Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 39 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Excellent Replacement
1/23/2009

Customer review by SemiHandiman

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by SemiHandiman
by SemiHandiman

I was concerned about compatibility with the plug in connection to my hardwired system. Not only was this the same connector as I had for a BRK 4120SB, but the adapter kit has wire sets to convert for other manufacturers' connectors. I also learned in the process that BRK and First Alert are the same company. Complete replacement took 5 minutes -all the old parts gone and new parts installed and tested.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SemiHandiman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
INEXPENSIVE SAFETY
1/27/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I had a hardwired smoke detector that was 30 years old and not functioning. It was not battery back up. I was looking for a replacement and found this one while wondering the aisles at Walmart. I didn't think they had one. But there it was on a shelf, and battery back up. It was easy to rewire the adapters. Everything I needed came in the package. I used the mount that came with. In about 10 minutes I was done. Tested and working both with the electric on and off. Wire it up right, and you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
11/17/2010

Customer review by GraysMom11

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by GraysMom11
by GraysMom11

We had been looking for replacement smoke detectors to change out all the old ones in the house we just bought. They were the old BRK ones that have the old style 3-prong connection. I had purchased new ones, but they didn't come with the adapters and I would have had to rewire all of the smoke detectors to get any of the new ones to work. I found these online as the only ones advertised as coming with adapters. However the actual smoke detectors as is are the connectors we needed. If we ever needed to replace these new ones with something else, we now have adapters and the pigtails that would easily convert new models to what we have. They've been up for about a week now and I haven't had any false alarms yet. So far I'm happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GraysMom11
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
10/23/2010

Customer review by Bobsopinion

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by Bobsopinion
by Bobsopinion

Very easy to install. I did not have a plug so I simply wired the one provided, followed the instructions and had it done within 10 minutes. Anyone can do it if they simply use a little common sense and follow the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobsopinion
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Recomended by Consumer Reports
3/4/2011

Customer review by HunterforBargains

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by HunterforBargains
by HunterforBargains

This was purchased to replace the old smoke alarm which was a BRK made by First Alert and recommended by the customer service from BRK. The previous smoke alarm was 9 yrs. old and started to give false alarms ceiling mounted. Customer service said that it was only guaranteed for only 5 yrs. well over due. It was easy to install and the hard wire was the same as the old model; nothing to change. I just removed the old bracket (two screws) and installed the new one. Plugged it in and was ready to go. I have to mention that the battery back up is easy to replace but when installing it REVERSE the battery when you see it in the package. The instructions doesn't show or explain how the battery is installed. If the alarm chirps the BATTERY IS IN WRONG! It's smaller than other models and the same size as my old one. It comes with a kit for other smoke alarms kiddie, firex and has the wiring for those models. You can't go WRONG!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HunterforBargains
Watervliet, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Annoying Alarm
12/12/2010

Customer review by tennisfann

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by tennisfann
by tennisfann

Bought this alarm because it was cheap. Big mistake. Alarm won't stop chirping every 10 seconds even after re-installing, taking the battery out and putting it back, or resetting. I don't know what else to do! This product is going back soon if I can't get it to stop.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tennisfann
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
adaptors don't fit
12/30/2010

Customer review by ArizonaArtist

1.0 stars 12/30/2010 by ArizonaArtist
by ArizonaArtist

The adaptors have the right prongs and holes, but the plastic fixture doesn't fit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaArtist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beware! Doesn't adapt to ALL Firex G as they say!
2/9/2014

Customer review by AdkFireman

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by AdkFireman
by AdkFireman

They say in the description and specs that it will adapt to all Firex G models as listed. Then you buy it (and you can't just replace one, but have to replace ALL of your units in line) you'll find in small print in one spot it won't adapt to one specific model. No model number, just a picture of the wire harness which is nearly identicle to the one it will work with. Called the company and they know it isn't listed anywhere you'd find it easily. Nothing they will do about it, just go and rewire your entire set! Nice customer service. Truthful specs would help before I bought the group. Same thing about info on replacing just one. They only tell you that all must be replaced in the small print too! If you only try one, all of the units in your house will go off.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdkFireman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
too sensitive
11/5/2011

Customer review by lovetoshopandsave

3.0 stars 11/5/2011 by lovetoshopandsave
by lovetoshopandsave

We purchased these to replace old ones and everytime I cook something in oven they are so sensitive they go off. Its easy to disconnect them but a pain when everytime i cook they do this. I clean my oven and they still go off. I use my fan and still goes off. Maybe they can make ones that aren't so sensitive. I will be searching for different ones soon.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoshopandsave
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Purchased 9 (came with adapter kit) from Walmart
11/13/2012

Customer review by QRqq

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by QRqq
by QRqq

Followed the "User's Manual" that came with it. It was a breeze to install. Installed the batteries, make sure to turn the batteries around with +/- terminals facing inside. Per manual tested the batteries, "Pushed and held test button until the alarm sounded: 3 beeps, pause, 3 beeps, pause." Removed the old detector, loosened the two screws that held the old plate and removed it, installed new plate and used the adapter that suited my installation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QRqq
Stafford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to connect and replace 120v alarms
5/10/2011

Customer review by REBJR

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by REBJR
by REBJR

This alarm is very sensitive and detected more than once simple smoke from a frying pan a distant away and separated by a wall, but did not dectect low levels of tobacco smoke. I love the mute function for these instances - no more circut turn off or fanning to stop the beeping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REBJR
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Alert
5/30/2009

Customer review by yardshark

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by yardshark
by yardshark

Product was a breeze to install. Tested and functioning. Replaced all our kidd*** smoke alarms. They have been a head ache since we moved in back in 2002 false signals more than normal. Contacted First Alert customer service for additional info before purchase and they answered all my questions and were very nice. I would buy this product again. The only negative I have is Walmart's shipping is too high with their volume they could go with a flat rate. I do not live near a Walmart or I would do a sited to store. This particular model is only sold by Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yardshark
Driggs, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great smoke detector at a great price online
11/5/2010

Customer review by lsullyinABQ

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by lsullyinABQ
by lsullyinABQ

After much online comparison shopping and reading the other Walmart customer reviews we just installed 6 of these smoke alarms to replace ones that were 10 years old and starting to give "false alarms". It took less than 30 minutes to do the job and they work fine as replacements. Although we didn't have to use the extra adapters that come with this alarm because the existing ones matched the new alarms, it would make the job easier than having to hardwire them. I did discover that the exact same alarms at the local Walmart were 5 dollars more each than ordering them online and having them sent free to the local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lsullyinABQ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product. Easy install.
12/29/2012

Customer review by CTXl

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by CTXl
by CTXl

Replaced older hard wired alarm with this hard wired model with battery back-up. Easy to install. Cut connector from old unit because the adapter connectors that come with this unit did not match my hard wire connector. Installed, tested and operational in ten minutes. Excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTXl
New Port Richey, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok
10/9/2012

Customer review by MBrenda

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by MBrenda
by MBrenda

didn't screw into old one, so had to tack up with a nail. Sit's a bit funny because of old case. oh well it works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MBrenda
Splendora, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy conversion.
8/4/2014

Customer review by TomND

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by TomND
by TomND

They ship the units with the batteries in backwards (I assume they do this to prevent the battery from unintended discharge).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/31/2010

Customer review by EatRightforYourType

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by EatRightforYourType
by EatRightforYourType

The smoke detectors were easy enough to install but beware!!! If you test each unit as you install them, you will trigger the "which smoke detector sensed the smoke" chirping. You will have to remove the alarm, remove the battery and press the test button to bleed the residual battery power. Then you will have to reinstall the battery and press the test button for one loud beep to reset. After waiting for 24 hours to make sure it doesn't beep anymore, then you can put it back up on the ceiling. After that they have behaved just fine- so far...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EatRightforYourType
Rock Island, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great all around Smoke Detector
12/30/2012

Customer review by jeac

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by jeac
by jeac

The smoke detectors are great! Pretty easy to install for a non DIY homeowner. Connections were easy to match and it comes with a lot of connector parts. One of the smoke detectors came slightly loose and trying to installing it broke the connector and I have to take it back and get another one. I'm happy with the product so far and expect to remain happy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeac
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Read description picture present false ad.
5/16/2014

Customer review by Wrongpic

1.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Wrongpic
by Wrongpic

I wanted a co2 and smoke detector I pick this item since I looked at the picture. Guess I should have read it thoroughly however walmart should have an updated picture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wrongpic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to install smoke detector
4/1/2011

Customer review by bongopiri

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by bongopiri
by bongopiri

The installation was easy ,Following the instructions.However when the installation was done it started to beep.indicating a weak batterie.I replaced the batterie and it continue to beep.I disasembled the unit and notice that the contacts were not touching the batterie.Bend the taps forward and the unit works fine.I plan to buy one more for the basement.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bongopiri
clarksville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews