Waiting for the Electricity

Waiting for the Electricity

About this item

Hardcover, Penguin Group USA, 2014, ISBN13 9781468306866, ISBN10 1468306863
$15.74
$15.74
+ $8.97 shipping
List price $26.95
Save $11.21
Only 1 left!
Sold & Shipped by Walmart
Faster shipping options available at checkout
Pickup not available  
Loading options...
Sold & Shipped by Walmart

$8.97 shipping

 from this seller
 

Shipping

Shipping options from Walmart
Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$5.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$7.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$8.97
Rush
Data unavailable
$10.97

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
Faster shipping options available at checkout
Pickup not available  
Check out these related products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
"Waiting for the Electricity, the Georgian hero of which, Slims Achmed, embodies the spirit - and voice - of his nation even as he chafes against its provinciality and poverty. Indeed it is the tension between Slims's sense of identity as a Georgian and his longing to escape Georgia (he is constantly writing letters to Hillary Clinton) that ignites the novel, which takes him from his tiny rural village to San Francisco, a place that in its liberal pieties, proves to be as if not more provincial than the one he has fled"--

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

"Waiting for the Electricity, the Georgian hero of which, Slims Achmed, embodies the spirit - and voice - of his nation even as he chafes against its provinciality and poverty. Indeed it is the tension between Slims's sense of identity as a Georgian and his longing to escape Georgia (he is constantly writing letters to Hillary Clinton) that ignites the novel, which takes him from his tiny rural village to San Francisco, a place that in its liberal pieties, proves to be as if not more provincial than the one he has fled"--

In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. There are no jobs in the cities. And when there "are" jobs, employees aren't compensated. And when they "are" compensated, it's because the jobs are . . . not strictly scrupulous. In the village, life goes on much as it always did, but these days, the homemade farmers cheese is giving way to the oil pipeline. And as for romance in this strange, confounding modern age . . . the less said, the better.
But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be. This man is Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel.
When Slims discovers an application for an American small business internship program sponsored by Hillary Clinton, he knows that he has found his calling. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. But when he finally gets to America--specifically to utopian San Francisco--Slims sees what reform and progress look like up close. And suddenly, his loud, bickering family and his anguished, joyful country no longer seem so grim.
A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, "Waiting for the Electricity" is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's "Everything Is Illuminated" and Gary Shteyngart's "Absurdistan."

Specifications

Number of Pages: 332
Original Languages: English
Author: Nichol, Christina
Publisher: Overlook Pr
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 6.00 x 9.00 x 1.00 Inches
ISBN-10: 1468306863
Show

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this item. Share your rating and review so that other customers can decide if this is the right item for them.

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 0 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Consider these popular products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

The following available options may be selected during checkout:
Gift message: Add a personal note that we'll include with your gift.
Gift receipt: When you add other gift options, we'll include a receipt that keeps the price a secret but makes it easy to exchange or return an item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.