Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 37 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Works Great
10/17/2008

Customer review by RCH1

4.0 stars 10/17/2008 by RCH1
by RCH1

This antenna worked as advertized. Paired with the DTA800B1 it worked wonders. Remember this antenna is a smart antenna and only works if your TV/Converter Box has a CEA909 port. This port is required to make this antenna work. If you don't have the 909 port, then look at the ANT1500. Same antenna but without the "Smart" feature and will work as a normal antenna would.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCH1
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not work for us
11/7/2008

Customer review by reviewer28

1.0 stars 11/7/2008 by reviewer28
by reviewer28

We bought this antenna to use with our compatable converter box. We thought we'd get more than the 10 channels that we do through old bunny ears we had. My husband installed it and we ran the hour search for channels. We still got 10 channels, but all had horrible reception. Much worse than our bunny ears. Then we did the fast search for channels and then came up with only 5 channels! Still not great quality when you are paying $60 for this antenna. We did the search for channels multiple times and it never came close to the reception that we got with our old bunny ears! Very disappointed as we thought this should be an awesome product. So, we returned it and bought a Philips Superior Digital Design antenna and got the results we were looking for. It was cheaper in cost and we get a much stronger signal with all our channels. So, the smart antenna did not work at all for us and for that price, were gravely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer28
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
2/7/2009

Customer review by NoCableTV

3.0 stars 2/7/2009 by NoCableTV
by NoCableTV

I have been using the ANT1450 (which works very well) but I thought the ANT2000 would be better and bring in more channels. It wasn't any better and cost twice as much, so I returned it and continued using the ANT 1450.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoCableTV
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT! Love this new smart antenna technology
1/30/2009

Customer review by TJinLA

5.0 stars 1/30/2009 by TJinLA
by TJinLA

The picture is stunningly clear. I get WAY more channels than with a non-smart atenna. I am VERY glad I got the digital converter box to take advantage of the smart antenna technology. Smart antenna technology originated in the military sector and has finally arrived for the general public. These devices work best when linked with the digital converter box made by the same company as the maker of the antenna. A digital signal is far harder to tune in than an analogue signal; much picker and easily subject to interference. Place this antenna as high as you can to avoid interference by someone walking past it. I am recommending it to everyone I know. I REALLY like not having to adjust the antenna to tune in a station as I channel surf.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJinLA
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as smart as hoped.
12/1/2008

Customer review by DTVEvangelist

2.0 stars 12/1/2008 by DTVEvangelist
by DTVEvangelist

I tried this antenna with its companion RCA DTA-800B Digital Converter Box, hoping to capitalize on the "smart" antenna feature. In my experiments so far, the RCA ANT 2000 is no smarter than a fixed omnidirectional antenna I have outdoors on my balcony. Indoors its performance was lackluster, no better than a $20 pair of amplified "rabbit ears" with a UHF loop. My location is about 28 miles from the TV transmitters and not in a direct line of sight, so I had hoped the antenna would pull in a better signal than it did. It may perform better for viewers a little closer to the transmitters; I need to decide whether to test this theory before I take the antenna back for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DTVEvangelist
San Antonio TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
RCA Smart Antenna, ANT2000
1/28/2009

Customer review by tllebron

3.0 stars 1/28/2009 by tllebron
by tllebron

Since we live on the 3rd floor apartment building and there are other buildings around us, we don't get real good reception even with the ANT2000. We only was able to pick up about 7 channels. The signals were not that strong so some days the signal would go from strong to very weak and lose the signal. If it was a directional anteanna, it probably would have worked better. Right now we found a wireless transfermitted and receiver and that works alot better than the ANT2000. We will be using the ANT2000 in the spare bedroom when we have guest. Other than that, we are not using it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tllebron
Lorton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This product barely beats a $3 rabbit ear antenae
10/7/2008

Customer review by pbohr

2.0 stars 10/7/2008 by pbohr
by pbohr

I bought this when my $3 rabbit ears were unstable in cloudy weather. With all the additional cost and effort to install this, the difference is hard to even notice. Both work in clear sky weather but I was expecting more for 20X the cost. I really only needed it when my satellite picture fails during heavy rain but that is sure to have clouds so I expect it was a waste of money altogether.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pbohr
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Trial and error
2/21/2009

Customer review by ColesDragon

3.0 stars 2/21/2009 by ColesDragon
by ColesDragon

The antenna is very simple to set up, just connect it to the tv. But it didn't pull in any more channels then rabbit ears did. I was planning to replace an amplified (and ugly) antenna with this but I only got 3 channels instead of the 5 before. I have bought and returned 3 antennas so far, I guess I'll have to try another one. It would probably work great for someone without a mountain blocking signals like my case. The channels it pulled in were crystal clear so it did work, just not for all the channels I need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColesDragon
Etters, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Mixed results for distant(30m) stations
10/23/2008

Customer review by WKid

4.0 stars 10/23/2008 by WKid
by WKid

Hooked this up to a DTA800 converter to replace rabbit ears. It found 39 stations, but it still can not reliably tune in the 5 major network stations that are 30 miles away. One not at all and 4 with occasional pixelation. The rabbit ears do a little better, but you have keep aiming the rabbit ears for the best reception. So overall a mixed bag, not the solution I was looking for, but for the stations that do come in, there is no hassle of re-aiming the rabbit ears. Some 30 mile away stations come in fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WKid
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great idea
1/9/2009

Customer review by GAC6

4.0 stars 1/9/2009 by GAC6
by GAC6

Since nothing is perfect, I rate this smart antenna 4 star. Having no experience with other similar products, my only comparison is the old TV and rabbit ears. Coupled with a Tivax Converter Box, the results are better than expected. The Tivax is rated much higher than other boxes with smart antenna connections. Our picture is as good as using a DVD and almost as good as HD, and no fussing with antenna adjustments - just switch channels. It costs $35 more at an electronic store where I shopped.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GAC6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good purchase
12/2/2008

Customer review by MRAZOR

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by MRAZOR
by MRAZOR

I bought this model antenna because I didn't want to buy bunny ears for my flat screen tv. At first I thought that I had wasted my money, but after reading the instructions and installing it correctly it works. It picks up about 14 channels and it has excellent picture. It is true that it loses signal during cloudy days as has been the case the past few days, but nothing to bad or for to long of a period. I also like the flat design it has it doesn't even look like an antenna.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRAZOR
Merced CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good product
2/16/2009

Customer review by curtdawg

1.0 stars 2/16/2009 by curtdawg
by curtdawg

I bought this product saterday night hooked it up sunday. It did not get but one channel on anlog and had to move it around outside to get that single. Inside it was nothing, tried it on a dtv on it done worse getting nothing I live in a rural area where tv is how to get even with the best antenna. But this antenna may be worse than a stand set of rabbit ears. I think when the dtv hits in rural areas they are not going to have tvs at all if they need a antenna.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curtdawg
soperton georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
WORKED WELL WITH DIGITAL CONVERTER
1/2/2009

Customer review by MOW1

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by MOW1
by MOW1

THIS ANTENNA WAS EASY TO INSTALL. IT IS NOT AN EYESORE IN THE ROOM. IT WAS MORE EFFECTIVE THAN ANY OTHER UNIT I'VE TRIED SINCE INSTALLING THE DIGITAL CONVERTER BOX. THIS IS THE STRONGEST SIGNAL FROM AN INTERIOR ANTENNA I'VE FOUND. EVEN THO IT WAS NOT IN STOCK, I WAS ABLE TO ORDER IT ONLINE AND PICK IT UP AT THE STORE WITH NO EXTRA COST. EVEN WITH THIS EXTRA SERVICE IT WAS STILL PRICED BELOW ANYONE ELSE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOW1
DECATUR, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't Work For Us
2/1/2009

Customer review by Tinker11011

1.0 stars 2/1/2009 by Tinker11011
by Tinker11011

I bought this Smart Antenna for my Dad. He lives in a 2-story condo. My husband and I tried many times over a 3-week period but we still couldn't get any signal (even on sunny days). After reading some of the other reviews, I tried moving the antenna around, up on the wall, by the window, etc. Nothing we did so far resulted in getting any channels. We are planning on returning the antenna tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tinker11011
Tustin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great SMART Antenna
11/27/2008

Customer review by MonkeyDoc

5.0 stars 11/27/2008 by MonkeyDoc
by MonkeyDoc

Only works with converter boxes (TV's will have them in 2009) that have the SMART Antenna connector (looks like off set phone jack). I found the Quick search was best to start with to find the best placement, then the LONG Full Search (1hour!) locked in reception. Not as subject to interference as rabbit ears with RCA DTA800 was. I have tried over 10 other antennae and this one is BEST

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonkeyDoc
Eagan, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better to go cheaper
11/14/2008

Customer review by danieldy07

2.0 stars 11/14/2008 by danieldy07
by danieldy07

This product was twice as expensive as the one 2 steps down, but the cheaper antenna works better! We couldn't get a lot of channels and it responded very badly to our movement. It seemed that it was TOO sensitive. We ended up returning it and getting the cheaper antenna, which now gives us all of the channels available! Get the RCA flat antenna that they carry in the store!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danieldy07
tucson, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not worth it
2/4/2009

Customer review by Bob12345748

1.0 stars 2/4/2009 by Bob12345748
by Bob12345748

I have an RCA digital TV converter box with a smart antenna jack. I used the ANT2000 antenna to replace my rabbit ears antenna hoping it would improve my reception for the VHF channels. I live about 12 miles from the TV transmitting towers. I did the quick scan followed by the long scan. The reception was worse than with my cheap rabbit ears. I returned the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob12345748
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very diappointed
11/14/2008

Customer review by ruhappy

1.0 stars 11/14/2008 by ruhappy
by ruhappy

I had hoped that this "smart antenna" would provide me with the increased performance that I had ben been led to beleive it would be capable of. Unfortunately after trying it on 3 Different TV'S and 3 different convertor boxes, I found that my existing analog antennas actually picked more channels. and had a higher performance rating per the convertor box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruhappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
ANT2000
1/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Antenna does not pick up stations as advertised. When you read the online info about the antenna it says that it will automatically detect stations, no adjustment on your part. When you actually get it the booklet tells you if you can't pick up any stations "adjust" the antenna. No real truth in advertising here!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Grovetown, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
RCA Antenna 2000
1/27/2009

Customer review by lloydy

5.0 stars 1/27/2009 by lloydy
by lloydy

I connected the RCA Antenna 2000 to the RCA converter box dta800.It is a simple connection to follow on the instructions.They both work great.I have twelve to fifteen channels that come in very good.I recommend that both should be used together.I used the govt.40.00 dollar discount to obtain the converter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lloydy
Vancouver,Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews