Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

212 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

212 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 189 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Excellent camping toilet
5/18/2016

Customer review by Jvazquez

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Jvazquez
by Jvazquez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exceeded my expectations

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jvazquez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!
5/25/2016

Customer review by scoobydoovan

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by scoobydoovan
by scoobydoovan

I was gonna buy the just the bucket with a toilet seat for half the price but went for this one instead due to the carrying outer shell and toilet paper holder. It is sturdy and the roundness of the outer shell gives it more stability then just the bucket itself. Inside it does have the bucket with the handle to remove and wash. I line the inner bucket like people says with a trash bag and double it up for reassurance, pour kitty litter in it ( Johnny's Scented Kitty Liter is the best and the scent is nice and mask odor very well!). The toilet paper holder doesn't have the tube that goes thru it to roll but somehow it does well rolling without it. I found one of those folderable storage ottoman box that also is a seat at Ross/marshall or even on here that was 16x16x16 inches and fit this toilet inside as a hideaway in my van and no one knows it's there! It is an excellent product to have when you are out and on the go and need to really go! Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scoobydoovan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect and simple!!!
5/18/2016

Customer review by Linds

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Linds
by Linds

I live in an older camper trailer, which I bought used and remains stationary. The black water holding tank is no longer holding, and I needed something to tide me over until I can get it repaired or find a replacement tank that will fit. I have used many type of portable toilets over the years including the flushing type. I decided to give this a try after reading MANY reviews from different outlets who sell the product and I am completely satisfied. It is much easier to use . than the flushing potties which require constant cleaning and are bulkier.. I tried the cat litter and bag method and it really is a snap. I find it comfortable and I am at least 175 lbs. Once I have my toilet situation addressed in the camper, I will be transferring it to my van which is a conversion van that I plan to do some overnight trips in. No more roadside restroom or convenience store stops for me. This is way safer, and again way more simple than the flushing potties. I have an unused flushing potty that I will likely sell now.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT for the kids
5/28/2012

Customer review by LuvCmpg

4.0 stars 5/28/2012 by LuvCmpg
by LuvCmpg

bought this to make our camping trips easier as its usually me and my two kids. During a trial run with it, I used the kitty litter suggestion mentioned on here and was very happy with ease. I only have 2 complaints.... it is NOT for larger adults as the hole size is too small. You would have to be pretty petite to be able to use this. The kids can use it with no problems! The other complaint I have is the picture shows a white seat and I was really wanting white as where we camp it gets very dark and it would be easier to see with very minimal light in the middle of the night so not to wake everyone else and for ease of cleanup I just prefer the white. What i got was black. Have a camping trip coming up too soon to send back and replace so will have to figure something out while not interupting everyones sleep with blinding lights. As long as its on a flat surface it def seemed sturdy enough and not likely to tip over. I used bed pads for under it incase of accidents.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvCmpg
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Option for the Money
8/22/2013

Customer review by wpababy

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by wpababy
by wpababy
Top 1000 contributor

Camping with two recently-potty-trained children requires a basic portapotty and this is it. They had no problem getting on and off, as it is very low to the ground. I had a bit of a problem with that, but it was all good. I went the cat-litter route and it worked perfectly- no smell! I lined the bucket with one bag to act as a just-in-case liner and tucked it in, the put another bag in and wrapped it around the actual base before putting the lid on. I kept a red solo cup in the kitty litter bag for ease of use. Every user had fresh litter and after each use, we pulled the top bag, tied it off, put a new bag in and threw in a scoop of litter. Absolutely no smell at all. It felt flimsy, but we had a few larger individuals on it without a problem. (And I don't know how to put this delicately, but a 330 lb. individual spent quality time with a magazine in lap on that thing and it held up well.) My only complaint is that it was a bit short.

Was this review helpful? (117) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wpababy
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 1000 contributor
Best money ever spent on camping gear
9/23/2013

Customer review by lkjhhgffd

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by lkjhhgffd
by lkjhhgffd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Will never camp without it. Came with 2 blue deodorant pouches you mix with water (smells like portapotty solution) but after reading other reviews we decided to try the kitty litter method. WORKED PERFECTLY! NO SMELL - not even a little. Also read other reviews about using regular kitchen bags. Decided on the Great Value 30 gallon bags because they had the highest thickness (1.1 mil) of all bags on shelf including name brands. NO LEAKS! So for 2 adults and 4 children we went 2 days at a time on 1 bag with small amount of kitty litter and even then there was no smell at all. We sprinkled some additional litter on 2nd day and over any #2s. Definitely a must if you don't want to be running to bath house with little kids all night long...in the rain. Very sturdy, no tipping. There is an inner bucket with carrying handle inside the outer shell. The top slides on and off easily for children to use. Completely exceeded all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lkjhhgffd
Fairfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never use a dirty campground bathroom again!
12/13/2009

Customer review by cb0001

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by cb0001
by cb0001

This toilet is the answer to all of us who love the outdoors but not dirty toilets (or going behind a bush)! Instead of using the chemicals, I bag the bucket and put the seat over the bag and then add kitty litter. It holds for a few #1's and I change it with every #2 (but you don't have to). I got the Ozark Trails shower stall (no longer available thru Walmart although it is a great product!!) and put the toilet in there. Even though we have an RV, we still use the set-up (beats cleaning the RV for just an overnight camping trip) and there are no bugs, no smell, and it's clean (don't forget Lysol wipes to wipe it down). I highly recommend it!!! My best friend has the same set-up and I just bought it for another friend for Xmas. Everyone should have one, especially with kids!! It doesn't tip over or rock and the seat is quite comfy! A Happy Mom : )

Was this review helpful? (299) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cb0001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It Works!
8/13/2014

Customer review by LCrist

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by LCrist
by LCrist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would say this portable toilet was tested to at least 240 lbs. and it held up just fine. You do have to sit on it differently than a home toilet, it's not attached to anything, a little balancing is required! It is an outer container, with a bucket on the inside...literally it's a bucket with a handle, just like a mop bucket...then the plastic seat goes over that. I lined the bucket with bags sold for that purpose and they worked out just fine. The bucket is pretty deep, so you don't feel like the last deposit is "too close for comfort". A lid goes on top when you are done to keep bugs and weather out. The plastic that holds the toilet paper fits inside the entire thing, but I wouldn't do that except when it's clean and in storage. The toilet paper holder sits well on the ground at an angle similar to the picture. The only bad thing...if there is one...although we had it inside a cabana tent, the seat got very hot from just morning sun. Check that seat temp before sitting! This toilet weighs next to nothing, my husband is happy to have something to throw into the truck when he and our daughter go fishing for the day...just in case!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LCrist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Won't go camping without it
4/5/2009

Customer review by GladIdid

5.0 stars 4/5/2009 by GladIdid
by GladIdid

I'm sooooo glad I took this along on my camping trip! It was 36 degrees at night and I didn't have to bundle up and trek outside to go use the porta- potties. I felt guilty when I heard others in the middle of the night (early morning) having to take care of business, while I never left the comfort of my tent. I set it up in a corner of the tent with a doggie wee-wee- pad underneath, just in case. It is the perfect camping necessity that won't damage tent floors. It far exceeded my expectations. I recommend the waste bags too.

Was this review helpful? (151) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GladIdid
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Appeared flimsy but is deceptivly strong.
8/14/2011

Customer review by Fishy4me

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Fishy4me
by Fishy4me

I bought this hassock for a camping trip. I was leary about it being sturdy enough. I had a 425 lb person on the trip. When I received the hassock I thought the seat was very flimsy and would surely break. But to my suprise it didn't even after repeated use. We used the technique with the kitchen garbage bag and kitty litter that I saw others mention and it worked awesome.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishy4me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for camping
8/4/2016

Customer review by Bilbe

5.0 stars 8/4/2016 by Bilbe
by Bilbe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We used this recently on our camping trip along with a pop up privacy tent. No complaints from nobody. Very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bilbe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hassock Portable Chemical Toilet
9/1/2012

Customer review by HappyCAShopper

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by HappyCAShopper
by HappyCAShopper

I purchased this for people to use who go camping with us that use a tent, we have a RV. The toilet seat does NOT snap on the barrell type base, it slides all over the place, I have never seen anything like it, needless to say we havent went camping so it went back to walmart the next day...It would be an awesome pot if the toilet seat would snap down securely! Ordered a 2nd. pot and it was the 2.5 gallon one with the lid and it could be flushed, needless to say, I returned it the same day I recieved it to, they should let us adults know, it's (TODDLER SIZE) in height...and yes, my fault to, I should have payed more attention to the specs!!! Ordered a 3rd. one and AWWWWWWWW, finally got it purfect, I ordered the 5 gallon flushable toilet and a Privacy Tent so now I will have alot of happy campers...hope this helped, please click my "LIKE" button if it did! :)

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCAShopper
CALIFORNIA GIRL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
saving grace
4/5/2011

Customer review by ZZmama

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by ZZmama
by ZZmama

Bought this for my daughter when we go fishing! A true LIFESAVER!!!! As a girl, she is very mindful of where she uses things and this comes in handy. Will purchase a tent to give her more privacy. We put it inside an old milk crate and use it as a carrying case. When we have to use the Hassock, we turn the crate over to give her more height.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZZmama
Vicksburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE this porta potty!
9/8/2014

Customer review by JennINnh

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by JennINnh
by JennINnh

I bought this porta-potty for our 2,000+ mile drive to Ohio this summer. I have a 3 year old, 6 year old, and sometimes stomach issues! Was a Godsend!!!! Easily accomodated both kids and my big tush when needed!! Easy to maintain and clean. We bought a large roll of heavy duty trash compactor bags at Walmart to line the bucket and then used regular cheapy tall kitchen trash bags to go over that. I used cheap clumping cat litter, just poured a little in a fresh bag; then disposed of trash bag and contents in a large zip lock bag. Easy peasy!! Way cheaper to do this than buy the potty bags they sell...they are so expensive! Would recommend this potty to anyone! When I was a kid, my parents but a chemical porta-potty that flushed for a cross country trip. It overheated in the summer heat and the chemical "expoloded" when flushed, leaving blue stinky chemical everywhere in the back of the car and on my father. Funny memory, but not something I wanted to have to deal with. I remember too it was disgusting to have to empty. Not this one!!! So easy and clean!!!!!!!!!!! Love it!!!!! Still have it in the back of the car for emergencies now! Small (but big enough for an adult to use without any issues), convenient, easy to care for!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JennINnh
Dover, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wouldn't camp without it!
10/1/2011

Customer review by ThirdDay

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by ThirdDay
by ThirdDay

Okay, so it's kind of cheezy. Basically, it's a plastic bucket with an outside container and seat. However, after taking this little baby along for a week long tent camping adventure, I'm a big fan! It really comes in handy. The wife thought it was great since our tent has an attached vestibule. I wouldn't camp without this thing. We used the "Double Doodie" bags and they worked out great. They are very easy to insert and dispose of.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThirdDay
North Haven, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Exceeded expectations
4/5/2011

Customer review by SergsGirl

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by SergsGirl
by SergsGirl

We ordered this for our new (to us) 18' sailboat; I was concerned about the stability of the product and size. It is light-weight yet VERY sturdy - easily stores under the table in the boat. We put a trash bag as a liner, and kitty litter on the bottom. We add a bit of kitty litter each time we use it, and to our surprise, there is no odor - very sanitary. We only go on overniight trips, and empty it when we return home. Excellent value!

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SergsGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Well worth it!
7/15/2009

Customer review by Limurfi

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by Limurfi
by Limurfi

I purchased this portable toilet for a camping trip with my family and found it to be convenient, comfortable, and well worth the cost. I also purchased the double-doodie bags to go with it which I highly recommend. No smell and clean up was a snap! Thanks to all the previous reviewers - very helpful as I made my decision and purchase.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Limurfi
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good frr the price
8/29/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/29/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The finish quality is not great but it should work well for its intended purpose. I plan to seal it a little better to reduce potential odor leakage for multiple use. I think it well for me. I have not used it yet but have a 10 day trip coming up in November that will give it a workout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Works For What You Need
9/2/2008

Customer review by Survival101

4.0 stars 9/2/2008 by Survival101
by Survival101
Walmart associate

Bought this to take camping for the wife. She was a little unsure if it would hold up or if there would be an odor. There was none. It held up to what it was needed for and was easy to transport. Be sure to buy the bags that are sold next to it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Survival101
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Awesome Product
4/8/2009

Customer review by EnjoyingGodsBeauty

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by EnjoyingGodsBeauty
by EnjoyingGodsBeauty

We do alot of tent camping. I am a single mom with four kids. I bought this product and also the shower/utility tent. I am very pleased with this product. The first trip we used these products on, we had two women and ten kids. It held up wonderfully. I recommend taking plastic disposable gloves to wear when changing the bags. It has really opened up our camping options now that we have a private restroom and shower.

Was this review helpful? (170) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnjoyingGodsBeauty
bakersfield, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews