Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 44 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Recomended by Consumer Reports
3/4/2011

Customer review by HunterforBargains

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by HunterforBargains
by HunterforBargains

This was purchased to replace the old smoke alarm which was a BRK made by First Alert and recommended by the customer service from BRK. The previous smoke alarm was 9 yrs. old and started to give false alarms ceiling mounted. Customer service said that it was only guaranteed for only 5 yrs. well over due. It was easy to install and the hard wire was the same as the old model; nothing to change. I just removed the old bracket (two screws) and installed the new one. Plugged it in and was ready to go. I have to mention that the battery back up is easy to replace but when installing it REVERSE the battery when you see it in the package. The instructions doesn't show or explain how the battery is installed. If the alarm chirps the BATTERY IS IN WRONG! It's smaller than other models and the same size as my old one. It comes with a kit for other smoke alarms kiddie, firex and has the wiring for those models. You can't go WRONG!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HunterforBargains
Watervliet, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
11/17/2010

Customer review by GraysMom11

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by GraysMom11
by GraysMom11

We had been looking for replacement smoke detectors to change out all the old ones in the house we just bought. They were the old BRK ones that have the old style 3-prong connection. I had purchased new ones, but they didn't come with the adapters and I would have had to rewire all of the smoke detectors to get any of the new ones to work. I found these online as the only ones advertised as coming with adapters. However the actual smoke detectors as is are the connectors we needed. If we ever needed to replace these new ones with something else, we now have adapters and the pigtails that would easily convert new models to what we have. They've been up for about a week now and I haven't had any false alarms yet. So far I'm happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GraysMom11
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Replacement
1/23/2009

Customer review by SemiHandiman

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by SemiHandiman
by SemiHandiman

I was concerned about compatibility with the plug in connection to my hardwired system. Not only was this the same connector as I had for a BRK 4120SB, but the adapter kit has wire sets to convert for other manufacturers' connectors. I also learned in the process that BRK and First Alert are the same company. Complete replacement took 5 minutes -all the old parts gone and new parts installed and tested.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SemiHandiman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reasonable price good value
12/29/2015

Customer review by cslorax

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by cslorax
by cslorax

Good value works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cslorax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beware! Doesn't adapt to ALL Firex G as they say!
2/9/2014

Customer review by AdkFireman

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by AdkFireman
by AdkFireman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They say in the description and specs that it will adapt to all Firex G models as listed. Then you buy it (and you can't just replace one, but have to replace ALL of your units in line) you'll find in small print in one spot it won't adapt to one specific model. No model number, just a picture of the wire harness which is nearly identicle to the one it will work with. Called the company and they know it isn't listed anywhere you'd find it easily. Nothing they will do about it, just go and rewire your entire set! Nice customer service. Truthful specs would help before I bought the group. Same thing about info on replacing just one. They only tell you that all must be replaced in the small print too! If you only try one, all of the units in your house will go off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdkFireman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
INEXPENSIVE SAFETY
1/27/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I had a hardwired smoke detector that was 30 years old and not functioning. It was not battery back up. I was looking for a replacement and found this one while wondering the aisles at Walmart. I didn't think they had one. But there it was on a shelf, and battery back up. It was easy to rewire the adapters. Everything I needed came in the package. I used the mount that came with. In about 10 minutes I was done. Tested and working both with the electric on and off. Wire it up right, and you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Smoke Detectors
9/21/2015

Customer review by DonE

3.0 stars 9/21/2015 by DonE
by DonE

A little over a year ago (2014) I replaced all my smoke detectors with I believe this model of First Alert. They were very easy to install and I had no problems with them until a few days ago when one began to "chirp" and I realized I had not replaced the batteries as I do every year. Purchased new batteries and installed them. The one that was chirping continued to chirp so I went on-line and found what should have fixed the problem and followed the instruction...several times and it continued to chirp. I switched it out to two other rooms and it is still chirping. Last night when I went to bed low and behold the detector in the bedroom is also chirping and it is very high up and hard for an 80 year old to get to but I will have no choice but to replace those two detectors but will go with a different brand after all these years of using First Alert..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smoke Dector w/Adapters
12/5/2015

Customer review by stitchinsister

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by stitchinsister
by stitchinsister

Local Fire Dept. told me about these (original units that came w/home were useless). I was skeptical but ordered them and so very, very pleased that they connected perfectly using one of the adapters, no problem. They are still "in place" my old ones kept falling from ceiling. Definitely recommend these units.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stitchinsister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Annoying Alarm
12/12/2010

Customer review by tennisfann

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by tennisfann
by tennisfann

Bought this alarm because it was cheap. Big mistake. Alarm won't stop chirping every 10 seconds even after re-installing, taking the battery out and putting it back, or resetting. I don't know what else to do! This product is going back soon if I can't get it to stop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tennisfann
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Good Product
10/23/2010

Customer review by Bobsopinion

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by Bobsopinion
by Bobsopinion

Very easy to install. I did not have a plug so I simply wired the one provided, followed the instructions and had it done within 10 minutes. Anyone can do it if they simply use a little common sense and follow the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobsopinion
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great all around Smoke Detector
12/30/2012

Customer review by jeac

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by jeac
by jeac

The smoke detectors are great! Pretty easy to install for a non DIY homeowner. Connections were easy to match and it comes with a lot of connector parts. One of the smoke detectors came slightly loose and trying to installing it broke the connector and I have to take it back and get another one. I'm happy with the product so far and expect to remain happy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeac
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so good so far
10/25/2015

Customer review by kbfron

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by kbfron
by kbfron

We installed 2 of these (because our others bit the dust). Easy to install, and no problems so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbfron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
adaptors don't fit
12/30/2010

Customer review by ArizonaArtist

1.0 stars 12/30/2010 by ArizonaArtist
by ArizonaArtist

The adaptors have the right prongs and holes, but the plastic fixture doesn't fit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaArtist
Would recommend to a friend? No
great item and easy to install
10/19/2015

Customer review by plano

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by plano
by plano

great item and easy to install

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plano
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
too sensitive
11/5/2011

Customer review by lovetoshopandsave

3.0 stars 11/5/2011 by lovetoshopandsave
by lovetoshopandsave

We purchased these to replace old ones and everytime I cook something in oven they are so sensitive they go off. Its easy to disconnect them but a pain when everytime i cook they do this. I clean my oven and they still go off. I use my fan and still goes off. Maybe they can make ones that aren't so sensitive. I will be searching for different ones soon.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetoshopandsave
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great smoke detector at a great price online
11/5/2010

Customer review by lsullyinABQ

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by lsullyinABQ
by lsullyinABQ

After much online comparison shopping and reading the other Walmart customer reviews we just installed 6 of these smoke alarms to replace ones that were 10 years old and starting to give "false alarms". It took less than 30 minutes to do the job and they work fine as replacements. Although we didn't have to use the extra adapters that come with this alarm because the existing ones matched the new alarms, it would make the job easier than having to hardwire them. I did discover that the exact same alarms at the local Walmart were 5 dollars more each than ordering them online and having them sent free to the local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lsullyinABQ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First Alert
5/30/2009

Customer review by yardshark

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by yardshark
by yardshark

Product was a breeze to install. Tested and functioning. Replaced all our kidd*** smoke alarms. They have been a head ache since we moved in back in 2002 false signals more than normal. Contacted First Alert customer service for additional info before purchase and they answered all my questions and were very nice. I would buy this product again. The only negative I have is Walmart's shipping is too high with their volume they could go with a flat rate. I do not live near a Walmart or I would do a sited to store. This particular model is only sold by Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yardshark
Driggs, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
8/31/2010

Customer review by EatRightforYourType

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by EatRightforYourType
by EatRightforYourType

The smoke detectors were easy enough to install but beware!!! If you test each unit as you install them, you will trigger the "which smoke detector sensed the smoke" chirping. You will have to remove the alarm, remove the battery and press the test button to bleed the residual battery power. Then you will have to reinstall the battery and press the test button for one loud beep to reset. After waiting for 24 hours to make sure it doesn't beep anymore, then you can put it back up on the ceiling. After that they have behaved just fine- so far...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EatRightforYourType
Rock Island, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Purchased 9 (came with adapter kit) from Walmart
11/13/2012

Customer review by QRqq

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by QRqq
by QRqq

Followed the "User's Manual" that came with it. It was a breeze to install. Installed the batteries, make sure to turn the batteries around with +/- terminals facing inside. Per manual tested the batteries, "Pushed and held test button until the alarm sounded: 3 beeps, pause, 3 beeps, pause." Removed the old detector, loosened the two screws that held the old plate and removed it, installed new plate and used the adapter that suited my installation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QRqq
Stafford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Time for replacement
7/28/2015

Customer review by GrannySara

5.0 stars 7/28/2015 by GrannySara
by GrannySara

I had another First Alert for 25 years, and thought it was time for another one. There were no problems switching over to the new one. I feel safe again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrannySara
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews