Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 97 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Failed Consumer Repeat Purchase Criterion
2/16/2016

Customer review by AllThumbs

1.0 stars 2/16/2016 by AllThumbs
by AllThumbs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this CO400 to replace an older CO400. I could have purchased another UL approved unit for half the price but didn't want to drill new holes. First Alert changed the hole pattern anyway!?@

AllThumbs
Suffern,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CO2 Detector
1/30/2017

Customer review by jelpmac

5.0 stars 1/30/2017 by jelpmac
by jelpmac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy, fast installation, test buttons work well, alarm sounds loud and shrill. Batteries and screws/anchors included was a big plus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jelpmac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would have been a five but...
1/25/2017

Customer review by Sparky

4.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Sparky
by Sparky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart was great. I bought this to replace one the same model number. I did not want to add new holes and wanted to use the originals mounting. Well, the batteries are now a 9v and the mounting holes are wider. They should have changed the model number in my opinion. I had to add a hole in the wall to mount it. Otherwise I am satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a very necessary product
3/25/2010

Customer review by theexmichigander

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by theexmichigander
by theexmichigander

it is now a law that you must have a carbon monoxide detector, and if it wasn't you would be very foolish not to have them in your home. it was very easy to install, and it was very helpful that the detector came with the batteries including. it was very easy to shop Walmart Online and will be doing it again

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theexmichigander
Elmira,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great in My Antique Car!
6/22/2009

Customer review by KellydaBelly

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by KellydaBelly
by KellydaBelly

I bought this detector for my antique car which I suspected was getting some exhaust in the cabin. The possibility of carbon monoxide inside the car worried me. Sure enough when we got the car out on the open road the alarm went off! So now we are having a mechanic look into the possibility an an exhaust leak. So this device works and it is a good value.

Was this review helpful? (88) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KellydaBelly
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for
8/25/2010

Customer review by MrFrugal099

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by MrFrugal099
by MrFrugal099

This is a great carbon monoxide detector-- reasonably priced, great design, not too large or too small. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrFrugal099
Cortland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
11/17/2009

Customer review by Troys98

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by Troys98
by Troys98

This product is great for placement exactly where you need it. We had a new gas waterheater installed to replace an existing electric. Being that it is gas I felt the need to have this item installed so that if there ever were a problem with the waterheater we would know. I was able to install it in the room right where I wanted it without having to worry about cord placement, etc. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Troys98
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad installation instructions and harder to check
12/1/2013

Customer review by OzzieSr

3.0 stars 12/1/2013 by OzzieSr
by OzzieSr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The installation instructions include a statement and a template showing the attachment screws are spaced 2.5" apart. After I made the holes in my wall I realized that they are actually further apart than that (more like 4"). That meant I had to redo one of them to get the alarm onto the wall. This alarm was a replacement for another brand that blinked once a minute to show that it was working. This one does not blink and only shows it is functional after the alarm-test button is pressed. The instructions do not state clearly that after 7 years the alarm is at the end of its life and will not detect CO anymore. Other brands also fail at "end of life" but their instructions make that more obvious (all CO alarms are designed to need replacement after that time).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OzzieSr
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to Rate
1/12/2017

Customer review by RC90740

4.0 stars 1/12/2017 by RC90740
by RC90740
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Difficult to rate a device that HOPEFULLY will never be used !!!! They are required by law in California.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RC90740
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
carbon monoxide detector
1/11/2017

Customer review by janiengeorge

5.0 stars 1/11/2017 by janiengeorge
by janiengeorge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everyone should have this, feel safer , thank u!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
janiengeorge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saved my friends life!
1/2/2017

Customer review by Oxgangs1966

5.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Oxgangs1966
by Oxgangs1966

Bought this for my Girlfriend a few months ago. Then after cooking a meal last night, the alarm went off as she sat down to eat. The fire dept and ambulance was called, she was ok, the cooker appliance was shut off and condemned. Landlady will be hearing from the fire dept and my GF. These detectors can save your life, every home should have one. Thank you First Alert!.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oxgangs1966
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tiny but Mighty
5/5/2011

Customer review by Revel222

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Revel222
by Revel222

If you have a fireplace or gas appliances in your home, you should have this product. I have peace of mind now knowing I have a Carbon Monoxide Detector in the home. Easy to hang. Follow instructions about where to place it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Revel222
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
11/23/2012

Customer review by megatrends

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by megatrends
by megatrends
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with this product and happoy it takes AA batteries, them square 9 volt ones are annoying. The installation was very easy and it came with plastic screw anchors with correct drill bit size info. Also it had a paper stencil to use as a guide for hole spacing. Installed easily, straight and perfectly the first try. Easy peasey lemon squeezy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
megatrends
Lewiston, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CO400--Still a good product
9/30/2016

Customer review by CantonOH

5.0 stars 9/30/2016 by CantonOH
by CantonOH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used same product before--old one aged-out, which one has to be aware of due to its ageing circuits which will emit an "age alarm" for replacement.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CantonOH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
5/5/2016

Customer review by Deeonwheels

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Deeonwheels
by Deeonwheels

I had one of these carbon monoxide detectors for many years. It suddenly stopped working. It served me well for a long time so I looked for a replacement and found an exact replacement, same make and model, so I'm sure it will serve me well for many years to come also. I love the fact that I can order products on Walmart.com then pick up at the store to save shipping costs and also that "if" I do have to return or exchange something I can just take it back to the store to make my return/exchange without having to "ship" it back to a company. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deeonwheels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product is a lifesaver.
3/7/2013

Customer review by Senior88

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Senior88
by Senior88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had an older First Alert CO detector, and the alarm was beeping. I changed the battery and this did not solve the problem. I figured the older unit had aged out and needed to be replaced, but I turned off my heating system and opened windows and ventilated the house, I also heated with my wood fireplace in 21 degree weather for 2 days, and immediately bought this CO400 unit. When this alarm went off again after turning on the heating system, I called my heating contractor. The entire furnace had to be replaced as the heat exchanger was full of holes (it looked like a swiss cheese) and was allowing significant CO exhaust fumes into my hot air vents. I could have been killed. I am very happy I put in this new unit immediately.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Senior88
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong batteries!!?!!
12/13/2016

Customer review by WallyWurld

1.0 stars 12/13/2016 by WallyWurld
by WallyWurld

Ordered three units; supposed to have (2) AA batteries; units received have 9Vs. Ugh...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWurld
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what it is described as.
11/27/2016

Customer review by alwaysafriend

3.0 stars 11/27/2016 by alwaysafriend
by alwaysafriend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't know how this works because it hasn't been used because it is an Alarm not Detector. It came with no instructions and no paperwork to return. Package says Carbon Monoxide Alarm, where I selected from days detector.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alwaysafriend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What every house needs
10/9/2010

Customer review by Reree

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by Reree
by Reree

very good price for a well brand name.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reree
Baltimore,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
1/11/2011

Customer review by viperman1944

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by viperman1944
by viperman1944

The detector is easy to install and test. It is a great value for the peace of mind it provides.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viperman1944
Mansfield Center, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews