Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 50 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 46 reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
No hassle
12/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my mother's home. This is the second one I have bought and the last one did last nearly 10 years like advertised. In the long run this is much less expensive than replacing a 9volt battery every 6 months like in most smoke detectors.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
needed smoke alarms for bedrooms to fulfill code requirements. This alarm had a 10 year battery included which means that I should not have to replace it twice a year. Well worth the money
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
5/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good value for money. Very easy to install. Be prepared to throw it away in 10 years. Battery not replaceable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Should be in every home.
5/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great product for anyone who forgets to change the batteries in their smoke detectors.This smoke detector has a battery that will last 10 years...and when I broil steaks and the alarm goes off..I can push the button to shut it off for a whle. I used to stand and fan the old detector.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great fire and smoke detectors
3/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I brought two fire and smoke detectors .the ones I had didn't work. Channel 10 recommended Walmart that was right up my alley price wise And easy to put up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The previous First Alert Smoke detectors had expired and I needed to replace them. WalMart had the best price of the sites I checked. The Smoke Alarms were easy to install. I am glad I ordered the alarms.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert Smoke and Fire Detector
1/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Recently installed 3 of these Smoke Detectors in my home and so far all is fine. They seem to be well made and I really like the fact that they last for 10 years with no battery changes. Another great feature is the testing button which can also be used to turn it off after it is triggered.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very poor life.
8/4/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had to replace two of these units within 1 1/2 years. both times, the fire alarm activates in the middle of the night.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Reasonably priced protection for the family.
11/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I received the product without any problems. The product was exactly as the photo depicted. It was extremely easy to install. One reason I like this product is because of the savings for not having to purchase batteries every year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First alert
11/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is great, not having to change battery for ten years is even better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Frist Alert Smoke Alarm
11/3/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The first ALert smoke Alarms We had lasted for ten years. The date to replace on the back was Nov., 2006. purchased 4. I am very satisfied with Frist Alert because they worked as stated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It was easy to put together
8/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It was easy to snap the battery pack onto the back, all I had to do was line up the Pins , and snap it in! It started working and flashing the light as soon as I snapped it in to indicate it was working, I gave the battery a test to see that it was working , It was certainly loud enough to wake you up in case of a fire, would recommend this to anyone, When the 10 years is up ,simply throw it away the battery cannot be taken out. There is a place inside the battery pack to write down the date you activated the battery. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1st alert-10 year smoke detector.
11/16/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
10 years--great deal-no more batteries!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Smoke detector
9/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to install...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't beat the price!
4/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Before I purchased these I did my research and found that the First Alert Smoke detectors were top notch. Plus, when I installed them I said good bye to those old ones which ate all of those batteries and the headaches of having to replace them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This item was chosen for its First Alert Name
4/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Since this item has a ten year tamperproof and operating warranty, it's hard to tell right away how good it is. But the reputation of First Alert says it will be excellent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to set up
1/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
very easy to put battery in. I used same screws from old smoke detectors. very sensitive to smell though. I keep setting it off with my toast. doesn't beep for very long
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product with NO maintenance needed
4/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Battery life is 10 yrs and it is cheaper than buying one with batteries that have to be replaced every year. 10 yr warranty
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert SA340CN 10- Year Tamperproof
2/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Item work fine for me and I did not ask any one about it before buying it I just bought it and it turned out to be a good buy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert SA340CN - I just installed 7 of them.
1/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
All of the battery operated smoke alarms in my house were 10 years old and in need of replacement. So I ordered and installed 7 of these in my 4 bedroom 3 story condominium. When I received them I noticed that the date of manufacture imprinted on all of them was from 2 years ago (Purchase on 1/2017, but manufactured on 3/2015). Since they come with 10 year lithium batteries and they are guaranteed for 10 years by First Alert, I phoned their customer service and asked them if I should install them or return them for current production models. They told me that they are warranted for the full 10 years from the date of purchase and not from the date of manufacture, and that if they fail before the 10 years from purchase date are up, I can just phone them, and they will replace them ASSUMING I PROVIDE DATED PROOF OF PURCHASE. So make sure you keep and file your dated proof of purchase. Installing them was a breeze, and took just a minute or two for each. Since smoke alarms should be replaced every 10 years any way, buying alarms like these with 10 year batteries is certainly convenient. Combining full alarm installation as recommended (every floor and every bedroom) with a couple of new fire extinguishers is an excellent idea, and one every homeowner should do. One of my neighbor's condominiums went up in flames a couple of years ago, starting from a kitchen grease fire, and the damage totaled many tens of thousands of dollars; and the occupants had to relocate for many months while their condo was rebuilt. They were at home asleep when the fire started, and had they had smoke alarms installed, and one or more fire extinguishers - 99% of the damage would have been eliminated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-