Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 66 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 58 reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Not worth the money
1/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this item in store for 19.99 only to get home and discover it only contained one test. There's plenty of other options that you get a little more for your money. I wouldn't recommend this product based on the value you get. Tests water fine but nothing that it sets it apart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a very useful product
8/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We are on well water and have in the past had to wait weeks to get official state test results. We expect to use one each year from now on. It was very easy to use and understand the results. It confirmed that our water is safe to drink and thus very helpful and relieved my mind about it because last year we had an ecoli problem. Only wish our local Walmart carried the kit, however the service of the site-to-store was excellent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (98)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great water supply test
3/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to use. The only disadvantage and somewhat misleading info is the pesticide and lead test. They tell you whether or not there is traces of these substances and whether or not it is below EPA standards, but it would be nice to know an exact measurement like the other tests in the kit. Otherwise this test kit is ideal for testing whether or not your drinking water supply is safe or not and I plan on purchase another kit in the future for other residences.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
water test kit
7/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
easy straight forward product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great product!
6/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kit met and exceeded my expectations. It is the best water test kit I have ever used for checking water purity. I have a water system which comes right out of a river and it is not clean water. I have a purification system which I rely on to filter clean and purify the water for drinking and cooking and this kit provides the perfect check for that system to ensure it is functioning. The price is great too. I have paid much more for water test kits and did not get a kit as good as this one. It worked very wel and I highly recommend it. I will be using them from now on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great
9/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Of course I don't *actually* know whether these tests work; I'd have to compare them to some other test to know. But it was good to have confidence that my water is safe to drink. It had been tasting funky and we weren't sure. But with the battery of tests included in this kit, you can find out if there are any major problems with your tap water. The tests were fairly easy, and the instructions were straightforward. Just make sure to follow them, as there's no way to make the tests work otherwise!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
probably our own fault
7/22/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Read the directions carefully and look at the diagrams, we got confused and botched one of the tests but the others worked just like the directions said.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lead test DOES NOT WORK
11/7/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The only reason I bought this First Alert Drinking Water Quality Test Kit was to test for lead in my household drinking water. I bought TWO test kits just in case one did not work. NEITHER WORKED. The instructions said to drop two suction-dippers-full of water into the test tube supplied, then add the test strips and wait 10 minutes. The dippers did not suction any more than a few drops of water. The test strips remained unchanged, which the instructions said indicated the test failed. I carefully followed the instructions for each kit, but the suction-dippers did not suction up enough water for the test strips to work. This test kit is a total waste of the purchase price and shipping cost.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK; but not 100%
9/1/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this to test my well water. Hardness and PH value were in the ball park but bacteria test was incorrect. Test came back as positive so I had to pay an additional $27 from a local lab to re-test; the re-test came back negative. OK to get an indicator of your well water hardness and PH level but not for bacteria test.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use test kit
10/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very pleased with the ease of use and variety of water tests available all in one kit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quick and inexpensive check of the drinking water
11/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is not a 400 dollar test but it will let you know if there is trouble. Bacteria test seemed reliable. Clorine test was 100% accurate, Will use again next year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Put my mind at ease
2/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I no longer wonder about the quality of my tap water. The First Alert test kit confirmed that there are minerals in my water that classify it as "hard water". All other tests included in the package were negative. My water is safe to drink. Highlly recommend the test kit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The price was right for the product.
8/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was an easy test to use. I am confident with the results. I will use this name brand again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's good
1/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have no idea how accurate it was, but it did exactly as a said it would, it was easy to use, and the directions were simple to follow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I say dont buy it!
2/19/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First of all, I bought it mainly to test for lead. That test did not work and I did it right. The other tests more or less worked, I guess, but this "test kit" is so cheap that I don't trust it much. It consists of small paper strips, a few powders and a small dropper that is about the size of a straw. All the results except one, are hard to read or determine. The lead test is the worst. They did give me a refund. I am looking for a reliable and better made test. I would pay more for something better. This kit appears to be profit motivated. i.e. cheaply made to get more money
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert Water Test Kit
1/4/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The test results are pretty basic for water quality, they could be a little more detailed. I also wonder about the results I got since the pH reading of 10 I got was way off for drinking water and I know it was not that high.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of money.
7/11/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Test was total garbage wasted a total of 30 dollars including shipping and tax. I had my water tested 4 months ago professionally and this test in NO way reflected any of the results i got. This test stated my PH level was at a normal level, when it wasnt my water is highly acidic and it said it was alkaline (LIES) It also said i had no chlorine in my water (LIES) my water is so chlorinated it smells like a swimming pool. So dont buy this garbage test what a waste of money. I just wanted to see if it worked well it DIDNT LOL.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job
5/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this kit primarily to test for coliform bacteria – the result was negative. Additional tests in the kit included pH, pesticides, lead, chlorine, hardness, and nitrates. The kit was easy to use and provides a quick, inexpensive test for homeowners.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good enough...
1/25/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We used it for my nine-year-old's science project. Mostly good, price seemed a tad high, given we needed to retest water samples. Bacteria test results a bit inconclusive - would be great if it were easier to pour 5-mL (one teaspoon) of water into a 1-cm diameter test vial...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works
5/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
All my water tests came in good, so I wondered if this really worked. I had a back up test done and all is good so I will use it again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640655, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-