Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 58 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Recomended by Consumer Reports
3/4/2011

Customer review by HunterforBargains

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by HunterforBargains
by HunterforBargains

This was purchased to replace the old smoke alarm which was a BRK made by First Alert and recommended by the customer service from BRK. The previous smoke alarm was 9 yrs. old and started to give false alarms ceiling mounted. Customer service said that it was only guaranteed for only 5 yrs. well over due. It was easy to install and the hard wire was the same as the old model; nothing to change. I just removed the old bracket (two screws) and installed the new one. Plugged it in and was ready to go. I have to mention that the battery back up is easy to replace but when installing it REVERSE the battery when you see it in the package. The instructions doesn't show or explain how the battery is installed. If the alarm chirps the BATTERY IS IN WRONG! It's smaller than other models and the same size as my old one. It comes with a kit for other smoke alarms kiddie, firex and has the wiring for those models. You can't go WRONG!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HunterforBargains
Watervliet, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Feeling safter now.
9/5/2016

Customer review by SpaOwner

5.0 stars 9/5/2016 by SpaOwner
by SpaOwner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our home had hard-wired smoke and fire alarms installed when we had it built. After 14 years, we had only replaced one alarm. We had the fire department stop by and evaluate our system, and they emphatically suggested that we replace all of them as they seem to be only effective for about 10 years. So, we ordered the replacement First-Alert smoke and fire alarms throughout the house. They were easy to install, fit exactly as the ones being replaced, and all seem to be working well. Tested them all after installation and they will certainly get your attention! Would recommend them for anyone wanting to upgrade their alarm system within their home.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpaOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoke detectors are working without incident.
8/3/2016

Customer review by SantaClaus

4.0 stars 8/3/2016 by SantaClaus
by SantaClaus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had some older units throughout the house and they started to chirp, usually in the middle of the night, for no reason. I did a search to find replacements and of all places Walmart had the detector and the cheapest price. I ordered 8 to replace every one in the house. It took me about 10 minutes per monitor to do. I replaced the hanging bracket because the old was turning yellow from age (but surprisingly they would have worked, they were the same). Now I sleep nights and don't get surprised any more. The only thing I did not like was that the batteries that they came with were not the good ones recommended so I went out and bought 8 new batteries. Problem resolved for a year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SantaClaus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Replacement
1/23/2009

Customer review by SemiHandiman

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by SemiHandiman
by SemiHandiman

I was concerned about compatibility with the plug in connection to my hardwired system. Not only was this the same connector as I had for a BRK 4120SB, but the adapter kit has wire sets to convert for other manufacturers' connectors. I also learned in the process that BRK and First Alert are the same company. Complete replacement took 5 minutes -all the old parts gone and new parts installed and tested.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SemiHandiman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what we needed
11/17/2010

Customer review by GraysMom11

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by GraysMom11
by GraysMom11

We had been looking for replacement smoke detectors to change out all the old ones in the house we just bought. They were the old BRK ones that have the old style 3-prong connection. I had purchased new ones, but they didn't come with the adapters and I would have had to rewire all of the smoke detectors to get any of the new ones to work. I found these online as the only ones advertised as coming with adapters. However the actual smoke detectors as is are the connectors we needed. If we ever needed to replace these new ones with something else, we now have adapters and the pigtails that would easily convert new models to what we have. They've been up for about a week now and I haven't had any false alarms yet. So far I'm happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GraysMom11
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No problem
9/12/2016

Customer review by Wally2or

5.0 stars 9/12/2016 by Wally2or
by Wally2or
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Replaced a 5+ year old of same brand. Only had to change ceiling mount. Easy install to existing system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wally2or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong Picture Not Model SC9120B
5/21/2016

Customer review by SC9120B

1.0 stars 5/21/2016 by SC9120B
by SC9120B

Wrong picture is listed. Double check your Model # before purchasing. The item pictured is SC9120B. The item being sold is not Carbon Monoxide + Smoke alarm Model# SC9120B. This item is a Smoke alarm only Model # SA9120BPCN. I purchased this item to replace existing identical unit, shipped to store, picked up and noticed error just prior to install. Walmart refunded only and cannot exchange because item is not stocked in stores. Waste of time...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SC9120B
Would recommend to a friend? No
hard wired smoke detector
6/14/2016

Customer review by Triton2011

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by Triton2011
by Triton2011
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

finally replaced both detectors originally installed when house built in '86, painless process easy install.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Triton2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
8/24/2016

Customer review by notaplicable

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by notaplicable
by notaplicable
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate

good product easy to install replaced old unit worked perfect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notaplicable
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
Good price for the item I needed
8/22/2016

Customer review by Manny

5.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Manny
by Manny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart had the best price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dead detector
8/12/2016

Customer review by Leo39

1.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Leo39
by Leo39
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

dead detector

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leo39
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fast shipping
6/25/2016

Customer review by JimL57

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by JimL57
by JimL57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works great

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimL57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better test button.
4/18/2016

Customer review by musicmonger

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by musicmonger
by musicmonger

Big upgrade from older model is a well defined test button so when you test it, you are not depressing a portion of the cover. The noticeable con are the indicators have shrunken to pinholes. That's significant since they indicate power and status. Indicators on older version were small enough.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musicmonger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
INEXPENSIVE SAFETY
1/27/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I had a hardwired smoke detector that was 30 years old and not functioning. It was not battery back up. I was looking for a replacement and found this one while wondering the aisles at Walmart. I didn't think they had one. But there it was on a shelf, and battery back up. It was easy to rewire the adapters. Everything I needed came in the package. I used the mount that came with. In about 10 minutes I was done. Tested and working both with the electric on and off. Wire it up right, and you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Annoying Alarm
12/12/2010

Customer review by tennisfann

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by tennisfann
by tennisfann

Bought this alarm because it was cheap. Big mistake. Alarm won't stop chirping every 10 seconds even after re-installing, taking the battery out and putting it back, or resetting. I don't know what else to do! This product is going back soon if I can't get it to stop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tennisfann
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Excellent
7/27/2016

Customer review by Nicole

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Nicole
by Nicole
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband had no trouble installing and they all connected very easily! We also now have our security system connected!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fire alarm
6/4/2016

Customer review by louis

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by louis
by louis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

simple to install, has different hard wire connectors for wired power source, also a 9 volt battery back up, very good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware! Doesn't adapt to ALL Firex G as they say!
2/9/2014

Customer review by AdkFireman

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by AdkFireman
by AdkFireman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They say in the description and specs that it will adapt to all Firex G models as listed. Then you buy it (and you can't just replace one, but have to replace ALL of your units in line) you'll find in small print in one spot it won't adapt to one specific model. No model number, just a picture of the wire harness which is nearly identicle to the one it will work with. Called the company and they know it isn't listed anywhere you'd find it easily. Nothing they will do about it, just go and rewire your entire set! Nice customer service. Truthful specs would help before I bought the group. Same thing about info on replacing just one. They only tell you that all must be replaced in the small print too! If you only try one, all of the units in your house will go off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdkFireman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
10/23/2010

Customer review by Bobsopinion

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by Bobsopinion
by Bobsopinion

Very easy to install. I did not have a plug so I simply wired the one provided, followed the instructions and had it done within 10 minutes. Anyone can do it if they simply use a little common sense and follow the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobsopinion
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
adaptors don't fit
12/30/2010

Customer review by ArizonaArtist

1.0 stars 12/30/2010 by ArizonaArtist
by ArizonaArtist

The adaptors have the right prongs and holes, but the plastic fixture doesn't fit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaArtist
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews