Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

47 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 28 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
best of the westerns
7/25/2009

Customer review by nattydread

5.0 stars 7/25/2009 by nattydread
by nattydread

I found this movie to be exciting entertaining and all around fun. Tommy Lee Jones at his best, and Duval unmatchable. I would recommend this to movie watchers of all ages.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nattydread
south bend in.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Great movie!
1/2/2011

Customer review by PiggyWiggyWoo

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by PiggyWiggyWoo
by PiggyWiggyWoo

One of the last, best western movies for sure, even if it is 6 and half hours long! Hadn't watched it in a few years, had to buy it & still as great as I remember. Also bought the Return to LD, which I've not seen, to follow-up the story which I'm still waiting to recieve.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PiggyWiggyWoo
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Lonesome Dove
1/5/2010

Customer review by dwhawkman

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by dwhawkman
by dwhawkman

One of the best, if not the best, miniseries of all time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwhawkman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lonesome Dove
4/26/2011

Customer review by Lorlyn

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Lorlyn
by Lorlyn

I love this movie. I have watched it a number of times and only owned the VHS version and wanted the DVD version so I can give away my VHS copy. It is definitely the kinds of movies I wish we saw more of - loved the Old West era and felt the choice of actors in this movie were superb!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lorlyn
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It's amazing how captured you get watching this!
10/16/2013

Customer review by Evans1286

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Evans1286
by Evans1286

This movie is so well written and acted. You feel as though you are right there.. Everyone should see this movie!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evans1286
Richmond, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Western Movie.^^
1/14/2009

Customer review by AgentK

4.0 stars 1/14/2009 by AgentK
by AgentK

I don't normally like western movies, but I really liked this one. Anyone addicted to movies such as Broken Trail and Open Range will enjoy this movie.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AgentK
Warrior, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
More Top Entertainment
3/27/2009

Customer review by pursuitofhonor

5.0 stars 3/27/2009 by pursuitofhonor
by pursuitofhonor

If you only have a recording from TV on tape or the older pan and scan version on DVD then treat yourself to this widescreen version in 5.1 surround sound and the 50 minute featurette "The Making of an Epic". Also enterviews with Tommy Lee Jones, Robert Duvall, the cast and director Simon Wincer. If you've never seen this classic then buy it, you won't regret it and the good price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pursuitofhonor
McMinnville, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
7/29/2010

Customer review by mghcibt

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by mghcibt
by mghcibt

Great true to life account of the old west.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mghcibt
San Antonio, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Love Lonesome Dove
1/5/2010

Customer review by SuzyQue1966

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by SuzyQue1966
by SuzyQue1966

One of my favorite movies. Love it! I have owned it for years but bought this one for my dad!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuzyQue1966
Pascagoula, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Extremely enjoyable
8/30/2008

Customer review by msnjctx

5.0 stars 8/30/2008 by msnjctx
by msnjctx

Went to school with Mr. McMurtry's sister, but did not know him personally. Have read several of his books tho. Really like Robert Duvall a lot, but wish he could have continued. Jon Voight does a good job filling in for Tommy Lee in the sequel, as does Barbara Hershey, but wish Anjelica Houston would have continued. Filming this movie obviously took some doing. Have seen it at least a dozen times.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msnjctx
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
great epic
7/8/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

ordered this for my brother.he loves it! arrived promptly.he called to tell me how much he loves it it was exzactly as described.thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/29/2011

Customer review by johnbgood

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by johnbgood
by johnbgood

awesome western one of the best made

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnbgood
63301
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Choice!
12/26/2009

Customer review by Easier2ShopOnTheNet

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by Easier2ShopOnTheNet
by Easier2ShopOnTheNet

My husband could not believe I had never seen this "made for tv movie." My father and my husband both love it. I'm so glad we bought one for us and one for my Dad. He just bought a new tv and can't wait to watch it wide screen with surround sound!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Easier2ShopOnTheNet
Castle Dae, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best western ever made!
7/12/2013

Customer review by LaLa1031

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by LaLa1031
by LaLa1031

I cannot imagine anyone else portraying Gus and Woodrow than Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones. Larry Mcmurtrys masterpiece pulls at your heart strings and makes you understand the true meaning of friendship and giving someone your word on a promise.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaLa1031
Wake Forest NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/25/2009

Customer review by Clute

4.0 stars 12/25/2009 by Clute
by Clute

I'm very much satisfied with this DVD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clute
Waxahachie, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Why would any movie be this long?!?
5/27/2009

Customer review by JudaisHarlem

4.0 stars 5/27/2009 by JudaisHarlem
by JudaisHarlem

This is an excellent story line, and there is significant screen play here to the point of it being example of what should be done in future westerns concerning both the screen work as well as the acting; however, the extensive length of this cinematic adventure makes this somewhat torturous device that must be taken in segments, or have great preparation for this experience. This would most certainly be one of the few videos I would ever watch for this period of time. If you can stand the length to see the wondrous work in action, then this is most assuredly the bit for you; however, if you plan on doing anyting constructive within the five and a half hours that you will be watching this, it is highly recommended that you watch someting else.

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JudaisHarlem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Movie
12/5/2011

Customer review by FERAL1

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by FERAL1
by FERAL1

Lonesome Dove in DVD format, what else do you want ?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FERAL1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Timeless Classic
1/26/2014

Customer review by Wishin2BFishin

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Wishin2BFishin
by Wishin2BFishin

This movie is one to watch over and over if you are into great stories. I have seen this many times and bought it to watch many more. Robert Duvall & Tommy Lee Jones are excellent together in a story of true freindship.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wishin2BFishin
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
2/16/2015

Customer review by Peewee65

5.0 stars 2/16/2015 by Peewee65
by Peewee65

Great movie and great way to get movies

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peewee65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Western...love it.
6/26/2014

Customer review by jada5358

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by jada5358
by jada5358

I always wanted to own this movie. Now I have it on DVD and at a great price. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jada5358
Carriere, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews