Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 59 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Veggies Stay Fresh Longer
2/20/2012

Customer review by 2Corinthians521

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by 2Corinthians521
by 2Corinthians521

When our household switched to a vegetarian diet we were in need of a solution to keep our fruits and vegetables fresh. We received two of these lettuce/produce keepers as a gift and we could not be happier with them. Produce stays fresh much longer which means savings and value. You have to be sure to put vegetables or fruits that require the same settings in a bin. For instance, sweet peppers must be set to open without liquid in the bottom while carrots and celery must be set to closed with 1/4 cup of water in the bottom. You can pair carrots and celery together but cannot add the sweet peppers to them. These units fit beautifully in our refrigerator and make it easy to grab an afternoon snack of cut vegetables. I would highly recommend these to anyone wanting a solution to keep produce fresh longer. I plan to purchase two more because of the sheer quantity of fruits and vegetables that our household uses each week.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Corinthians521
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really handy and helpful!
7/27/2011

Customer review by Majita

4.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Majita
by Majita

It hurts to toss vegetables and fruits in the garbage because they go bad in just a matter of a few days. Since I live alone and my cooking happens over the weekends usually, I do not get to use a bunch of parsley, bunch of celery, etc within 4 days. Besides wasting money, it just sad and wrong to waste food. This product has come in so handy, I can't get enough of it. So far herbs (except Basil which did not last), grape tomatoes, celery, leek have lasted for 3 weeks or more. Wow! For some reason basil, mushroom and strawberries did not last :( . My only complain is that it is big, which works fine when you have a lot to save, but it should have more compartments to be able to store more products without combining them. It takes a lot of space in your refrigerator. They need to come up with a set or several sizes. I got the Rubbermaid set of produce saver containers from Amazon and it was about $19 bucks. People had good reviews on them. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Majita
Brooklyn ,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lettuce for one
1/5/2010

Customer review by Yelsel

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by Yelsel
by Yelsel

This product was recommended to me by a friend, but I was a bit hesitant so I waited 4 months before I finally decided to buy it. As a single woman, I'd buy a head of lettuce and it would go bad before I'd use it all. Now as a married woman, my husband doesn't like lettuce so I'm once again, on my own with the head of lettuce. I finally purchased this from the WalMart site and picked it up in the store. I popped the core of the lettuce out, cleaned it and let it partially dry before storing it in the lettuce keeper. It lasts for nearly up to 3 weeks. One thing I just recently learned....do not cut lettuce with a knife as it starts the "rotting" process quicker.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yelsel
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A GREAT Product, but Read This First
7/2/2009

Customer review by Billmit

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by Billmit
by Billmit

At the time of this writing, Wal-Mart has 2 versions of this product. This one, the “Progressive Lettuce Keeper”, and the other one is the “Progressive Produce Keeper Set”. I wanted 2 of these keepers, so I ordered one of each type. They are EXACTLY the same unit. However, the “Produce Keeper Set” comes with 2 handy utensils and only cost 2-cents more, which makes it the better deal. Also keep in mind, if you want to keep more than one item, a single unit must share the same “settings” as the other item (even if using the divider). For example, storing lettuce means you ADD water to the bottom base, and leave the vent OPEN. To store cucumbers, you do NOT add water, and leave the vent CLOSED. If you click on the item's picture and “zoom-in”, it shows some basic settings (the manual is more extensive though). The black "dot" means to add water in base. Plus, even though the manual shows tomatoes, you should NEVER refrigerate a ripe tomato (below 50 F) due to it’s high sensitivity to “Chilling-Injury”. This damage can result in tissue breakdown, accelerated decay, premature softening, changes in flavor, color & aroma. Lastly, the unit & lids are made of rubber & plastic, but seem a bit on the thin side. So I would take the advice given by another blog and NOT put this in a hot dishwasher.

Was this review helpful? (104) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billmit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cannot Purchase Replacement Lids
6/23/2016

Customer review by Nanuck

3.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Nanuck
by Nanuck

The lids seems to break apart at the seems even though the bottom part stays in tack. I don't know where to buy the lids separately. Does anyone know?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
5/20/2016

Customer review by dartman301

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by dartman301
by dartman301
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dartman301
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An oversized container
9/9/2010

Customer review by JohnR

1.0 stars 9/9/2010 by JohnR
by JohnR

Heads of lettuce are round. Then why is this lettuce keeper oval shaped? It takes up almost as much shelf space as two one gallon containers of milk. It makes quick work of filling the dishwasher because of its size. It says to store the divider on the lid. Throw it away. If you are able to find two items that can be stored with the same settings, do you really care if they touch each other? If you do put the divider on the lid, it will not stay and it takes up too much room so that you can’t close the lid if you have a good size head of lettuce. Lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers go together, but you can’t store them together in this keeper. The container itself is made of very fragile plastic. It doesn’t look like it would take much to break it. Yes, it did keep my lettuce fresh, but so did the Tupper Ware container that I had for 15 years. That container is round, with a dome shaped lid. The same shape as a head of lettuce. I do wish I had spent the extra money and purchased another Tupper Ware lettuce keeper. I don’t think it will be long before I have to replace this one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnR
Groveland, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This really keeps lettuce crisp and yummy.
4/9/2012

Customer review by FoodLoverWest

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by FoodLoverWest
by FoodLoverWest

Our Iceburg and Romaine lettuce are now both crisp and fresh. The Romaine used to be limp but fresh. We were amazed how crisp the lettuce was. This keeps lettuce way better than the Tupperware green lettuce keeper we used to have.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FoodLoverWest
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
3/18/2016

Customer review by Oxox

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Oxox
by Oxox

Keeps lettuce fresh for two weeks or more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oxox
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2011

Customer review by westernniceguy

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by westernniceguy
by westernniceguy

extends the life of salad and other veggies. i recommend. but it is big so make sure you have room

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westernniceguy
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeps lettuce fresh.
5/23/2009

Customer review by Loghome47

4.0 stars 5/23/2009 by Loghome47
by Loghome47

I have only had this a little over a week, but so far, it has kept the lettuce very fresh and crisp.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loghome47
Kernersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks beautiful and keeps veggies fresh
7/16/2011

Customer review by vl008877

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by vl008877
by vl008877

I am very happy with this purchase. I recently bought a new fridge and was on a quest to make the insides of it appear as beautiful as a picture. I also wanted to maximize shelf space. I bought two Progressive lettuce keepers, and I have to say I am very happy. They look so vibrant and fresh. I put mixed greens into one, and mixed bell peppers into the other, and stacked them on top of each other (they fit well on the tall shelf). Bright green lids make this display even more pleasing to the eye. Clear plastic also adds to the display (although it gets foggy in the beginning). Secondly, I experimented with keeping my mixed greens in the original package vs. the lettuce keepers. In the original package, the leaves dried and wilted, but in the lettuce keeper they were still fresh. I kept the greens there for almost a week. I'm very happy that this product helped me not throw away food. Thirdly, the convenience and design. The middle separator wall, when not in use, clips to the top lid - very convenient. And these things are dishwasher safe, on the bottom shelf. Honestly, these lettuce keepers fulfill all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vl008877
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't hesitate to buy this if you use salad
7/25/2013

Customer review by NYLadybug67

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by NYLadybug67
by NYLadybug67

I'm writing this over a year later as I am planning to move to Ohio and debating on whether or not I should leave this for my daughter and her husband to use and purchase another one or ship it with me. All I know is that I NEED this item if I plan on ever buying lettuce again. I have not used it with other produce as I am always eating salads and need to store the lettuce. THIS THING WORKS AND I CAN'T IMAGINE MY LIFE WITHOUT IT! Serious!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYLadybug67
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes Life Easier!!!
4/2/2011

Customer review by MMoollllyy

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by MMoollllyy
by MMoollllyy

After grocery shopping, I wash & cut the greens to have ready to eat on sandwiches and to make salads. This Lettuce Keeper makes it easy, keeps the lettuce from drying out on top & keeping the bottom crisp as well... for a much longer period of time. We are eating healthier & this just makes it that much easier. It is very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MMoollllyy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works great!
11/30/2013

Customer review by Xena1969

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Xena1969
by Xena1969
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy spinach in large quantities for smoothies and this is a dream come true for keeping it fresh and moist. Does not rot as quickly. Only downside is that it is a little bulky. Wish I could fit more of these in my fridge. Would definitely buy more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xena1969
Ventura, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I hoped for.
12/19/2008

Customer review by Bubbayum

1.0 stars 12/19/2008 by Bubbayum
by Bubbayum

The product looks good, but as far as keeping lettuce fresh, no way. I think it would have done better in the bag I bought it in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbayum
Would recommend to a friend? No
love this...too bad i can't get another one !!!
9/15/2012

Customer review by beachkat44

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by beachkat44
by beachkat44

this is a great lettuce keeper.....only bought one to make sure it was what i wanted....it was !!!....then i tried to buy another one....it was on the "free ship to home" offer that i use all the time for everything from diabetes testing supplies to bookshelves....when i tried to buy the second one that i decided i wanted, it was no longer on "free ship to home"....i decided to reconsider, but yesterday i was not able to purchase it at all as it is now out of stock....so it would would seem that this review is useless....but you would love the product if you could get it...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachkat44
ocean beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Progressive Lettuce Keeper
5/22/2011

Customer review by creativesaver

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by creativesaver
by creativesaver

I hesitated to purchase this item because of the price but have not been disappointed. I have always invisioned one item to store both lettuce and fruits and one day while browsing the isle this item got my attention. I must say that it also caught the eye of all of my co-workers when I took it to work for a spread. Lettuce has lasted up to 3 weeks for me, still looking leafy and green. the style is attactive. I went back and bought another one and also had one shipped to my mother. She also loves it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
creativesaver
Dallas,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great lettuce keeper
12/6/2015

Customer review by CJCPU

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by CJCPU
by CJCPU

I have used this lettuce keeper for several years. I find that my lettuce/spinach can last a month or more before going bad using this storage container. I like it so well, my son asked for one because it takes him quite a while to use up a head of lettuce also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJCPU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i like the way its made.
3/22/2016

Customer review by CAJUNMOMMA

4.0 stars 3/22/2016 by CAJUNMOMMA
by CAJUNMOMMA

I think everyone that buys one will like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAJUNMOMMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews