Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 68 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Excellent unit with great features.
11/7/2012

Customer review by JustRite2

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by JustRite2
by JustRite2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After extensive research I decided to purchase this unit and I’m glad I did. I wanted the following features in my CO Detector, and this unit meets those requirements. It must be AC powered with battery backup, have a digital display, use AA batteries, not the expensive 9 volt, have an AC power cord so the unit can be located away from the AC plug-in if necessary, have a long warranty (7 years) from an established company, and be competitively priced. The only possible negative feature I can see is that the front battery cover is hinged on the bottom. The battery cover retaining latch seems to be rather flimsy, and if it were to break, the battery cover would flip open. The cover hinge should have been placed on the top of the unit or a better latch system used. Hopefully with careful use the latch will not break. It should be noted that the unit has a built in “in-use” timer that will alert the user and disable the unit after 7 years of operation.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustRite2
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useful device
5/23/2016

Customer review by 11cc11

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by 11cc11
by 11cc11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The CO detector is a little larger than I expected, but the design is unobtrusive, so I hardly even notice it. It was very easy to set up and is easy to operate and read. The one problem I encountered was with the outlet I wanted to use. This outlet had the prong holes one above the other, and at first I was concerned that the detector would look funny sideways on the wall. Fortunately, the folks at First Alert had anticipated this Issue, and the power adapter can be flipped 90 degrees so the detector will display horizontally. So far, I'm very pleased with this unit. I only just got this, so I can't comment on its longevity. However, I did check and the date on the package puts the unit at only 4 months old. This is good news as other reviewers have reported getting units that were manufactured 6 years prior to sale leaving only 1 year of life on their units. Fortunately, that was not a problem with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
11cc11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Carbon Monoxide Detector For The Money!
9/15/2010

Customer review by Drianna

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Drianna
by Drianna

This model is recommended by Consumer Reports 2010, and Walmart has the least expensive price out there. Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs into a wall outlet (also has a cord for plug in) and has a battery backup. This product couldn't be easier to use...Plug it in, test, and that's it. Very easy setup!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drianna
Gilbert, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
So Far They're Good
7/31/2016

Customer review by CentralPennsylvania

4.0 stars 7/31/2016 by CentralPennsylvania
by CentralPennsylvania

Been using these for a little more than 7 months. Satisfied so far. It's not the newest model, but it does the job and is configured to best meet our needs. Suggest that you shop around as online merchants' and brick and mortar stores' prices fluctuate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CentralPennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Carbon monoxide detector
7/13/2009

Customer review by Gumbo69

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Gumbo69
by Gumbo69

Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs in to a wall outlet(also has a cord for plug in) and a battery backup. Displays carbon monoxide level when it reaches unsafe level.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gumbo69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Good product!
1/22/2014

Customer review by Ubrales

3.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Ubrales
by Ubrales
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Pleasing design, compact, easy to read display (button has to be depressed). Uses three AA batteries for backup in case of power outage. Cons: The display does not light up when the unit is in use and plugged into an AC outlet. In order to see the display the button has to be depressed. Other thoughts: No means of calibrating the unit in order to confirm that it is operating as designed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ubrales
Midwest US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great portable CO detector for the money
6/27/2011

Customer review by fabbgirl5

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by fabbgirl5
by fabbgirl5

We have used this at home as well as on our boat to check the CO level and make sure that other units we have work correctly, especially on our boat an love the fact that is is power cord as well as battery backup.. Also it shows the CO level which is doesn't talk about when you purchase, but was very happy about!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabbgirl5
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plugged right in and is working great.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Happycns

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Happycns
by Happycns
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like the display and the green on light can be seen in the dark. Feel safer too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycns
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
first alert co615
3/25/2016

Customer review by larry

4.0 stars 3/25/2016 by larry
by larry

Easy to understand and install,seems to be working fine this is the 3rd detector installed in our house in 12 years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
larry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DISAPPOINTED
12/20/2010

Customer review by Chipperdy

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Chipperdy
by Chipperdy

After reading testing reviews from Consumer Reports I figured this to be a decent product. The reason I'm disappointed with the First Alert Plug-In With Battery Backup (CO) Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display is this. I'm a smoker and a home inspector. I am aware that CO detection rates above 35 parts per million (ppm) are considered a health hazard for long term exposure. I have advanced detection equipment for doing home inspections and as a smoker I'm aware that every puff of a cigarette emits about 40 ppm of CO. My issue with the First Alert is that it detects CO from my cigarette smoke and indicates approximate accuracy on its digital display BUT DOES NOT produce an audible alarm. As such I'm disappointed as to how practical it is and therefore give it 3 stars.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chipperdy
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good
5/21/2016

Customer review by Sayd1

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by Sayd1
by Sayd1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to set up. The cord hides away inside if you just want to plug directly in the outlet. It also extends out about 6 feet if you want to place farther away from the power source.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sayd1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
2/1/2016

Customer review by Jane

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Jane
by Jane

This CO detector seems to work well and as promised. It has the necessary features for easy use and comes highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poorly made. did walmart sell me old product?
11/19/2013

Customer review by yonten

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by yonten
by yonten
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

after installing AA batteries, door does not close. called company and they said uniit is now made with 9 volt battery. Walmart sold me an old model?

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yonten
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for expanding your home detection options
1/18/2014

Customer review by Primusaddiction

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Primusaddiction
by Primusaddiction
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good unit, like the versatility of power cable. Cheap plastic battery compartment door. Easily bent or broken if closed hard.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Primusaddiction
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
first alert CO615 carbon monoxide detector
2/9/2016

Customer review by hjay

4.0 stars 2/9/2016 by hjay
by hjay

The unit seems to be well made and functions properly with the test button. The problem I had was when I put the battery's in the door would not stay closed? Small piece of tape solved this

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hjay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
geniune value for the price
12/15/2013

Customer review by bresearch

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by bresearch
by bresearch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched this item before my purchase and found that it had excellent reviews. The price was very competitive. It arrived sooner then expected which was good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bresearch
Chgo IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top Rated
12/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Consumer Reports claims this is the best CO detector of 2010, & Walmart had the best price:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Product
3/7/2016

Customer review by Richvegas

5.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Richvegas
by Richvegas

Name brand and priced right. It's a replacement for the one we had that reached it's end of life.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richvegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pricing at Walmart
2/23/2010

Customer review by wisteriashopper

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by wisteriashopper
by wisteriashopper

We bought this to replace an old unit. This is a very good unit. Walmart had much better pricing than Target or Meijer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wisteriashopper
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in product
3/16/2011

Customer review by PenguinPerson

1.0 stars 3/16/2011 by PenguinPerson
by PenguinPerson

It did not work out of the box. The "bright" digital display was non-existent. The symbol for weak batteries showed up. The batteries I used came with the detector. When tested on a battery tester, they appeared to be fully charged so I assume the unit itself was defective. The battery door that others complained about worked the first time opened and closed it but after that I left it open because I feared it would break if forced. All in all, I was disappointed in the product. I purchased it because it had good reviews but my experience was not satisfactory.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PenguinPerson
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews