Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not Generation II
6/15/2012

Customer review by honestreview12345678

3.0 stars 6/15/2012 by honestreview12345678
by honestreview12345678

This is my second night vision monocular by Night Owl. The first one (a much older version) quit working for some unknown reason, so I recommend the warranty. The image is much clearer than older versions by Night Owl (not as grainy) but please know that this IS NOT Gen II! In fact, when researching differences in night vision, Gen I night vision (which this is) is supposed to have at least 1000x light gain. This one touts 500x light gain... Once you get over the "gee whiz" factor, you will want more out of your device. Though for the money, it is fair. If I were to do it again I would buy a smaller magnification. Five times magnification is not that powerful for such a sacrifice in field of view. It's akin to looking through a tissue paper cardboard tube. Another thing to consider with ALL of these monoculars is that the infrared light can be seen with the naked eye by the subject (animal/person) when pointed directly at the subject. It looks like a small red 1" glowing dot -and you certainly need the infrared illuminator if you expect to see in the dark. With a higher generation night vision device you get many more times light gain and in many applications don't need IR. Just something to consider, though the infrared is not too terribly obvious, just noticeable. Hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honestreview12345678
Rainier, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
11/7/2008

Customer review by Skaard4Life

5.0 stars 11/7/2008 by Skaard4Life
by Skaard4Life

The Night Owl NexGen II 50mm monocular night vision device is an excellent value and works very well. I have used it on full to half moon with no IR and could see clearly up to 200 yards. In no moon and no background lights using the IR you can see cleary up to 75 to 100 yards. Battery life is commendable as I have used it for over a month at least an hour a night and haven't changed out the battery.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skaard4Life
Barnwell, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low light scope
6/10/2010

Customer review by whalecap

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by whalecap
by whalecap

Unit works very well for the price. Its really better than I thought it would be. I have a 2nd generation rifle scope that was fairly expensinve. The Night Owl is almost as good at about 1/5 the cost. I'm very satisfied with it....

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whalecap
Atlanta area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
10/21/2010

Customer review by Rosy200

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Rosy200
by Rosy200

This monocular was exactly what we hoped for! It helps us see what animals are roaming our yard at night! The visibility is extremely clear, we can easily tell a skunk from a fox or raccoon, coyote from a deer, etc. Easy to use, and great quality for the price!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosy200
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It works!
2/11/2009

Customer review by BearHunter321

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by BearHunter321
by BearHunter321

This night vision products does what I wanted it to. I have had no problems with it. I did notice that the one I recieved does not have the Night owl tag as the one in the picture.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearHunter321
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very impressed
6/30/2011

Customer review by IrishNorm

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by IrishNorm
by IrishNorm

with a half moon, I could easily see 200 yards without IR. With no moon could see 50 yards without IR and about 100 yards with IR. In an open field at night, there is no way that anything bigger than a rabbit could cross undetected. I had no problem identifying animals with a half moon.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrishNorm
Denison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sharp visual and very good for Gen. 1.
9/28/2011

Customer review by blakemore99

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by blakemore99
by blakemore99

Sharp visual and very good for Gen. 1. I'm ex-Army and found it to be as sharp as the night vision goggles I used then. Only drawback, field of view is very small.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blakemore99
Athens, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
does what it says and more!!
10/19/2010

Customer review by thinkofu

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by thinkofu
by thinkofu

These monoculars are fantastic for any night observations in any type enviorment; "GREAT" I love the price and the product!!! Can't go wrong with these eyes period!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thinkofu
ridgeway va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
12/15/2008

Customer review by nightvisionwasgood

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by nightvisionwasgood
by nightvisionwasgood

this worked really well..exceeded my expectations in no-light areas, makes peoples eyes glow freakishly weird...

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nightvisionwasgood
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lights up the night
11/3/2013

Customer review by Jammer374

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Jammer374
by Jammer374

If your a first timer in night vision ,this is it Great product,price is right...opens up a new world after dark..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jammer374
Rhode island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor optics. Limited range.
5/20/2013

Customer review by Bigredtail

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Bigredtail
by Bigredtail

I returned it. Very dissatisfied. Worked well for objects less than 10 feet away. Greater than that, just let your eyes adjust. I could see better without them

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Night Owl - 10/29/2014

Not a Night Owl SP product.

Bigredtail
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just ok
2/2/2015

Customer review by howro

2.0 stars 2/2/2015 by howro
by howro

This doesn't work well when its cold. Also just not very clear at all. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Night Owl - 2/2/2015

To submit technical questions we recommend you follow the following steps:<br />Register your equipment by clicking on this link: <br />http://nightowlspsupport.com/php/broker.php?page=register<br /><br />Once registered, you will be able to submit your questions or call the Tech Support team.<br />You can get answers from our Tech Support team by submitting an email to support@nightowlsp.com<br />Please make sure to attach a proof of purchase and that your equipment is still within the year or warranty.

howro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Toy quality.
7/24/2014

Customer review by therica

2.0 stars 7/24/2014 by therica
by therica

The technology quality of this product existed about 30 years ago and wasn't much more money than they are trying to sell it for today. Unless you are looking exactly at an object it is fisheye distorted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therica
Hagerstown MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.