Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1697 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1697 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1697 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1342
4 stars
278
3 stars
28
2 stars
16
1 stars
33
1-20 of 1505 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1505 total reviews
1-20 of 1505 reviews
just perfect
1/4/2009

Customer review by saturnjt

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by saturnjt
by saturnjt

I purchased this bed frame a few weeks ago after my existing bed frame broke! I was afraid to purchase this item because I wasn't able to physically see what I was buying so I relied on other reviews to decide. I wasn't home when UPS delivered the package so I went to pick it later that evening. I was surprised to see how small the box was -- (fits in the trunk of my Scion). The bed frame was very easy to setup and my new full size Sealy pillow top mattress fits just perfect! Definitely recommended. **I would not suggest using this bed frame with a thin mattress. My roommate tried his Sultan Hustad mattress from Ikea, and the mattress began to sag** The picture I provided shows just how high the frame is from the floor. I hope this review will help anyone else that wants to purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (236) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saturnjt
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny!
8/7/2009

Customer review by CleverThrift

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by CleverThrift
by CleverThrift

I purchased the queen sized smart base some months ago and it was worth every penny. It actually took me some weeks of revisiting this products page as I looked around at platforms and other bed frames both on line and in stores. But, after all the comparison shopping and considering every review of this product, I finally made the purchase. > Cost was certainly a factor. As were the utility and strength of the frame. The smart base is light weight and portable. It unfolds out of the box with all the legs attached. The tightening of a few struts with wing nuts (supplied) and the dropping in of the center braces is all that needs to be done. The entire assembly took me minutes by myself and was completed without any tools. The two left over pieces that people have written about in some of the reviews are just that. They are extra wing nuts and nothing else. > I am a 200lb muscular guy. My girl friend is a big, active plus size lady. Believe me when I say that this frame is beyond sturdy. It does not move. It does not make noise. As we are using it as a platform, it gives total support to my plush Sealy queen size mattress. My few friends whom have taken a look at my bed assembly have tried it out and are likewise impressed with the frame. > I did wonder about the height of the frame as my girl friend didn't want a bed that was too low and as I dislike high beds. The frame is a true 14" from the top of the frame to floor. Any storage containers have to be lower than 13 inches to slide under the bed. And there is plenty of storage space. Throw on a bed skirt and you've got a beautiful floating island. It has worked out perfectly all around. > I am presently purchasing the brackets for attaching a head and foot board. As the mattress lays atop and does not drop into the frame, over time the mattress does tend to slide across the frame just like it would on a box spring if you sit with pillows propped up against the wall to read each night.

Was this review helpful? (154) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CleverThrift
New York, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth Every Penny
6/24/2009

Customer review by TheDuchessofWI

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by TheDuchessofWI
by TheDuchessofWI

I am not mechanially inlined and was able to put this frame together in under an hour by myself. Most of the time was spent getting the produt out of the box (THey wrap well for shipping). Nothing was damaged all parts were there and the instructins were easy to follow (both pictures and words). The produt itself is so stable and strng it should make traditional frames obsolete. This frame handles a boxspring matress and 500 lbs (me and my hubby) with ot any issues. All parts are steel. Absolutely no plastic. Its really high. No box spring needed at all. With my boxspring the bed is right under the light switch. Plenty of room for storage. Its not attrative so I covered it with a bed skirt. You will not regret buying this product.

Was this review helpful? (148) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheDuchessofWI
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!
9/3/2009

Customer review by ChicagoMa

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by ChicagoMa
by ChicagoMa

Ok, so the room that we wanted this "frame" for is in the "attic". As we all know, it's VERY hard to get beds up some of the stairways to get to the top level. So I was having a difficult time finding a FULL boxspring that is split in half, finally I had found it from a local furniture store, and it was $150- so I was pumped to order it, and then by LUCK I came across this bed frame.."twin/full" and I read the reviews and was like Ok, lets order it and check it out. So I did the "site to store" and went to pick it up just 4 days after I ordered it! (That was the excellant part) and I saw this small box and looked at my husband and said "GOOD LUCK PUTTING THIS TOGETHER!!" and so we brought it home and started getting ready to unpack it, and assemble it, and no joke had the frame together in FIVE minutes! SOO easy!!! (Just a hand full of "butterfly wing nuts" NO tools were needed!!) and then we were soo excited and amazed at the room underneath it we started sticking different things under the bed to see what would fit for the fun of it....Turns out, and 10 gallon rubbermaid fits under there (height wise). a bedroom garbage (height wise), regular rectangle laundry basket. And yes I agree with everyone else, that a bed skirt is needed, but not critical right away...unless you stuff junk under the bed right away! (One thing you have to remember is that there are angle bars under the bed, so some of your storage is limited cuz the bins would hit them, so you loose some of your storage, but that is not a big deal!!! Hope this helps someone or anyone who wants to order this product!!! And honestly slept on it only 1x so far, and it wasn't bad...no back pain this morning!! YAH!

Was this review helpful? (140) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoMa
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Adequate for college dorm room
8/18/2008

Customer review by FairhopeALshopper

4.0 stars 8/18/2008 by FairhopeALshopper
by FairhopeALshopper

I was satisfied with this product. It was a disappointment that it did not attach to the Sauder Brookstone Twin Bookcase Headboard, Dark Alder that I purchased along with it. Each piece stands alone.

Was this review helpful? (92) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FairhopeALshopper
Fairhope, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bargain
10/21/2008

Customer review by ishoponline2

4.0 stars 10/21/2008 by ishoponline2
by ishoponline2

I didn't want to buy a boxspring for health reasons. I liked the idea of something metal. I was influenced by other people's good ratings of this product and I am not disappointed. If you have an old fashioned head board, foot board and side rails that hook together rather than bolt together, you can set the smart base steel bed frame right inside your existing bed and set the mattress on top. Of course you wouldn't need wooden slats. I have posted a picture to demonstrate the set up.

Was this review helpful? (94) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ishoponline2
Brunswick, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth Every Penny!
2/28/2010

Customer review by NewMomAt50

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by NewMomAt50
by NewMomAt50

Let's start out by saying that my husband and I together weigh in around 650 lbs. Also, our mattress is one of those big, huge, thick, HEAVY pillowtop deals that two people can't even pick up. We have been through more than one bed frame as you can imagine. I was always uneasy laying in bed wondering if this turn or that turn would mean hitting the floor. We have been through two in the last couple of years. I was looking at having to buy an expensive platform bed when I ran across this product. It says it will hold 1200 lbs! We have a king size bed so I looked at the queen/king version. After reading the specifications on both, I made several calculations (which I won't bore you with) I decided to buy two of the single frames insead of the one king. Shipping Site to Store for free was a money saver in itself. Set up was a breeze. Quick, fast, and easy. We connected the two frames together with plastic tie strips (easy to find just about anywhere) to keep them from seperating. After we wrestled the mattress on the frame, you could still see the frame on the sides (this was a possibility considering I chose the twins over the king). After another quick calculation, we took the mattress off, turned the frames sideways, and WHALA, perfection! Now the only drawback to this position is your storage area runs long ways instead of sideways. So we just store items we don't need on a regular basis in the far back. I'm sure you are wondering why all this trouble? Because honey, you could drive a truck up on that bed and it ain't going nowhere, lol. We jump around, move around, play, sit on the sides, have the kids wrestling with us and NO MORE FEAR! Very sturdy and economical! Every night I get into bed, I smile, knowing I can relax and enjoy my rest. I will be buying more for both of my children's rooms. Just to let all of you concerned people know, my children are of healthy weight and I go to great lengths to ensure they maintain a healthy eating lifestyle.

Was this review helpful? (64) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewMomAt50
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product!!! Good value!!!!
5/28/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

when our built in wood frame on our sleigh bed broke, we were torn between buying the standard cheap frame and this one. decided on this one because, my husband perfers a higher bed. just picked it up today, and took maybe 5 minutes to assmble! got the bed put back together and tried laying on it, sooo comfy!! we are very satified. definatly made much better than a standard frame. a must have if you have two twin box springs versus one big one. we are very satisfied and would reccomend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy, durable, simple,inexpensive
10/15/2009

Customer review by xxbigkisses

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by xxbigkisses
by xxbigkisses

as perfect as you could get. ive had 2 of these frames for a few months now. i weigh 400 pounds and have the frame on twin instead of full. at first i had it on full and used an air mattress but the mattress became bigger than the frame so i bought the regular mattress. one for me and one for my 2 year old granddaughter. my daughter, age 26, is 300 pound plus woman and she sits on the side of this frame also while i am in bed. so just on one side alone can handle 700+pounds still weight. used nightly as regular bed. 14" off of the floor, you can add your dust ruffle and it fits exactly. storage under bed because its all open. assembling: easy, fast. unfold frame,turn support bars towards holes, screw on the wing nuts, all done. tip: if used as twin frame, you can use duct tape to secure the 2 sides together so not to worry about them spreading apart from regular movement. also: use cardboard between your mattress and this frame(or you can use any other type of padding under your mattress.) when using as a full frame, the bed has separate steel supports that just attach to each frame(placed in the middle). i like this frame because it is simple, durable, useful for being able to store underneath, and rodents cannot get in it as they would if you had a box spring. when adding your mattress to this frame, it makes it a perfect height for adults. i put 2 frames side by side, appearing as if it was a king size bed but my granddaughter sleeps on her side, and i on mine. i also use a 5' guard rail(purchased online at walmart for 32.00)at the end of the bed and later will be placed at the side of the bed when the frames become separate again. AS PERFECT AS YOU COULD GET !

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxbigkisses
portland, maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Ugly but a very, very smart choice
6/26/2009

Customer review by JB86

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by JB86
by JB86

I ordered this bed frame for the Aerus 6 inch memory foam mattress (also purchased through Walmart). It was very easy to take home and assemble. I took it home in the back of a truck but the package would have fit into the backseat of typical four door car. All you need is to slide it out of the box, secure the legs in the proper position and snap the bars in the middle in place... and you're done! The whole process took about twenty minutes. I assembled this frame with another person but I am certain that it would not be a problem doing it on my own. Even with such a thin mattress, I feel that this frame is very supportive. I took another reviewer's advice and put down a long piece of cardboard in the middle under the mattress. This, however, made the bed feel lumpy in the middle. I took out the cardboard and had no problems. I don't have the very distinct feeling of sleeping on something that looks like something out of prison. And, yes, it is quite ugly. However, this problem is easily remedied with a bed skirt. The open space underneath is very generous indeed. I have several Sterilite containers under my bed at the moment. As long as you have a bedskirt handy, you will not regret purchasing this bed frame!

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
11/29/2008

Customer review by Ognid

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by Ognid
by Ognid

Product works great. Made my bed MUCH more comfortable. I like my bed firm and I have no box springs for it. This frame works great. Only problem is that it is metal, so you will probly want to use a bed skirt.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ognid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Base
4/2/2010

Customer review by R8drfan

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by R8drfan
by R8drfan

I am a very large man over 350lb and when I ordered this base I said there is no way it can handle my wieght plus my wifes wieght and the wieght of my mattress without shifting or squeking.I was wrong.All the reviews are right sets up qiuker then it takes to open the box no tools needed. Extremely sturdy no box spring needed when you have a thick mattress the one I have is 13" thick. Liked so much bought one for our spare bedroom. You will not regret this purchase

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
R8drfan
Elk Grove , California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Option to box spring
7/2/2009

Customer review by mahalo2003

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by mahalo2003
by mahalo2003

This bed base is a great option to a standard box spring on bed rails AS LONG AS YOU have a thick mattress. I was using an 5" IKEA foam type mattress and had to upgrade to a thicker mattress. Just the right amount of storage under the bed and once you put on a bedskirt you have a traditional looking bed for a fraction of the price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mahalo2003
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smartbase bed frame installation
12/10/2010

Customer review by AJNshopper

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by AJNshopper
by AJNshopper

Extremely easy to setup. The two main pieces of the bed frame were very easy to carry up the stairs. Assembly is easy and similar to setting up a folding lawn chair. The top of the bed frame once assembled was exactly the height of my previous bedframe and box spring. Used the shipping box on top of the bed frame before putting on the bed skirt as suggested by some of the other reviewers. Will fit 4, 60qt sterilite rolling boxes under the frame. There is no movement in the bed frame or matress when sitting or laying on the bed. Superb product for a superb price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJNshopper
Canton, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Bed Frame Ever!
11/23/2009

Customer review by TonyFtLaudFL

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by TonyFtLaudFL
by TonyFtLaudFL

To whom it may benefit, this is an incredible product considering what bed frames used to be. Compact and extremely easy to assemble. Just unfold each half of the bed frame, extend legs, rotate support arms for legs into position and tighten wingnut. Then connect the two halfs together with the bolt and wingnut at top and bottom of frame. 10mins. What is REALLY NICE, is the abundant storage under the bed frame. AWESOME!!! Not to mention it is very sturdy, easy to move without having to completely disassemble, and not very heavy. Also, I like how the twin frame can expand to fit a full size mattress if need be. No need to buy another bed frame which makes it a great value! Someone's college degree really paid off! YEAH! Thank you, THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TonyFtLaudFL
Lauderhill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of Junk.....Worthless!!
9/12/2009

Customer review by NeedARealBed

1.0 stars 9/12/2009 by NeedARealBed
by NeedARealBed

Okay. so going on the reviews here, I bought this bed frame. Everyone said how wonderful and sturdy it was. I being a big man thought that is what I need. Besides, our box springs were worn out and we didn't need them for this. Well, we order it and ship it site to store. When we go to pick it up, the box is very small and lightweight. That should have been my first clue at the cheap and broke down nature of this product. We get it home and take it out of the box and set up is a breeze, but the thing looks dinky. I mean small. My first reaction to my wife is I don't think this thing is going to hold up. But we put the mattress on it and sleep good that night. The box said this frame is weight rated up to 2000-2200 lbs. We had around 500-600 lbs on it for 4 days. This morning, as I was getting out of bed, it collapsed. 4 days!!! It lasted 4 days. The middle supports broke off. The little grid wires broke. I could understand if it had broken after a while, or if we had put it under a lot of strain. The problem is we got in bed and out to sleep....that's it. We didn't act like it was a trampoline...We slept in it, and it broke 4 days later. Don't be fooled. If it sounds too good to be true, it is. The people on here it works for must be the size of a q-tip, because a large person like me broke it in four days, just sleeping. I would never wish this product on anyone!

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedARealBed
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy the Queen
3/28/2010

Customer review by MyReview1223

1.0 stars 3/28/2010 by MyReview1223
by MyReview1223

The Queen is made Queen/King so the lenght is 2 inches longer than my mattress and I have a new, super expensive, thick mattress! Was disappointed as I don't want to see 2 inces of metal (or my dust ruffle) sticking out from the bottom of my mattress at the end of my bed. I also had a quality concern. The directions said to call them to addres. I did and they never called me back... Returned.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyReview1223
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
9/25/2009

Customer review by DIYer

5.0 stars 9/25/2009 by DIYer
by DIYer

This is the easiest bed frame that I have ever put together. It is very sturdy and provides a very comfortable base to my memory foam mattress. It doesn't squeak or move once assembled. This was a great find and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has a memory foam mattress or wants to add height to their bed. It has plenty of storage space underneath the frame, which I am using to store lots of winter items. The added bonus is that it is compact, so I don't anticipate any struggle when I move again. It will be much easier to move than a regular box spring.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIYer
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good at first, then VERY bad!
4/12/2011

Customer review by 4goobers

1.0 stars 4/12/2011 by 4goobers
by 4goobers

Owned this bed frame for a year now and LOVED it at first. Easy assembly, no box springs required. Its been a year now and the bars that hold up the bed have snapped in multiple places. The welding on the product is HORRIBLE! Now it is super squeaky and not as comfortable because of the squeakiness, as well as less supportive. I would NOT recommend this unless you plan on having it for a very short period of time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4goobers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The other reviewers are right!
5/10/2010

Customer review by Lancastershopper

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by Lancastershopper
by Lancastershopper

I thought I would try this based on the other reviews, and I'm glad I did. It is everything they say and more. Together in five minutes, extremely sturdy and no squeaks! My bedroom is small, so I now have lots of underbed storage. I put a bedskirt on & it looks great. The skirt did make my mattress move a bit, because the fabric was a silky material. Solved that with some rubbermaid shelf liner (the rubber textured kind) between the skirt & mattress. $2 fix. You can't go wrong with this frame.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lancastershopper
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1505 total reviews
1-20 of 1505 reviews