Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 57 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Carbon monoxide detector
7/13/2009

Customer review by Gumbo69

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Gumbo69
by Gumbo69

Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs in to a wall outlet(also has a cord for plug in) and a battery backup. Displays carbon monoxide level when it reaches unsafe level.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gumbo69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Excellent Carbon Monoxide Detector For The Money!
9/15/2010

Customer review by Drianna

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Drianna
by Drianna

This model is recommended by Consumer Reports 2010, and Walmart has the least expensive price out there. Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs into a wall outlet (also has a cord for plug in) and has a battery backup. This product couldn't be easier to use...Plug it in, test, and that's it. Very easy setup!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drianna
Gilbert, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good product!
1/22/2014

Customer review by Ubrales

3.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Ubrales
by Ubrales

Pros: Pleasing design, compact, easy to read display (button has to be depressed). Uses three AA batteries for backup in case of power outage. Cons: The display does not light up when the unit is in use and plugged into an AC outlet. In order to see the display the button has to be depressed. Other thoughts: No means of calibrating the unit in order to confirm that it is operating as designed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ubrales
Midwest US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poorly made. did walmart sell me old product?
11/19/2013

Customer review by yonten

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by yonten
by yonten

after installing AA batteries, door does not close. called company and they said uniit is now made with 9 volt battery. Walmart sold me an old model?

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yonten
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top Rated
12/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Consumer Reports claims this is the best CO detector of 2010, & Walmart had the best price:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent unit with great features.
11/7/2012

Customer review by JustRite2

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by JustRite2
by JustRite2

After extensive research I decided to purchase this unit and I’m glad I did. I wanted the following features in my CO Detector, and this unit meets those requirements. It must be AC powered with battery backup, have a digital display, use AA batteries, not the expensive 9 volt, have an AC power cord so the unit can be located away from the AC plug-in if necessary, have a long warranty (7 years) from an established company, and be competitively priced. The only possible negative feature I can see is that the front battery cover is hinged on the bottom. The battery cover retaining latch seems to be rather flimsy, and if it were to break, the battery cover would flip open. The cover hinge should have been placed on the top of the unit or a better latch system used. Hopefully with careful use the latch will not break. It should be noted that the unit has a built in “in-use” timer that will alert the user and disable the unit after 7 years of operation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustRite2
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
geniune value for the price
12/15/2013

Customer review by bresearch

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by bresearch
by bresearch

I researched this item before my purchase and found that it had excellent reviews. The price was very competitive. It arrived sooner then expected which was good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bresearch
Chgo IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pricing at Walmart
2/23/2010

Customer review by wisteriashopper

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by wisteriashopper
by wisteriashopper

We bought this to replace an old unit. This is a very good unit. Walmart had much better pricing than Target or Meijer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wisteriashopper
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Plugged right in and is working great.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Happycns

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Happycns
by Happycns

I really like the display and the green on light can be seen in the dark. Feel safer too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happycns
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep your family safe
1/1/2011

Customer review by TLASR

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by TLASR
by TLASR

It is well worth the cost for keeping my family safe, Everyone that has gas in there homes this is a must. If you love your family as I do mine please pick one up. Happy and safe holidays.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLASR
St Louis, Mo County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great portable CO detector for the money
6/27/2011

Customer review by fabbgirl5

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by fabbgirl5
by fabbgirl5

We have used this at home as well as on our boat to check the CO level and make sure that other units we have work correctly, especially on our boat an love the fact that is is power cord as well as battery backup.. Also it shows the CO level which is doesn't talk about when you purchase, but was very happy about!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fabbgirl5
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DISAPPOINTED
12/20/2010

Customer review by Chipperdy

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Chipperdy
by Chipperdy

After reading testing reviews from Consumer Reports I figured this to be a decent product. The reason I'm disappointed with the First Alert Plug-In With Battery Backup (CO) Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display is this. I'm a smoker and a home inspector. I am aware that CO detection rates above 35 parts per million (ppm) are considered a health hazard for long term exposure. I have advanced detection equipment for doing home inspections and as a smoker I'm aware that every puff of a cigarette emits about 40 ppm of CO. My issue with the First Alert is that it detects CO from my cigarette smoke and indicates approximate accuracy on its digital display BUT DOES NOT produce an audible alarm. As such I'm disappointed as to how practical it is and therefore give it 3 stars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chipperdy
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
3/4/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product couldn't be easier to use...Plug it in and that's it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Herkimer, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
necessary
3/15/2014

Customer review by Kmpaavbdp20

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by Kmpaavbdp20
by Kmpaavbdp20

Great product. I believe everyone should have at least one in their home. Ours is in the babies room and I plan on getting more. Do not put too close to kitchen appliances as they let off low emissions of carbon monoxide. Rather be safe than sorry! Best buy for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kmpaavbdp20
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
3/24/2010

Customer review by birdjc

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by birdjc
by birdjc

This model is recommended by Consumer Reports. And Walmart has the least expensive price out there.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdjc
L.A. County, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product!
2/18/2011

Customer review by 2geezers

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by 2geezers
by 2geezers

This product was very easy to install and it's easy to use. Hopefully we will never have a need to see it work but I am confident it will warn us of any CO danger. Being able to plug it in and also have a battery backup is a real plus.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2geezers
Mason, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
co2 detectors
11/29/2013

Customer review by Nash68

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Nash68
by Nash68

They look good and power up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nash68
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for expanding your home detection options
1/18/2014

Customer review by Primusaddiction

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Primusaddiction
by Primusaddiction

Good unit, like the versatility of power cable. Cheap plastic battery compartment door. Easily bent or broken if closed hard.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Primusaddiction
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed in product
3/16/2011

Customer review by PenguinPerson

1.0 stars 3/16/2011 by PenguinPerson
by PenguinPerson

It did not work out of the box. The "bright" digital display was non-existent. The symbol for weak batteries showed up. The batteries I used came with the detector. When tested on a battery tester, they appeared to be fully charged so I assume the unit itself was defective. The battery door that others complained about worked the first time opened and closed it but after that I left it open because I feared it would break if forced. All in all, I was disappointed in the product. I purchased it because it had good reviews but my experience was not satisfactory.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PenguinPerson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work
11/8/2012

Customer review by GoldenYearsPlus59

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by GoldenYearsPlus59
by GoldenYearsPlus59

I tried new batteries and plugging the unit into several different outlets. I couldn't get this unit to work and will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoldenYearsPlus59
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews