Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 87 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Emjoi Emagine vs Emjoi Gently Silken
10/7/2009

Customer review by luvz2hunt

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by luvz2hunt
by luvz2hunt

I read many great reviews of this product, but I decided to try the cheaper version first. So I started out with the Emjoi Gently Silken Total Body Hair Epilator. I was very impressed, but epilating took sooo long with that one. I exchanged it for the Emjoi Emagine, and I am in love. The Gently Silken only had 18 tweezers, and they were all lined up in a row. The Emagine has 72 tweezers that are staggered on dual heads. I completed 2 legs in the time the Gently Silken took to clear 1 calf. Furthermore, having the cord can be bothersome if you don't have access easily accessible outlets. The battery operated Gently Silken did not really hold that great of a charge though. Little charge combined with lengthy use at one time equals epilating over several days. I also noticed that though the Gently Silken and Emagine both can be painful for first time users, the Emagine was much less painful. It also helps that the Emagine's slowest speed seemed to be faster than the Gently Silken's fastest speed. The quicker the pluck, the less painful to me. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product!! It is soooo much less of a hassel than shaving daily, and the extra tweezers make this epilator superb above the rest!

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvz2hunt
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great Product
6/8/2009

Customer review by hatetoshave

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by hatetoshave
by hatetoshave

I love this product. This is my first time ever using an epilator and I love it. For the first time using it I let my hair grow for a week and then used the epilator and it worked great. It does hurt for the first time because of all the hair that is needed to be removed but the next time you use it, it doesn't hurt at all because you only have very little hair to remove. I use it once a week just to keep my legs nice and smooth. I read on one of these reviews for this product and someone said that faster isn't always better and that is true. It took me a couple of times at first to get it to work right but you just need to find what works best for you. If you hate to shave this is a great product for you. I highly recommend this product. I have only had mine for a short time and I already want to buy an other one for if this one ever breaks I have a back up. I don't know how I went this long without this product.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hatetoshave
Rochester,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pricey but worth it
9/20/2009

Customer review by SnoWhiteVT

5.0 stars 9/20/2009 by SnoWhiteVT
by SnoWhiteVT

I've been using various brands of epilators (including other Emjois, which worked fine) for years, & this one is by far the best. In addition to being thorough & fast (I did my legs in half the time that I could with my last epilator), it was almost suspiciously painless. Granted, after years of using epilators I'm pretty close to immune to epilation pain (maybe I'm exceptionally gnarly, but I've used epiltors on my arms, legs & bikini line & never found the experience to all that painful), this was so pain-free that I wondered if it was breaking off the hairs instead of yanking them. Almost 2 weeks have passed since I used it, & I'm still close to hair-free (& the hair that has grown back is fine & non-nubby), so I know it did pull, not break, the hair. So while I wasn't thrilled with the price (I have to point out that Walmart did have the best price of any of the retailers or etailers I checked), now that I have it I can say it was definitely worth it. Kudos to Emjoi!

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnoWhiteVT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good-Decen Product, but Okay-Pricing
7/30/2009

Customer review by KngocKie

4.0 stars 7/30/2009 by KngocKie
by KngocKie

I do think the emoji does its job in tweezing hair mechanically. However, I can't use it on my legs because i have some bumpy areas. They are not ingrown hair, but it doesn't give it a smooth "feel" even after i exfoliate with the body wash loofah. I do like how it removes hair for my underarms. I am quite sensitive and couldn't handle the tweezing of the upper lip. ---------------------------------------------------------- First time users: It doesn't take long to know which angle to get the product right for "tweezing" the hairs. The booklet says 90 degrees perpendicular or something like that, but some hair curls. So, i would go over with the same area at a different angle. To use the emoji on the upper using "one side of the head is recommended and do take that advice. :P ----------------------------------------------------------- It does feel painful/stingy the first time in use, but afterwards, it give it sometime to get used to. Do follow the instruction when they said to make your skin "taunt" or stretch the area to tighten the skin so the emoji can easily tweeze the hairs AND it will hurt slightly less or none at all for some. -------------------------------------------------------------- I do like this epilator with many tweezers better than cranking my neck with a tweezer. I would do this over the bathroom sink when using the emoji for underarms. So, that the hairs go over the sink and you'll have a mirror to see your movements. -------------------------------------------------------- The price was more costly then expected, but so far, I only had this for a month. I use the epilator almost 2 times each week, but once a week if i get too lazy. :P --------------------------------------------------------- I do clean the product after each use as the handguide/boooklet said to do so. Directions to clean/dry it is there. I do like how there is there is the bristle-brush that is long/short enough to clean in between the tweezers. I do see majority of the hair roots, meaning it did what it should be doing, its job. ------------------------------------------------------------- I only gave this product 4 out of 5 stars because this is my first epilator and i haven't had any serious concerns to my health or any irritation caused by it. I am not giving it a perfect 5 stars because I wished it would be smoother for my legs. great potential to improve though! Hope this helps. Good luck picking one good product that will help you.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KngocKie
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
2/12/2011

Customer review by eccntrc

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by eccntrc
by eccntrc

If you are super hairy (or not) and are sick of shaving and/or waxing, this is the product for you. I am super hairy, alll over. I used this on my legs, thighs, bikini, arm pits, arms and tummy. It may be uncomfortable for many, but I have a high tolerance for hair removal pain and didn't mind the prickly sensation at all. I couldn't believe how easy it was to remove the hair. Left everything soft and smooth. It's been 4 weeks and the hairs are starting to grow back in. Time to get out the epilator again! I love this thing.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eccntrc
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Not as Bad as I Thought
5/10/2011

Customer review by phoenixsimone

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by phoenixsimone
by phoenixsimone

The first time I used a epilator I was 15 yrs old, and I bought an Epilady from a thrift store for $5. Let's just say when those coils got a hold of my hairy legs, I swore to never use one again. Seventeen years later I have changed my mind. I was surprised at the low level of pain from the Emjoi. I believe it's the 72 tweezers that makes it less painful. So far I have used it on my lower legs and armpits and I love the results. I have thick, coarse hair and it worked wonders on my hairy legs. Before using I showered and exfoliated with baking soda (I use it daily and it make your skin SUPER soft), and massaged my legs to prepare for the hair removal. Afterwards, I sprayed my legs with a mixture of distilled H2o, aloe vera juice and glycerin.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phoenixsimone
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
horrible
4/4/2010

Customer review by natos

1.0 stars 4/4/2010 by natos
by natos

reading all the good reviews about this product i went ahead and bought it .... it was horrible very primitive my 12 year old philips satinelle was more advanced than this peice of junk doesnt pull the short hairs as the blades are few mm far from the skin i returned it and replaced it with the braun same price and 10x better dont buy the emjoi its a waste of money and energy

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
natos
natos tarzana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/25/2010

Customer review by Chasola

4.0 stars 4/25/2010 by Chasola
by Chasola

I'm a man in my 50's, with very thick head and face and neck . It's very difficult to shave it all off, got tired of that chore , so I decided to try pulling all the hair out , instead of shaving and going razors often. Lets don't kid ourselfs pulling hurts ,and it'l get your attention ,but I figure the pain will be worth the gain of getting rid of the hair. Using the hair puller really hurt the first time, so I would a little at a time, trust me that was a lot of pain to endoure ,but I finally pulling head, neck, face hairs, (OUCH). It deffenently was worth the pain,now my face and head smooth, the puller does'nt pull every single hair, it leves some hair behind , no problem just touch up with shaver. The second time hardly even hurt thank goodness, but that time is a doosie. Using the hair puller is no problem now, works pretty good, hopefully over time hair pulling sessions will become farther apart , like everyone says, we'll see. product works well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chasola
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this Product
6/25/2010

Customer review by shadon3098

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by shadon3098
by shadon3098

I am an African-American and I have always shaved my legs with a razor. This epilator is wonderful. It works well on my legs and bikini area.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shadon3098
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
designed to replace
12/7/2011

Customer review by oregonlegs

1.0 stars 12/7/2011 by oregonlegs
by oregonlegs

I gave this a great review a couple months after I got it, and told my friends. I've had it for a year and a few months. During the first year I replaced the head because it stopped spinning to pluck out hairs. The new head developed the same problem after a few uses. The gears are made of plastic, and the top clicks onto the base. I have found that it works better when I push the top onto the base. Usually, the wheels stop as soon as anything touches it, or the wheels just stop when you're holding it there. I would not recommend this product, because it stops working. I didn't have this problem for quite a few months. Keep your receipt incase this happens to you so you can return the product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oregonlegs
Albany, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/21/2011

Customer review by dimepcs

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by dimepcs
by dimepcs

I never ever used an epilator before and quite honestly was terrified when I turned it on. It just sounded painful and scary. Luckily I did my research and exfoiliated w/a loofah real good and then used it. I think the loofah was more painful then the epliator LOL. I was so pleased with my pits after I used this epilator that I called everyone I knew to tell them how great the product was; somehow they didn't seem as thrilled as me?@! Anyways best 85 dolllars I've spent. My hair is completely gone and it's easy to use and you just touch up evey week or so on the new growth. Everyday my pits look better and better and it doesn't hurt at all once you get over the initial first experience.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dimepcs
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1 year, then dead
12/26/2010

Customer review by kithawk

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by kithawk
by kithawk

Mine lasted one year before breaking. I used it once a week only for bikini and underarms. I found that clearing my legs took more than an hour, and that was simply too long. It worked wonderfully. The first few times I found it painful, but, with regular use, sensitivity decreased. HOWEVER. Two weeks after the warranty end date, the plastic gear on the base unit stripped a tooth causing it to jam. You can buy a replacement top head for twenty five dollars, but the base containing the motor, once broken, cannot be replaced easily when out of warranty. It runs fine, it just has a stripped gear. I was using it normally when this happened. As I don't use it on my legs, I'm going to try the smaller, less expensive model. This model has two heads, but they spin in opposite directions. I found that I only used one side at a time, anyway, depending upon the direction I was moving the epilator. A good product, but it certainly has a limited lifespan, in my experience. That is why they sell replacement heads: they do wear out an break eventually. Once you use it and see the grinding job it has to do, that really isn't so surprising. All epilators wear out eventually. Walmart does have the best price on the Emagine, and they haven't changed the price in the past year.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kithawk
los angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
a good product??
3/16/2009

Customer review by abez

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by abez
by abez

i would reccomend this product. However, if you are on a budget the regular emjoi with 36 discs also is a good option. Since, i have used both, i don't think there is a huge difference in speed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
LOVE IT!!!
7/7/2012

Customer review by carose101

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by carose101
by carose101

When I first started looking at these, I had never had a wax or anything like this. Just always shaved!! I choose this, one because of the reviews but, also thought that the 72 tweeter's HAD to be better. My thought, the more tweeter's the faster the removal and the removal of more hair!! I also like the width, it seemed to looks better than the other's, like it would cover more area. AND, all of the above was true! When I first used it, it did freak me out a little. When you first turn it on it's like OMG, the heavy duty saw for hair LOL. But, was shocked that it really wasn't that bad, the more you use, the more comfortable you are with it, the sound you kind of get use too...doesn't sound as load as the first time!!! A few little tips...a hot bath before and exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate!! It makes it work much better...common sense if you think about it, if you have dead skin (that you may not even notice) it won't let it remove the hair underneath!!! Also, I purchased some hair growth minimizer...knew to use an after lotion so...why not a minimizer!!! One last thing, the first time I used it, I thought OMG...I can't do this once a week, it takes too long!! I found out real quick, that once you are comfortable with (NOT afraid of it ;) ) it goes much faster!!! I LOVE IT!!! My lags stay smooth now!!! ALL THE TIME!!! The new hair goes start to come in finer!!! Ladies...get it, you will not regret IF YOU JUST STICK WITH IT THE FIRST 2 WEEKS...It's a breeze after that!!! NOW, just need one smaller for my under arms and bikini area...ANY ADVICE!! LOVE one like this just smaller to get into small places!!! So HELP...need a good same one, with as many tweeter's as I can get!! THANKS!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carose101
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awful
8/3/2010

Customer review by 1butterflylover69

1.0 stars 8/3/2010 by 1butterflylover69
by 1butterflylover69

I bought this product hoping it would work. I have a lot of leg hair, and am tried of shaving everyday. So trying this product, It was awful, it only pulled out a few hairs. This product would probably work for someone that has very little leg hair and very fine hair.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1butterflylover69
Roseburg,OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Love it!!
4/9/2010

Customer review by Steffy2

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by Steffy2
by Steffy2

It makes your legs and armpits so smooth for days longer than shaving, but I find it too painful for the bikini area. It hurts a little at first, but you get use to it fast. I am really pale, but have dark hair so shaving alone doesn't really work because you can see the follicle color under the skin. This machine really works to fix that problem. If you can handle waxing , then you will love this.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steffy2
Santa Rosa,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product!
6/16/2011

Customer review by sunseekersuzy

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by sunseekersuzy
by sunseekersuzy

If you have to shave everyday and are expecting to have completely smooth legs....then this is not the product for you. Shaving is the only sure way to get smooth legs if only for a limited time (at least in my experience of affordable hair removal methods.) I have been using the Emjoi for 6 weeks and have already noticed less hair re-growth. Initially I used it every 2 - 3 days but am slowing down to every 4 or 5. It does not get the newest hair that is growing in, but I don't mind. It takes about as long as shaving does so no big deal. I am a person who's hair grows very fast. My daughter uses the Emjoi and her hair grows much slower so she uses hers every several days. I had been waxing so the hair being pulled out is not painful to me, just a little tingle. Underarms are a different story! I was also waxing my underarms so assumed there would be a little tingle involved. Whoa! If you use on your underarms be prepared, it hurts! Use care, pull skin as tight as you can, (get someone to help if possible) and you will be pleased with the results. Each time I use the Emjoi for my underarms the pain is much less and the hair is coming in less thick and much slower. The product recommends that you use an exfoliant prior to hair removal. I have found it is best to use an exfoliant every day. And definitely, always, after every shower, moisturize! Over all excellent product. I'm very happy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunseekersuzy
Shiocton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Returned this one!
8/30/2010

Customer review by sweetlils

2.0 stars 8/30/2010 by sweetlils
by sweetlils

I have owned several Emjoi products before. I have to say the Emagine was the worst quality of any of them. It felt flimsy, and compared to the Optimum, did not cover half the amount of area at one time, even though it had more tweezers than the Optimum. It also felt like it was "scratching" when I used it . . . and I'm not a rookie. Just my opinion. May be great for someone else.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetlils
Bloomingburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Do not reccommend
9/6/2009

Customer review by Dimples508

1.0 stars 9/6/2009 by Dimples508
by Dimples508

I did not like this product at all. It didn't remove the hair from the roots as well as my Braun, therefore I got tons of painful ingrowns. It also is very bulky and doesn't work well with the curves of the body. I had to contunously run through the same areas to get alll the hair and it still didn't grab them all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dimples508
Washington,DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
WOW!! First Time Buyer
2/8/2012

Customer review by Hazelnutcoffee35

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by Hazelnutcoffee35
by Hazelnutcoffee35

I purchased this item because I am disabled and unabled to shave my legs anymore. Of course, the first time of usage is a little scary and painful because of the "Monster Eyes"lurking back at you and the hair yanking by the root out of your body, however, this is the best product I have ever purchased!! I can't stand or walk unassisted, I can do this while laying or sitting on the couch a few minutes at a time. This is when my little monter goes to town eating all my little hairs and leaving behind a baby bottom smooth surface! You can have this smoothness for 4-5 days before refreshing, however, if you wait to long before refreshing you will have tons of little ingrowns that you need to either scrub loose with a loofah or tweeze manually. So I suggest that if you have very course hair like myself, try doing every 2 days for refreshing. Since it runs on electricity, shut your door at your job and soften those legs on your works dime instead of yours...ha I will purchase this item many times over!!! My husband loves my monters' results, so will yours!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hazelnutcoffee35
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews