Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 67 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Good system
11/1/2008

Customer review by MosX

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by MosX
by MosX

This did everything I expected. Sound quality is great, setup wasn't bad (although I don't like those 'stick the wire in the hole' type connectors for the speakers), and I was able to connect my digital optical devices up the way I wanted. I have my Xbox 360 and Comcast HD box hooked up and they sound great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MosX
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not loud enough.
2/17/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/17/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The bass is great, but the other speakers just aren't loud enough. To be fair though, I'm not sure we have ajusted it correctly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Sytem
11/10/2008

Customer review by Jonathana23

4.0 stars 11/10/2008 by Jonathana23
by Jonathana23

This system is great for the price.. the sound is clear and very balanced.. easy to use for the most part, but im more techincial prob that most.... Enjoy some features on it.. Great to customize the options.. This is by far no the best system out there but if you looking for a good sounding unit for a small room or bedroom then this one will work perfectly with out the need of an exspenisve system.. you will not be disapponited with this unit.. So far so good. My only con is that I have to have the remote in the right spot it the remote wont find the sensore on the system.. GREAT UNIT MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jonathana23
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SUB WOOFER IS WEAK
2/9/2009

Customer review by REVIEWTHIS101

2.0 stars 2/9/2009 by REVIEWTHIS101
by REVIEWTHIS101

I BOUGHT THIS AS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR MY FATHER-IN-LAW. I SET IT UP FOR HIM A FEW DAYS AFTER CHRISTMAS AND EVERYTHING SOUNDS FINE...EXCEPT THE SUB WOOFER. IT'S SO WEAK. WITH IT CRANKED TO FULLEST SETTINGS IT STILL DOESN'T RATTLE A BALL OFF OF THE TV STAND. I HAVE A 7 YEAR OLD 550 WATT KENWOOD SURROUND THAT BLOWS THIS NEWER 800 WATT AWAY IN BOTH SOUND AND POWER OF THE SOUND. RATHER DISAPPOINTING, AND TO ADD A POWERED SUB YOU'RE LOOKING AT ANOTHER 1-200 DOLLARS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REVIEWTHIS101
OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not outstanding performance
2/8/2009

Customer review by jlee4834

2.0 stars 2/8/2009 by jlee4834
by jlee4834

I received my system two weeks ago. I bought it on sale on the web page for $179.00. For the price it does alright. Volume and lack of function are the pitfalls of this system. If you enjoy listening to your movies loud then this is not for you. My wife and I could hold a conversation on the couch with the volume topped out. It also has only one input for a dvd player. I had to swap out the receiver for a more powerful unit. The speakers work really well with the new receiver. Bottom line, If you're looking for power and performance find something just a bit more powerful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlee4834
slc, ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
People say this is good for the price
12/4/2008

Customer review by Asmodeus

1.0 stars 12/4/2008 by Asmodeus
by Asmodeus

It has 10% THD way too much distortion for something from company who is known for good stereo systems. I bought used it for one day took it back and added $60 to it and got a Pioneer with way better specs and sound for just a little more money. The Pioneer also has better speaker connectors, just a better quality system for a little bit more money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Asmodeus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for the Price!
2/15/2009

Customer review by utctscanr

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by utctscanr
by utctscanr

I wanted to get a system w/o a dvd player, because I have a good Sony dvd player already. Product was very easy to hookup and the remote also works with my Sony dvd player. Fills my 22x16 ft family room very well. Definately worth the every penny, especially in this economy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
utctscanr
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You can't go wrong with Sony.
12/4/2008

Customer review by aippers

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by aippers
by aippers

You can't go wrong with Sony. When I was looking for a low cost home theater system I didn't expect to get the performance that I got with this system. The setup was pretty straight forward, and the sound is great. I recommend getting the speaker stands and speaker mounting brackets from walmart as well. They really dress up the installation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aippers
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price for product
2/10/2009

Customer review by shopperforxbox

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by shopperforxbox
by shopperforxbox

I was surprised to find the quality of the product for such a good price. Excellent buy for excellent home theater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopperforxbox
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than the movies!!!
12/10/2008

Customer review by BlessingsfromABOVE

5.0 stars 12/10/2008 by BlessingsfromABOVE
by BlessingsfromABOVE

This product is wonderful. Consumer Reports rates it as being the top home theater system for the price. I will say, however, if you have the opportunity to purchase the next step up, the SONY home theater with the 5 disk DVD player, it might be a good idea to do so, as it is wireless, whereas this one is not. But for the price range, this is an AWESOME home theater system!! I am impressed!! I love watching all of my old DVDs and hearing them in SURROUND SOUND!!!! ROCK ON!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlessingsfromABOVE
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Deal
12/13/2008

Customer review by Magic3333333

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by Magic3333333
by Magic3333333

Like others have said, the Sony HT-DDWG700 is a good deal, probably the best name brand surround sound for the money. ($179.00) Easy to set up, plenty of power, the sound is good. Yes, it does come with the digital coax cable which worked from my Sony Blu-Ray to the Sony HT-DDWG700 but not to my HD-LCD TV, so I used a digital optical cable (not provided) from the TV to the HT-DDWG700. The sub-woofer doesn't plug in to 110v, but it gives off a nice sound too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magic3333333
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sony 5.1 Home theater system
12/11/2008

Customer review by sawdog

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by sawdog
by sawdog

Sounds great and would highly recommend this product to others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sawdog
Blackfoot ,ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Get this system
12/17/2008

Customer review by SonicMarauder

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by SonicMarauder
by SonicMarauder

I can't say enough about the Sony DDWG700 HT system. This is my second one. The first was puchased for the BR, and based on it's outstanding performance there, I bought another to complete the makeover of the system in my LR. Coupled w/ a Sony Bravia LCD TV and a Sony Blu-Ray player, this HT system does a remarkable job. Connectivity is a snap,(even has an iPod dock) setup is straightforward and the sound is awesome. Sony also gives ample speaker cable (pre-wired to each cube) for most standard sized listening areas. I also purchased ($10) the optional digital optical cord for maximum sound quality patched from the HD cable box. It's well worth the modest price tag, and I wouldn't hesitate to purchase this system for any of my HT audio needs. My PC may get one now...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SonicMarauder
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love everything about it
12/17/2008

Customer review by nolesfan4life

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by nolesfan4life
by nolesfan4life

hey people if you looking for a good home theater system for a good price well you found one right here. all playstation 3 owners its a must get the sound is great one of the best hd sound your going to get for this price. i recommend this product to anyone who looking for a fair deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nolesfan4life
clewiston, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MUST BUY
12/21/2008

Customer review by Walks

5.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Walks
by Walks

GREAT SOUND AND GREAT PRICE,EASY SET UP

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walks
Black Hills, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sound, No Distortion
12/25/2008

Customer review by stewart715

5.0 stars 12/25/2008 by stewart715
by stewart715

This unit offers great sound, even at its maximum volume. There is no distortion whatsoever. The speakers are not the cheap light ones you get in some home theater systems, they have some weight to them and each of them produces GREAT sound. The value of this system is unbeatable. For this price, this system beats alot of the systems priced higher (according to Consumer Reports).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stewart715
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceptional Bargain
12/27/2008

Customer review by DocGoodbyte

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by DocGoodbyte
by DocGoodbyte

Unit met expectations. Installed without a hitch but I thoroughly read the manual beforehand. Excellent fidelity but NOT a gamers unit. Gamers usually have more need for BASE which this unit does not have or in my opinion need. The Sub Woofer is NOT amplified and the unit only has two inputs for digital audio which might be a limitation as most have three inputs for digital audio. Great for watching DVD's and DirecTV which is all I have. Built in Tuner seems to pick up both AM and FM from distant sources. No HDMI pass through. VERY HAPPY with purchase, wish I had done this sooner. Doc

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocGoodbyte
Lake Monticello
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sound quality
12/28/2008

Customer review by uzi4u

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by uzi4u
by uzi4u

again sony has out done them selfs with this one the sound quality of the product is of the charts even with the tiny spearks that it comes with and thats saying alot since the set i was use to were pioneer so in short great product & even beter value

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uzi4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks good, sounds good.
1/23/2009

Customer review by GerryGeneric

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by GerryGeneric
by GerryGeneric

The only issue is that the remote control does not easily engage the receiver for some reason. You have to hold it just right and point it just so in order to get it to turn on and off the receiver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GerryGeneric
Topeka, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
9/11/2008

Customer review by jaydi65

5.0 stars 9/11/2008 by jaydi65
by jaydi65

great product perfect for small apt or room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaydi65
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews