Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

33 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

33 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 32 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Terrible quality control
9/17/2011

Customer review by FYIreviews

1.0 stars 9/17/2011 by FYIreviews
by FYIreviews

I had initially purchased one of these from Sam's almost two years ago. The dehumidifier worked perfectly (the bucketless feature was great) for about a year and a half, but the pump died so I had to take it to get fixed. I had an Sam's Club extended warranty and they provided me with a full refund (they said that it would be too expensive to fix). Since I liked the dehumidifier I decided to purchase another on Walmart.com. Unfortunately, was DOA when I received it (it would turn on but could not lower the humidity in the room). Thinking this was a fluke I returned the unit to Walmart and purchased another online...but that unit was DOA too!! I know that the problem was not due to user error (since I previously had the same unit and it ran fine for nearly two years) so all I can conclude from this is that Royal Sovereign has terrible quality control! This is unfortunate since I like the bucketless feature of the dehumidifier, but needless to say I'm never going to purchase another Royal Sovereign dehumidifier again.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FYIreviews
Would recommend to a friend? No
love this DEHUMIDIFIER!
10/30/2008

Customer review by jannAK0

5.0 stars 10/30/2008 by jannAK0
by jannAK0

this bucketless feature for a dehumidifier is awesome. I HATE dumping water and having to check if its full all the time. It's such a hassle and pain. ALL I do now is turn it on and leave it on in my basement. If anyone needs to use a dehumidifier frequently, I would recommend this dehumdifier. No buckets of water are great!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jannAK0
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
Royal Sovereign Dehumidifier
4/12/2010

Customer review by Walam

1.0 stars 4/12/2010 by Walam
by Walam

It worked for two day's. Very loud. Did not pump the water out of it. We took it back to Wal-Mart and as we carried it in we meet a young man who had just returned his. His did not work and was so loud it woke up there baby.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walam
Would recommend to a friend? No
2 Defective units
6/21/2011

Customer review by EdRedSledToo

2.0 stars 6/21/2011 by EdRedSledToo
by EdRedSledToo

I love the idea of a tankless dehumidifier, so when my Delighi (with pump out) died, I ordered this Royal Sovereign unit online for home delivery (by Fedex Ground it turns out). Unit 1 arrived with exterior box in perfect shape. When opened, 3 screws poured out as well as the two handles. Upon closer inspection one of the mount points for the "radiator thing" (you can see it when you open up the filter cover), was damaged. Walmart.com service was responsive, I chose ship unit 2 to store so I could do the return at the store, and pickup the new unit...and I hoped ship to store would be gentler on the unit. Better but not perfect. The mount point for the "radiator thing" was broken again. I needed the unit for the basement (smelled bad, etc) so I chose to take it home. Will likely return it soon, just need to find another option. I am fairly certain EVERY unit shipping has this same problem (see pictures). When you buy it, open the box, remove the filter cover and look to the bottom left. You will likely see the same issue as me. Poor design for that mount point (and who knows where else.). Otherwise the unit seems to work fine, just concerned what will happen over time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdRedSledToo
Fairfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lasted a month
7/23/2010

Customer review by yoyomasterp

3.0 stars 7/23/2010 by yoyomasterp
by yoyomasterp

the water light keeps coming on and it turns its self off. worked great for two weeks. the drain hose is almost parallel to the unit so its not like its being pumped straight up. it runs quiet, then every 20 mins or so the pump turns on and lets the water out. I didn't mind the noise at all bc i knew it was working...piece of mind. but soon after that it stopped and now im returning it. sorry Royal Sovereign, your not worth the money...

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yoyomasterp
nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great product
8/12/2010

Customer review by yulichi

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by yulichi
by yulichi

It saves me a lot of time and energy. No more lifting heavy bucket! No more spill on floor! This is my second one. I put one in basement and one on the first floor. A bit expensive. But it is quieter than the traditional one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yulichi
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not happy
6/29/2010

Customer review by Lookinguy

1.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Lookinguy
by Lookinguy

The unit appeared to be well made; but, it did not perform as expected. It would work for a little while, pumping out the humidity through the little hose as it was supposed to. Then, it would just stop working for some reason, and would just sit there showing the room humidity; but, not runnig or pumping out any water. I could play with turning it off then back on and it would finally start running again. Never did figure out what the problem was. I am returning the unit to Walmart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lookinguy
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DOA
8/8/2010

Customer review by WylieCoyote

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by WylieCoyote
by WylieCoyote

The specifications of this unit are great. The problem is that when I received the unit, it was DOA - Dead on Arrival. It would not power on at all.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WylieCoyote
Laurel, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not Very Happy...
7/22/2010

Customer review by ginger6367

1.0 stars 7/22/2010 by ginger6367
by ginger6367

It seemed like a worked for the first day, but then noticed the pump would not work, so used manual drain. 2 days after that it just flashed Lo and with much turning power on and off, it still reads the same. The manual that comes with this product is very generic and doesn't give any info about it except how to hook it up. I looked further online to see if maybe there was a better maunal on the website.. NO!. Returning to Wal- Mart today!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ginger6367
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Everything it was supposed to be
5/25/2011

Customer review by royalsovereignpleased

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by royalsovereignpleased
by royalsovereignpleased

The product arrived with one small problem probably caused during shipping. The automatic pump did not kick in when set up. I suspected it was caused by a sensor float being caught up somewhere inside the reservoir. I called the 1-800 help line, they agreed, & was asked to shake the dehumidifier back & forth a few times. That solved the problem. The auto-defrost is a good thing to have when installing a dehumidifier in a previously unserviced area. A few defrost cycles happened as the product brought the high humidity down to a comfortable level. Reducing the humidity % setting in steps on the way down helped, and the level is now permanently lowered & remains even. Just set it & leave it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
royalsovereignpleased
Ontario Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Damaged
7/24/2010

Customer review by musichman

1.0 stars 7/24/2010 by musichman
by musichman

I received the unit plugged it in and it leaked. I called Customer Service, they told me to return it to the store, which I did, I then ordered another one and I am waiting to see if this one works. Will update this review after I get the new one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musichman
Orange County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
7/29/2010

Customer review by halfpinta

2.0 stars 7/29/2010 by halfpinta
by halfpinta

Should have a longer electrical cord and a longer water hose.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
halfpinta
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dehumidifier
6/22/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

works great, easy to use right out of the box, easy instructions, brought the humidity in my partially finished basement from 67% to 45% in no time at all..only drawback to this dehumidifier is its LOUD..had it at the base of my stairway and could hear it upstairs in my living clear sa day, moved it to the other side of basement and that helped, can still hear it , but not as bad...so if you're looking for a dehumidifier that gets the humidity out of the air thats extremely LOUD this ones for you,,

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
my basement
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pump Failed in less than 4 Months
5/19/2016

Customer review by Elvis117

1.0 stars 5/19/2016 by Elvis117
by Elvis117

I liked the idea of a dehumidifier with its own pump since I wanted to use this dehumidifier in the crawl space of my house. It worked well for about 3 months then the pump stop working. I called the company for 2 months trying to get it fixed under warranty but kept getting their voice mail. They never returned by call.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elvis117
Would recommend to a friend? No
MUST BUY!
11/5/2008

Customer review by housewives

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by housewives
by housewives

This is the most convenient dehumidifier I 've purchased so far. I usually had other ones and used them for a couple of days and then stored them in the corner because I was too tired and lazy to change the water everyday after work. This one I could just turn on and don't worry about it .. I forget I have it on most of the times. BUY IT! ITS WORTH IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
housewives
NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pretty good dehum
10/31/2008

Customer review by AHflor

4.0 stars 10/31/2008 by AHflor
by AHflor

bucketless dehum is pretty convenient. it works for me. I don't empty water buckets every couple days anymore, which was annoying for my back. might get one for my other room now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AHflor
miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice product, BUT can with a broken wheel!!
11/23/2008

Customer review by chefpank

4.0 stars 11/23/2008 by chefpank
by chefpank

The product performs as expected but one of the wheels was broken when I opened the box. Walmart is out of the product also right now for an exchange.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chefpank
Clara City Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it's supposed to
6/7/2011

Customer review by txcooker

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by txcooker
by txcooker

I've only had this little guy for a month, but it seems to work well. My favorite feature is the pump to empty this water. It pumps it up to the laundry room sink into my wife's watering can. The noise level is acceptable. I wouldn't put it in the living room, but it's great in a room away from where you want to watch TV or converse. The unit puts off a fair amount of heat. I sort of expected that and so was not surprised.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txcooker
Boerne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NO MORE BULKY DEHUMIDIFIERS!!!!
11/5/2008

Customer review by mustbuys

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by mustbuys
by mustbuys

If you care about how your place looks like, this is the dehumidifier to buy. It lasts longer than other ones do and you don't even have to take out water buckets so its very convenient. I loveeee it because its not bulky and ugly like other ones in the market. The design is pretty simple and modern.. it matches pretty well with any kind of furniture. I highly recommend this product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mustbuys
conneticutt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy maintenance
11/11/2008

Customer review by citymomshops

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by citymomshops
by citymomshops

I'd been looking for a dehumidifier for a while and finally settled on this one, because I've had good experiences with other RS products. This is just what I was looking for- its easy to maintain and compact so that it doesn't take up much space. :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
citymomshops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews