Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 664 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

664 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

664 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
461
4 stars
109
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 stars
46
1-20 of 619 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 619 total reviews
1-20 of 619 reviews
First love
1/17/2017

Customer review by small and not so fierce

1.0 stars 1/17/2017 by small and not so fierce
by small and not so fierce

It worked awesome for 2 weeks. Now the motor overheats after about 3 minutes and it shuts itself off. Gets SUPER hot. I can literally only use it for a few minutes. Sad as it was great for such a short life span.

Comment from Rick - 1/19/2017

Oh no! If that's happening the filter may need to be cleaned. Remove the filter and tap it against a waste bin to remove excess dirt and dust. That should help the motor with air flow. If it does not, please give us a call! 1-800-237-7691.

small and not so fierce
Chandler, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
NOT just for cat ladies and kennel owners!
7/4/2012

Customer review by i<3thisVACUUM

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by i<3thisVACUUM
by i<3thisVACUUM

This full name must be “Pet, Human, and Dust Eraser!” Even for human hair and dust, this works fabulous! I purchased this based off the stellar reviews I found on almost every website that mentioned the Pet Eraser, and it still exceeded my expectations. Small and powerful design makes it perfect for apartment dwellers or others short on storage space. Suction is amazing, pink nubby piece grabs every speck, and cord reaches far enough to ignore. The clear dirt tank is easy to clean and awesome for those who might forget, neglect, or ignore the filter. I recently spent the same period of time cleaning one chair with the old fashioned dry sponge method as it took me to clean all of our furniture and baseboards with this Bissell. I also purchased the Hose Adapter Nozzle, Crevice tool, and Flex Hose enhanced this to become the absolutely most versatile cleaning appliance. Coming from a family loyal to another brand name, the Pet Eraser has even converted my mother!

i<3thisVACUUM
Texas
Gender:Female
One of best purchases I've made
6/9/2012

Customer review by CleaningAgain

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by CleaningAgain
by CleaningAgain

I've had this mop for 5 years. I was impressed from day one with the quality of the product, and still remain impressed. After five years, I truly believe that this item will last my lifetime. I use it on wood and tiled floors, and only use distilled water. I vaguely recall this recommendation. Prior to using this item, I use my Bissell FeatherWeight Bagless. Another smart item, which I've had for 10(?) years. Its the old 'electric broom' that I grew up with. I remember having a really hard time finding a simple 'electric broom', when I located this item. It was a floor sample, the only one left, and I snagged it. The Bissell SteamMop is tied with the SpotBot Pet (which I recently purchased) for my favorite cleaning tool. Love it, love it, love it. No complaints about this product... except... my darn cat recently took off with the black cap that secures the tube in the reservoir (my own fault... I knew she would grab it if I left it loose). Of course, I can't find it! Can I just buy a cap? Thank you, Bissell.

Comment from Joe - 6/12/2012

You can order the cap and insert with the tube in it. Also, don't forget to get new filters and our Eucalyptus Mint Scented Water. Here is a quick link to get to them: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=3703&icid=ccrr

CleaningAgain
Concord, OH, USA
Gender:Female
You HAVE to buy this!
1/9/2013

Customer review by DrChris

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by DrChris
by DrChris

I am involved in animal rescue and have been for many years. Removing pet hair from clothes and furniture has always been very difficult, not to mention embarrassing when visitors sit on the sofa and walk away covered in dog or cat hair. We tried vacuum attachments, lint brushes, rubber lint brushes, sticky lint brushes....you name it. Nothing worked well or completely. UNTIL NOW! I bought this little vacuum last month and was shocked when I tried it on the sofa. IT WORKS! It really really really takes the hair off of the furniture. And the pillows. And the dog beds. And everything else. I cannot recommend this product highly enough. My only regret is that I did not try it sooner. We currently have 17 cats and 4 dogs in the house, so I know about pet hair. Trust me.....if you have pets, you will love them more and resent them less after you buy this little vacuum. And hopefully, your house will be so clean you'll decide to rescue another animal!

DrChris
Bella Vista, AR
Gender:Female
Great value
12/1/2016

Customer review by BH

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by BH
by BH

This hand held VC is powerful and a great value. Great for small jobs, pet hair, etc. Works well on both carpets and hard surfaces.

BH
Oakland, CA, USA
Gender:Male
lovely
4/5/2012

Customer review by shebb

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by shebb
by shebb

I initially used a box of steel wool, 5 buckets of soapy water and a lot of hard work to clean the kitchen tile floor and grout when we moved into this house 5 years ago. We thought the grout was brown--turns out it's beige! Since i have gotten the steamer-no need for steel wool or hard work! The steamer cleans the tiles and grout as if I had! I bought mine about one year after painting this same kitchen. I had never bothered to get the paint off the tile floor behind/under the fridge. The steamer took off all the dried paint that had been sitting for a year! I used it to clean up after painting the dinning room and it removed all the tiny paint spatters and some ancient stains on the hard wood floor--from a standing position!!!! Lovely! I too experienced a problem with leaking and puddling of water-it turned out the water container was not inserted into the filter mechanism properly--works fine when connected properly.

shebb
ontario, canada
Gender:Female
Attention Single Menz
3/30/2013

Customer review by Kewlzter

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Kewlzter
by Kewlzter

This should be in every man's toolbox. As a single guy, i never liked mopping floors (kitchen/Bath). Till now!. This mop makes cleaning a breeze. No gimmicks just easy cleaning power. You wont realize just how dirty your floors are till you use this mop, and use it you will. There is only two negatives about this mop. First is that carpet cleaning attachment, it doesn't stay on or i'm not using it correctly. Second is it's ability to get edges takes a bit of work. I imagine this is a draw back of all steam mops. So if you are going to get a mop. this is It. This mop has a little weight to it, good surface contact makes sure you cleaning even the toughest grime and dirt. Super easy to use, and it's of good construction. Light enough to hang on the wall with it's wall hanging attachment and a nice natural color that matches any decor.. So take the guess work out of cleaning, and get this baby right here.

Kewlzter
Big Bear, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Exactly what I neede
11/1/2016

Customer review by karen

5.0 stars 11/1/2016 by karen
by karen

The suction on this cleaner was perfect. My dog sheds so badly, and this vacuum had no problem handling the large amounts of hair. I am really glad I bought it.

karen
Huntsville, TX
Gender:Female
Deluxe Steam Mop & Vacuum
6/15/2012

Customer review by Dan

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Dan
by Dan

I have used 3-4 different Brand steam mops, they have not done the job like the Bissell. My floors have started to look like when they were laid 14 years ago. I have used 50% soft water and 50% vinegar with great success. I was thinking of using 50/50 of water and hydrogen peroxide to see if that would even be better. Let me know what your thoughts are. The only thing about ordering online with Bissell is that it is doesn't seem to be an easy task. I gave up on your website and I have been working with computers for over 40 years with much more complicated challenges. The other product we bought in the last 30 days was the 84G9 Bissell Vacuum with the rewind cord. 1st the vacuum is extremly loud and hurts our ears. 2nd the cord rewind works only if you hold on to the cord and feed it back into the rewinder. Then it stops 4-5 times, and you have to pull the cord to restart it again.

Comment from Joe - 6/18/2012

Please note, only water or our Eucalyptus Mint Scented Demineralized Water should be used in this machine. Other products used in this machine void the warranty and can harm the internal components. Here is a link to our recommended Eucalyptus Mint Scented Water: http://www.bissell.com/eucalyptus-mint-demineralized-water-32-oz/?icid=ccrr

Dan
Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Great for small cleanups, loses suction fast
1/8/2014

Customer review by Ashley

2.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Ashley
by Ashley

This worked great when I only had a cat. It would take me a while to clean my couch which is a woven fabric, but it wasn't the worst, just time consuming. The filter collects tons of dirt, which is great, but you have to throw it out frequently which is frustrating as it loses suction before I'm done cleaning the couch. WITH A DOG.....THIS IS HORRIBLE! I have a sectional couch and with an english bulldog who sheds a lot of annoying small hairs, this is a solid F. It takes over an hour to clean a 4 seat, low profile sectional and even then, I can't get all the furs out. Its so frustrating to use and eventually, I just resort to masking tape. If you have a cat, and just need some small spaces cleaned like a pillow or blanket, this will work fine. Even your car to pick up small spills, but if you actually have a dog, don't bother, you'll be frustrated and never get anything clean.

Comment from Lisa - 1/21/2014

Thank you for your review. To clean the filter taking an clean brush (toothbrush works great) and brushing the dust off will help. This way you don't always have to get a new filter. For larger debris a bigger vacuum may fit your needs better. To view our recommendation, see this link: http://www.bissell.com/powerforce-compact-bagless-vacuum/

Ashley
Los Angeles, CA, USA
This product is a must have
12/22/2013

Customer review by Mom of four

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Mom of four
by Mom of four

This is the second steam mop that I have the pleasure of owning. The first one gave up the ghost after more than 10 years. I just love that we don't need chemicals to get a perfectly clean floor. The mop is light weight and can get under most furniture pieces that you can't even get a broom under. I used the mop once before a party and one particular guest did not want to get his new white socks soiled but guess what the floors were perfect and he didn't get a spot on them when the party was over. Since I must speak on the negative too I would also mention that I too find the pads too much to spend in addition to the initial purchase which you should do to save on S&H. The old pads work fine still and they are more than 10 years old too so I would say there is value for money here for sure.(I bought new ones just in case the old ones did not fit.)

Mom of four
Whitehouse, Readington Township, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
Wonderful!!
1/4/2013

Customer review by Jojo97000

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Jojo97000
by Jojo97000

I love this little vacuum. I was really surpised at how sturdy the construction is and I am hoping it will last a long time. We have two cats and it works wonderfully. My only question, is there a time limit per usage? I actually used this to vacuum our large area rug as it really needed to be free of cat hair (our other vacuum does not do a wonderful job of that) and I felt it got a little warm. We have hard floors except for two bedrooms and a large area rug in the living room and a small area rug in my daughters bedroom. They all need a deep down removal of hair. We have lived here a year and a half but I don't think the bedroom carpets had a lot of deep cleaning by the previous owners and this little thing really picks up the pile. They are REALLY good rugs and it is a shame the way they are now. I did a very small area to test my bedroom rug and it looked brand new in that one area. So, if I can get the pile up and then clean the rugs and revacuum after they dry they will be gorgeous - if I can use this little thing to restore them. I LOVE IT!! I am a very happy camper. Thank you very much for such a wonderful product.

Jojo97000
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Greatest pet hair sucking machine ever made
8/17/2016

Customer review by Kilo6

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Kilo6
by Kilo6

I love this baby pet hair sucker. My husband has a service dog. Of course he had to get the hairiest German Shepherd he could find. I got a mini per hair eraser. This thing works amazing. It is easy to use, compact and has a gigantic cord so I dont have to play the "find a new plug" game when cleaning my truck, my couch or the dog bed. Thank you for making a pet vac that actually works! Hoping this one lasts forever (or yall make more that work just as great).

Kilo6
Texas
Gender:Female
New Steam Mop Deluxe - leaks around filter and water bottle
8/22/2014

Customer review by MountainSide

3.0 stars 8/22/2014 by MountainSide
by MountainSide

We use steam mops to clean our hardwood floors, they work great when they work. We started with a Shar** unit until it finally gave out. Along the way, we learned that you have to use distilled or demineralized water or they will plug up. Nonetheless, after the Shar** died, we wanted to try a better unit and so choose the Bissell 8482 Steam Mop. It worked great for several months. Now it leaks...no make that water runs...from the area where the water bottle attaches to the filter or from where the filter attaches to the main body. We've ordered a new water bottle, a new filter, cleaned the nozzle, cleaned the mop head sprayers and continue to use only distilled water. After a few uses, it starts to leak again. Very disappointed in Bissell, as an engineer, I can tell you there is a design flaw here.

Comment from Lisa - 8/28/2014

Thanks for your review. You have worked hard to get your machine to stop leaking. We can help you. Please click at the link, so we can help with warranty replacement. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

MountainSide
Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Best RV vac ever!
1/13/2015

Customer review by Peartree

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by Peartree
by Peartree

Love this product! It is everything it says it is and more. With two chihuahuas it indispensable. It's mulitple cleaning tips makes it even more versital for all kings of small cleaning. Very good for stairs and removing the fine dog hair from the RV. I use the best shop vac or home upright to clean the RV carpets and the carpet looks great. I follow- up with the Pet hair Eraser and wow, you wouldn't believe the hair I pick up. It's size also allows for the irregularities and elevation changes in the RV flooring. My wife uses those sticky rollers to remove hair from our couch. The Pet Hair Eraser is easier and faster. It also has very long cord and very easy cleaning filter. I love this product so much I just bought another one so I don't have to move it back and forth between the house and RV.

Peartree
Hollister, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Powerful AND Effective!
4/11/2015

Customer review by College Student

5.0 stars 4/11/2015 by College Student
by College Student

This is the handiest handvac that I've had the pleasure to stumble upon! For a college student, I wasn't looking to spend an outrageous amount of money on a vacuum but was done dealing with the layer of cat hair covering my couches. The product comes with a rubber extension that works well on fabricated surfaces. It also comes with a hard cover that works great on blinds, table surfaces, my hardwood floors and those pesky crumbs that fall under the kitchen cabinets! I don't normally write reviews; however, this product DOES work so I wanted to spread the word. Lastly, I haven't had to replace the filter yet (I've used it often for the past few weeks so far) but I do clean out the dust/crumb/dirt collection area after every use. I'm sure this helps keep the product super efficient!

College Student
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Small, but powerful
12/13/2014

Customer review by jlt

5.0 stars 12/13/2014 by jlt
by jlt

I purchased this product because I was desperate to find something that would take the dog hair off of my couch. I was getting tired of using the lint roller to try and remove all of the hair. What intrigued me most about this product was the rubber nozzle at the end. It turns out that the rubber nozzle is perfect for removing the dog hair from upholstered furniture, because it hugs the fabric and strips the stubborn dog hair from the furniture. I was surprised by the powerful suction of this tiny machine; it certainly lives up to its name! It is a pet hair eraser. For the first time, my couch is free of dog hair and it only took minutes with Bissell Pet Hair eraser hand vacuum. I will never have to use a lint roller on my couch cushions again.

jlt
Tucson, Arizona
Gender:Female
SMELLY
4/13/2012

Customer review by Smell that smell

3.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Smell that smell
by Smell that smell

Ok, so I have read all of the reviews and agree with some and really disagree with others . I think that if you use the mop correctly and make sure that you use distilled water and you keep the "port" clean overall its a good product to use between deep cleanings. I have over 5,000 yes 5,000 square feet of hardwood floors alone not counting all 6 bathrooms, 2 large Dogs and 3 kids this miracle mop has helped out GREATLY ! with the slobber marks or the mud that's drug in by eight paws and 6 tiny feet. The only problem I have had is from time to time it can smell a little fishy and I'm not sure why? I'm going to try and purchase extra pads to see if switching them out more often when cleaning will help. Overall, I think that this a a good product.

Comment from Joe - 4/17/2012

Thanks for the review. Your idea about switching the mop pads may help. Also, you can use bottled distilled water and add our Euchalyptus Mint water: http://www.bissell.com/eucalyptus-mint-demineralized-water-32-oz/?icid=ccrr Finally, make sure to change the water filter when the bright green grains turn blue. I hope this helps.

Smell that smell
St Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My loving Hair Eraser Hand vacuum
4/24/2013

Customer review by Gretchendv

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Gretchendv
by Gretchendv

I have 2 dogs, one a Chocolate Lab and a Scottish terrier. Maya(Lab) has been with us for 12 years, which the only thing that I complain is about her hair. After " collecting" so many vacs... hand held, cordless, corded I read about this little wonder. Of course I was very skeptical.. I read so many good things about it, I decided to add another machine to my collection. I bought it and of course kept my receipt in a very safe place and.............magic! I was able to deep clean my furniture almost, no hair! I hope/wish they can do a full size version, I will be super happy to get one. . I'm so happy... the only negative thing I can mention is that the handle is not comfortable, my hand hurts.... other than that is marvelous little machine!

Comment from Joe - 5/6/2013

Gretchen, you'll be happy to hear we've designed some new hand/stick vacs for you wants and needs. Here are a few http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=16658,16720,16152&icid=ccrr

Gretchendv
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Gender:Female
MIRACLE WORKER
3/3/2013

Customer review by Becky

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Becky
by Becky

OMG I cannot find adequate words to describe how delighted I am with this product. I've tried a bunch of different rollers, brushes, etc to rid my house of cat fur. I randomly came across this product and was very hesitant to buy it even after all the great reviews I read. BEST DECISION EVER. It cleans sooo well. I use it on my furniture, clothes, suede boots, curtains, and cat trees. I also use the alternate nozzle to clean up litter and other stuff. My only regret is that I didn't purchase the cordless one. It is pretty heavy for me (5 lbs but I'm 5' tall), and I sometimes take breaks during use. However, it's a life saver. I would recommend it to anyone with cats, especially if you have long-haired or multiple cats. LOVE this product.

Becky
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 619 total reviews
1-20 of 619 reviews