 2/12/2009 by PEEPsinBham
by PEEPsinBham

This system is good for a smaller room. Have connected to TV and volume can be a bit low for watching movies. Ipod dock is a nice feature that is getting some frequent use. Cords for surround speakers are short and need to be extended from end of existing cables due to no connections on back of speakers. Center speaker is small and not as useful as found on most systems. Sub woofer out put is very low and barely noticable. System has limited inputs on back which can be a challenge to connect more than 1 or 2 devices. It works, and is good for the price if your on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PEEPsinBham
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good sound; small price
11/27/2008

Customer review by easygoinginphoenix

5.0 stars 11/27/2008 by easygoinginphoenix
by easygoinginphoenix

This is a great little product for such a small price. Sound is very good but I couldn't use it as surround-sound because I can't have cords running from the unit to behind the sofa. So I put the other two speakers on the front, too, and everything works great. Setup was easy and I am very happy with this unit. If you're REALLY into huge sound, this may not be for you. But it's fine for my living room and I use it with the TV, DVD, MP3, and as an FM tuner. Consumer Reports recommended this and I agree with them - good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easygoinginphoenix
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very good deal
1/31/2009

Customer review by Macarena1

5.0 stars 1/31/2009 by Macarena1
by Macarena1

The Sony 800W 5.1 Home Theater System HT-DDWG700 is a compact system that brings surround sound to your home at an affordable price. Our expectations were low for a system that did not cost much, but were pleasantly surprised to get such great sound. We love the ability to change different configurations to find the best sound from a DVD or tv movie. It was very easy to install. I especially like the small size which does not superimpose the sound system on your existing decor. We are very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macarena1
Centreville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Maybe it was just high expectations....
12/31/2008

Customer review by Andrear3

3.0 stars 12/31/2008 by Andrear3
by Andrear3

The sound quality is good, but only 'good'. The rear speaker wires are MUCH too short.... and I don't see how we can use purchased speaker wire to replace them... It was SUPER-EASY to setup and figure out, thank goodness, because I am NOT technologically inclined (imagine that...) It looks really nice and well-built. I purchased it at a REALLY great price from Wal-Mart, roughly 179.00 and it is WELL-WORTH that price... I'm glad we have it, but if we get another one, I think I'll aim a bit higher-quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andrear3
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect system for the regular folks..
2/3/2009

Customer review by Dispenza

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by Dispenza
by Dispenza

I must first admit that I selected this system because of the price. Before deciding on this one in particular however, I did much research, at walmart, amazon, bestbuy, etc.. I initially wanted a 2.1 surround system because I too dislike having to wire 2 speakers up behind me and hide the wires, etc... But they were so much more expensive and as I'd read, not even that good. I looked into getting a soundbar, but then I would be missing out on the bass, at least with most soundbar packages. I decided that at the very least, I could buy this system at the low price, and only use the front 3 speakers and the subwoofer, even if I never use the rear to speakers, I still get the sound I am looking for, cheaper than with a soundbar or 2.1 system. After installing and setting up the sony system, (which is remarkably user friendly, and loaded with more options than you'll find on your DVD/Surround system), I was first upset that I did not have any on-screen programming, obviously because it did not have and video outputs to get to the tv.. this was easily overlooked though because I bought this system for sound, not video. After getting used to the LCD readout on the actual unit, and setting it up to my liking, I could find very little to fault this setup. The sound is plenty good enough for my liking, yes, it's no super future technology mp3 laser encoding photon light sensitive decible producing piece of alien equipment.. but for the non-audiophile, this is more than adequate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dispenza
Fredonia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than the movies!!!
12/10/2008

Customer review by BlessingsfromABOVE

5.0 stars 12/10/2008 by BlessingsfromABOVE
by BlessingsfromABOVE

This product is wonderful. Consumer Reports rates it as being the top home theater system for the price. I will say, however, if you have the opportunity to purchase the next step up, the SONY home theater with the 5 disk DVD player, it might be a good idea to do so, as it is wireless, whereas this one is not. But for the price range, this is an AWESOME home theater system!! I am impressed!! I love watching all of my old DVDs and hearing them in SURROUND SOUND!!!! ROCK ON!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlessingsfromABOVE
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SUB WOOFER IS WEAK
2/9/2009

Customer review by REVIEWTHIS101

2.0 stars 2/9/2009 by REVIEWTHIS101
by REVIEWTHIS101

I BOUGHT THIS AS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR MY FATHER-IN-LAW. I SET IT UP FOR HIM A FEW DAYS AFTER CHRISTMAS AND EVERYTHING SOUNDS FINE...EXCEPT THE SUB WOOFER. IT'S SO WEAK. WITH IT CRANKED TO FULLEST SETTINGS IT STILL DOESN'T RATTLE A BALL OFF OF THE TV STAND. I HAVE A 7 YEAR OLD 550 WATT KENWOOD SURROUND THAT BLOWS THIS NEWER 800 WATT AWAY IN BOTH SOUND AND POWER OF THE SOUND. RATHER DISAPPOINTING, AND TO ADD A POWERED SUB YOU'RE LOOKING AT ANOTHER 1-200 DOLLARS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
REVIEWTHIS101
OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Deal
12/13/2008

Customer review by Magic3333333

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by Magic3333333
by Magic3333333

Like others have said, the Sony HT-DDWG700 is a good deal, probably the best name brand surround sound for the money. ($179.00) Easy to set up, plenty of power, the sound is good. Yes, it does come with the digital coax cable which worked from my Sony Blu-Ray to the Sony HT-DDWG700 but not to my HD-LCD TV, so I used a digital optical cable (not provided) from the TV to the HT-DDWG700. The sub-woofer doesn't plug in to 110v, but it gives off a nice sound too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magic3333333
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome HT system
12/31/2008

Customer review by jlundq8578

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by jlundq8578
by jlundq8578

I couldn't have wanted more with this home theater system. For the price, this system rocks. Even at full volume, there is no distortion or static. The DVD's sound like you're in the movie. The tuner is the greatest I've ever found. I would definitely recommend this system to any one who is looking for an inexpensive HT solution. The shipping, however, leaves A LOT to be desired. It took almost 2 weeks for the "Site-to-Store".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlundq8578
Colorado SPrings CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As Expected
1/31/2009

Customer review by lovemySonySurroundSound

5.0 stars 1/31/2009 by lovemySonySurroundSound
by lovemySonySurroundSound

For the price, the "Sony 800W 5.1" is an excellent product. It performs as well as I had expected. The sound is very clear and realistic. This product is limited to how many options the consumer has for changing how sounds are produced. Yet, for the price it is quite good. I highly recommend this product for those who want a better and realistic sound experience, other than the basic sound produced from just the TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemySonySurroundSound
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/18/2009

Customer review by KsDakota

4.0 stars 1/18/2009 by KsDakota
by KsDakota

I use this in a small bedroom that I use as an office. It sounds great in here. Easy to use, easy to connect. Love the fact that I can connect it to my zune or my computer to listen to music. NOTE: these speakers only have one screw to attach to wall mounts, just FYI. The speaker wire is also hardwired into the back of the speakers, but I had plently of length to position the rear speakers where I wanted them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KsDakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Its all good!
1/25/2009

Customer review by WordisBond

4.0 stars 1/25/2009 by WordisBond
by WordisBond

I was very pleased with this product and the price was right. The only thing I would suggest is that the speaker wires could have been longer,because if you trying to have speakers behind a sofa for example the television is typically in front of you They just didnt reach I had to keep them closer to the television but Its all Good! Nice sound easy to assemble thumbs up! ps love the ipod docking station!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WordisBond
Atl,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews