Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 82 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Great product!
5/5/2016

Customer review by Deeonwheels

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Deeonwheels
by Deeonwheels

I had one of these carbon monoxide detectors for many years. It suddenly stopped working. It served me well for a long time so I looked for a replacement and found an exact replacement, same make and model, so I'm sure it will serve me well for many years to come also. I love the fact that I can order products on Walmart.com then pick up at the store to save shipping costs and also that "if" I do have to return or exchange something I can just take it back to the store to make my return/exchange without having to "ship" it back to a company. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deeonwheels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed
11/17/2009

Customer review by Troys98

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by Troys98
by Troys98

This product is great for placement exactly where you need it. We had a new gas waterheater installed to replace an existing electric. Being that it is gas I felt the need to have this item installed so that if there ever were a problem with the waterheater we would know. I was able to install it in the room right where I wanted it without having to worry about cord placement, etc. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Troys98
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a very necessary product
3/25/2010

Customer review by theexmichigander

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by theexmichigander
by theexmichigander

it is now a law that you must have a carbon monoxide detector, and if it wasn't you would be very foolish not to have them in your home. it was very easy to install, and it was very helpful that the detector came with the batteries including. it was very easy to shop Walmart Online and will be doing it again

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theexmichigander
Elmira,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great in My Antique Car!
6/22/2009

Customer review by KellydaBelly

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by KellydaBelly
by KellydaBelly

I bought this detector for my antique car which I suspected was getting some exhaust in the cabin. The possibility of carbon monoxide inside the car worried me. Sure enough when we got the car out on the open road the alarm went off! So now we are having a mechanic look into the possibility an an exhaust leak. So this device works and it is a good value.

Was this review helpful? (86) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KellydaBelly
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does as designed
6/30/2016

Customer review by weekendwarriorRV

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by weekendwarriorRV
by weekendwarriorRV

Perfect - plugs into wall outlet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weekendwarriorRV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I was looking for
8/25/2010

Customer review by MrFrugal099

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by MrFrugal099
by MrFrugal099

This is a great carbon monoxide detector-- reasonably priced, great design, not too large or too small. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrFrugal099
Cortland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
CO2 detector
6/26/2016

Customer review by jamest48

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by jamest48
by jamest48
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great price and easy to install

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamest48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price and filled the bill
5/9/2016

Customer review by StillTryingtoWin

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by StillTryingtoWin
by StillTryingtoWin

This is a small, unobtrusive detector. I just purchased two - one for upstairs and one for downstairs. The fit nicely above the thermostats and look like they belong there. We had to put them in when we were having our home appraised. The appraiser accepted them without question so I guess they "fill the bill" for passing state guidelines.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillTryingtoWin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tiny but Mighty
5/5/2011

Customer review by Revel222

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Revel222
by Revel222

If you have a fireplace or gas appliances in your home, you should have this product. I have peace of mind now knowing I have a Carbon Monoxide Detector in the home. Easy to hang. Follow instructions about where to place it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Revel222
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
11/23/2012

Customer review by megatrends

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by megatrends
by megatrends
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with this product and happoy it takes AA batteries, them square 9 volt ones are annoying. The installation was very easy and it came with plastic screw anchors with correct drill bit size info. Also it had a paper stencil to use as a guide for hole spacing. Installed easily, straight and perfectly the first try. Easy peasey lemon squeezy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
megatrends
Lewiston, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad installation instructions and harder to check
12/1/2013

Customer review by OzzieSr

3.0 stars 12/1/2013 by OzzieSr
by OzzieSr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The installation instructions include a statement and a template showing the attachment screws are spaced 2.5" apart. After I made the holes in my wall I realized that they are actually further apart than that (more like 4"). That meant I had to redo one of them to get the alarm onto the wall. This alarm was a replacement for another brand that blinked once a minute to show that it was working. This one does not blink and only shows it is functional after the alarm-test button is pressed. The instructions do not state clearly that after 7 years the alarm is at the end of its life and will not detect CO anymore. Other brands also fail at "end of life" but their instructions make that more obvious (all CO alarms are designed to need replacement after that time).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OzzieSr
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
5/28/2016

Customer review by birdgirl734

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by birdgirl734
by birdgirl734
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does the job just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
birdgirl734
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Almost a Replacement
5/22/2016

Customer review by Charlie

4.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Charlie
by Charlie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The First Alert C400 was purchased to replace one that was about six years old. The new one looked identical online but the mounting dimensions were different, so I had to reset the wall screws (a little wider then the original). Otherwise, the new unit is fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor workmanship
5/6/2016

Customer review by JCguyny

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by JCguyny
by JCguyny

I purchased this unit. Battery unit is poorly designed, battery does not seat properly. Battery cover is hard to open and close. With the battery in place, I pressed the test reset button for testing and the button fell in side. it was either broken or the design is bad that as soon as you try to press it , it comes off and falls down inside the detector. I returned the unit and bought different brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCguyny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Functional
5/16/2016

Customer review by BCK1

3.0 stars 5/16/2016 by BCK1
by BCK1

This is a good basic unit. I purchased three of these for for installation in a summer home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BCK1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Monoxide Detector
2/6/2016

Customer review by Bigkid64801

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Bigkid64801
by Bigkid64801

Purchased this for the garage. Using a propane heater to heat with while I'm working out there.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigkid64801
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What every house needs
10/9/2010

Customer review by Reree

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by Reree
by Reree

very good price for a well brand name.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reree
Baltimore,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
1/11/2011

Customer review by viperman1944

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by viperman1944
by viperman1944

The detector is easy to install and test. It is a great value for the peace of mind it provides.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viperman1944
Mansfield Center, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install and aedquite for the job.
7/14/2011

Customer review by Thorndyke

3.0 stars 7/14/2011 by Thorndyke
by Thorndyke

The First Alert Carbon Monoxide detector comes complete with 2 AA batteries and mounting screws. The instructions have a template so the installer knows where to install the mounting screws. Just, mount the detector on the wall, install the batteries and one is ready to go. It meets the UL requirements.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thorndyke
La Quinta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
did not work properly
12/21/2013

Customer review by BlueMoon123

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by BlueMoon123
by BlueMoon123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The battery would not stay in place rendering the device useless. The only way it works is if you hold the battery in place with your finger--not exactly practical.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueMoon123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews