Delivering to
Generated at Sat, 19 Oct 2019 11:24:28 GMT exp-ck: 1rVaj12gfpk16AW5f1CHP-V1M_2FJ1PpW_j1aXoTT2ax6K01u1ISE1uCqkt1wU3zF1; xpa: 1rVaj|2gfpk|6AW5f|CHP-V|F7qQN|M_2FJ|PpW_j|aXoTT|ax6K0|u1ISE|uCqkt|wU3zF;
Electrode, Comp-701217856, DC-prod-cdc01, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-19.1.27, SHA-c0e370f541e386368197b5c9f660834de097df3d, CID-e5cca680-0bb-16de3c2f7c9343, Generated: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 11:24:28 GMT

Scarlett Fever

Walmart # 559873270
$5.99$5.99
-
$9.99$9.99

Customer Review Snapshot

4.5 out of 5 stars
14 total reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Most helpful positive review
The Martins are back in full force in this sequel to Maureen Johnson's 2008 release, Suite Scarlett! Scarlett Martin and her spectacularly quirky family are up to their usual funny business, snarky and sharply witty as ever. You thought Maureen Johnson was done with characterization? You were very, very wrong indeed. Characters that seemed to be developed to death got even more complex in their new storylines. I was especially glad to see more of Marlene, even though I found her "big reveal" to be underwhelming, but she was the most fascinating of the Martin siblings to me. There was an even more expanded focus on each sibling, but at the same time, the sibling dynamic is retained, and each character could be looked at as simultaneously an individual unit and a group. It's a rather complex plot, but it all really just comes down to this one heartwarmingly crazy family in the end. Johnson has quite the talent of making sure that her descriptive passages are interesting, rather than falling into everyotherauthor's trap of boring overly-long descriptions. It's a very low-key, laid back, calm, even toned book, even during big events. I did have to question the introduction of Dog-Murray, as he did just seem to be that stereotypical cute doggy sidekick, not serving any larger purpose. One thing I do have to point out--following Maureen Johnson through twitter, her blog, etc, made this really a more dynamic, interesting read. Somehow, having known her a little better, it's almost as if you can hear this crazy stuff that's on page, coming directly out of her, nodding your head all the while going "oh yeah, that's Maureen." Such fun! Next book, please? Rating: 5/5

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
Scandals, starlets, and an unexpected love triangle . . . sophomore year is a full-time job for Scarlett in this hilarious follow-up to "Suite Scarlett." From top-selling author Maureen Johnson comes the second book in the trilogy about a girl and her hotel.

Ever since Mrs. Amberson, the former-aspiring-actress-turned-agent, entered Scarlett Martin's life, nothing has been the same.

She's still in charge of the Empire Suite in her family's hotel, but she's now also Mrs. Amberson's assistant, running around town for her star client, Chelsea - a Broadway star Scarlett's age with a knack for making her feel insignificant.

Scarlett's also trying to juggle sophomore year classes, her lab partner who is being just a little TOO nice, and getting over the boy who broke her heart.

Specifications

Series Title
Suite Scarlett
Publisher
Scholastic Inc.
Book Format
Paperback
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
332
Author
Maureen Johnson
ISBN-13
9780545096331
Publication Date
February, 2011
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
7.99 x 5.36 x 0.71 Inches
ISBN-10
0545096332

Customer Reviews

5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1-5 of 14 reviews

The Martins are back i...

The Martins are back in full force in this sequel to Maureen Johnson's 2008 release, Suite Scarlett! Scarlett Martin and her spectacularly quirky family are up to their usual funny business, snarky and sharply witty as ever. You thought Maureen Johnson was done with characterization? You were very, very wrong indeed. Characters that seemed to be developed to death got even more complex in their new storylines. I was especially glad to see more of Marlene, even though I found her "big reveal" to be underwhelming, but she was the most fascinating of the Martin siblings to me. There was an even more expanded focus on each sibling, but at the same time, the sibling dynamic is retained, and each character could be looked at as simultaneously an individual unit and a group. It's a rather complex plot, but it all really just comes down to this one heartwarmingly crazy family in the end. Johnson has quite the talent of making sure that her descriptive passages are interesting, rather than falling into everyotherauthor's trap of boring overly-long descriptions. It's a very low-key, laid back, calm, even toned book, even during big events. I did have to question the introduction of Dog-Murray, as he did just seem to be that stereotypical cute doggy sidekick, not serving any larger purpose. One thing I do have to point out--following Maureen Johnson through twitter, her blog, etc, made this really a more dynamic, interesting read. Somehow, having known her a little better, it's almost as if you can hear this crazy stuff that's on page, coming directly out of her, nodding your head all the while going "oh yeah, that's Maureen." Such fun! Next book, please? Rating: 5/5

Scarlett is fifteen, a...

Scarlett is fifteen, a sophomore in a highly competitive high school, an assistant to a theatrical agent, and her life is complicated. So very, amusingly complicated. Older brother Spencer is going to audition after audition, getting callbacks, but no jobs. Older sister Lola is foundering, unsure what to do with herself when all her friends are starting college. Younger sister Marlene is behaving suspiciously nice. and Mrs. Amberson is full of plans and plots to get Spencer work, snare a talented young Broadway ingenue, and generally make life even more complicated. There is also a small, deeply terrified little dog named Murray to look after. And weirdly, people are asking Scarlett what to do, and they're listening to her advice.A fun read, particularly for fans of Law & Order and the theatrically-inclined. I'm still amazed at how well Johnson gets the work of acting.Library copy.

Scarlett is fifteen, a...

Scarlett is fifteen, a sophomore in a highly competitive high school, an assistant to a theatrical agent, and her life is complicated. So very, amusingly complicated. Older brother Spencer is going to audition after audition, getting callbacks, but no jobs. Older sister Lola is foundering, unsure what to do with herself when all her friends are starting college. Younger sister Marlene is behaving suspiciously nice. and Mrs. Amberson is full of plans and plots to get Spencer work, snare a talented young Broadway ingenue, and generally make life even more complicated. There is also a small, deeply terrified little dog named Murray to look after. And weirdly, people are asking Scarlett what to do, and they're listening to her advice.A fun read, particularly for fans of Law & Order and the theatrically-inclined. I'm still amazed at how well Johnson gets the work of acting.Library copy.

This book is about Sca...

This book is about Scarlett still working for Amy, who is now an acting agency. The name is AAA and sometimes she receives calls about spare tires. At the beginning of the book spencer, Scarlett's brother, was the only client of the agency. But soon they receive another client that is a Broadways actor with a brother that is somewhat left behind. While Scarlett was worried about this client, her brother Spencer got a job on one of her favorite shows Law and Order. At first it was supposed to be on TV appearance, but soon after Spencer supposal kill the main character Sunny. Spencer soon becomes one of the most hated men in New York. With all this Drama going on in Scarlett's life, is it possible to find love? YES! She starts to fall for their client's brother. And Scarlett's older sister in getting married to the rich guy that got her fired in the first book. Soon everyone's actions spoke louder than their words. Exciting right? Well that not all Spencer had some funny falls and Stunts that I think you should read for yourself. I recommend this book to every girl in the nation. It is super funny. Hope you enjoy!

I honestly just finish...

I honestly just finished Scarlett Fever about ten minutes ago, and was so excited that I had to come tell you all about it. Yes, Maureen Johnson's sense of humor is fantastic, her views on serendipity and the type of fate that can only happen in high school is superb. But let's cut to the chase. I may be in love with Spencer Martin. In fact, on the list of Great Fictitious Crushes, he may now be number 2 (Nightwing, I'm afraid, is not that easily usurped, though it is a close call). Who else will dance with his sister to make her look good in front of frenemies and then... well, if I say anymore I may unintentionally give away plot points. But the more I see of Spencer, the more I like.

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.
webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-389266835, DC-prod-cdc02, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-30.0.0, SHA-4c05261de7b7524702d8d137579365498522abc0, CID-a9846031-860-16de3c2f7957d0, Generated: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 11:24:28 GMT