Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-8 of 8 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Wait to buy this product
9/14/2009

Customer review by LewA

1.0 stars 9/14/2009 by LewA
by LewA

I just purchased this product for inclusion in a disaster readiness kit. The chemical packets that come with the kit have a shelf life of three years. The current stock has less than 1 year left on that shelf life (Aug 2010). I contacted the company in an attempt to get replacement packets. The kits are not manufactured continually. It appears they only make them when the current stock expires. If you want to buy this kit for emergency preparedness, wait until September 2010 before buying it. At that time, P&G will have replaced the current stock on hand with new product that will have the expected 3 year shelf life. If you plan to use this product immediately (or in the near future) then my criticism does not apply.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LewA
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC!!
1/6/2011

Customer review by longpaddler

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by longpaddler
by longpaddler

This is the best product in the world for filtering water...especially larger quantities. I've been wilderness canoeing in the northcountry for 30 some years and one of the issues has always been getting enough clean water to drink. I've gone thru pumps, filters, chemicals and they all quit working, clog up, taste horrible and produce small amounts of water. This product makes 2.5 gallons of fresh water in about 7 minutes..enough for a group of 4 campers for an entire day. Great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
longpaddler
Fairfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
7/20/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/20/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an amazing product. I was amazed at the price it was offered here to. The only dissapointing thing was that the expiration date for the item was all ready half way through it's three year life span. But other then that no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product, a little bulky
7/29/2011

Customer review by Blazinkuo

4.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Blazinkuo
by Blazinkuo

I thought the product works well. I did find it to be a little bulky. If you are camping or hiking, the kit has 2 very large plastic containers, a large ruler length stir stick, and several smaller pieces (chemical packets, the straining cloth & a plastic cutter). The large containers do press down but are still about 12 x 12 x 6 approx when folded down for travel. The chemical packet does exactly what it says. We were in Algoquin Provincial Park (Ontario, Canada) where the lake water is actually pretty clean. It had a slight yellow color to it but was clear enough you can see through it. After collecting water, using packet, the water was crystal clear. It was amazing. The film on the bottom is a red color that you must strain out of the water. I found this part the hardest. The kit gives you 2 containers, one for collecting water & mixing, the other to put the fresh water into, but it is a very slow process of pouring the water from one container to the other with a cheese cloth in between. The water does have a chlorine type taste as with most water purifying systems meant for this purpose. If you can deal with the color of the water being yellow, I actually liked boiling the water better, less chemical taste. But the product works exactly as described so I am not complaining. It was also inexpensive. My overall recommendation would be to get the smaller tablets if you are camping/backpacking/hiking, etc. But this kit is great for an emergency disaster kit. It would provide lots of water for a household in that type of situation where mobility is not as important and boiling water may not be an option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blazinkuo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
PUR water purifier
6/2/2010

Customer review by 3lpigs

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by 3lpigs
by 3lpigs

Great system. Not only removes bacterial but sediment in the water. A bit pricey but worth having one on hand for emergencies - floods, snowstorms, hurricanes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3lpigs
Ingleside, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Disappointment
9/18/2009

Customer review by PropertyMgr

3.0 stars 9/18/2009 by PropertyMgr
by PropertyMgr

I'm disappointed in the product because it requires a packet of special flocking agent you pour into the water to attract the bad stuff and then filter that out. I thought this would be like other PUR filters where you can use it again and again, but the product is only supplied with three packets. So, you can use it three times, and then you're out of business. There may be a way to order other packets, but it's not readily apparent, and who wants to be bothered with figuring out where to find them. It's not like going to the grocery story to get your new PUR replacement cartridge.

Was this review helpful? (6) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PropertyMgr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
10/25/2010

Customer review by sosororo

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by sosororo
by sosororo

This is a hard to find item even online. The cost is very good especially for an emergency such as a broken water main. If you do not have or run out of bottled water there is at times water available out of public spickets but I would not trust them. I would still be careful as to using it for water you are told not to use out of your spicket even though these kits are said to work under these circumstances.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sosororo
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Wonderful system
4/12/2010

Customer review by UnitedAlaska

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by UnitedAlaska
by UnitedAlaska

Yes, it takes alittle time and work, but for camping and hiking, I would choose nothing else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnitedAlaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes