Rachel Tsoumbakos

Viking Secrets: Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha and Ragnar: A historically accurate retelling of the ninth book of the 'Gesta Danorum' (Paperback)

Average Rating:out of 5 stars
Walmart # 568782279
$18.06$18.06
Free delivery on $35+ orders

Arrives by Tue, Aug 11

Free pickup Wed, Aug 12

Ships to San Leandro, 1919 Davis St

Sold & shipped byWalmart
<p><strong><em>Over the ages, there have been many stories and untruths told about the mythical shieldmaiden, Lagertha.</em></strong></p> <p><em><strong>This is not one of those stories.</strong></em></p> <p>As a fearsome shieldmaiden, Lagertha is first sighted by the revered Viking leader Ragnar Lodbrok on the battleground, where he is instantly captivated. Their complicated love story grows from there as Ragnar struggles to lead a war-torn area and Lagertha battles her own demons.</p> <p>Along with the fictional retelling, the real story of Lagertha and Ragnar Lodbrok is unraveled using the historical evidence. Therefore, readers can also discover the facts behind the fantasy in order to find out many tantalizing truths about this couple.<br /></p> <p>For example, this book will reveal how long their marriage really lasted and whether Lagertha was actually the revered shieldmaiden we see her as today.</p> <p>And, did you know the pair first met at a brothel?<br /></p> <p>In addition, learn how much of what we know of Lagertha and Ragnar in popular culture today is true. </p> <p><em>Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha And Ragnar</em> will unravel all of these secrets and more.</p> <p><br /></p> <p><strong>Fans of History Channel's <em>Vikings</em> and BBC's <em>The Last Kingdom</em> will love learning more about the world of the Viking sagas in this exciting new series.</strong></p> <p><strong>PLEASE NOTE: </strong> Each of the books in this series can be read as standalone books due to the nature of the sagas involved.</p> <p>Other books by this author set within the world of the Viking sagas.</p> <p><strong>VIKING SECRETS series: </strong></p> <p>1. <em>Vikings: The Truth about Lagertha and Ragnar</em></p> <p>2. <em>Vikings: The Truth about Thora and Ragnar</em></p> <p>3. <em>Vikings: The Trouble with Ubbe's Mother</em></p> <p>4. <em>Vikings: The Truth about Aslaug and Ragnar</em></p> <p><strong>VALKYRIE SECRETS series: </strong></p> <p>1. <em>The Unnamed Warrior</em></p> <p>2. <em>Curse of the Valkyries</em></p> <p>3. <em>Breaker of Curses</em></p> <p><strong>MELKORKA'S SAGA</strong></p> <p>1. <em>The Irish Viking Princess</em></p> <p>2. <em>The Peacock's Mother</em> (Coming soon)</p> <p><strong>THE LOST VIKING</strong> (short story)</p> <p><strong>RAGNAR AND THE WOMEN WHO LOVED HIM</strong> (Non-fiction novella about Ragnar Lodbrok)</p> <p><strong>THE CURSE OF THE LAGARFLJOT LINDWORM</strong> (Short story included in the <em>Fantastic Realms</em> Anthology)</p> <p><strong>THE SLEEPING VIKING BEAUTY</strong> (Short story included in the <em>Feisty Heroines</em> anthology)</p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

Over the ages, there have been many stories and untruths told about the mythical shieldmaiden, Lagertha.

This is not one of those stories.

As a fearsome shieldmaiden, Lagertha is first sighted by the revered Viking leader Ragnar Lodbrok on the battleground, where he is instantly captivated. Their complicated love story grows from there as Ragnar struggles to lead a war-torn area and Lagertha battles her own demons.

Along with the fictional retelling, the real story of Lagertha and Ragnar Lodbrok is unraveled using the historical evidence. Therefore, readers can also discover the facts behind the fantasy in order to find out many tantalizing truths about this couple.

For example, this book will reveal how long their marriage really lasted and whether Lagertha was actually the revered shieldmaiden we see her as today.

And, did you know the pair first met at a brothel?

In addition, learn how much of what we know of Lagertha and Ragnar in popular culture today is true.

Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha And Ragnar will unravel all of these secrets and more.


Fans of History Channel's Vikings and BBC's The Last Kingdom will love learning more about the world of the Viking sagas in this exciting new series.

PLEASE NOTE: Each of the books in this series can be read as standalone books due to the nature of the sagas involved.

Other books by this author set within the world of the Viking sagas.

VIKING SECRETS series:

1. Vikings: The Truth about Lagertha and Ragnar

2. Vikings: The Truth about Thora and Ragnar

3. Vikings: The Trouble with Ubbe's Mother

4. Vikings: The Truth about Aslaug and Ragnar

VALKYRIE SECRETS series:

1. The Unnamed Warrior

2. Curse of the Valkyries

3. Breaker of Curses

MELKORKA'S SAGA

1. The Irish Viking Princess

2. The Peacock's Mother (Coming soon)

THE LOST VIKING (short story)

RAGNAR AND THE WOMEN WHO LOVED HIM (Non-fiction novella about Ragnar Lodbrok)

THE CURSE OF THE LAGARFLJOT LINDWORM (Short story included in the Fantastic Realms Anthology)

THE SLEEPING VIKING BEAUTY (Short story included in the Feisty Heroines anthology)

Lagertha was known to be one of the wives of the famous Viking, Ragnar Lodbrok. But did you know they first met each other at a brothel?And just how long did their marriage last?Plus, was Lagertha really the revered shield maiden we see her as today?'Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha And Ragnar' will unravel all these secrets and reveal a story that is more interesting than anything you knew about them previously.In Part One their story is brought to life with a historically accurate retelling. Part Two then explores the historical facts surrounding this story.'Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha And Ragnar' aims to discover just how much of what we know of the shield maiden, Lagertha, and the famous Ragnar Lodbrok in popular culture today is actually true.Discover the truth today!The 'Viking Secrets' series explores the historical fact from present day fiction in regards to the Vikings and the extraordinary women who existed in the Viking era.PLEASE NOTE: Each of the books in this series can be read as standalone books due to the nature of the sagas involved. Therefore, the book numbering indicates the order in which the stories were published and not the order in which they are required to be read.

Specifications

Series Title
Viking Secrets
Publisher
Myrddin Publishing Group
Book Format
Paperback
Number of Pages
356
Author
Rachel Tsoumbakos
Title
Vikings: The Truth About Lagertha and Ragnar: A historically accurate retelling of the ninth book of the 'Gesta Danorum'
ISBN-13
9781680630589
Publication Date
September, 2017
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
9.00 x 6.00 x 1.50 Inches
ISBN-10
168063058X

Customer Reviews

Write a review

Be the first to review this item!


Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-2c7ed8e9-0ed1-436a-bb7f-2fcba563aa85, DC-wus-prod-a3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-36.3.0, SHA-9f477c0ec7b1f2dc8cc43ff97f206258df452c32, CID-001ee4a6-007-173c17051af714, Generated: Thu, 06 Aug 2020 01:43:50 GMT