Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1135 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
560
4 stars
377
3 stars
66
2 stars
40
1 stars
92
1-20 of 1046 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1046 total reviews
1-20 of 1046 reviews
Review by Video Production Editor/Videographer
10/3/2008

Customer review by nssvideo

5.0 stars 10/3/2008 by nssvideo
by nssvideo

I have really enjoyed this product. Working in the video production industry I have mostly been around Sony and Panasonic brand electronics. I have always considered Magnavox/Phillips to be low-end consumer brand electronics. This product has proven me wrong. I have tried 2 other DVD-Recorders within the last couple of months one Panasonic and one Sony. They both disappointed me with their lack of features, faulty timer recording, and poor quality digital tuners. This Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder is by far better than both the Sony and Panasonic I owned and returned. I love the menu design and options. The digital tuner is very high quality producing a great 480i/p down-convert picture for SD televisions and the 1080p HDMI up-conversion when watching DVD's is outstanding. I recommend this Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder 95%. My only complaint is the cheep dvd tray, it feels very loose and the motor makes much more noise than I am used to on my Mac Tower Pros and other computer dvd drives.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nssvideo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A Terrific Product
2/4/2010

Customer review by LuckyToOwn

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by LuckyToOwn
by LuckyToOwn

I have had this product about a month now and it is really terrific! PROS: It tends to eliminate the use of DVDs by using the Hard Disk Drive for all the recording. I thought it would be hard to edit out commercials from cable movies, but it works very well. This recorder is very sophisticated and I had to read the manual several times, but it works just like the manual describes. At this point I have used just about every feature offered. If you order it, I'm sure you will like it also. One feature I really like is the remote control. It is laid out very logically. Everything is right where I would have put it. That's hard to say about most remotes. CONS: The only area I am disappointed in is it doesn't offer Closed Captioning on regular recorded, “Cable" or VCR source programs. I have lost some of my hearing, and it helps to have the Closed Captioning turned on. I have also used this recorder to record movies that I have saved on VCR, eliminate the commercials and then burn them to DVD. This is a GREAT Product!

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyToOwn
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great device
3/9/2010

Customer review by bossman53

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by bossman53
by bossman53

The Magnovox 160gb DVR works well, but is not for the non technical. However if you want to save the monthly fees for renting a DVR from the cable co. it is worth learning how to operate this unit. It also has a dvd recorder which is very handy if you have multiple tv's and you want to dub a copy to play in another room or want to share a movie with your friends or family. However be forewarned not all blank DVD's are created equal. Memorex and other 2nd rate brands will not record on this unit. I am using the Verbatim brand, model digital movie DVD-R 8x which works well (bought at Micro Center). However, when recording from HDD to DVD you need to either remove all your scheduled timer programs or set your source input (from the remote) to L-3 (DV-1N) or the DVD will not finalize (you need to finalize the recorded DVD to play in most DVD recorders) The DVR works flawlessly with good video & sound quality and depending on what speed mode you choose you can record over 175 hours of video on its sizable 160 GB hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bossman53
Roslyn,Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy With Purchase
8/8/2009

Customer review by Winfro

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by Winfro
by Winfro

Wow, I had no idea this type of item was on the market, basically a digital version of a VCR but much, much more impressive. The built in digital tuner picked up every digital channel available in my area and the HD channels looks great when using an HDMI cable (not provided) in package. The unit also buffers Live TV so you can pause and rewind Live TV without having to record, that is stuff I thought was only avail with the leased Cable and Sat units. I also love the VSkip feature when watching a recording, jumps right through commercials with a breeze, as well as the Chase play feature which allows you to watch a recording from the beginning while still recording. To sum it up, it is an incredible buy at this price it plays and records great, you just have to make sure you are using proper DVD's as decsribed in the manual. I have no complaints with it at this time, I recommend it to anyone looking to step up to the next level in live TV recording, or to fire the Sat and Cable companies and their leased equipment. Hope this helps in your decision making process, you will not regret this purchase believe me.

Was this review helpful? (132) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winfro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FIRMWARE UPDATE AVAILABLE FOR E19 ERROR
4/19/2010

Customer review by wajo2

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by wajo2
by wajo2
Top 10 contributor

Funai has released a firmware (FW) update for the Mag 2160A with mfg dates in 2009. It is NOT for original 2160's mfg in 2008. This is supposed to fix the E19 error seen when Finalizing DVD discs or Formatting or Erasing RW discs, which you might not even know are NOT Formatted since it's an auto-operation that occurs immediately on loading a NEW RW disc and makes it ready for recording. Here's the Funai Support site with the FW download and instructions: http://funaiservice.com/information/firmware.cfm Here's a help file on the TWO ways to fix the E19 bug: (1) the FW Download mentioned above, and (2) a simple workaround of setting the Mag on L3 (DV) input: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=17340385&postcount=6962 Lots of other help files are here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=940657

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wajo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 10 contributor
Great features for low price
1/8/2010

Customer review by techsandiego

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by techsandiego
by techsandiego

This DVD/DVR is packed with features and so far works great. I connected it with a cable splitter from the wall so that I can record while watching other channels on the TV. I also use it as a second tuner for the PIP on my VIZIO TV. I read many reviews before I bought it and learned about the issues with finalizing DVD and the work around. I also use it to convert VHS and miniDV tapes to DVD's. One good suggestion that I found was: In order to finalize a disc WITHOUT deleting all of your upcoming program timers: 1) - Press the SOURCE button on the remote and choose "L3 (DV) input" 2) - Insert the disc, go to the "Disc Edit Menu" and choose FINALIZE. ------- Notes ------- *** It is NOT necessary to delete your upcoming timer programs with this workaround. *** Do not finalize a disc IF you have an upcoming program to record within the next hour.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techsandiego
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Faulty Unit??
5/7/2009

Customer review by Shroomer

1.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Shroomer
by Shroomer

Just received this recorder yesterday and had problems with it from the start. I recorded some stuff off tv onto a dvd+ r and when I went to finalize it the progress bar would go to 1% and that's as far as it would go. I waited for a few minutes and then got an error-19 code on the screen that said it basically couldn't perform this task. I tried with 2 more dvd+rs and got the same results so I went online and found that this was a pretty common flaw with this model and the only way to get it to finalize is to unplug it for awhile then try again. This worked perfectly but I'm not going to unplug this machine every time it won't finalize. That's very unacceptable! I'm returning this one to Wally World for a refund and will buy another new one of these to see if it has the same problem. I really like the design and features of this dvd recorder and hope the next one is in perfect working condition, I'll review that one when it arrives as well. Oh, by the way it won't record to dvd-rw either.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shroomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great product for recording.
9/3/2009

Customer review by ThriftyShopper2009

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by ThriftyShopper2009
by ThriftyShopper2009

The Magnavox 160GB DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner is a great product. If you have had a Panasonic DMR E85H before this product is a great replacement. It will do evrything the panasonic would do. It does all you could want in a DVD recorder. You can record to the internal hard drive and if you want to keep the recording just copy it to DVD disc. You can edit youre recording to cut out unwanted content such as commercails ect.. You can also copy several shows to disc at one time. You can name youre recordings and save a specific sreen shot as the picture you see for the show list. This recorder will do it all. I love it. Note: It may be a little confusing to some if they havnt had this type of recorder before. But once fimiliar with the product I believe you will love it as well.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThriftyShopper2009
Paducah, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Large Learning Curve
1/5/2010

Customer review by VStarRider

4.0 stars 1/5/2010 by VStarRider
by VStarRider

The first one I received the DVD door would not open. Called Magnavox and they quickly said to return it. The second one I recieved seems to be working fine. I'm a gadget guy but this is a new level of difficulty to master. Manual is only so-so- but it is a difficult machine to teach someone. Big thick manual. For simple recording you should be fine, Unless you already know what dubbing is and means, you'll have a little difficulty mastering this machine. I have a line running from my Directv DVR and I'll use this for making DVDs from home movies. So far, I've been able to record signals coming from my DVR with no problem. You may have more issues recording some content via OTA because my input is RCA cable from the DVR. I do plan on hooking up an OTA antenna just to give me more options. Record well from my camcorder and I'm happy that's all working fine. Give it a shot but plan on spending some time with the manual and making a couple of errors.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VStarRider
Northern Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Unit does not record in HD
9/30/2009

Customer review by goose24

4.0 stars 9/30/2009 by goose24
by goose24

There has been some confusion in the various posts regarding what format this product records in. Page 42 of the manual states that: "All high definition pictures will be down converted to the standard definition pictures when they are recorded on this unit." It further states on pg 45 that "This unit cannot record images as aspect ratio of 16:9. The 16.9 images will be recorded as 4:3." You can still select your playback of the material to be 16:9, but the image will be stretched to some extent to fill it. Either way, the recording is still digital and will look good, it just won't be HD quality so don't set your expectations incorrectly.

Was this review helpful? (122) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goose24
Milwaukee, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Better Than a TIVO and Without a Subscription Fee
3/11/2010

Customer review by TheRealChief

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by TheRealChief
by TheRealChief

Bought this HDD-DVR on Tuesday and it worked right out of the box. It’s fantastic and couldn't be easier to set up and use. You can also get the best of both worlds, if you set it up properly. Let me explain ….. It has a self-contained signal amplifier and splitter, so I connected its coax input direct to the incoming cable and its coax output to our cable box. The coax output from the cable box goes to the coax input for the TV and the RWY audio/video output from the cable box goes into the RWY audio/video input in the back of the HDD-DVR. This means that the HDD-DVR can accept the analog and digital signals direct from the incoming signal (giving me twice the channels that the cable box decodes) PLUS the decoded signals from the cable box. It also means that you can watch one channel while recording another. Brilliant ! Of course you have your choice of connections for the HDD-DVR signal to the TV. I recommend HDMI, but unfortunately this unit only comes with one set of RWY leads. From early experience, I strongly recommend setting up the clock manually rather than accepting the auto setting (pulling the time from a PBS channel). I didn't the first day and the time signal must have been messed up overnight, because next morning the time read 12:08 PM on March 17, 2028 and all my programs had been wiped from the timer. Next day I set the clock manually and everything is working fine now. I love this unit so much, that I'm tempted by buy another one. But first I have to convince my wife !

Was this review helpful? (52) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealChief
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Getting the hang of it...
7/4/2009

Customer review by PghSkier

4.0 stars 7/4/2009 by PghSkier
by PghSkier

I must say that I have loved this DVR and I have been fustrated by it. The HDD works great for recording digital broadcasts - the DVD can be a bit fustrating. I am using this DVR to record over the air digital broadcasts - the digital tuner is fantastic. It is connected to a small antenna in the attic and it programmed all the local TV stations plus others. This exceeded my expectations. The HDD is a breeze to program. It is as easy to use as the VCR that it replaced. I especially love playing back one recording while it records another. Again, exceeds my expectations. Now the DVD recorder. After several 2 hour recordings I became fustrated that several features would not work as described in the manual. I reread the manual several times but it can be vague and confusing to understand. The recordings worked fine but I had difficulty with finalizing a session; splitting titles & using the DVD and HDD simultaneously. I called the Customer Service line for assistance. They were great and very helpful. You can only use specific types of media outlined in the manual. Several brands are listed but I was using a different brand name than listed in the manual. I was also using DVD-R and DVD-RW disks. Customer Service informed me that I should ONLY use those media listed in the manual and specifically DVD+R or DVD+RW. They think my problems stem from using the wrong disks. I have since ordered the correct disks and I will test their theory when the disks arrive. I must add that C.S. provided me a couple pointers not included in the manual. #1-buy a good laser lens cleaner and use it after every 10 hours of DVD use. I guess the lens gets dirty and causes the DVD seek time to slow down. Typical seek time is 4 seconds but a dirty lens will slow it down to 8 seconds! #2-ONLY use +R or +RW disks listed in the manual. Overall I am pleased with the unit. There aren't many DVRs on the market and I would recommend this unit to any 'over-the-air' broadcast users. The digital tuner in this unit is very sensitive.

Was this review helpful? (184) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PghSkier
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOTE: IF YOU HAVE THIS PROBLEM
12/2/2009

Customer review by Rmdws

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Rmdws
by Rmdws

I have been writing, burning, and editing DVD's since DVD's were created. I have owned several DVD Recorders. The Magnavox 160GB DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner is one of the Best Values on the Market for the price. There are a couple of minor problems with the Unit, one involving the clock issue, and the other regarding the finalizing in which you can locate the answers in other posts or on AVS Forum. This is a great product and I highly recommend it. It may take a little time if you are not familiar with a DVD recorder to get to know how to use it fully but it is well worth the price. NOTE: IF YOU ENCOUNTER THIS PROBLEM. The Clock has a setting for AUTO SET. Many posts suggest setting the clock for MANUAL. I suggest turning the AUTO SET to "OFF". There is a problem with the UNIT and the clock issue (the clock will search a TV station to set the correct time each day at noon and midnight which DOES NOT WORK on the units. (and is not neccessary) What will happen is the unit will FREEZE up, the POWER will not come on on the unit. Some posts suggest unplugging the unit and plugging back in. I have read where buyers have returned the units because of this problem (unit will not power back up) and requested refunds, ect. What I have found if this happens to you, UNPLUG the unit. DISCONNECT the INPUT (cable TV input) THEN PLUG THE UNIT BACK IN, and it will power back up just fine. There is a ROGUE signal which comes across the cable trying to set the clock and it will completely lock the unit up. DO NOT RETURN THE UNIT, after you get the unit powered back up, hook back up your INPUT (coaxial if you are on cable T.V.) and go into the setup and turn the AUTO CLOCK setting to OFF. This should cure your problem. As far as recording, as far as a DVR, and as far as DVD burning, I do highly recommend this product, it is the best buy out there for the money. There is a lot of information on AVS forum about this unit if you need to know further information or have questions.

Was this review helpful? (224) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rmdws
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must have if you like to record TV programs
1/28/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After reading all the great reviews about this recorder, I decided to buy one. I had been using a VCR for over 20 years to record my programs so this method was totally new to me. Once I saw how thick the manual was, I felt overwhelmed but I decided to take it one step at a time by following the very detailed and clear step by step instructions in the manual. By using the remote and the manual in the other hand, I practiced doing several operations and am happy to say that I am very pleased with the way this recorder works. I am able to record and watch a different channel at the same time. In some reviews a few others mentioned that this was a problem, but since I connected the DVR using a HDMI cable, it has worked great! The recorded image is very clear, almost like HD and a whole lot better that the recordings made in my VCR. The hard drive has room to record 30 hours of programs on the HD recording mode, (considered the best) More hours if you use a lesser quality recording mode. I set the clock to manual so that it wouldn't reset itself at midnight and at noon and so far it has been keeping great time. Another nice feature is the autostart recording. Every time you turn on the unit, it automatically records the channel you are currently watching. This is nice to have in case you are interrupted by the phone, doorbell, or even anyone while you are watching your program and want to come back later to resume watching where you left off. With a little patience and time, one can learn to use all the functions. This DVR is in many ways similar to programming a VCR, so if you are familiar with VCR's you can quickly learn how to program this.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Riverside, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Love This Machine!!!
11/24/2008

Customer review by EdLovesWalmart

5.0 stars 11/24/2008 by EdLovesWalmart
by EdLovesWalmart

I initially hesitated buying this product after reading the handful of negative reviews submitted by other customers. I should not have waited at all because Walmart has a wonderful return policy. I decided to go ahead and order this machine anyway. When it arrived, it took me about fifteen minutes to set it up including scanning for the TV channels. I did not even have to read the manual. The set up was very easy. After setting the correct date and time, I switched the auto clock reset to manual so that I would not have any problems with the clock resetting itself. I did exactly the same thing with previous VCRs that I owned that had an automatic clock reset. Using this machine is such a joy. It is easy to use. The built in tuner and the recording quality (on both the hard disk drive as well as on DVD) are spectacular. I now watch and record TV through the tuner of this machine. I am extremely happy with this product. I just wish that I hadn't hesitated and had ordered it months ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdLovesWalmart
Burbank, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
3/25/2010

Customer review by Hiker52

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by Hiker52
by Hiker52

This DVR is great. Set up connections is so easy. I have a converter box for my TV. So I ran the coax cable ANT IN/OUT on the dvr then to the converter box ANT IN/OUT then ANT IN on the TV. It works great. The sound and picture are crisp and clear. I set my clock manually instead of Auto and read how to finalize a disk. I copied an old VSH tape onto a blank “Staples Store Brand” DVD+R 8x and it came out great. I have recorded TV programs to the hard drive and watched a DVD movie all at the same time. Playing back recorded TV programs is great you can fly through the commercials in no time. Your really can’t go wrong with this unit. Take some time and read the manual and check out the forums for other information. If you have been thinking about buying this great machine just buy it you really like it. My only problem is I should have bought it sooner. I have no regrets.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hiker52
San Jose California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3 Issues if using HDTV w/cable box
8/16/2009

Customer review by WalmartShopper81562

1.0 stars 8/16/2009 by WalmartShopper81562
by WalmartShopper81562

I consulted the help line several times and got good assistance. However, the following issues cannot be resolved: 1. When using a cable box with an HD TV, the TV image quality is subpar. This is due to the RCA cables used from the cable box to the unit. These produce a lower quality image than if there were an HDMI input that ran from the cable box to the unit. If so, then the image quality would be the same as using the TV with the cable box alone. This unit has HDMI out only; no HDMI in. 2. The TV image (by itself--not using any recording feature) shows up in letter box. I understand that's because of the RCA cables from the cable box to the unit. 3. As some have mentioned, when using a cable box with the unit, you cannot watch one channel and record another. It may be possible to use a splitter on the cable and on the unit to get this ability. However, because of the first two issues, this one doesn't really matter to me. I'm off to return the unit and feeling sadly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper81562
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Get It Before They're Gone!
12/2/2008

Customer review by a1parkranger

5.0 stars 12/2/2008 by a1parkranger
by a1parkranger

If you are looking for a high quality DVD-DVR before we are all forced into the "Blue Ray World" then this is it. Plenty of space to record OTA programs and best of all, this unit has auto-recording so that as soon as your start watching shows via this unit, it will act as a Tivo so that you can pause/reverse etc. ++Easy to use menu/remote ++Tons of storage ++Great 1080 upconvert for all those $5 bargain DVDs that I love to pick up at Walmart! Neg--Cannot record HighDef programming. Seems to me that the Cable/Satellite companies don't want us to have that capability without being tied to a contract of some sort. I live in very rural Texas and can't even get cable so all my programs are OTA via an antenna. PLUS-OTA programming has better high def than cable anyway. With this in mind, this DVR has a pretty decent tuner and picks up digital at over 50miles just fine, just not high def. BTW, this unit is a virtual clone of the Phillips DVR, but out does it with the "auto-record" function.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a1parkranger
Well North of San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good player/recorder
12/2/2008

Customer review by lilcutie13

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by lilcutie13
by lilcutie13

The unit works great. I bought it to record all my shows i enjoy watching all week that I cant watch because I work 2nd shift. It will record up to 180 hours on the HDD. Do yerself a favor and buy a high end splitter for your coax cable so you can watch something while your recording something else. I like the edit feature. Overall works well.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilcutie13
East Stroudsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great player
9/18/2008

Customer review by renee2007

5.0 stars 9/18/2008 by renee2007
by renee2007

I love this machine. Very easy to use. Remote is bigger than most. Some of my other remotes are so small and difficult to read. This is a good one! You plug the cable into it and the other cable into the tv. I do not have digital cable. You do need a TV that has the three AV jacks or a modulator, i think that is what it is called, costs about $20.00 at Walmart. You can record on the HDD while watching a DVD or you can record on the HDD while watching something else you recorded on the HDD. You can then delete programs you have already watched. So easy to use. Programming is easy, you can preset alot of programs. I didn't even need the instructions to do it as it had a picture on the box where to plug the AV plugs (red, yellow and white. I was up and running in less than 5 minutes. You can record something from the HDD to the DVD, can't do anything else while this is going on but you can still watch TV by changing the video setting from the TV remote. Great product for the money. I have other DVR players, this one is my favorite. I am not paying monthly fees for a DVR either. The picture quality and sound are excellent. You can't control the sound from the HDD/DVR remote. At least I don't see any buttons to do that. I didn't care about that. It is also lightweight. I truly love this unit. Very quiet as well. It will shut itself off after recording. You can start watching a program and if you get interupted you can hit pause and start watching again but if you have something preset to record, you will lose it without presetting the recording for 30 or 60 minutes or whatever. I have had it for a few weeks now. It doesn't lose time so far as some units seem to do. If you are looking for an HDD unit, for the money, this is awesome and so easy to set up and use daily!! Excellent value. I was looking for one on Ebay. This one is brand new, shipping much cheaper and I did buy the 3 year warranty. I have had problems with Magnavox products in the past. Buy the warranty as well. With the fall season coming up and being on a medical leave, this has been just wonderful for me. If you are considering it, buy it. I have done so much research, this was the best for the money and shipping was very reasonable. I wanted it so bad, I paid for overnight shipping and got it overnight. Buy it, you will love it!

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
renee2007
Roseville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1046 total reviews
1-20 of 1046 reviews