Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 79 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Excellent unit with great features.
11/7/2012

Customer review by JustRite2

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by JustRite2
by JustRite2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After extensive research I decided to purchase this unit and I’m glad I did. I wanted the following features in my CO Detector, and this unit meets those requirements. It must be AC powered with battery backup, have a digital display, use AA batteries, not the expensive 9 volt, have an AC power cord so the unit can be located away from the AC plug-in if necessary, have a long warranty (7 years) from an established company, and be competitively priced. The only possible negative feature I can see is that the front battery cover is hinged on the bottom. The battery cover retaining latch seems to be rather flimsy, and if it were to break, the battery cover would flip open. The cover hinge should have been placed on the top of the unit or a better latch system used. Hopefully with careful use the latch will not break. It should be noted that the unit has a built in “in-use” timer that will alert the user and disable the unit after 7 years of operation.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustRite2
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Carbon Monoxide Detector For The Money!
9/15/2010

Customer review by Drianna

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Drianna
by Drianna

This model is recommended by Consumer Reports 2010, and Walmart has the least expensive price out there. Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs into a wall outlet (also has a cord for plug in) and has a battery backup. This product couldn't be easier to use...Plug it in, test, and that's it. Very easy setup!

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drianna
Gilbert, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Carbon monoxide detector
7/13/2009

Customer review by Gumbo69

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Gumbo69
by Gumbo69

Excellent Carbon monoxide detector for the money, it plugs in to a wall outlet(also has a cord for plug in) and a battery backup. Displays carbon monoxide level when it reaches unsafe level.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gumbo69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Useful device
5/23/2016

Customer review by 11cc11

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by 11cc11
by 11cc11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The CO detector is a little larger than I expected, but the design is unobtrusive, so I hardly even notice it. It was very easy to set up and is easy to operate and read. The one problem I encountered was with the outlet I wanted to use. This outlet had the prong holes one above the other, and at first I was concerned that the detector would look funny sideways on the wall. Fortunately, the folks at First Alert had anticipated this Issue, and the power adapter can be flipped 90 degrees so the detector will display horizontally. So far, I'm very pleased with this unit. I only just got this, so I can't comment on its longevity. However, I did check and the date on the package puts the unit at only 4 months old. This is good news as other reviewers have reported getting units that were manufactured 6 years prior to sale leaving only 1 year of life on their units. Fortunately, that was not a problem with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
11cc11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality for the price
3/8/2017

Customer review by LizR

4.0 stars 3/8/2017 by LizR
by LizR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good Quality for the price, but the meaning of the digital display codes can be tough to understand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product!
1/22/2014

Customer review by Ubrales

3.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Ubrales
by Ubrales
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Pleasing design, compact, easy to read display (button has to be depressed). Uses three AA batteries for backup in case of power outage. Cons: The display does not light up when the unit is in use and plugged into an AC outlet. In order to see the display the button has to be depressed. Other thoughts: No means of calibrating the unit in order to confirm that it is operating as designed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ubrales
Midwest US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as described
12/17/2016

Customer review by katstan43

5.0 stars 12/17/2016 by katstan43
by katstan43
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Peace of mind , works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katstan43
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Carbon Monoxide Detector
12/23/2016

Customer review by Carey

4.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Carey
by Carey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Small and compact. Not used it long enough to give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good reviews
3/11/2017

Customer review by BBHH

5.0 stars 3/11/2017 by BBHH
by BBHH

Research this with good reviews

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBHH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plugged right in and is working great.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Happycns

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Happycns
by Happycns
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like the display and the green on light can be seen in the dark. Feel safer too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycns
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Carbon Monoxide detectors
2/17/2017

Customer review by Kebbler

3.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Kebbler
by Kebbler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these, I have them plugged in, hopefully they will work well. I would have preferred to have some where the digital display is always lite up so you know they are working.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kebbler
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First alert co2 detector
1/21/2017

Customer review by Skeeter

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by Skeeter
by Skeeter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Feel much safer knowing it will always work and don't have to remember to change the batteries.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeeter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Carbon Monoxide Detector
12/23/2016

Customer review by Framara

3.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Framara
by Framara
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I gave only 3 stars because I have not used it for some time, just a few days, also 3 stars apply to the way it connects to an outlet. When connecting the device on a wall outlet, the prongs, due to a bad design make the detector not staying in plugged solidly. I had a First Alert for 10 years and when I plugged it into the wall it was plugged and stayed straight, not wiggling. An electrician told me at one time that anything plugged is safe when it plugs solidly and not wiggling. The prongs may either be too thin or bad designed. I wish the designer would try plugging things on a wall outlet before sending them out for sale. My detector is now15 degrees crooked on the wall due to lose prongs. Franco M

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Framara
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DISAPPOINTED
12/20/2010

Customer review by Chipperdy

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Chipperdy
by Chipperdy

After reading testing reviews from Consumer Reports I figured this to be a decent product. The reason I'm disappointed with the First Alert Plug-In With Battery Backup (CO) Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display is this. I'm a smoker and a home inspector. I am aware that CO detection rates above 35 parts per million (ppm) are considered a health hazard for long term exposure. I have advanced detection equipment for doing home inspections and as a smoker I'm aware that every puff of a cigarette emits about 40 ppm of CO. My issue with the First Alert is that it detects CO from my cigarette smoke and indicates approximate accuracy on its digital display BUT DOES NOT produce an audible alarm. As such I'm disappointed as to how practical it is and therefore give it 3 stars.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chipperdy
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Great portable CO detector for the money
6/27/2011

Customer review by fabbgirl5

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by fabbgirl5
by fabbgirl5

We have used this at home as well as on our boat to check the CO level and make sure that other units we have work correctly, especially on our boat an love the fact that is is power cord as well as battery backup.. Also it shows the CO level which is doesn't talk about when you purchase, but was very happy about!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabbgirl5
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
poorly made. did walmart sell me old product?
11/19/2013

Customer review by yonten

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by yonten
by yonten
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

after installing AA batteries, door does not close. called company and they said uniit is now made with 9 volt battery. Walmart sold me an old model?

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yonten
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for expanding your home detection options
1/18/2014

Customer review by Primusaddiction

3.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Primusaddiction
by Primusaddiction
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good unit, like the versatility of power cable. Cheap plastic battery compartment door. Easily bent or broken if closed hard.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Primusaddiction
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Detector with Digital Display
9/21/2016

Customer review by MrsD

5.0 stars 9/21/2016 by MrsD
by MrsD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered 2 of these to replace 2 old detectors - one a Kitty and the 2nd a First Alert. The Kitty started chirping and I had to find the Instruction Sheet to see what was happening - end of life chirps - there was no digital display. My old First Alert started chirping 2 weeks later and all I had to do was push the "Test Button" and the digital display showed the word "END." There was no guessing what was happening which I feel is extremely important. That is why I chose the First Alert CO615 - it has a Digital Display. The price was good, free shipping to my home, good instructions & very easy to install - it comes with everything you need including the batteries. There is also a 7-year warranty. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert CO 615 Plug-in with Battery Backup
10/27/2016

Customer review by Harry

5.0 stars 10/27/2016 by Harry
by Harry

I purchased three units as replacements for the older models which lasted 7 years. During that time, we had a single incident of CO release caused by a worker in my home who inadvertently activated the remote control for a gas fireplace and did not know how to turn it off. The exhaust flu was closed, so the carbon build up in the room was in excess of safe limits. Fortunately the alarm sounded and I was able to quickly reach the location, open the doors and windows and turn off the gas at the main valve. The combination of 110V and 3V Battery Back-up gives the most protection if the unit are properly installed according to the instructions from the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
geniune value for the price
12/15/2013

Customer review by bresearch

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by bresearch
by bresearch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched this item before my purchase and found that it had excellent reviews. The price was very competitive. It arrived sooner then expected which was good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bresearch
Chgo IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews