Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 28 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Great Bike AFTER tweaking.
6/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

While it's true the bikes need adjustments when bought, that's the fault of the assemblers, NOT the bikes. after 20 minutes tweaking and fine tuning everything, the brakes stop it on a dime and it effortlessly switches into all 21 gears. I did all my own adjustments but it could just as easily be taken by a bike shop to get everything tweaked. And pretty much all bikes could use a good aftermarket seat with more padding and suspension. I never even rode mine with the factory seat, knowing about bikes I bought a comfortable one the same time I bought the bike. GREAT bike, the dual suspension gives an unbelievably smooth ride even over bumpy terrain. I've had mine for over a year and it's still working great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jacksonville Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not what I had hoped...
8/11/2009

Customer review by Tevin311

2.0 stars 8/11/2009 by Tevin311
by Tevin311

First off, let me start by saying its a really nice looking bike. It was pretty light for a dual suspension and it was equipped with disc brakes in the front....all for less than $150!!! Though I was skeptical, but with a price like that for all the features and the reviews, I took a leap of faith. Great ride! The seat must be replaced. Period! Yes like all new bikes it needed alot of adjustments and fine tuning to the front/rear brakes and the deraileurs in the front and back. Once that was done, it was great and a joy to ride until.... While riding yesterday morning, I noticed my back brakes creating a rubbing sound. I pull over to see if the brakes needed adjustments when to my surprise: the rear wheel had a crack in it!!! A crack. That's it, I'm done. It goes back to the store. Unfortunately, the model is no longer available which means I would have to get something else. I would have given this bike better ratings, but I'm hesitant since the bike had a cracked "alloy" rear wheel 1 week, almost 10 miles later while riding around my neighborhood that's paved! Proceed with caution!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tevin311
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this Bike
6/28/2009

Customer review by rolltide63

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by rolltide63
by rolltide63

it took me a while to find the rigt Bike for me but I didwith the Mountain ridge.I ride up to 15 miles a day and I have a pinched nerve in my back and I can not sit up right on a bike seat so mountain bikes are best for me,however I did have to purchase a gel comfort seat for this Bike but the dual suspension so much difference.I ride my Bike on rural roads and most likely will have to replace my tires more often than usual but that's no problem.I did take the Bike to a Bike shop and got it fine tuned ,the gears needed some adjusting and so did the brakes because wal mart are great but they are not professional Bike assemblers.I also like the warranty from Next Bikes.I live around a lot of hills and this Bike with 21 speeds is so much easier to pedal,these are quality alloy pedals and that is another reason I chose this bike,I am alarge man 260 lbs and the frame on this bike is strong but lightweight.the front suspension is a little noisy,especially with a lot of wind but not a problem with me,even better the price of this bike has been reduced.I always look forward to riding my mountain Ridge,a great Bike for the Money in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rolltide63
Haleyville,Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike if assembled correctly
12/28/2008

Customer review by USFbobFL

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by USFbobFL
by USFbobFL

I bought one for myself and one for my 13-year old son. Both of them had assembly issues which resulted is poor shifting, noisy front disk brake, wobbly tires, but with a few adjustments and tightening of screws and bolts, both were operating well. The seat could use a little more cushion, but I've had other mountain bikes that were less comfortable. The shock absorber does a nice job of softening the ride. The shifting controls for the 21 gears are standard and perform well, although seem to require constant tweaking to reduce chain noise. I'd buy another, but I would perform a more thorough inspection before leaving the store next time... ensuring that all parts (such as reflectors) were installed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USFbobFL
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad Gears & Seat
10/1/2008

Customer review by Raahul

3.0 stars 10/1/2008 by Raahul
by Raahul

I got this bike on Sunday, and rode it to the my Grad school on Monday. The front gears refused to shift inspite of all my efforts and had a real bad time negotiating steep climbs. While returning I manually shifted the chain to a higher gear, but it again got stuck in the lower sproket when i tried changing the gears, rear gears worked quite fine... Also this Bike has a real bad seat, and you need to buy a better one to drive it regularly, also I got this bike specifically of its front disc brakes, and the seemed fine in the store, but after one ride they got quite loose. I hope the problems I have encountered are one off, and am gonna go to Walmart this weekend to get it replaced...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raahul
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good bike for the money
5/2/2009

Customer review by bikerrrr

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by bikerrrr
by bikerrrr

Just purchased this bike "off the rack" at my local Walmart. I based the purchase partly upon the previous reviews it received. I was NOT disappointed! The bike is solid, smooth, and very well designed. The only necessary improvement I needed to make was to replace the saddle with a padded one. I found the associate who assembles their bikes to be very helpful and he trued the wheels, adjusted the brakes, and made sure the gears shifted properly. All in all a very pleasant shopping experience. If you're looking for a very good mountain bike at a decent price, you can't beat this one even at twice the price!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikerrrr
Pensacola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike, Great Value..
6/1/2009

Customer review by SMEvy

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by SMEvy
by SMEvy

This bike is nice. The lightweight frame and componants make for great navigating, and ease of use. The front rim is made of lightweight aluminum also, as are the pedals. The gears work great but could use a professional tuning from a bike shop. Its well worth the cost. The front disk brake works wonderful, and combined with the rear brake make for fast and more controlled stop than I was use to from a bike. The shocks ensure a smooth ride. This was my first bike with disk brake or shocks, and this combined with the aluminum frame were great buying points for me. A great bike at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMEvy
Penns Grove, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellant value for the money
3/4/2009

Customer review by beachboy1

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by beachboy1
by beachboy1

I ordered the bike on line and when it arrived at my local wal-mart I was advised they did not assemble on line bikes. I did contact the store manager who was very kind and did have them assemble it for me. I had only ridden it several times when I noticed some problems with the front disc brake and the shifting didn't seem all that good. I then took it to my local bike shop for a "tune up". They advised the disc calipers were put on wrong and fine tuned the derailers and it made a world of difference in the bikes performance. It is now a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachboy1
St. Petersburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
4/22/2009

Customer review by BikeGuy2000

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by BikeGuy2000
by BikeGuy2000

This is a great bicycle. I bought one a year ago and it has met my expectations perfectly. This bicycle is good for people of average height, and would even be good for tall or large men. And this is a very comfortable bicycle. With the dual shocks, it provides a smooth ride. I put a seat post rack on it, a light kit and bike computer. I've put about 500 miles on it and haven't had a single problem with it. My only complaint about it was the seat was too hard. So I replaced it with a softer one. But other than that, I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikeGuy2000
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bike for the price!!
7/4/2009

Customer review by ECKING767

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by ECKING767
by ECKING767

This bike rides great. I rode my new bike out of Walmart to my home. I rode about 5 mile on this bike with ease, with comfort, and with no problem. The Walmart guy who assemble this bike do a great job. The seat is firm not hard, gears changes with no problem and the brakes work great. This is my second purchase of this brand "NEXT" and so far the Next brand seem to be reliable. The first bike I brought got stolen. It the one for $89.00 Buy this bike you will love it !!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ECKING767
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dont buy
3/22/2009

Customer review by iluvflordia

1.0 stars 3/22/2009 by iluvflordia
by iluvflordia
Walmart associate

i bought this bike to take bike rides with my son and had nothing but problems my first time!the bike pops out of gear by its self, will not stay in speed 1 unless you hold the shifter tightly.also i dont think the seat could get any harder, i would have been better off sitting on the ground. DONT BUY!!! go with the schwinn

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iluvflordia
plymouth Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great bike
7/4/2009

Customer review by Bomber17

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by Bomber17
by Bomber17

I am very pleased with this bicycle. Comparable in everyway to the more expensive Mongoose. I also enjoy the extra adjustable side grips on the handlebars. Handlebar height can also be adjusted where you need extra spacers for the Mongoose. Shifts very smooth after some adjusting--as all bikes will constantly need as time goes by..same for brakes. Looks fantastic and catches quite a bit of attention when riding.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bomber17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
5/8/2009

Customer review by BikingBabe

5.0 stars 5/8/2009 by BikingBabe
by BikingBabe

I bought this bike and fell in love with it. I did replace the seat with a womans seat and I added a suspension seat post and ride it all over the place. The only problem I have had was I had to replace the rear rim but that was my fault not the bikes. In my opinion it would be hard to find a bike as good for the money, and when I wear this bike out, I will by another Mountain Ridge because I LOVE this BIKE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikingBabe
Theodore, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
26" NEXT MOUNTAIN RIDGE
4/9/2009

Customer review by MichaelSenior

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by MichaelSenior
by MichaelSenior

I drive a 740il, race a Zo6, and ride a Mountain Ridge by NEXT. Look no further. I did all the research, save your self sometime. This is called Bang for the Buck!! The Mountain Ridge is the best value to be found. You will not find a better bike for the money. You may not find a better bike for twice the amount. This bike is the real deal. I hope this helps you with your decision. ***** across the board.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichaelSenior
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the bike!!!!
11/10/2008

Customer review by crazyman123456789

4.0 stars 11/10/2008 by crazyman123456789
by crazyman123456789

the bike has meet all my expectations. It is very nice on trails and is great overall. the only problems i have had is the handel bars clame loose and the rear breaks were not working well. but it was a nice bike and all new bikes need a little work. but it is comphy and works great i just got it and it is great and i would reccommend it to anybody and they will see what i am talking about!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazyman123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
2/21/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/21/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought it a few hours ago and so far im impressed,being a mongoose follower for so long I do like this bike,the xr75 has cheap grips and just doesnt fele as comfortable,im a tall person 6'4 to be exact and this bike is perfect,even though alot of bikes are 26 inches for us taller people some bikes dont cut it,i do recommend buyin a bigger seat,this one isnt too comfortable for big bumps

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bike for the price
10/25/2008

Customer review by 1ponyboy

5.0 stars 10/25/2008 by 1ponyboy
by 1ponyboy

I got this bike for health reasons and for my b-day it is a great bike for the money. The only draw back to this bike would be the seat, but i dont think that you could get a better bike for the money. The bike shifts really well, the best part for me would have to be the aluminum frame. Light weight and handles very well, i would recommend this bike to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ponyboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Son Loves It
4/18/2009

Customer review by apache7

4.0 stars 4/18/2009 by apache7
by apache7

I think it's a ugly shape, But my 13 year old son loves this bike. It's lightweight, easy to drive. I have to tell him constantly to slow down. Hw says its easy to drive. My son is 150 pounds all wet, so he doesn't have much leg power but he loves this weird shaped bike. I would gladly recommend this bike for the pure enjoyment it brings.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apache7
chula vista, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD CHEAP BIKE
8/18/2008

Customer review by SDARKSIDE

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by SDARKSIDE
by SDARKSIDE

I BOUGHT THE BIKE TO GET BACK INTO SHAPE. I'VE HAD THE BIKE FOR A MONTH AND IT RIDES WELL (AFTER U BUY A GEL SEAT) , BUT I'VE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT SHIFTING . I DID HAVE THE REAR RIM CRACK AFTER ABOUT 15 MILES BUT WALMART REPLACED IT WITH A BETTER RIM THAT THE MECHANIC HAD IN HIS SHOP AND IT'S BEEN GOOD RIDING EVER SINCE . THANKS

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDARKSIDE
BELOIT , WI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
1/4/2009

Customer review by DannyH

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by DannyH
by DannyH

My daughter bought this bike as a gift for her boyfriend. He uses the bike to ride back and forth from his dorm to his classes. It works well for him. The seat seemed kind of small but he is a small framed person. If it was for me, I would have had to replace the seat for a larger one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DannyH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews