Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 82 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
So disappointing, returned it
8/4/2008

Customer review by tom709

2.0 stars 8/4/2008 by tom709
by tom709

First of all, this is my 8th or 9th printer, but my first HP. The F4140's specs were good, but trying to get it working was a disaster - inserted CD, waited over 10 minutes before "fatal error" appeared. OK, went to HP website, downloaded the driver, again after many minutes, "fatal error", but somehow the driver managed to download. OK, hooked up printer, and it overtook my photo program - I chose to print four 3.5x5 photos on a single sheet, and it wouldn't do it! It overruled my photo program and wanted to print four separate sheets of 8.5x11 photo paper, each with a 3.5x5 print in the center! couldn't get it to work properly, so I simply disconnected it, repacked it and returned it to WalMart. Next day I bought a Canon MP-210 (for $10 less!!) and it's perfect, everything you could want in a multifunction printer. Sorry, HP, your installation and print program just doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tom709
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great item, great price!
7/17/2008

Customer review by JasonR

5.0 stars 7/17/2008 by JasonR
by JasonR

I own a computer & tech support business and I've ordered several of these printers for customers and even one for my office. They seem to be dependable, they do a good job printing, the scan function is very easy and reliable and most importantly the price can't be beat. I'm of the opinion that now days, printers are pretty much disposable. If something goes wrong it's nearly impossible to fix them and getting parts is nearly impossible anyway. My feeling is, for general around the house/office light use, one of these cheap all-in-one models is a great option. If it breaks in a year...go buy another one. They are cheap enough and they will probably only get cheaper. So far I haven't had any problems with my printer and neither have my customers. Everyone seems very please with the price and printing results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JasonR
Appleby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
8/8/2008

Customer review by Meanoldman

5.0 stars 8/8/2008 by Meanoldman
by Meanoldman

So far,it's performed Excellent

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meanoldman
Marble Falls Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The college printer of choice
9/13/2008

Customer review by Thesoccermom

5.0 stars 9/13/2008 by Thesoccermom
by Thesoccermom

This is the 3rd one of this particular HP printer of which was purchased thru Walmart. Purchased the 1st one last year for home use. It is so easy to use and was an excellent buy at a great price. Top removes for scanning book pages. It will scan to print without being hooked to the computer. If you need to print pages from the computer, it works well that way also. Was so please with the performance, purchased a 2nd one for the college student last year too. Now this year, another student off to college, so purchased the 3rd one. Both our college students love them and so do we! Print quality is great! The only drawback, it does use more ink for printing I feel. Best to have extra print cartridges on had in case you run out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thesoccermom
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
7/29/2008

Customer review by SayNo2Target

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by SayNo2Target
by SayNo2Target

I am not one who needs a product with lots of photoshop type advantages. I just need a reliable easy to use printer with inexpensive cartridge refills. This printer actually has some very nice photoshop type capabilities; I just rarely use them. The cartridges for replacement are about $15 and last comparably long to other more expensive replacements. The printer is reliable and my last one like this (different model # and color to make it look more spiffy) lasted for 2 1/2 years which is a high average for printers these days. It is very easy to use and automatically stores your scans so that you can find them easily when you re-do the project. At $60 it is very well priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SayNo2Target
Huntsville Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Printer/Copier
8/23/2008

Customer review by MockingBananah

5.0 stars 8/23/2008 by MockingBananah
by MockingBananah

I purchased this printer to replace another older HP printer. So far I have no complaints and only praises. It was easy to set up and equally easy to use; a feature of HP printers that has likely made me a lifetime, return customer. Of particular note, I think HP has finally outdone themselves with the software. The option to print on both sides of the paper is almost hassle-free. Rather than racing against the equipment one sheet at a time, or re-sorting/collating the pages for odd and even printing, now you only have to wait turn the paper around when prompted. I'd been hoping someone would incorporate a feature like this into a simple home printer; finally.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MockingBananah
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worth the change
7/7/2008

Customer review by TundraThunder

4.0 stars 7/7/2008 by TundraThunder
by TundraThunder

I got tired of buying 5 print cartridges for my Canon Pixma MP500, so I bought the HP F4140 as a replacement. It came with 2 black cartridges & 1 color cartridge, and it prints text fast. However, the scanner is a bit slow (MP500 was just as slow). Pictures print a tad slower, too, but they finish with better quality. The best part is having the ability to refill the F4140's cartridges myself. The option to get the larger #54 & #57 cartridges is also a plus. I'd give 5 stars all around if the scanner was faster, but it's well worth the money I spent for this all-in-one printer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TundraThunder
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded expectations
8/15/2008

Customer review by ProudwifetomyMP

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by ProudwifetomyMP
by ProudwifetomyMP

We bought this printer after trying out a kodak all in one which we could not get to work for anything! This printer was very easy to install for the most part, due to us having an older computer we had to call tech support but they were kind and curteous and worked everything out! We have scanned, printed and copied and love the product quality, especially for the value! we have recommended this printer to all of our friends. The only downside is you can only make three copies at a time, but that is really no big deal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudwifetomyMP
ft stewart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/24/2008

Customer review by Kristy12345678

3.0 stars 8/24/2008 by Kristy12345678
by Kristy12345678

I just bought this printer because I am starting school and needed a printer for my new laptop. The printer is very nice, however, it does not come with a USB cord. I did not know this when I purchased it. They did not have the USB cord that I needed in stock at my walmart, so I went to best buy to get it and they wanted to charge me $37 for it. So i bought it online at walmart for $10. Anyways, just FYI this printer does not come with a USB cord, so if you are going to purchase it make sure you order a USB cord also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristy12345678
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Deal or a Steal!
9/15/2008

Customer review by vernon627

5.0 stars 9/15/2008 by vernon627
by vernon627

Unbelieveable low price, extreme high value. I am not a "machine person", at all. The easy to read and understand directions got me from A to Z in no time flat. The disc did the rest. I did have one assignment though, get paper and an A to B printer cable. I haven't figured out why no one seems to put these in as part of the equipment. Even with that additional cost, the free black ink refill costs more than the cable. If you like good things that work, this is the printer for you. Print, scan, copy...easy!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vernon627
Fort Lee, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect personal all in one
9/3/2008

Customer review by theshopmeister

5.0 stars 9/3/2008 by theshopmeister
by theshopmeister

I got it for documents, not for photos and I've used it for only documents. The set up for both my Mac laptop and my PC desktop was very easy. It's slow, but the copies, scans and prints are high quality. I shipped it to my son's house in DuPage County to avoid Cook County's HIGHEST SALES TAX RATE in the US. It was delivered before promised. I was in the loop from the second I ordered it through the confirmation and e-mail tracking information. Great design, perfect size. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theshopmeister
Elk Grove Village, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great All in One
9/5/2008

Customer review by Spice1510

5.0 stars 9/5/2008 by Spice1510
by Spice1510

The product not only looks good but has lived up to my expectations. It is stylish and for the price I have been nothing but impressed. I have always preferred HP but needed an all around printer/scanner but was tired of having so many peripherals. This really made things a lot more convenient for my home-office, gave me the functionality of a copier, the quality and potential for top notch photo printing and it's compact and looks good. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spice1510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Good
8/10/2008

Customer review by MrsArmyWife

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by MrsArmyWife
by MrsArmyWife

I bought this printer about 7 months ago. I recently tried to scan in some pictures and it told me my software was not fully installed. I completely uninstalled and reinstalled my software 4 times, and even bought a brand new CD ROM with no luck. I talked to support and that was no help. I finally gave up and bought a new printer. Something about Vista or something, but the software would give me a fatal error message every time I tried to install it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsArmyWife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
I Love It
8/19/2008

Customer review by Bestwalmartcustomer

5.0 stars 8/19/2008 by Bestwalmartcustomer
by Bestwalmartcustomer

I bought this a week ago and I love it. I have been printing reports all week, used the copier and even learned how to scan. The only problem I ran into was sending a scan using the HP software. When I finally realized that all I had to do was scan it into my pc, then I can use my personal email and send it to someone from my pc it worked just fine. This might even be the same for all scanners...I don't know this is my first one to use and own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bestwalmartcustomer
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Printer -
8/10/2008

Customer review by TorchLake

5.0 stars 8/10/2008 by TorchLake
by TorchLake

We wanted a printer to fit in a 10 7/8 in opening. This one fits perfectly. We've had HP deskjet printers before and they work very well. We've tried other brands and been disappointed. This one works great ! Only problem is that under Vista (a seemingly erratic operating system) the printer alignment window pops up every time I enter my desktop. There may be some way to stop this but it's not obvious. Otherwise it's great printer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TorchLake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer, awesome deal!
7/31/2008

Customer review by TechGirl77

5.0 stars 7/31/2008 by TechGirl77
by TechGirl77

This printer is an excellent value. It was really easy to put together and (bonus!) it came with an extra free ink cartridge. Plus, HP is a very dependable name. But, most importantly, it works great! The prints come out crisp and clear. I'm a student who is always printing out reports, papers, etc. and, while I just got this printer recently, I don't doubt its effectiveness in the coming school year. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechGirl77
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
would recommend couple suggestions
8/11/2008

Customer review by mamasu2

5.0 stars 8/11/2008 by mamasu2
by mamasu2

over all it is a great product as usual though it goes through ink really fast, i should buy stock, it needs a way to regulate how much to use. it also will just scan to outlook not directly to msn, hotmail, yahoo etc. so you have to scan, save it and then send it, an extra step. otherwise it is fairly quiet, is fast gives a lot of options except the one mentioned above. it is a good printer, scanner and copier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamasu2
Huntington Beach, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a big disapointment
8/31/2008

Customer review by CCstudent

3.0 stars 8/31/2008 by CCstudent
by CCstudent

I am very disappointed in this hp printer. I guess that's what you get for 60 bucks! Maybe its the vista software on my computer or maybe its the printer, either way it takes too long to print, it makes a lot of noise and each times it prints, the printer grabs 3 sheets of paper which sometimes ruin the way the page is printed. If I had a chance to do it all over again, I would not purchase this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCstudent
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good printer
8/22/2008

Customer review by Malball13

4.0 stars 8/22/2008 by Malball13
by Malball13

Walmart had delivered my printer in a speedy fashion! I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone else who is in need of a printer. I had ordered two, one for me at college and one for my parents. I wanted a printer that could use the same ink cartridges of my other printer that came with my laptop and this is more than I could ask for! Thanks Walmart!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malball13
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ANNOYING
7/24/2008

Customer review by abcdeijkl

3.0 stars 7/24/2008 by abcdeijkl
by abcdeijkl

The printer is fine but I am very annoyed that it did not come with everything necessary to connect with the computer. The USB port connector which makes it cost more than it seems at first. Not only does it cost more than you might expect it is a huge annoyance to get the printer and expect to be able to use it but instead you have to obtain another part first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abcdeijkl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews