Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-15 of 15 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Impressed
10/5/2009

Customer review by oildriller

5.0 stars 10/5/2009 by oildriller
by oildriller

The generator came packaged very well, one hour to assemble wheels & handles. Two washers needed on wheels was not in hardware package, very minor issue. Started on first pull, ran great. This is not the loudest generator I've used nor the most quite, it comes in at a resonable level however. 30amp cord included in package is a hundred value in itself. I researched this generator on the web extensively, it seems to be every thing advertised & Walmart has the best deal-both pricing & free shipping.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oildriller
Fort Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good package
3/17/2009

Customer review by NEtoolman

4.0 stars 3/17/2009 by NEtoolman
by NEtoolman

Found this generator somewhat hard to start: many pulls and changes to choke,etc. Nice features: oil sensor, gas gauge, etc. as well as includes a heavy cord for multiple 120v devices. Seems to provide pretty clean AC power.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEtoolman
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It will light Your World!
12/14/2010

Customer review by Smokey67

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Smokey67
by Smokey67

I unboxd this generator, and all the instructons were clear and all of the parts were there. My brother and I put the wheels and handles on it in about an hour. It would have gone much faster, but I did not have all of the metric wrench sizes that were needed. Because of the low temperatures that I would normally be running this product in, I decided to purchase the synthetic 5w-30 motor oil as recommended in the owners manual instead of using the oil that shipped with the unit. After installing the oil and attaching a ground line to a grounding stake, I put in a gallon of gasoline. It started on the second pull. It was actually quieter than I expected. I had researched many, many different generators over a period of almost 2 years. I believe I made the best choice for my needs, to provide emergency power for my central heat, some lights, TV, Freezer, and refrigerator. I am very happy with this purchase, and would highly recommed it to anyone that needs temporary power. My brother was very impressed and will be purchasing this unit for his home very soon.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smokey67
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A very happy camper!
2/18/2009

Customer review by CampingLunatic

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by CampingLunatic
by CampingLunatic

I just purchased the hw5500 generator and it looks and works great! The only problem was that when I opened the box up, the bottle of oil had leaked all over inside the box during shipping. What a mess! Other than that little incident, it went together very easily and started up on the second pull. It'll run everything in my camper, including the full size refrigerator and even the central air!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampingLunatic
Boardman, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Hurricane Help
1/10/2009

Customer review by TXEngineer

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by TXEngineer
by TXEngineer

Relatively easy to put together. Easy to operate and very quiet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXEngineer
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Remarkably Quiet
7/19/2009

Customer review by slj3458

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by slj3458
by slj3458

Started immediately, found its groove quickly, and ran more quietly than I thought possible. The surge rating of 6875 watts made it the winner amongst all others in its class.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slj3458
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1/5/2009

Customer review by lightson

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by lightson
by lightson

I would recommend this for anyone who is in need of a generator,looks nice runs good,the only thing that i dislike on it are the wheels they are plastic,i think that rubber would be better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lightson
Rockingham Vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Under rated generator
12/7/2009

Customer review by Airtim

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by Airtim
by Airtim

I bought this generator for emergency power and was expecting it to run just the heat (forced hot air),well pump and refigerator. This generator ran all of the above at the same time and everything in the house. With every thing running it was putting out continuously 238V/24.7A when the well pump turned on it surged 233V/28.4A (approximately 5880/6620 watts!) saying I am happy with this generator would be an understatement.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airtim
Amhest,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Generator at Walmart price plus return policy!
7/31/2010

Customer review by ImVeryPleased

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by ImVeryPleased
by ImVeryPleased

Product was in perfect condition. Took my time to assemble (about an hour). Started on the very first pull. Runs perfect. The included power cord is a real added value, it provides four 110 power outlets on a very heavy gauge wire. No problems here! I especially liked buying this from Walmart because if I was not pleased or had any problem - Walmart's item return cannot be beat! Used the free shipping to my local store. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImVeryPleased
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good product for the price
4/8/2010

Customer review by m32wizard

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by m32wizard
by m32wizard

overall a very good product. It has all the wattage I need to do all I want. I purchased it due to the fact of the ice storm of 08' and then the wind storm of 2010 when we lost power. I did a lot of research on different generators and this one I kept going to look at. The price is also very reasonable for the size of the generator.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
m32wizard
Dover, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great generator
3/31/2011

Customer review by LarsonBoater

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by LarsonBoater
by LarsonBoater

Spent 20 minutes attaching the wheels and handles, added the oil, added gas, followed the starting instructions, and it started right up on the first pull. It was a little louder than I expected, but not too bad, plus it was on the inside edge of my garage which could have made it seem louder. I love that it came with an extension cord that plugs into the round plug on the generator and the extension has four outlets on it. Combined with the four standard 110 outlets on the face of the generator, that is 8 usable outlets. Great! My wife is also easily able to start the generator, and there is an instruction placard right on the top of the generator which shows the exact steps to start it. I would definitely recommend this as an excellent backup source of power. We bought it to power our sump pump, gas furnace (heat in winter), and the refrigerator, and to have a little power left over for lights and a TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LarsonBoater
Ipswich, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
best buy for the money when considering features
6/15/2012

Customer review by Trustmyeyes

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Trustmyeyes
by Trustmyeyes

Brought the generator home and assembled it in about 25 minutes although I have read some people have taken over a hour, guess it depends on how many times a person has pre-assembled furniture. The box included a really heavy duty 4 receptacle extension cable which allows for 8 plug-ins total considering the other four on the face of the generator. I like that the start stop switch is on the face control panel instead of on the side of the engine like many generators and it is a large rocker type switch. The wheel kit uses solid rubber tires so that their is no hassle with the problem of a deflated tire. Unlike many portable generators of this size the frame sits up at least 3 inches off of the ground for good clearance and has rubber feet on the front legs. This generator has a metal 6.5 gallon tank verses plastic and unlike most generators of this size incorporates a separate frame over the top of the tank to help prevent damage to the tank should something fall on it or something need stored on top of the generator . I like that the fuel shut off is located for easy access and the tank has a built in fuel gauge although sometimes these leak after the gasket has aged or becomes loose. The muffler is well built and the generator noise level is quieter ( 74 decibels) than many generators I have had of this engine size. The muffler also incorporates a spark arrest which is a nice safety feature. The generator started up on the second pull the first time I put fuel in it which is unusual and usually started the first pull thereafter depending on how many days between the last start. The most important feature of this generator besides the sturdy build in that this generator head has a built in AVR circuit ( AUTOMATIC VOLTAGE REGULATOR) unlike most generators of this that regulates and keeps the voltage at the set level and highly reduces fluctuations than can/do cause damage to sensitive electronics. I can use my Tv and other electronic items without the worry or need for additional filter equipment. The only drawback of having a AVR circuit board/module built into the generator head is that sometimes these burn out/fail and can make the generator less dependable in a crunch but otherwise many people never experience a AVR component failure. Another MAJOR advantage of this generator is that the generator head uses a brush-less design unlike many generators of this size on the market. I understand that a brushless generator has many advantages such as a better voltage sine-wave form (cleaner AC ) and no brushes to wear out and replace after a certain number of hours of operation to include pitting damage which decreases dependability/operation over time. I have learned that other similar models do use a brush type design and is why I chose this specific model. The motor has a cast iron sleeve for better wear and repairablity should you need to have the engine compression restored to original specs after extended usage/wear. the motor incorporates a low oil level shut down sensor which can prevent engine burnout if an oil issue occurs. I have put 300 hours on this generator and it has performed flawlessly, I ran this generator once for 10 days straight without turning it off as I refueled on the fly which of course can be a safety concern. Like any other product of quality build I read that some have issues, which has happened with me with even my so called top of the line generators.. it's all about averages I believe. For the price this generator stands out above most in the 5500 watt range of generators on the market and for that I am please with mine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trustmyeyes
vandalia il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Performer
3/18/2011

Customer review by goldmanhank

5.0 stars 3/18/2011 by goldmanhank
by goldmanhank

Only thing , you need to pick up a 30 amp,5 prong to 30 amp,3 femail plug to run your 30 amp or 50 amp RV hook up, the 30 amp cord sent with unit will not run your Air conditioner, need the 220 to do that. once I connected the short 30 to 30 WOW worked like a charm, around $40.00 for that cord. about 12`` long, only a spurt up charg. when I flip on the Air. am real happy camper SOooo far. :) Can`t beat the price, I checked all others, saved from $100.00- $200 , over others you know who.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldmanhank
Desert out of Yuma AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Honeywell 5500
2/22/2009

Customer review by Dirt09

4.0 stars 2/22/2009 by Dirt09
by Dirt09

The generator looks nice, does what it is intended to do but I wish it was quieter and as one other reveiwer had said it needs rubber inflated wheels not the plastic ones it comes with. I would recommend the electric start model the pull start is tough especially when it's cold.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dirt09
Bridgewater, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
solid generator
12/17/2009

Customer review by bazark

4.0 stars 12/17/2009 by bazark
by bazark

Seems to be a good solid generator. Brought mine home and it started on the second pull. The gas tank drain system could be better designed......it allows gasoline to drip down on the flywheel. I disconnet the fuel line at the valve and attach a piece of car windshield wiper hose to let the leftover gasoline drain into a can. This machine supplys plenty of wattage for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bazark
eufaula, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year