Generated at Tue, 12 Nov 2019 13:32:39 GMT exp-ck: undefined; xpa: jqc8o;
Electrode, Comp-701341259, DC-prod-dfw5, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-19.1.31, SHA-771c9ce79737366b1d5f53d21cad4086bf722e21, CID-709dc773-e4d-16e5fd0f1783dd, Generated: Tue, 12 Nov 2019 13:32:39 GMT

The Distance to Home

Walmart # 569296827
$9.15$9.15
List Was $16.99
Only 3 left!
Free delivery on $35+ orders

Arrives by Fri, Nov 15

Free pickup Fri, Nov 15

Ships to San Leandro, 1919 Davis St

Sold & shipped byWalmart
Baseball player and superfan Quinnen must struggle to deal with her older sister's death in a story that unfolds between two summers.

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
Baseball player and superfan Quinnen must struggle to deal with her older sister's death in a story that unfolds between two summers. For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop’s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.
 
Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship, and her loudest supporter at every game was her best friend and older sister, Haley.
 
This summer, everything is different. Haley’s death, at the end of last summer, has left Quinnen and her parents reeling. Without Haley in the stands, Quinnen doesn’t want to play baseball. It seems like nothing can fill the Haley-sized hole in her world. The one glimmer of happiness comes from the Bandits, the local minor-league baseball team. For the first time, Quinnen and her family are hosting one of the players for the season. Without Haley, Quinnen’s not sure it will be any fun, but soon she befriends a few players. With their help, can she make peace with the past and return to the pitcher’s mound?


Winner of the Iowa Association of School Libraries Children's Choice Award

"Recommend this poignant novel to fans of Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park and The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin."-- School Library Journal 

"A piercing first novel...Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope." --Publishers Weekly

"With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read." --The Bulletin

"A sensitive, well-wrought novel perfect for both sports lovers and fans
of character-driven stories."-- Booklist

Specifications

Publisher
Random House Children's Books
Book Format
Hardcover
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
240
Author
Jenn Bishop
ISBN-13
9781101938713
Publication Date
June, 2016
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
8.56 x 5.69 x 0.82 Inches
ISBN-10
1101938714

Customer Reviews

5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1-1 of 1 reviews

Teenage sister Haley w...

Teenage sister Haley was eleven-year-old Quinnen's biggest fan. Ever since Haley's death, Quinnen refuses to play baseball. Since her family is devoted Tri-Cities Bandits fans, they decide to house a player for the season. As Quinnen develops relationships with the baseball players, her and her family's hearts slowly begin to heal. Author, Jenn Bishop, forces the reader to deeply care about all the characters involved. She writes about a tragic situation in such a loving way and manages to focus on the positive and not dwell in the sorrow of the situation. This is a happy tale of family, friends, and new relationships. We are all human. We are all connected. Well done Jenn Bishop!

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.
webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-283036196, DC-prod-dfw8, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-30.0.3, SHA-fe0221a6ef49da0ab2505dfeca6fe7a05293b900, CID-80dff97d-cf9-16e5fdae480a0d, Generated: Tue, 12 Nov 2019 13:43:31 GMT