Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

219 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

219 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
47
3 stars
14
2 stars
23
1 stars
65
1-20 of 198 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Awesome!
1/28/2009

Customer review by zackincarbonite

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by zackincarbonite
by zackincarbonite

The Nerf N-Strike Vulcan is one of the best nerf products i have ever purchased and kudos on the shipping, walmart. I have no kids, but i have a bunch of buddies with the maturity level of 12 year olds, so this gun is perfect. this gun shoots very fast and is pretty accurate. the only problem is you will run out of ammo quick. i suggest purchasing atleast two extra chains of ammo or you will spend most of your time picking up darts and reloading the chains. also, i would like to commend walmart on very fast shipping. i am in the military and live overseas, usually it takes two weeks for something to get shipped to me. this item was here in little less than a week. just a warning: you will have darts everywhere. just see the picture. it took me better part of the night just to find them after a battle. though, it is worth it. so, if you have kids or just have never seen the need to grow up, buy the Nerf N-Strike Vulcan.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zackincarbonite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/21/2009

Customer review by Nstriker

4.0 stars 9/21/2009 by Nstriker
by Nstriker

This gun is pretty good but it has some quirks (it might just be my gun though) This gun is very cool, for example the darts scream as they fly through the air. I haven't tried the auto mode yet because i don't have the right batteries but most people said the auto mode was very cool. The coucking sounds very meaty and strong. The tripod is great if you are shooting target boards. It has built in sights that work all right but to use it you have to aim a little higher then your target. All in all this is a good gun as long as you load and couck it right.

Was this review helpful? (71) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nstriker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, don't listen to negative reviews
5/17/2009

Customer review by extreamdealfinder

4.0 stars 5/17/2009 by extreamdealfinder
by extreamdealfinder

Like the good reviews say, if you load it correct it will not jam. My son and I love this nerf blaster. Also any kid who stops by our house. My son is not strong enough yet to pull back the other nerf blasters, all he has to do with the Vulcan is load the belt and pull the trigger. This is an awesome toy dont let the bad reviews scare you away from buying this great toy.

Was this review helpful? (134) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
extreamdealfinder
Slidell, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of fun
6/8/2009

Customer review by erinart7

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by erinart7
by erinart7

I got this for my husband as a gift and it was a blast! We have both had a ton of fun, didn't take long to put together and use. It has only jammed on us once and that is because we didn't load it properly. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
erinart7
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun Gun
1/19/2009

Customer review by kmsycho

4.0 stars 1/19/2009 by kmsycho
by kmsycho

I get the distinct impression, from reading the reviews, that a lot of people are not using this product correctly. The belt has to be placed in the feed correctly (dummy cartridge first, seated in the feed wheel; I believe there is a logo which should be facing up), the lid closed, and then the gun needs to be cocked (pull the cocking lever). The belt feeds past the dummy cartridge, the piston closes over the first dart/cartridge, and it is ready to go. Pull the trigger and annihilate your enemies! When the gun is loaded and cocked, it "locks" the feed cover (which is why people are prying it open with a screw driver). Just pull the cocking handle and it will unlock. Ours has worked very well since we got it at Christmas. We haven't had the problems people are reporting (other than rare jams, not too big a deal). I plan on ordering 2 more here to even out the odds in the house. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmsycho
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesom!
12/4/2008

Customer review by BLalli

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by BLalli
by BLalli
Walmart associate

This gun is awesome! I don't know who will play with it more, the 8 year old that is my son, or the 32 year old that is me. Ha! It's very fun and the "belt action" is just the coolest! Why didn't we have toys like this when I was his age??? The only con about the gun is also a pro. It doesn't shoot the darts very far. That's good because I don't have to chase after them too far, but at the same time, you can't shoot someone more than 20-25 feet away. Another thing, it saysfor ages 6 & up, but I wouldn't get this for a 6 year old. My son is 8, like I said, and he got tired of lugging the thing around after a few minutes. With everything on it and the 6 "D" batteries in it, it's heavy!

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLalli
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
They Finally Did It...
12/1/2008

Customer review by MistahFixIt

4.0 stars 12/1/2008 by MistahFixIt
by MistahFixIt

I've loved NERF products since I was a little kid, so hopefully you can understand my excitement in regards to this product. A fully-automatic (albeit somewhat heavier) NERF weapon, the Vulcan is a worthy addition to anyone's collection on the principle that is the first (and so far) only one of its kind. It also comes with a substantial cache of darts which are thankfully NOT suction-cupped. The NERF suction Cup darts are poorly designed, and will eventually come apart, either from the glue breaking down, or from the foam tearing. Which is why I'm glad the Vulcan is sold with a large stack of Streamline-style darts, which, in my experience, fly slightly farther, and last longer than traditional NERF darts. If the Vulcan is too heavy for your kids to lug around, don't fret! The Vulcan comes with a collapsible tri-pod mount so your kids can 'dig in' and fire from the cover of a strategically-placed sofa. The motor is something of a powerhog, and the batteries do need to be replaced often. But the motor itself, as well as the weapon, functions just as it did the day it came out of its box. In short, if you're looking for serious heavy artillery for your NERF collection, look no further.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MistahFixIt
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vulcan Extreme!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6/3/2009

Customer review by B101

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by B101
by B101

The Nerf Vulcan is an extremely cool dart gun. It is fully auto or manual, which ever you chose. It comes with a tripod, a dart belt, and 25 microdarts. My son loves the Nerf Vulcan. It is a little heavy for younger kids, but they can use the tripod.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
B101
Fredericktown, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2009

Customer review by Shere11

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by Shere11
by Shere11

My 11 year old son loves this Nerf toy, he as almost all of the Hasbro Nerf toys and toy guns. But by far, this is the best yet. Tip: Don't touch the trigger alot, it is very sensive and will fire the blaster without your intention or aim.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shere11
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a Christmas disappointment
12/26/2008

Customer review by BummedOutMom

1.0 stars 12/26/2008 by BummedOutMom
by BummedOutMom

Let me preface my review by stating that my son, a military brat, is a very good sport. All he asked for Christmas was the NERF Vulcan. Literally... he couldn't think of another thing on this earth that he wanted. So, you can imagine his excitement when he got his only Christmas wish. Ok, so it's not like his wish was for a new kidney or for world peace... but still, he's my kid. So, not unlike the other reviews on this site, the Vulcan worked for about 10 minutes, and then the cocking mechanism gave out. He got to shoot it twice. Today's the day after Christmas, and my husband has already been to Walmart... only to find that others have returned their Vulcans for the SAME REASON. NERF is an American kid staple... we have several of the NERF guns, and they've always been quality pieces. So, needless to say, the ultimate of all NERF guns was a HUGE disappointment!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BummedOutMom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but not great
12/7/2008

Customer review by stevfam

3.0 stars 12/7/2008 by stevfam
by stevfam

The gun is pretty fun. But, it jams alot, does not fire as fast as it says, and can be annoying. It does tear the darts up too....I like the gun, it's just not quite as good as I expected it to be. Make sure all the darts are pushed in all the way, or it will definitly shred them. Dont try to adjust the pull back bar, when it is not attached to the gun, or you can break it and it will never work manually again. Overall, still a NERF gun, and they are fun!

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stevfam
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good but buy more ammo
7/2/2009

Customer review by battlefield2ftw

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by battlefield2ftw
by battlefield2ftw

The Vulcan was given to me and i used it immediatly and enjoyed much better make sure you buy an ammo pack or 2 it really helps pros rapid fire (magstirke shoots faster and harder) and battery operated cons bulky and it can jam... just make sure you push the bullets in

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
battlefield2ftw
Fishers IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Big Disappointment
5/14/2009

Customer review by DJAS

1.0 stars 5/14/2009 by DJAS
by DJAS

My son asked for this toy for months, my husband said I shouldn’t spend that much money on a toy gun it probably wouldn’t work the way the advertisements stated. Unfortunately my husband was right. What a disappointment for me and my son. He was so excited when he opened it. We put it all together and it jammed by the 5th dart shot, and repeatedly kept jamming. I reread all the instructions to make sure we had it put together correctly but it didn’t help. My son was so upset. I thought maybe it was just this particular gun had a problem so I took it back and exchanged it for another. It didn’t make a difference the new one did the same thing. I took it back and just exchanged it for one of the other less “fancy & expensive” Nerf dart guns. My son has had more fun with no jamming darts and spends his time playing with the toy instead of trying to fix it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
A Hail of Styrofoam
2/7/2009

Customer review by stevendana

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by stevendana
by stevendana

My son saw this item at my sisters house for Christmas and had to have it. I've heard about jamming problems with this gun, but if you load the darts into the machine-gun belt so they don't stick out, you will have no problems. The gun will shoot single action with a pull back on the bolt or fully auto when the power is switched on. The fully auto is the real fun. Unloading 25 rubber tipped nerf darts in about 2 seconds onto an unsuspecting target is great fun - unless you are the target. We ended up buying another ammo belt with 25 rounds of ammo. My son is trying to figure out how to connect the machine-gun belts together for a Hail of 50 Styrofoam darts. The gun is a bit heavy for a smaller child, but the tripod would help them. The only problem is that we will now have to buy another one to make the battle fair!

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stevendana
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
its good
3/10/2010

Customer review by dartgun

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by dartgun
by dartgun

Its is a good gun but on full auto it does not get all the darts and it get jamed like when a dart gets skiped when it skips it still colects the bullet and it get s stuck but over all it a great great gun

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dartgun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well--no major issues
7/21/2009

Customer review by NerfVulcan

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by NerfVulcan
by NerfVulcan

Product works as advertised, I've had NO major problems yet, the tripod is a bit flimsy, but it's a valuable product. Recommended,

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NerfVulcan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not as cool as it seems
11/9/2009

Customer review by JustMomma2009

1.0 stars 11/9/2009 by JustMomma2009
by JustMomma2009

My son had been asking for this gun for 3 years now and I finally broke down and got it for him this year. He was able to shoot all darts twice, but every other time it was 4 shots then jammed. 5 shots then ammo belt was crooked. In his 9 year old words he said "Mom this gun is a big piece of junk, it is not even fun to play with." I dont think it is operator error because there was 4 adults here loading and trying to figure out how to prevent the jammed darts...no luck...still jammed and would not shoot more than 5 darts in auto mode....we will buy nerf again, but will probably stick with air powered guns and NOT the battery powered guns...

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustMomma2009
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This gun is awesome!!!!!
3/13/2010

Customer review by nerfelite

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by nerfelite
by nerfelite

This gun is very good, I recommend it. I really like how it rapid fires. It is so much fun, I only wish the belt held more bullets. This gun is a little heavy for a smaller child to handle. If a small child is using this gun, it is easier if they use the tripod. People may think it does not fire three darts per second, but it really does. This gun is the best nerf gun I have purchased. One thing I don't like is that my little brother won't leave it alone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nerfelite
Charlotte, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Questionable Buy
12/8/2009

Customer review by Milkman05

2.0 stars 12/8/2009 by Milkman05
by Milkman05

This was my most anticipated Nerf gun ever and also the biggest let down. When the gun worked it was quite fun but more often than not the darts got jammed. I read other reviews where saying you need to load the darts properly and it wont jam. I loaded each dart exactly as the instructions said and also a few ways i thought could be better and i still had a jam in every set of darts I shot. The gun jammed in both the full auto mode and the single shot mode. I had the gun 3 days before I returned it and got the Nerf Longshot. Much better value

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Milkman05
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ok but it jams allot
8/22/2009

Customer review by jodog

3.0 stars 8/22/2009 by jodog
by jodog

i got this gun an it shot about every third shot so i cut off the barrel and it works great now and also my friend has one and his fiering piston went off between the rounds so i looked at it and and the wiers had crossed when i separated the wiers the gun worked fine personaly i would recamend the automatic tommy twenty its lighter and seems to work better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jodog
athol, id
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews