The Mother's Promise : A Novel

Walmart # 562659891
$9.99$9.99
-
$10.76$10.76
<p><b>A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of <i>The Things We Keep </i>and <i>The Secrets of Midwives.</i></b></p> <p>All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe's father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works--until it doesn't. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life. </p> <p>Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets--secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, <i>The Mother's Promise </i>is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.</p> <p><b>Sally Hepworth novels are &quot;sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.&quot; --<i>Library Journal (s</i>tarred review)</b></p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives.

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe's father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works--until it doesn't. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets--secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother's Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." --Library Journal (starred review)

A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives.

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe?s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works?until it doesn?t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets?secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother?s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." ?Library Journal (starred review)

Specifications

Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Book Format
Hardcover
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
384
Author
Sally Hepworth
ISBN-13
9781250077752
Publication Date
February, 2017
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
9.61 x 6.42 x 1.32 Inches
ISBN-10
1250077753

Customer Reviews

5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Top mentions

Most Helpful Review
The Mothers Promise...
"The Mother's Promise" by Sally Hepworth Review by Linda Zagon (lzagon@yahoo.com) I would like to thank St. Martin's Press and MacMillan Publishing for the Advanced Reader's Edition of "The Mother's Promise" by Sally Hepworth. The genre of this book is women's fiction. Wow!! Kudos to Sally Hepworth for this amazing reading treasure! I can appreciate the author's research for medical matters and care. In addition, I find that the author's descriptions of her characters are fantastic. This is a very emotional read, so make sure that you have a box of Kleenex tissues. I did laugh at times, I cried at times. I didn't want the story to end. The characters in this novel revolve around Alice, a single mom and her daughter Zoe. The two have a unique relationship. Zoe is a fifteen year old girl with social anxiety disorder, and panic attacks. Alice works as a home health aid, and makes sure to be there whenever Zoe needs her. Zoe is extremely dependent on her mother. There is no support system for Alice and Zoe. Alice is always there when Zoe needs her. When Alice gets sick, Kate , a nurse and Sonja, a social worker get involved . Kate and Sonja are complex characters with conflicted lives. Sally Hepwoth writes about fear,weakness, strength, optimism, hope, trust,friendship,family and love. I would highly recommend this touching and emotional novel.
1-5 of 10 reviews

The Mothers Promise...

"The Mother's Promise" by Sally Hepworth Review by Linda Zagon (lzagon@yahoo.com) I would like to thank St. Martin's Press and MacMillan Publishing for the Advanced Reader's Edition of "The Mother's Promise" by Sally Hepworth. The genre of this book is women's fiction. Wow!! Kudos to Sally Hepworth for this amazing reading treasure! I can appreciate the author's research for medical matters and care. In addition, I find that the author's descriptions of her characters are fantastic. This is a very emotional read, so make sure that you have a box of Kleenex tissues. I did laugh at times, I cried at times. I didn't want the story to end. The characters in this novel revolve around Alice, a single mom and her daughter Zoe. The two have a unique relationship. Zoe is a fifteen year old girl with social anxiety disorder, and panic attacks. Alice works as a home health aid, and makes sure to be there whenever Zoe needs her. Zoe is extremely dependent on her mother. There is no support system for Alice and Zoe. Alice is always there when Zoe needs her. When Alice gets sick, Kate , a nurse and Sonja, a social worker get involved . Kate and Sonja are complex characters with conflicted lives. Sally Hepwoth writes about fear,weakness, strength, optimism, hope, trust,friendship,family and love. I would highly recommend this touching and emotional novel.

I went into this book ...

I went into this book knowing I would love it as I have read Sally Hepworth's work before. I knew the writing would capture me. And it did. I also knew I would find at least one character to love, and I found instead that I loved all of them except one. If you are reading this, you already know what the book is about. I initially felt that I would relate best to Zoe's Mom, but I just fell for Zoe completely. I have a soft spot for teenagers because I still remember what that was like and I imagine it to be so much more difficult in today's society. Zoe is so much a strong person who does not see herself that way at all. I love the best friend she makes, I love how other adults relate to her, and I cried for her. I cried for her mother. I cried for her mother's nurse. Oh, I think we are starting to think it's a sad book. I cry when I'm happy also, for the record. It is a happy/sad/feeling/emotional book, and so worth every smile and every tear. It is a must-read. If you are human, you will enjoy it.

Last night I was up la...

Last night I was up late reading the last pages of The Mother's Promise by Sally Epworth. I had tears rolling down my face. What a great book it is touching on so many emotional topics. I really cared about the main characters. There is a single mother, Alice Stanhope who is on the edge financially. She runs Atherton Home Helpers, a small company that helps seniors get their groceries, cook, clean and provides company for them. With parents long dead and brother who is an alcoholic. She is trying to survive and raise her daughter, Zoe without the help of friends and family. Zoe has social anxiety and she is the one who I identified with the most. I didn't realize there was a social anxiety syndrome. Mine started when I was 13 and I wrenched myself away from it through copying mechanisms. So when Zoe had problems, I knew what they were all about! When reading this book, I felt I was there understanding what Zoe felt and I wanted to whisper in her eye what helped me. There were two other women in this book, a social worker who was not able to deal with her abusive husband and a nurse who desperately wanted a baby. The author draws the women and the girl together in one wonderful story. A story that is so emotional and engaging. After I reached a certain point in this story, I had a very hard time tearing myself away to sleep, eat or do anything. I definitely want to read more of Sally Hepworth's books! I received this finished copy of The Mother's Promise from the Publishers as a win from FirstReads but that in no way influenced my thoughts or feelings in my review.

The Mothers Promise i...

The Mother's Promise is about family and love. It isn't quite the traditional family - there is only Alice and her daughter Zoe - no parents, no friends and basically no support system to help with problems and emergencies. Zoe is a teenager who has social anxiety disorder and is so shy that she can't really make friends. For all of Zoe's life, all she has needed is her mother and her mom has built her world around Zoe and they are happy as a family of two. When Alice receives a grim medical prognosis, she needs to start making some decisions about Zoe's future. At first she lies to her daughter about the severity of her disease, actually she lies to herself too, but after several setbacks in her health, she realizes that she needs to help Zoe find somewhere to live and how to live life without her. As she begins to network with two other women, she has to learn to trust other people and take care of Zoe's future. This is a wonderful book about family and love. I will tell you that the story made me cry - both the bond between mother and daughter and the need to make plans for the future were sad and uplifting. This story is one that will stay in my mind long after I've finished reading it. Thanks to the author for a copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

I LOVED this book! Zo...

I LOVED this book! Zoe was so appealing. Writers from Australia have been delighting me for some time with their books----this third one that I've red by Hepworth did not disappoint. I really had a terrible time putting it down when I had to go do something!!!

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.