Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
It worked for me
1/19/2010

Customer review by JDmom247

5.0 stars by JDmom247

I use this model downstairs. One night another (brand) of carbon monoxide detector went off upstairs in one of the back bedrooms. To be sure it wasnt a false alarm I took this model and rushed upstairs. It took an immediate reading and started sounding off before I could blink. I have had it for about 4 months and not once had a false alarm. When the fire department came they had the same PPM reading as this device. Pretty good product IMO. I have 3 kids and I trust it. Its just a lil on the pricey side (but worth it).I paid about $53 in store

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JDmom247
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very unhelpful product
2/9/2009

Customer review by villager1

1.0 stars by villager1

Can not read the display, very dimly lit. Poor design. Returned it and puchased a Kidde brand Gas detector, much better product, can clearly see the display read out.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
villager1
branford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
So Far....So Good
3/22/2010

Customer review by jamie1972

5.0 stars by jamie1972

I bought this product a couple of weeks ago. We had installed a propane gas log set in the fireplace and I wanted it to detect a possible gas leak if that's ever the case. We do not leave the logs burning while sleeping, so the carbon monoxide detector is just a bonus. It was easy to plug in and mount on the faceplate of the plug. The little screen is easy to read. It has not gone off unless I was testing it....so it's hard to tell if it works. However.....it has not gone off for a false alarm and has not been annoying. Hopefully if we need it to save our lives....it will.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jamie1972
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Monoxide Alarm For A Older Person.
3/10/2014

Customer review by ibmturn

5.0 stars by ibmturn

Very Pleased with the looks and Displays for a older person to have in their home. Excellent made and a very good Value. Meets all of my Expectation.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ibmturn
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
false alarms
10/13/2009

Customer review by rebecca6311

1.0 stars by rebecca6311

I like to cook. Everytime I cook with alcohol it alarms. I guess when the alcohol is cooking off it releases gas into the air and the thing starts going crazy. I'm gonna go get the one that's just carbon monoxide I guess.

Was this review helpful? (11) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rebecca6311
Lakewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Should be great in my ice shanty
3/7/2013

Customer review by 123Donuts

5.0 stars by 123Donuts

This item was purchased after I watched TV segment on blow-ups in ice shanties using propane. Like the saying goes, "better be safe than sorry".

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
123Donuts
Springbrook, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/12/2012

Customer review by tob10

3.0 stars by tob10

digital display is not visible.not sure detector is monitoring air all the time.other reviews have noted same thing.not sure if i want to keep this detector because of this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tob10
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gas Heating with Family Safety
1/5/2015

Customer review by GPRogers

4.0 stars by GPRogers

Having a detector monitoring the spaces heated by gas stoves, fireplaces, etc., is a smart provision for all homeowners. This unit monitors CO (Carbon Monoxide) AND Explosive gas (aka: LP, Propane, Bottled, etc) or Natural gas (aka City Gas, etc)). One shortcoming: there are no test gas samples to confirm the detection readiness. Wouldn't it be great if the fuel suppliers could test these devices with known concentrations of these gasses!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GPRogers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
every home should have one
2/15/2012

Customer review by obarbie

5.0 stars by obarbie

excellent product, i put it in my basement

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
obarbie
hilton ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
1st alert explosive gas & co detector
11/27/2010

Customer review by keykid

5.0 stars by keykid

So far, it's working. Hopefully I won't have to find out differently. The cord from the outlet to the detector could be a lot longer. The description indicates it would be a lot longer, but, it's only about 5 feet. I wanted to hang it taller, but this will work for now. Read the destruction booklet.. it''ll give more info. Overall, I'm glad I got this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
keykid
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/5/2012

Customer review by Sleepy923

5.0 stars by Sleepy923

Installs easily, no apparent operational problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sleepy923
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK for Basic protection
12/3/2013

Customer review by NavyFireboss

3.0 stars by NavyFireboss

Sensors are functional which is the heart of the device, but the housing is made of cheep plastic and mgf outside the USA, which is NOT a plus for me. The door that exopses the batteries is a real piece of bad work. I expected more from First Alert. 1 to 10 rating with 10 being the best it gets a 5.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NavyFireboss
Penna.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to install
1/7/2010

Customer review by tennessee57

5.0 stars by tennessee57

My other detector was out of date. so I purchased this one. Very pleased with it so far

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tennessee57
Collierville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keep explanation of sounds handy
8/30/2013

Customer review by TimberToo

5.0 stars by TimberToo

I say Meets Expectations as Excellent because I hope I Never have to use it! ;)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TimberToo
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by jlw2246

5.0 stars by jlw2246

I like the fact that it detects not only Carbon Monoxide bit Explosive gas

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jlw2246
Johnson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
11/5/2013

Customer review by Cathygee

5.0 stars by Cathygee

I live in an RV and have had trouble with previous detectors. They have all cost a fortune and have been hard-wired into my RV. When they malfunction, there is only a couple of ways to turn them off...cut the wire, or beat them to death with a hammer. This detector plugs in to an electrical outlet, has a battery backup and you can't beat the price! I'm not sure about the durability rating, as I have only had the detector for a couple of weeks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cathygee
Odessa, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks fine
12/28/2008

Customer review by Lake21

4.0 stars by Lake21

It tests okay. Havent' really had it long enough to say how good it will be & hopefully we'll never have to hear it go off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lake21
Delton, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wouldn't work
12/12/2013

Customer review by SatisfiedPhoneUser

1.0 stars by SatisfiedPhoneUser

I installed the battery that came with the unit. After a couple of days I got the chirping sound you get from a low or dead battery. The heating and air technician came a couple days later and I asked him to look at it. He tried three different batteries from a package that hadn't been opened and couldn't get any of them to work. I'd find it hard to believe the whole package of batteries was bad. So, my experience was totally disappointing and I will look for a new unit, but made by a different company.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SatisfiedPhoneUser
Disappointed Buyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My safety is a sure thing.
10/12/2012

Customer review by calicochick

5.0 stars by calicochick

L took a step up with this machine,I actually feel more secure in my home. It is simple to operate Easy to read and I can hear it. Jt is also attractive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
calicochick
Sparta, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must needed product
12/9/2010

Customer review by Annabellmae

5.0 stars by Annabellmae

The product works great, a must need if you have gas appliances.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Annabellmae
Battle Creek MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews