Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

56 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

56 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 39 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
History via mini series
1/27/2009

Customer review by DWneecer

4.0 stars 1/27/2009 by DWneecer
by DWneecer

This is a fictional tv mini series about the history of Colorado. I loved it when it was on television, recorded it onto VHS, and now have it on DVD. I don't have a big DVD collection, I only want to collect what I will watch again. The picture is not perfect, but is good. If you like history through mini series you will like this. It is well done and engrossing. You keep going back for more and more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DWneecer
VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Centennial: The Complete Series
1/4/2010

Customer review by historybuff99

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by historybuff99
by historybuff99

Been waiting for years for this series to be put on DVD, well worth the wait. Just like watching it the first time in 1978.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
historybuff99
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good movie for a weekend of tv
4/2/2010

Customer review by moviemadnessmerry

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by moviemadnessmerry
by moviemadnessmerry

Would highly recommend this purchased for my husband for his birthday and watched it with him on a snowy cold weekend. Price was excellent and if you like westerns you must purchase this one

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moviemadnessmerry
Brooklyn Park, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
hard to find and affordable
11/4/2010

Customer review by geesmom09

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by geesmom09
by geesmom09

The price for this movie was excellent. I found the movie on other sites for more than double of what I paid for here.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geesmom09
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/10/2010

Customer review by dendi95

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by dendi95
by dendi95

Watched this movie as a kid 20-25 years ago and it is still awesome today. My kids are now enjoying it the same as I did. The movie is cheaper at Walmart.com then a used one on ebay!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dendi95
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent series
3/26/2010

Customer review by itsjustme0933

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by itsjustme0933
by itsjustme0933

My husband loved this series when it was out on VHS seceral yrs ago and so I was very excited to be able to find it on DVD.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsjustme0933
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
History Comes Alive!
8/22/2008

Customer review by HistoryLover

5.0 stars 8/22/2008 by HistoryLover
by HistoryLover

This is what a mini-series is all about! I watched the series when it was first broadcast. I purchased the VHS set when that became available. I waited since then for the DVD set. Patience Rewarded!! A great novel brought to life, with outstanding performances by actors. The characters are credible & memorable. A story-line that does not insult your intelligence. CENTENNIAL is the one mini-series that can be enjoyed by the whole family. For those with school-age children; it will show how the American West was developed. For the older members of the family; a terrifc mini-series! CENTENNIAL breathes life into American History and offers a visual alternative to text-books. HINT: Buy the book and enjoy both!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HistoryLover
Yucaipa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great series.
1/18/2013

Customer review by Sirdiealot

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Sirdiealot
by Sirdiealot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used to own this series on VHS but had been looking for them at a price I could afford for some time now and was happy to get them at the price I paid at Wal-Mart. For me the best of the series is the beginning as I have always had a fascination with Mountain Men and Trappers in general. The one and only complaint I have with the DVD's are the holding binder, they stack over each other in 3 stacks of 2 which means that when you want to watch say disc 2 you have to remove disc one and then replace disc 1 and then when you want to watch disc 3 you have to lift disc one to replace disc 2 replace disc 1 over that and then go to next stack and take out disc 3 and then repeat with each DVD I would have preferred a foldout that had them all on their own holder. Other than that this is a beautiful set with the artwork on the outside and the way the case folds shut like a book with the disc in a removable binder inside. I have not watched the special features yet but I do intend to. There is one more thing I would like to say about this series and it is one of the reasons I love it so much...Growing up I have always seen movies of the West where either the White man is portrayed all bad or that the Indians are portrayed as all bad, this is the only series that I can think of that shows that there were atrocities on both sides Indian and European and does not favor one over the other. I respect that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sirdiealot
Dresden, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price for this Epic Drama
1/28/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this as a gift for my sister's birthday. I received one for Christmas from my husband (It was on my list and I've been waiting for it to come out on DVD) and when my sister saw it she commented that she would like it someday too. I expected it to be very costly and was very pleased at the price Walmart was charging for it. I really enjoy watching these historical sagas and not having to pay an arm and a leg for them or not being able to afford them at all. Thank you very much for the affordable price. I intend on watching mine this weekend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
A CLASSIC SERIES
1/13/2009

Customer review by Paceman

5.0 stars 1/13/2009 by Paceman
by Paceman

This movie is excellent for all ages i have been looking for this for several years, this is about how our Country was born and takes you through real life situations it will reach down and touch your Heart as it covers 300 years of history excellent actors i use to watch this series every winter until my old VHS series got old and had to many bad places on the tapes. There is so much to take in everytime you watch it you will come to realize how well it was written and Directed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paceman
Indpls,IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
Entertainment plus
3/28/2009

Customer review by LacombeLady

5.0 stars 3/28/2009 by LacombeLady
by LacombeLady

Centennial is the best mini-series made. It stays true to the James Michener book, telling the REAL story of the settling of the west, starting with the original people, the Native American and on to the fur trappers, the westward movement, and into today. It was a good history lesson for my kids when it first aired on TV. It is well acted, well filmed and well edited. I enjoyed it tremendously in '78, this month when I received the cd, and will again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LacombeLady
Lacombe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
2/14/2012

Customer review by ljmin

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by ljmin
by ljmin

I was greatly impressed with how some of our counties history was depicted by fantastic actors who did a superb job trying to make us understand how our country could have been forged by hard working people who developed our wilderness meeting all odds of weather,starvation,untimely deaths and great struggle to overcome serious tragedies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ljmin
Kennett Square, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Series !
4/19/2012

Customer review by VrDeer

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by VrDeer
by VrDeer

I remember this coming out in the 70's, about the time Lonsome Dove did. (I was in high school then) I liked it then and Love it now! Once you start watching this, you cant stop. This is a 6 disk series, 2 episodes per disk. The saga is about how Centennial Colorado came to be. If you like Lonsome Dove, You Will Like this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VrDeer
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Centennial: The Complete Series
12/29/2010

Customer review by bingodemon

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by bingodemon
by bingodemon

I have this series on VHS and really wanted it on DVD but when I recieved it the 2nd part of the dvd was damaged. Looks like it was never burnt properly so I had to return it to the store for a full refund. Maybe they should check their dvd's before they package them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bingodemon
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome Story
9/10/2008

Customer review by Kammy

5.0 stars 9/10/2008 by Kammy
by Kammy

I have had this on VHS for about 10+ years. Have been searching for it on DVD...thanks Walmart! And the price is unreal. I $100.00 for the VHS set and again, 10 years ago. If you love history, this is a must see! Full of lots of great actors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kammy
Sanford, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT
12/9/2008

Customer review by historywiz

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by historywiz
by historywiz

I first watched this movie in my high school US history class...loved it then and really love it now...it takes u through the history and hard ship of the west. i would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys studying history.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
historywiz
New York City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great mini-series
6/7/2012

Customer review by mfwarrior

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by mfwarrior
by mfwarrior

I watched this mini-series as a kid and have always enjoyed watching it. Since it hasn't be re-aired by any cable series in quite some time, I was thrilled to find that it was finally offered on DVD. Great story and characters!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mfwarrior
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A true Classic
9/2/2008

Customer review by Squicken

5.0 stars 9/2/2008 by Squicken
by Squicken

A true classic, I really enjoyed seeing it again and it was better than when it first aired on TV. I would most certainly purchase it again and I highly recommend this to any one hedging whether to purchasing this mini series

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Squicken
Sebring, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
movie for both to enjoy
4/16/2009

Customer review by VERDINIA

5.0 stars 4/16/2009 by VERDINIA
by VERDINIA

my husband and I enjoyed the movie very much. We had gotten it in vhs and we where afraid they would stop making vcr's so we got it on dvd.I hope to pass it on to my grandchildren. I hope they will enjoy it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VERDINIA
Clinton TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Centennial
8/13/2009

Customer review by ForcedFamilyFun

4.0 stars 8/13/2009 by ForcedFamilyFun
by ForcedFamilyFun

Overall, it was a great movie. We have surround sound and at times the sound was not good (by that I mean you can not understand what they are saying). I do recommend this movie to everyone. Good story line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ForcedFamilyFun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews