Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 47 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
probably our own fault
7/22/2016

Customer review by kskg

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by kskg
by kskg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read the directions carefully and look at the diagrams, we got confused and botched one of the tests but the others worked just like the directions said.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kskg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money.
7/11/2016

Customer review by DissatisfiedDan

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by DissatisfiedDan
by DissatisfiedDan

Test was total garbage wasted a total of 30 dollars including shipping and tax. I had my water tested 4 months ago professionally and this test in NO way reflected any of the results i got. This test stated my PH level was at a normal level, when it wasnt my water is highly acidic and it said it was alkaline (LIES) It also said i had no chlorine in my water (LIES) my water is so chlorinated it smells like a swimming pool. So dont buy this garbage test what a waste of money. I just wanted to see if it worked well it DIDNT LOL.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DissatisfiedDan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quick water test that works
8/12/2016

Customer review by redneck

5.0 stars 8/12/2016 by redneck
by redneck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

buy it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redneck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Water test
6/7/2016

Customer review by Drgnfly50

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Drgnfly50
by Drgnfly50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Needed to review the water in the new house that we just purchased. It was stated as having lead in the water around the area. need to double check. so we ordered this to test it with. met all expectations. Would recommend this to everyone to have your water tested.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drgnfly50
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert is No Alert
5/21/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/21/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in an area where most people have their own water wells and I suspected the recent April 19th flood had contaminated our well. I ordered the First Alert kit thinking it's the best. The test for "germs" takes 48 hours and is either negative or positive. No degree of contamination is discerned. Small print at the bottom of the instructions further state "... a negative indication doesn't necessarily make the water safe to drink." Well what good is the test!? I only did the test for organisms and it resulted in purple which should mean safe. Would any of you want to drink it with a bottom line like First Alert gave!?

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a very useful product
8/2/2010

Customer review by Gladtofindit

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Gladtofindit
by Gladtofindit

We are on well water and have in the past had to wait weeks to get official state test results. We expect to use one each year from now on. It was very easy to use and understand the results. It confirmed that our water is safe to drink and thus very helpful and relieved my mind about it because last year we had an ecoli problem. Only wish our local Walmart carried the kit, however the service of the site-to-store was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (85) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gladtofindit
Farmington, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
A great product!
6/20/2012

Customer review by TheWoodcarver

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by TheWoodcarver
by TheWoodcarver

This kit met and exceeded my expectations. It is the best water test kit I have ever used for checking water purity. I have a water system which comes right out of a river and it is not clean water. I have a purification system which I rely on to filter clean and purify the water for drinking and cooking and this kit provides the perfect check for that system to ensure it is functioning. The price is great too. I have paid much more for water test kits and did not get a kit as good as this one. It worked very wel and I highly recommend it. I will be using them from now on.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheWoodcarver
Freeville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
easy
7/14/2016

Customer review by cubfan

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by cubfan
by cubfan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was easy to use and told us what we wanted to know at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cubfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use test kit
10/16/2011

Customer review by MtnTennessean

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by MtnTennessean
by MtnTennessean

Very pleased with the ease of use and variety of water tests available all in one kit.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtnTennessean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
water test kit
7/1/2010

Customer review by skywarrior

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by skywarrior
by skywarrior

easy straight forward product.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skywarrior
poplar bluff, mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
great water supply test
3/25/2013

Customer review by TCLM

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by TCLM
by TCLM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. The only disadvantage and somewhat misleading info is the pesticide and lead test. They tell you whether or not there is traces of these substances and whether or not it is below EPA standards, but it would be nice to know an exact measurement like the other tests in the kit. Otherwise this test kit is ideal for testing whether or not your drinking water supply is safe or not and I plan on purchase another kit in the future for other residences.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCLM
McBain, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's good
1/17/2014

Customer review by FlSummer

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by FlSummer
by FlSummer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have no idea how accurate it was, but it did exactly as a said it would, it was easy to use, and the directions were simple to follow.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlSummer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lead test DOES NOT WORK
11/7/2012

Customer review by Iwasfooled

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Iwasfooled
by Iwasfooled
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only reason I bought this First Alert Drinking Water Quality Test Kit was to test for lead in my household drinking water. I bought TWO test kits just in case one did not work. NEITHER WORKED. The instructions said to drop two suction-dippers-full of water into the test tube supplied, then add the test strips and wait 10 minutes. The dippers did not suction any more than a few drops of water. The test strips remained unchanged, which the instructions said indicated the test failed. I carefully followed the instructions for each kit, but the suction-dippers did not suction up enough water for the test strips to work. This test kit is a total waste of the purchase price and shipping cost.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iwasfooled
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK; but not 100%
9/1/2012

Customer review by apjr

3.0 stars 9/1/2012 by apjr
by apjr

I purchased this to test my well water. Hardness and PH value were in the ball park but bacteria test was incorrect. Test came back as positive so I had to pay an additional $27 from a local lab to re-test; the re-test came back negative. OK to get an indicator of your well water hardness and PH level but not for bacteria test.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apjr
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Put my mind at ease
2/12/2014

Customer review by baseload

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by baseload
by baseload
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I no longer wonder about the quality of my tap water. The First Alert test kit confirmed that there are minerals in my water that classify it as "hard water". All other tests included in the package were negative. My water is safe to drink. Highlly recommend the test kit.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baseload
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick and inexpensive check of the drinking water
11/30/2012

Customer review by independent2012

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by independent2012
by independent2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is not a 400 dollar test but it will let you know if there is trouble. Bacteria test seemed reliable. Clorine test was 100% accurate, Will use again next year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
independent2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The price was right for the product.
8/10/2011

Customer review by Feathers7

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by Feathers7
by Feathers7

This was an easy test to use. I am confident with the results. I will use this name brand again.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Feathers7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
4/11/2013

Customer review by behealthy99

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by behealthy99
by behealthy99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use water test kit. Results are immediate with no mailing required! Recommend and will buy again for testing of drinking water. Only note is in the lead & pesticide testing, make sure you get the enough correct amount of water and follow the steps correctly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
behealthy99
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great help
6/14/2014

Customer review by zalfie

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by zalfie
by zalfie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since we are on well water it is important to check out what is in the water you drink. These test all came out negative. Relief!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zalfie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works
5/20/2014

Customer review by montanna1948

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by montanna1948
by montanna1948

All my water tests came in good, so I wondered if this really worked. I had a back up test done and all is good so I will use it again!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
montanna1948
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews