Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

An Amazing Expirience at an Amazing Price
2/13/2009

Customer review by MrYmmit

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by MrYmmit
by MrYmmit

Gears of war is one of the best games on the Xbox 360. The cover system allows you, as one of the game's key aspects, to take cover behind virtually any surface. There are certain abilities that come with the cover, such as jumping over short walls, and jumping out of cover into the fight, but I won't get into that. The game is fun for every skill level(not young children!! this game is violent, profane, and just plain too mature for any young child, please use discretion if this is for your child! If not at least 13, absolutely not!), from "Casual"(Easy) mode, to "Insane"(VERY hard). There is also play over Xbox LIVE, where players are on 2 teams: COG(Humans) and Locust(Aliens/Enemies), and they must eliminate all members of the opposing team. There is also a Co-Operative mode, where players may play the single-player story as usual, but a second player takes the role of "Dom", the main character's partner. There has been a squeal to this game, Gears of War 2. This game, while very similar to the first, has many improvements on the Gears formula. Essentially Gears 1.5, it adds many features and systems, and a longer story mode, that help make it an even better game. If you want an extremely active online community, though Gears 1's is no slouch, go for Gears 2. Try to play Gears 1 first, if only for the story, because it will make a LOT more sense if you play 1 before 2 (imagine that). If you can, get both. They are both great games deserving of a slot on every gamer's shelf.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrYmmit
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very pleased
3/7/2009

Customer review by kaytoo

5.0 stars 3/7/2009 by kaytoo
by kaytoo

Grandson had been wanting this game for some time but was very expensive in the stores ($60 or more) Found this one here online and the price was fantastic. He was thrilled---plays it constantly. Thanks Wal-Mart for another great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaytoo
Springfield IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
gears of war
9/4/2009

Customer review by capchaos

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by capchaos
by capchaos

i bought this platinum edition for the value.this game is for fans of action shooters with online multiplayer capabilities as well. you will not be dissappointed with this game.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capchaos
oxon hill,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Oh Man!
12/12/2008

Customer review by RyanA

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by RyanA
by RyanA

ok i didnt get it when it first came out, but after playing this game for only 5 hours, i HAVE TO GET THE SECOND ONE! This game is awesome! way better then i thought it was going to be! and its one of the first games that has actually given me cold chills during story mode...The best part about this game, is that if you're playing two person mode, if one of you die, or "go down", the other can revive you. All he has to do is fight his way to where you died at! and press a button and you're back in the game! But if you're a lil "slow in the head" and run full speed into a fight, and you get surrounded(like i did quite a few times) your team mate will have to revive you quite a few times, and it will start to anger him! lol. but yes this is a great game! BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RyanA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome Game!
1/10/2009

Customer review by ncbronco

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by ncbronco
by ncbronco

This is a really, really fun game! It doesn't feel like just another generic shooter game. I've been playing the campaign on co-op and it is awesome! I can wait to play Gears 2

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncbronco
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GEARS OF WAR IS AWESOME!!!!!
11/20/2009

Customer review by redseal

4.0 stars 11/20/2009 by redseal
by redseal

This game is a must have if you don"t owned this game. Also If you love stroyline alot you should get this game to follow to the second gears of war. This game is Great and i have played it so many times a day. Also you can play in a 2 player local split screen campiagn to play with your brother or your friend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redseal
tarentum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a fun and helpful product
7/22/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/22/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this game is very fun and i highly reccomend it to every one who have an xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
chillicothe,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Game
10/26/2008

Customer review by RatedRko89

5.0 stars 10/26/2008 by RatedRko89
by RatedRko89

I got my X-Box 360 Elite last year as a gift and Gears of War was my first game. I heard so much about this game and I was so anxious to play it. This game Exceeded my expectation. The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is awesome with a Good story line. Can't wait for Gears of War 2. This game is a Must Have for anyone who owns an X-Box 360.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RatedRko89
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing action game
7/8/2009

Customer review by Chestnut2

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Chestnut2
by Chestnut2

If you love action games Gears of War is a must play.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chestnut2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsome start toa trilogy
2/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I first started playing Gears of War I started with the second one playing at my sisters house cause I had never heard of it before, after I started playing I got into it and then I played the first one and loved it as well. I think that if you are a true hard core Gears of War fan you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Adog rock xbox live be friend
8/20/2008

Customer review by Adogrock

5.0 stars 8/20/2008 by Adogrock
by Adogrock

this game hade great grapics and has good guns and real good bombs...

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adogrock
las vegas nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best game I've played
9/27/2011

Customer review by Agent52

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Agent52
by Agent52

thank you walmart

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Agent52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
War To Learn
6/22/2010

Customer review by BluRayPlayer

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by BluRayPlayer
by BluRayPlayer

I found this game very difficult to play at first, but of course, it is a War game and that's why it starts out at a very fast paced gameplay. I did enjoy the game after hours when I learned how to played it. If this is your first War Game ever, do not get this title. If you want a realistic War Game, do not get this game. If you want a game that you blow someones head off every five seconds then is not the game you want, because you get blown up faster than you can click the trigger button. Never Played it online.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BluRayPlayer
Clarksville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 100 contributor
12/4/2008

Customer review by voose

3.0 stars 12/4/2008 by voose
by voose

Multiplayer is fun but it's not my type of game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
voose
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Kinda dull
2/17/2009

Customer review by BroliTheLegend

3.0 stars 2/17/2009 by BroliTheLegend
by BroliTheLegend

Wasn't impressed with this game it really isnt all that good. It has some glitches like when you have to push this car sometimes it locks up and wont move and all you can do is restart the checkpoint I read online and others had this problem as well. The game is kinda short and the fight with the final boss is so stupid however it was interesting enough to keep me playing until the end which only took two days. If I could do it all over I would not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BroliTheLegend
PG County MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great game
12/25/2013

Customer review by diesel1

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by diesel1
by diesel1

I bought this for my husband. He loves it . Says it's a great game. A lot of action. It's definitely worth the price too. I'd have bought it if it was the normal Xbox 360 price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diesel1
aliquippa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great extras
2/23/2014

Customer review by lovemylifeinva

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by lovemylifeinva
by lovemylifeinva

Bought new copy for son as he loves the game but he loved the bonuses!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemylifeinva
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.